Skip to Content
26

3.6 based on 26 customer reviews

9
8
3
1
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

XB80 in-ear Bluetooth headphones

MDR-XB80BS 03 January 2017 by MickeyH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really easy to listen know to my phone, sound occasionally breaks up but extremely good quality. If only you could make calls as well as answering them. Easy to use though and links quickly once connected.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not charging

MDR-XB80BS 18 August 2017  (USA)

i bought it month back but it is not charging. When I hook it to my computer, red light comes on for few seconds and then goes off.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

27 Customer Reviews

0

Disappointed with Sony and service

MDR-XB80BS 19 November 2017 by Binesh (USA)

I brought a sony MDR-XB80BSL in may17. Less than a year now its not charging. When i send this to the service centre they are saying got corrotion on charging port hence cant cover in warranty. I brought this 600 myr premium for jogging and sony says i can use it for jogging since its water proof. When its not working same sony service personel says its due to corrotion hence cant cover under wrranty. Its a shame sony!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

DISAPPOINTED

MDRXB80BS/B 17 November 2017 by Joao Lara (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

SPOILED UNDER 1 YEAR, and I can not use the warranty

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

excellent features, but water resistance.

MDRXB80BS/B 12 November 2017 by juno (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

these work great and are my third pair of this model however my first did break after being in the pouring rain which caused the glue to come off and seemed to cause them to stop working so take the water resistance rating with a grain of salt.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Horrible bluetooth connection

MDR-XB80BS 11 November 2017 by Kimani730 (USA)

Bluetooth not working after first time connecting. Works on none of my devices !

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony XB80BS wirelss sports earphones

MDR-XB80BS 03 November 2017  (United Kingdom)

I have found that this is an extremely good product and no tangling of wires

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Volume of the music too soft!!

MDR-XB80BS 29 October 2017 by Gallop (USA)

I bought the earpiece yesterday thinking that the music would be great. BUT, the volume is too low and soft despite me maximizing the volume on my handphone. HELP!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Does not charge after many uses

MDRXB80BS/B 18 October 2017  (USA)

I've bought 3 of the Sony - XB80BS in 2017. I used them on average 2 hours per day 7 days a week. At about the 6th week, the XB80BS stops charging. I plug it in (1 amp charger, hence the computer) and the red light blinks for 3 seconds then stops. I hear "battery level low" immediately when I turn it on even after many hours of charging. I love the sound of the XB80BS. I've bought many of the other competitors products, but I don't like them. Fortunate for me, I've bought a 3rd party insurance so that when the XB80BS goes bad, I get a new one. Hopefully this issue will be resolved in the future. Also I wish, like the competitor ear plugs, when you turn the XB80BS on, I want to hear, "Battery level at X percent" That would be nice. THE SOUND QUALITY IS THE BEST!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent!!

MDR-XB80BS 14 October 2017  (USA)

bought it last week and i feel its excellent!!!.. never have problem with wearing glasses with it :D

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

it is all about the bass

MDR-XB80BS 03 October 2017 by Eli2017 (USA)

It took about 4 headphones before finding the right one. These are great sounding headphones and do not fall off your ears. The only thing i don't like about them is that they will make you look like dumbo since they stretch the edges of your ears outwards if you wear your glasses with them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not charging

MDR-XB80BS 18 August 2017  (USA)

i bought it month back but it is not charging. When I hook it to my computer, red light comes on for few seconds and then goes off.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

All good

MDR-XB80BS 17 August 2017 by Dekayblue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with my new Bluetooth headphones. Great fit and excellent sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wireless Bluetooth headphones with a great bass.

MDR-XB80BS 31 July 2017 by deve52 (United Kingdom)

I bought these Sony headphones about a month ago, and I'm very pleased with them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

XB80BS EXTRA BASS

MDR-XB80BS 26 July 2017 by Pickles1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use - good sound . However ,I find the clip which tightens the headphone leads often comes loose or detached from one of the leads which results in the buds becoming loose in the ear which affects the sound quality. Easy to keep clean

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

They're great but...

MDR-XB80BS 25 July 2017 by Eazzy_E (USA)

I love these Bluetooth earbuds. The hook helps prevent the earbuds from falling out of my ears. The sounds is fantastic too. The only problem that I have is that they turn on by themselves. Maybe I might need to get a new pair.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great bluetooth conection.

MDRXB80BS/B 22 July 2017 by MisterSony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphones are light and comfortable. It provides good range of sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good sound

MDR-XB80BS 25 June 2017 by Dell1971 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simple to set up with my phone and desktop {wouldn't connect to me Tablet 2017 model??} comforable to wear, long battery life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good try, not complete.

MDR-XB80BS 07 June 2017 by Evvan (USA)

the good: surprisingly comfortable considering that they feel and look really big and clunky when putting on. Sound and noise cancelling is at least average and good enough for me to listen to podcast or similar when at gym or buss. Since the earphone is supported over the ear they don't need to be crammed in as tight as regular in-ear phones without falling off, which I like very much. The buttons are situated alright for easy access after a learning period. The bad: even if reasonable comfortable they are big enough to be irritating when wearing a high collar or a hood. Especially the cord, which is quite long, is stiff and gets in the way when turning my head. The plastic piece used to gather the cord is not helping much at all. It falls of very easily and at best helps the earphones from falling off when running. There is also a very annoying scratchy sound that travels from the cord to the earphones when the cord touches the fabric of clothes (which it does all the time). This makes i almost unbearable to have the phones in ear when silent.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Poor build-up

MDR-XB80BS 31 May 2017 by icorex (USA)

After a month with my Sony MRD-XB80BS, I am extremely unsatisfied. First, their Bluetooth antenna is very weak and they connected and disconnect all the time, even when my LG G5 is less then a meter away in my pocket. Second, they fell/slip off your ears if you have hair longer than 1mm. And third problem is, if you are wearing jacket or something around your neck, their massive design around the year touches it and make them fell off. The only joy I experienced was smashing them couple of times in the wall, after a series of connection and disconnection.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

11

0

Quality item

MDR-XB80BS 13 May 2017 by Listener2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well worth the money: excellent sound, comfortable fit, value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

XB80BS Microphone good as AS800BT (XB50BS no good)

MDR-XB80BS 13 March 2017 by NameNickName (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

MDR-XB80BS: Good sound and microphone quality. MDR-XB80BS: Base is not too bassey for music all calls. MDR-XB80BS: Clear, loud microphone when taking a call (no one complains they can't hear you), similar to the MDR-AS800BT before wires broke internally after a year. The MDR-XB50BS: microphone volume way too low. Everyone complained they couldn't hear me. MDR-XB80BS: Goes around neck under shirt comfortably (like a necklace when not in use), and ear pieces can be 'hooked' together so that they don't fall down inside your shirt. Easy connection via NFC for my Android (Samsung S5) and iPhones (6 and 7). Battery lasts well. Fits around ears comfortably. Easy controls once you have learnt how to grab the left ear piece when on your ear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Poor sound levels

MDR-XB80BS 26 January 2017 by Cazza07 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had these brought for me for use when running and in the gym. I am really disappointed with the volume level, even when turned up to full volume I can still hear other sounds around me. My far cheaper headphones have a far better volume.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

17

0

Great product overall

MDR-XB80BS 15 January 2017 by Erne (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product overall. Nothing not to dislike. Especially love the design!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brand New Flavour in Your Ear

MDR-XB80BS 13 January 2017 by Jaben121 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good quality headphones great sound easy to operate, the only thing is when you work out hard the perspiration from the skin causes the Buds to move from the earhole, this is where you lose the Bass from the overall sound. Sony!!! your technical department needs to work on the Buds material, silicon is to slippery when moist, for the Buds perhaps you may give thought to a high quality expandable memory type foam, or may be a silicon Bud that contain a surface film that holds the Bud to the moist skin. PS, Sony!!! when you have made these BUDS can you let me have some PLEASE.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Doesn't work for me

MDR-XB80BS 07 January 2017 by sennheiser user (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for me but I found the earpieces are chunky and not comfortable for gym use and despite having extra bass I found the sound to be tinny. They are not for me and have been returned.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

3

0

XB80 in-ear Bluetooth headphones

MDR-XB80BS 03 January 2017 by MickeyH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really easy to listen know to my phone, sound occasionally breaks up but extremely good quality. If only you could make calls as well as answering them. Easy to use though and links quickly once connected.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great In-ear headphones

MDRXB80BS/B 04 December 2016 by sbsoccer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Before I bought this, I was trying out another "popular" bluetooth sports in ear headphones and was not impressed (i.e. lack of bass). Based on my experience with Sony products, I decided to checkout the extra bass and give this a try. Boy, I'm glad I did. As advertised, the overall sound clarity is amazing. Lots of bass (you can really feel the thump) but not too overwhelming. Very well balance headset. Buttons on the controls are easily accessible, easy to pair with my Samsung phone and sweat/water splash proof. I use this for running, hiking and gym. Very good purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Good Quality, VFM

MDRXB80BS/B 02 December 2016 by VivekG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Packing and accessories are as good as per the cost paid. Looks and feels great. Nice fit on ears. Sound Quality and Bluetooth range is very good. Enjoyed feeling the bass and music at comfort of wireless.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0