191

4.5 based on 191 customer reviews

111
65
8
4
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

I Love My a5000 Digital Camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 26 September 2014 by Elko (USA)

We bought the camera for our family vacation, to Chicago. Small, light-weight, and pocket-friendly. With built-in flash, and automatic settings, talking pictures was effortless, and the picture quality is crisp and dazzling.

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very flimsy camera

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 17 September 2016 by WhyDoYouNeedNickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony a5000L 4 months ago and have already sent it for repairs. There are burnt pixels on the back screen and the camera now fails to recognise the kit lens. I had much higher expectations from Sony, but it seems this camera is very flimsy compared to other entry level DSLRs from Cannon or Nikon.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

192 Customer Reviews

0

Nice compact camera with extras

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 01 October 2017 by shaman1 (United Kingdom)

I have not had time to fully use this camera but my husband has managed to set it jup well. It is very compact and the photos are great, Can see that it would be a good idea to have a spare lens cover as it is not attached to the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-5000 KIT 31 August 2017 by Flameven (Philippines)

I bought this just this month and i love it thanks Sony love you

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for my needs.

ilce5000lb 25 August 2017 by Skippy33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera offers a great design and good resolution in a smaller package. I specifically did NOT want to move to a DSLR due to bulk, weight of lenses, etc. The 5000 offers a fairly intuitive menu and adaptability with a good range of option/accessories to cover most photographic needs. I recently used this camera on the 2017 eclipse with excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great video quality

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 25 August 2017 by sincpara (United Kingdom)

I was pleasantly surprised how good the video quality was, and the pictures are also great

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Camera

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 11 August 2017 by Msl67 (United Kingdom)

Just got the camera 2 weeks ago so still getting to know it. Reason for purchase wanted small good general camera. So far it look good

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super Camera Whe You Need Something Compact

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 09 August 2017 by John DM (United Kingdom)

I'd become a bit disappointed with my point and shoot Lumix but didn't wasn't the bulk of an SLR. The A5000 seems like a pretty good compromise. Early days yet but I'm impressed with the shots I've taken so far. A bit surprised that the flash needs to be raised via a button and setting up the wifi connection is downright clunky, almost last century.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

top marks for a top camera

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 22 July 2017 by gr4h4m (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I selected the a5100 after looking at a lot of reviews and when Ted Forbes from the Art Of Photography gave a great review then I knew this was the small camera of choice. It comes with a really good kit lens but I bought an adapter that enables me to fit my old Canon FD lens which gives me a whole range now. The camera works very well with these lenses and even have a magnified focus screen to get the best results. Very happy but the real test is to come when I take it to a couple of music festivals.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not For the price

ILCE-5000 KIT 16 July 2017 by sonny215 (USA)

Lightweight and stylish. great picture quality but overheats to quick

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Awesome camera at an affordable price

ILCE-5000 KIT 16 July 2017 by CEuC (USA)

Super pictures, great design, all at a reasonable price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great pictures and video But Overheats Very Quick

ILCE-5000 KIT 15 July 2017 by sonny215 (USA)

purchased the sony a5000 for vlogging and picture taking. After a very short time of recording indoors in air conditioning it over heated and stopped recording which leads me to believe if taking video outside the time would be cut in half due to overheating. pictures and video are amazing light weight and stylish.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

great slim camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 09 July 2017 by zfarks (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I+ve have 3 cameras and this one have been by far the best. Recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony a5000

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 08 July 2017 by Trail turtle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I always wanted a mirror-less camera. Picked the Sony a5000 as my very first. I am completely satisfied

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding product

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 07 July 2017 by Tee28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this camera for occasions such as holidays, weddings and overall family events. I am absolutely impressed with the quality of the photos I have tested out. They are sharp and extremely clear which I am excited about. The camera is a good compact shape which is very handy if you are using it to take pictures on holidays etc as well as having a handy grip on the side. Also the camera features are easy to get your head around. The only downside of this is that it doesn't include a camera battery charger which is a shame due to the price I paid for the camera. I would have also liked it to have a case to protect it as it is a heavy-ish camera. But overall very impressed!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ease of use

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 06 July 2017 by Buford (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera and happy with with what i brought would recommend this a5000 to someone who is looking for something a step up from a lower end point and shoot camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

timeless piece

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 02 July 2017 by dimpzyhue (Philippines) Verified Purchaser Verified

happy to have it that i am looking forward to capture more precious moments

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

love the time lapse

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 29 June 2017 by Hyduk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cant fault the camera has everything I need like charge with the USB for when your on the go with a power bank, using your phone to point focus and save a copy of what you caputured

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 24 June 2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got my a5000 as a gift from my Son and Daughter. I have always loved taking pictures but never had a good camera. Even though I am just learning the settings and when to use different settings, I have already taken some breathtaking photos! I am in love with my new camera and can't wait to learn more about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and lightwieght

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 11 June 2017 by Hayden75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a couple of weeks ago and I have found it very easy to use and already the quality of the photos is excelent. Two negative points. 1) The lack of an attachment for the lens cap.(solved by buying one on line) 2) The lack of a viewfinder,on bright days it is difficult to see the screen. (one can be purchased but it looks bulky and spoils the look of the camera)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect camera for a novice picture taker

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 11 June 2017 by Tyrone TJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Price Great Quality No complaints Easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony a6000

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10 May 2017 by Eemrose (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely love this camera. Very impressed by the the quality of the photos it takes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A lot of camera in a small package

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10 May 2017 by Coggers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as a replacement for a 14mp, much loved fixed lens compact and it has impressed me hands down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for its price

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 05 May 2017 by Me_7711 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it about a year and a half ago. Its is a great little camera for its price. I wouldn't expect miracles from it though. It works well enough in good light, and I wouldn't push it anywhere above 1500 ISO. Also, if you are planning to stick to the kit lens, bare in mind that it works best at f/5.6. Its performance in low light is quite dissapointing, especially taken into account the performance of its older brother the a7sII (and yes, I realize taht they have a 10x price difference). I am certainly happy with this camera, and I certainly would recomend it, though if you can save a little bit of money I would recommend getting the a6000 at least for its EVF and a flip-out display that can be face down.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value cam for the price it costs

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 01 May 2017 by MantasT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the price costs it`s quite good camera. Good video and picture quality in normal conditions. Some negative things: In low light it performs not so good as expected. I have some doubts if it really makes ~3 pictures in a second (in burst mode). It's difficult to physically press video button. In my opinion additional applications for this cam costs way to much. In selfie mode it's little bit difficult to press shutter button.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Although I have only taken a few photographs.

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 25 April 2017 by Mr Magoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only used this camera to take comparative shots. The results were amazing. Can't wait to use this lovely piece of kit for real.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SMART AND GOOD VALUE

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 24 April 2017 by BillMcC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this several weeks ago and love it, great quality for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good focussing camera

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 11 April 2017 by cooperman51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this for a birthday present. Good features and excellent choice of accessories available including lenses and filters.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good camera

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 22 March 2017 by Yoken (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Touch screen is a miss but not too much, and full zoom in on playback is not convenient.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A5000 camera exelent

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 08 March 2017 by Denac (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Iam more than happy I puchased this great Sony camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for a novice!

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 07 March 2017 by LaraLara88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera features and editing capabilities are great, again I am a novice and wanted a mirrorless camera that was easy to function and shoot easily with. Also very light and therefore great for travellers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

When I Taking the picture It say Error.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 06 February 2017 by Dhong (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this One year ago and my camera is not work.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

Absolutely shocking - broken after 2 months.

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 30 January 2017 by tallia123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

cant believe it broke after 2 months. spent my salary on this - i take profesional photos for a living. I am outraged.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Finally upgraded to an alpha series

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 27 January 2017 by Wolfsrainn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using a simple Pentax camera for well over a year I finall decided to upgrade to an a5000 after tons of recommendations from friends. Definitely see myself jumping to the 6000 or 6100 in the future

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great DSLR to start pro-photography journey

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 24 January 2017 by ikuznets (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The easiest way to highlight camera features is by comparison to other known ones. So I will compare A5000 to two neighboring cameras: Nikon S9300 on lower end and Sony A6000 on higher one. Here is why. Nikon sensor properties are common for its point-and-shoot segment: 16 MP resolution, 3200 ISO rating, 1/2.3" size. Sony A5000 parameters: 20 MP, 16000 ISO, APS-C. Sony A6500 has top characteristics in this group: 24 MP, 25600 ISO, APS-C size. This sensor is also installed on Sony A5100 - an intermediate between A5000 and A6000 in Sony's product line. I used all three cameras and the point I want to make is that Nikon-style cameras produce pictures that are just as good as the ones made by modern 12 MP cameras of smartphones like Samsung. Or just any reasonably good smartphone, with small deviations. Obviously, this comparison is made without using optical zoom on camera and digital zoom on phone. A6000 picture quality is way better than any smartphone. Sky-rocketing sensitivity, twice more pixels etc. And A5000 occupies a sweet spot in between: its pictures are distinctly better than smartphones even with kit lens like SELP1650, but it costs approximately twice less than A6000. The sensor size on both Sonys provide way better light sensitivity compared to any other smaller sensor. And from user perspective, the biggest difference at normal conditions between these two models is the viewfinder. From the practical point of view, A5000 is cheap enough to not care about too much during travel (thanks to its lightweight and compactness), but it shares E-style lens mount with most of the new Alpha family. This allows smooth transition into more sophisticated models that can be started with kit lens, continued by adding better primes and zooms, and then finished by upgrading the camera while already having all necessary lens and accessories collection.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome Camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 16 January 2017 by 92dshelton (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after doing research on the Mirrorless cameras. So I made the switch from DSLR to Mirrorless and it's the best decision I've made!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Phenomenal

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 06 January 2017 by Larraquius (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was a gift, and it was my first "real" camera (the previous one I owned was a basic compact/"point-n-shoot" camera). I have spent several days retrospectively researching the product and it appears that the Sony alpha-series cameras are the cream of the crop: they deliver nearly DSLR (or, at times, truly DSLR) quality at a fraction of the cost, and more importantly, a fraction of the bulk and weight. And it shows. The photographs taken are sharp and detailed. I have complete control over the aperture, shutter speed, ISO, and I can engage manual focus, as well. The camera is lightweight and compact. All in all, a phenomenal photographic instrument through and through.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Registration process

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 31 December 2016 by Lynnee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took me and hour to complete. I expected to wiz right through this.

0

5

0

Great product for beginners

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 20 December 2016 by LindaL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it great camera for vlogging and concert pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good photos, easy to use camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 09 December 2016 by Boule (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great camera easy to operate good for close-up photos

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great compact camera

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 07 December 2016 by JS in Sussex (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera on a friend's recommendation, and I am very pleased with it. It is light and easy to carry around my neck on its strap, whilst having the features and results of a much heavier SLR. The picture quality that I get is excellent, and operation of the camera including using the many features is fairly straightforward once used to the menu system. Very occasionally a picture taken seems to become corrupted before saving properly onto the SD card, which only becomes apparent when played back, but this is thankfully rare. Overall, it's a great camera for its price, and makes high quality photography accessible without the need to carry a large SLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

very good

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 05 December 2016 by ichaputrika13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

handy camera and love the model, not so bulky with nice outcome

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beautiful Camea

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 27 November 2016 by drbob25 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife bought this but I use it. The quality of the photos is second to none!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Clarity...

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 20 November 2016 by MAANDALALA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned this camera for a few years. It takes great video and photos. I especially love being able to attach other lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent Camera

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 12 November 2016 by MNSaeed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this wonderful product about two weeks ago and I'm loving it. It's perfect!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Sony camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10 November 2016 by Chofo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It helps me a lot with my job, I us to shot also our parties at home.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

LOVE! This camera

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 20 October 2016 by Roxie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was brought as present for me and it is perfect I wanted something in-between a DSLR and better than a compact and this is exactly that. Takes great pictures, video and loving the play memories apps! Still need to figure all the features out but would recommend for all those who want great pictures but aren't into photography enough to buy a DSLR and don't want to settle for a compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Power in a small package

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 19 October 2016 by Boltsfan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a Nikon DSLR and this little camera does everything it does and much easier to carry around. The picture quality is outstanding also.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellant camera

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 17 October 2016 by Gertie71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy I decided to buy this camera as it is value for money and easy to use! The instruction manual is limited, however a more in depth manual is available on the website!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent camera with great features

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10 October 2016 by Chriinessex1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and really produces excellent results all the time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Difficult to use and poor results

Body + 16–50 mm Power Zoom Lens 05 October 2016 by Jake 22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera to replace a Lumix model and I have to say this is nowhere as good . With the supplied 16-50mm lens the image is soft and not very sharp . The camera tends to overexpose on most settings , The iA mode is easily fooled unlike my previous Lumix .The rear screen is a joke ,you more or less have to guess ,even with it switched to sunshine mode which just bleaches the image out .There seems to be so many different systems on this camera that do the same thing unfortunately all this does nothing to improve the image quality, which is the whole point ! On a more positive note ,the camera is very nice to hold . I have been a photographer for more than 50 years and have to say this is one of the worst cameras I have ever bought . Very dissapionted .

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

11