P 81,999.00

23

4.4 based on 23 customer reviews

13
9
0
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

24 Customer Reviews

0

Great camera in a small package

Body Only 24 April 2017 by P3NG (United Kingdom)

I bought this two weeks ago, and I am so very happy with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Complex menus but excellent viewfinder

Body Only 15 April 2017 by feelyjordan (United Kingdom)

Bought body only to replace a Sony NEX 6 camera and used for stock shooting using manual focus lenses ( The Sony standard zoom isn't great). Appears well built and the excellent EVF appears better than that on the NEX. I like being able to specify the focal length of the fitted lens so as to maximise the effect of the inbuilt image stabilisation, and the fact that auto ISO now comes with an adjustable minimum shutter speed. Negatives, very complex menu system, taking time to adjust from the much more simple NEX set up. I have simple needs, alway shoot raw mainly on aperture priority, sometimes fully manual, so don't need all of these choices.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Reason for purchasing

Body Only 04 April 2017 by David 747 (United Kingdom)

I replaced my Sony a6000 which I have enjoyed using extensively around the world.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Leaks like a bucket

Body Only 02 April 2017  (United Kingdom)

At 3 days old a milky coffee was poured over it showing just how leaky it is. Battery compartment, Lens mount, even with a lens mounted, Hot shoe cover! Flash housing all allowed milk in. Just hope the professional clean works. 2nd issue is the tutorials need to be in insular blocks rather than per single menu item. 3rd issue is V1.0 firmware has Dodgy bugs so that after installing V1.2 the video recorded at V1.0 cannot be played back by the camera<Thats truely SAD!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I regret this Purchase... really

Body Only 23 March 2017 by Cjallen (USA)

I must say, all the talk about this camera got me hyped up only to be let down in a big way. I have had this camera nearly two weeks now, and have tested it significantly in that amount of time. I have taken pictures at a recital, various social events, street shots, night time, beach portraits, senior pictures, marine shots, architecture shots, and several other distinct categories. The camera seems to miss focus roughly 20% of the time and will often suggest a completely blurred image is in focus… I have never had a camera do that. This camera seems to have absolutely no weather sealing either. Dust and sand can easily find its way into various parts of this camera which grinds and surely damages the body. For the record I use the Sony 18-105 F4 lens. It is rarely sharp and I am not impressed with this G Master lens. I will say it feels good in the hand and seems to be built well. The digital zoom ring is constantly lagging and frustrating to use. I bump the power zoom button often and that’s frustrating as well. Battery life is horrid… but I am sure everyone knew that already. One battery from my previous DSLR lasted the equivalent of about 4-5 of the 6500’s batteries. The camera strap must be made out of sand paper… but at least it exfoliates your neck when you use it. The camera strap also damages the eye cup…. very poor design when one aspect of the product damages another part. The dial used to set aperture is badly placed and is often hit as well. So as I am taking pictures, the aperture is at various openings. The camera also didn’t come with a stand alone charger for the battery… you have to plug the camera into an included 18 inch cord. How could that be any more annoying? The screen is also totally useless if you’re shooting outside. It is so dim and you will often tap it which will mess with the autofocus. Honestly, I regret buying this camera and I believe its worth less than half of the MSRP. I thought I would learn to love it, but I only find more and more ways that it was poorly designed and falls short of the competition.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

5

5

0

One of the most versatile cameras on the market

Body Only 20 March 2017 by Chetan (United Kingdom)

Upgraded from the A6300 and it definitely has been worth it! 1. The new deeper grip and the little extra weight has significantly enhanced the ergonomics of the camera. 2. The new additional customisable button is proving to be really useful. 3. IBIS is spectacular, a game-changer for photography. I am getting 4.5 stops of compensation with the unstabilised 24/1.8 and 55/1.8. 4. Touch to focus helps a lot when you quickly need to switch your focussing point. I only wish it had a faster write interface. Perhaps UHS-II or even xQD card compatibility.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent features

Body Only 20 March 2017 by sgfj (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from an ILCE-6000 last month. The ILCE-6500 is a significant improvement: sensor noise is much reduced and I can easily shoot at ISO3200 without serious image impairment, the viewfinder/screen level is simple but very effective, the extra in-body stability is worthwhile and even though the normal shutter is considerably quieter than the ILCE-6000, having the silent shutter is brilliant for wildlife and for candid shots. The touchscreen is disappointing in use and the menu system is still difficult to use - extra manual dials for things like exposure compensation and drive settings would be better. This is an expensive camera body too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Astonishing Pictures

Body Only 13 March 2017 by Jordi2445 (USA)

I love the pictures, their definition, the great detail, the awesome effects I can make straight out of the camara... The bokeh effect, how I can play with all the focusing spots...incredible... The ease of use, compared to other brands Sony is very user friendly. But to this greatness I have found several disavantages: after a long shooting session, I have to reset the camara by taking the battery out to be able to power it again if it turns off, Sometimes the focusing goes beserk after a long shooting session... It is not compatible with all transreceivers, found out finally its compatible with PocketWizard...I have upgarded the OS, this improved the LEDs touch sensitivity, and some little quirks... overall a great camara.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing

Body Only 11 March 2017 by pismo (United Kingdom)

If I could use only one word to describe it, it would be amazing. The only problem is that there is not an adequate user manual available from Sony. You can bypass it by purchasing one of the available third party books.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent product

Body Only 06 March 2017 by Nippit (United Kingdom)

I've owned and a6000 for a couple of years, so impressed but wished I could use my a mount lenses from my dSLR. The a6500 is a technological leap above the a6000 and the steady shot inside now allows (with the required mount) me to use my non emount lenses and still keep the steady shot proved by the a mount cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A Brilliant Camera

Body Only 23 February 2017 by DAGPAG (United Kingdom)

I sold my Canon and bought this and what a difference it has made to my photography. I was always an "auto" photographer, but this camera has given me the confidence to go fully manual and it's so easy to do. Love the autofocus and face recognition. I also do a lot of video work and had to carry two cameras around, but not anymore. The $K images are stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

3

0

Lightweight and great features

Body Only 23 February 2017 by wannaBphotographer (USA)

Going from a Canon Rebel xTI to this is going to take some getting used to. This is so lightweight and compact and the pictures are amazing. It's an all around camera due to the video ability which my old Canon did not have. I'm so used to having my iPhone I stopped carrying a camera, now with the a6500, it will be my new companion. A tad bit too pricey in my opinion because I am not sure it can honestly compete with a true professional camera that has better quality features in the same price range. Having a feature for just "My Customizable's" or something to that would be great under the function, which needs some organization. I purchased the a6000 model the day before and it stopped working after reading reviews, I decided when I returned the camera I would might upgrade to the 6300, I wanted the a6300 but was told it was being pulled completely and the store I purchased my camera from no longer was stocking them, that's when I actually made the decision to 'dig deeper' and get the a6500. The weather 'resistance' and upgraded features over the 6000 & 6300 was a seller but the cost was not. I also purchased Sony's E mount E30mm/F3.5 Macro lens and Sony's Handicam Cyber-Shot flash along with a UV filter and Polarized filter. Forgot the stupid spare battery! Haven't figured out how to change the camera from 60fps to 120fps - just read that on a review but they did not explain how do it. Purchased on 2/22/17 .. going to do my first actual pictures today 2/23 of my grandson...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Great complement to A7R2

Body Only 21 February 2017 by Photoguy525 (USA)

Sony's mirrorless line is fantastic! Very pleased with the lenses and functionality of the mirrorless line.

Design

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera, complex menus

Body Only 15 February 2017 by Stewart62 (United Kingdom)

This was an upgrade to my Sony NEX 5, and was a great choice. The camera gives good results, although the menu is quite complex and I am still getting used to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06 February 2017 by Wee Malky (United Kingdom)

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

amazing camera terrible battery life.

Body Only 02 February 2017 by jsv598 (USA)

This camera is amazing! the features and design are best in class but the only reason i couldn't give it 5 stars in the terrible battery life. Sony should have included another battery instead of making you buy another one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Best crop cam out there....needs some fixes 88/100

Body Only 25 January 2017 by Jimmy7777 (USA)

great pictures....amazing 4k vid. dial wheel on rear needs improvement and firming up but its a great cam for the price....next.....A7rii ;-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

2

0

My best camera ever

Body Only 20 January 2017 by Anhow (United Kingdom)

This camera is a pleasure to use, it's given my photography a new lease of life, I can take it anywhere in my pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Very good general purpose camera

Body Only 17 January 2017 by Scot38 (United Kingdom)

After limited use I can say that this is a very good camera. I use it as camera for carrying around and only use it with the f4 16 70 mm lens. This makes a very good combination that will produce excellent images in most situations. A f2.8 16 50mm lens would be a useful addition to the range of legal ses available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Great camera in a compact body

Body Only 16 January 2017  (United Kingdom)

Excellent image quality with amazing autofocus in a compact package, it's hard to see why anyone would choose a bulky DSLR now this is available. Build quality is excellent and the camera is a pleasure to use. I love the quiet 'snick' of the shutter too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

great

Body Only 02 January 2017 by tondhoosh (USA)

great 4k quality and good stabilizer and also sensitive iso

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

6

0

A very worthwhile upgrade.

Body Only 28 December 2016 by SteveL1 (United Kingdom)

As an owner of previous Sony cameras and lenses, some non stabilised, some 'A' mount, I've been looking forward to the stabilisation feature and the touch screen focusing. They work very well and make this a camera I expect to last me for some years. Well done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

Sony did us proud again

Body Only 22 December 2016 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom)

Although the same sensor, the Image quality vastly improved from the 6300, because of LSI, imfo takes  a short cut and uses copper wire. 5 axis works well down to a 15th sec.  Buffer will hold over 100 RAW images in continuous burst cannot be viewed instantly but they are in the camera. AF covers almost entire screen 425 focus points. Tracker and focus quicker than the 6300. I can not see any black out at high shutter speeds. When Eye focus will not work with Some animals, the touch screen is fantastic. I have tested it at different ISO settings, as with all cameras low ISO is worth trying to achieve. High Iso, eg 3200 is still usable.   My thought on video, it is better than the A7R MK2. The sensor size and megapixels are not relevant. But in the 18months between cameras the technology has moved on. eg LSI etc

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

32

6

0

great pics it takes

Body Only 02 December 2016 by trebie2 (USA)

it is a great camera ibis works and the low light pics are good

20

41