Skip to Content

P 81,999.00

72

4.5 based on 72 customer reviews

42
24
5
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06 February 2017 by Wee Malky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Overall a good camera

Body Only 19 November 2017 by Jon123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased for the 120fps & 4K feature which I am happy with so far. A good little camera overall, however the menu system is tricky to get your head around. It’s compact size is also a big bonus - although it’s battery life is very poor - and the fact you only get one battery with this camera is disappointing due to this. Canon give two batteries with their cameras and there are functions on their models which I enjoy more than the Sony range due to its simplicity. The autofocus is okay - it works eventually - but I’ve found it to be slow on ocassions. A few issues, but on a whole I’m happy with my purchase due to the features it has as well as the cost being reasonable enough for my use purposes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

73 Customer Reviews

0

cool little monster

Body Only 13 December 2017 by drpixels (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Couldn't be happier with the photo and video quality of this camera really love every aspect of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera and fast auto focus.

Body Only 12 December 2017 by STMK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera. Been playing about with it and it has a good set of features. The auto focus is super fast and makes switching focus fast and responsive. The burst setting is great with a buff for up to 300 images. Took some great pictures at the weekend of fireworks and did not have to worry about filling the buffer. The build in Time laps and hyper laps are also great. Only experimented with these so far but so easy to setup and use. So should results in some great video. Touch screen for focus is great. Would be nice to expand this to some menu selection or other onscreen controls.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Challenge for amateur

Body Only 11 December 2017 by perfectionist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Downloaded "Help" part of which could be simpler i.e.consider the amateur. Once I master I believe this camera will give me much pleasure. I'm a perfectionist!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great burst speed

Body Only 11 December 2017 by schishti (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing product, the burst speed is amazing. The autofocus with a 85mm 1.4 gm isn't the best for burst, but is pretty good still. What would be amazing is if the silent shutter is improved like the A9 or A7riii. The silent shutter is really slow, with a really slow read out and slow speed. You can only shoot like one photo every 3 seconds with the silent shutter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

superb image quality and great features

Body Only 11 December 2017 by cypek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would have given it 4.5 rather than 4 if that was an option. the only interchangeable lens mirror-less I had before was a Panasonic GH1, after that I had a Nikon d5200 and now the a6500. please also note that I only used it for a few weeks, so bar far not used to all it can offer. so far I have a 35f/1.8 and 18-105f/4. my main use cases - kids running about, kids sports activities, general family photos (when I feel like carrying along something heavier than my phone) and videos of kids stuff. pros: light great picture quality great video quality very fast AF lots of features I did not notice overheating yet, but I never recorded for more than 20 min yet. battery life is OK (I have 3 batteries and that works well). cons: start-up time is not like DSLR (especially with a motorised zoom lens like teh 18-105) - this is my only real problem. if you power off to save battery, you need to provision a good few seconds (10+?) to get it back to ready. features need to be found through menus and buttons (and you have to remember which state gives what setting) - this is a matter of training. it feels like it was designed for the wide AF-A focus mode, and in other modes (like centre) it shows you there is a face, but you need to have it in the focus markers (or use touch screen) to get focus - that may be me still learning it. the UI (like the gyro display) is not 'live-fast' (I am not sure I tries the 120fps EVF yet. BTW, it took me a while to figure out the picture settings (had to download the actual full-blown manual).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Some huge features in a very small package

Body Only 05 December 2017 by jhmaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall I am very pleased with my a6500. I bought it for video, but I am considering expanding the system and replacing my Canon stills kit (2 full frame EOS bodies and lenses from 15mm to 300mm). I have been working as a stills photographer for over 20 years and have used the EOS system all that time. Only now am I considering changing. As far as video goes the camera is also very impressive. On a one handed gimbal it is fantastic. Small and light, and the auto-focus does a great job. I heard a few negative things in reviews. Poor menus, battery life, screen brightness (particularly in 4K), touch screen responsiveness were all mentioned as was overheating. It's cold here so I haven't given the overheating issue a hard test yet but I have had it recording back to back 29'50" in 4K without problems. The batteries do go quickly but I have spares. Other than that those criticisms seem to be exaggerated. Downsides. NO CHARGER. That is just mean. I don't like the Play Memories stuff - put all the necessary stuff in the camera from the start. Panasonic does. Seems like a small thing, but the strap eyes rattle (not good for video) and need to be removed. Some manufacturers build in rigid ones into the body (Canon) that make no sound. I particularly love the fact that this is a very good stills and video camera and yet it is so small and light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So fast for sports.

Body Only 04 December 2017 by djshorte (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy using this camera. Its so fast for sports I catch 95% of my shots now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Performer

ILCE-6500 03 December 2017 by Walkingseed (USA)

I have had my camera for about a year shooting video, stills, wildlife and scenery. It has travelled with me from desert heat to Antarctica, chasing whales in zodiacs. Fast shutter speeds allowed me to freeze birds and whales. No problems with focusing on fast moving critters. I got it as an alternate to my A7 to extend zoom capabilty of ny 70-300 to 450mm. It works well in dimly lit bars and bright snow. Battery life could be better but thats what soare batteries and pockets are for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very nice camera! Great in low light!

Body Only 02 December 2017 by Rastapoliceman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily to shoot video and it doesn’t disappoint. The quality is superb and it’s low light capability is beautiful. It’s well made and feels robust. Most of the operation is very intuitive and the menus are easy to navigate. My only slight niggle is the size and position of the video record button. I’ve looked at allocating a custom button to this, but it doesn’t seem possible... maybe it is ? I’d looked at the BMPCC and the Panasonic, but the specification and versatility of this system made it my first choice. All in all it really is an amazing specification camera and I love using it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This really is a pro grade camera, superb quality.

Body Only 26 November 2017 by Luapmac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from the superb a6000 and wow the upgrade is worth it. Really enjoying the addition of the touch screen and upgraded evf (electronic view finder). Coupled with the brilliant Sony 18-105mm F4.0 I am getting the best images ever. Take time to get to know the camera and you will be rewarded with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality Imaging

Body Only 25 November 2017 by Famous (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am pleased with this camera. Very quality images. I am new to photography and video and this camera has been a great one to learn on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

the quality you`d expect from Sony

Body Only 22 November 2017 by timbo1965 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Video Great Lens Great Pictures I had to save to buy this camera but I wanted the best i could afford and this and the A6500 has certainly delivered on every front. I particularly like the apps!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 21 November 2017 by Cucciman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

During my latest trip to Tanzania I tested a Sony A6300 and I fell in love with the picture quality and its small size factor that is ideal for candid photos. So I decided to buy the A6500 as soon as I got back home. As professional reporter I work with travel magazines and I need an instrument to pair with my full frame equipment. I think that in many occasions the A6500 is much more useful than a larger and bulky camera. After all I need to be ready to capture a shot anytime and carrying with me the heavy equipment of full frame cameras with all the lenses is out of question. Sony A6500, specially together with the convenient 16-70 f4, is the perfect tool to have with me full time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just perfect

ILCE-6500 19 November 2017 by dev84 (USA)

It would take a lot of time for me to explain why this camera is perfect. I had nex-5n, a500, a5100, a6000 and now a6500. With this new model all shortcomings of earlier models are addressed. For example with a6500 you can manually (with one press of customized button) switch from viewfinder to lcd screen and proximity sensor turns on and off the viewfinder when it's selected, this way it's possible to have camera turned on with screen and viewfinder off. This was not possible in a6000, it was possible only to turn off the screen but the back light was always on. There is a lot of small and big modifications in a6500, it's a very high quality professional product - You can't go wrong with it! I use mine with selp18105g which is very nicely balanced with the camera, and a perfect fit to hold in hands while using it. Thx dev

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Overall a good camera

Body Only 19 November 2017 by Jon123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased for the 120fps & 4K feature which I am happy with so far. A good little camera overall, however the menu system is tricky to get your head around. It’s compact size is also a big bonus - although it’s battery life is very poor - and the fact you only get one battery with this camera is disappointing due to this. Canon give two batteries with their cameras and there are functions on their models which I enjoy more than the Sony range due to its simplicity. The autofocus is okay - it works eventually - but I’ve found it to be slow on ocassions. A few issues, but on a whole I’m happy with my purchase due to the features it has as well as the cost being reasonable enough for my use purposes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great form-factor but disappointing

ILCE-6500 16 November 2017 by wrw627cinti (USA)

Several things exacerbate my dislike for the camera, e.g. 1. Deplorable battery life; just not big enough for all the things requiring juice; start-up lag time is a couple of seconds. 2. Fiddley little controls are ruff for old shakey fingers: the way some function suddenly doesn't work is often an inadvertent button-push that toggles an unwanted function 3. Rear LCD screen is impossible to read in strong sunlight - thereby hindering access to menus and adjustments like exposure comp! 4. Focus points should be accessible by touching rear screen, but that means they are reset to some corner by your cheek unless you lock them to, for instance, the center position. Focus point indicators very hard to see in bright sunlight; focusing via the contrast-detection is slow and fails more than in my Canon...an 8 year old technology! Phase detection focusing is only available IF you use the big A-mount lenses with an adapter!!! 5. Lens zoom ring and focus ring are virtually touching each other...easily mistaken if trying to touch-up focus; also, compared to every other ILC camera I've owned, mounting the lens to body feels "scratchy" and harsh - not precise. 6. Removal of SD card impaired by door only opening 90°: a finger nail buster. 7. In spite of largish APS-C sensor, the noise at even 800 DIN is noticeable. Stuff I've read says the new BSI (backside illuminated) sensors are the way of the future as they greatly reduce noise at high sensitivity. But, of course, that's another drain on the pathetic battery.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Simply the best

Body Only 13 November 2017 by Sonyboy 42 (United Kingdom)

Having had the experience of large dslr’s and struggling with the weight and awkwardness I invested in the original Sony e series cameras and lenses and progressed to the current A6500 and what a pleasure it is to handle and use, not heavy or awkward, quality is excellent and a joy to use, quite simply the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

Body Only 12 November 2017 by ELam (United Kingdom)

I am happy with all the feature from A6500 and is compatible with all my Sony E-mount lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just keep getting better and better

Body Only 11 November 2017 by Elliott C (United Kingdom)

I have used Sony cameras for a while now and I have recently acquired the a6500 and what can I say another great quality camera. I am still learning about the. Camera but so far so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

Body Only 06 November 2017 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I traded in my A6300 for it and it has lived up to my expectations. A very good camera. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile basis for system

Body Only 05 November 2017 by Mike565 (United Kingdom)

I bought the A6500 as an addition to my a6000. There are two main advantages which it has over the a6000, IBIS and the ability to tag photos with GPS data. The in-body image stabilisation means I can get great results from all my old Minolta lenses. I have tried GPS tagging before, with a phone app that needs clock synchronisation between the phone and camera, and then using Lightroom to complete the process. The Sony app works by connecting the phone and camera when you switch on the camera, and the phone sends the GPS data to the camera when you take a photo, all via Bluetooth. Very simple, and works every time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very good

ILCE-6500 09 October 2017 by chopin864 (USA)

a very good camera. i wish the touchscreen will be better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Near perfect ‘Go Anywhere’ camera!

Body Only 09 October 2017 by Injun (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A6500 was bought as a replacement or upgrade to my A6000, particularly for its features: improved sensor, 5-axis ISS, touch screen and better ergonomics. Indeed, A6500 has not disappointed me! Majority of my praises will already have been published .... so I would like to focus on couple ‘mods’ Sony should make via the next Firmware Update: 1. Ability to switch-off ‘Touch Screen’ option or make it a Custom Option. 2. Electronic Level display should larger and brighter. 3. Display short explanation of menu selection/option (see or similar to Panasonic LX100 system). Otherwise, A6500 is an excellent (near perfect) camera and I would highly recommend to any photographer either upgrading or from new.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love the camera

Body Only 23 September 2017 by N8ty (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have very much enjoyed playing around with the camera. It has great colors and even tone. The biggest thing is that I don’t like the light meter as much seems to underexpose, so I had to adjust the metering modes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

This little buddy have all!

ILCE-6500 22 September 2017 by StoykoLY (USA)

This little buddy have all what I need for video and photo needs. Compact body, in camera stabilization, big sensor with 24MP, full sensor read 6K for 4K movie recording, slow motion, S-Log, Incredible auto focus, amazing low light performance and so many other things! I stop here because is to many things that I like :) p.s. For users who talk of poor battery live: I adapt 5200mAh battery for hot shoe mount and because camera allow usb charge I can shoot all day :) For overheat problem I test camera with 4K plus activated auto focus,WiFi, Bluetooth, External battery plus internal attached and write 32GB SD cart on one file with NO PROBLEM on 30 degrees Celsius.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little package

Body Only 19 September 2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent AF and IQ. Handy in the pocket and works well with E and FE lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Lots of different features and options.

Body Only 04 September 2017 by Steve_t (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera because of its size since I was going on holiday to China and didn't want to carry my Sony a77 and lenses because they are too heavy.. The standard selp1650 lens is very good wide open and zoomed out (landscapes and quality holiday snaps) but not particularly good for portraits. More apsc portrait lens options would be appreciated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Compact with very high quality images

Body Only 27 August 2017 by Hariseldon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A recent purchase and overall very good. Compact size with sensor quality very close to full frame. I purchased with 16-70 f4 Zeiss Sony lens and find this to produce high quality images, good low light performance and the lens is compact with an equivalent 24-105mm in full frame terms, focus acquisition is very good, quick and consistent, tracking is pretty good. Previous full frame cameras have been Nikon D4, D810 and Leica M240 and the overall image quality is in the same ball park with a lens camera combination dramatically lighter and more compact. Clearly slower lens and the APS C sensor reduces the out of focus element available but the smaller lens is adequate in this area with attractive broken at the longer end of the focal length range.. Very highly featured camera, easy to ignore these but in fact the anti motion blur trick of combining four frames really does work incredibly well as an example, other features I didn't think I would use are pretty good. Highly customisable which makes for a potentially steep learning curve, fairly complex menu structure but the camera gives great images out of the box and one can take full advantage of the extra features , customisation etc in a slower manner, as you develop experience with the camera. Viewfinder is very good , screen is clear but not 100% in very bright conditions, touch screen for focus works well, even when using the camera at eye level. I previously had an Olympus OMD EM1 with 12-40 lens ( equiv 24-80mm) alongside my bigger full frame cameras but it was actually heavier than this combination and the quality was markedly lower than the full frame cameras, relatively poor high ISO and significantly less dynamic range whilst this camera provides great images in the same ball park as the full frame cameras. The free Capture One software is very good and the heavily discounted PRO version is a true bargain , I did not expect it to be so good and I am a convert now from the Lightroom subscription package. Overall very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera with some design flaws

ILCE-6500 24 August 2017 by SKiD12 (USA)

I am satisfied with picture quality and autofocus. What bothers me is dimming of the display (camera display is unusable in sunny weather) and lower quality of 1080/50p than on old A6000. I would also appreciate custom menu.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing Video Camera!

ILCE-6500 21 August 2017 by Stef929292 (USA)

The A6500 Is a great all around video camera, your able to use it as a B-Roll camera, a main camera, or anything you need it for. It doesn't over heat when you record for prolonged periods in 4K. I absolutely love this camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

Body Only 18 August 2017 by kam6140 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very good image quality an the best autofocus camera ever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lots of features, crummy WiFi app

Body Only 10 August 2017 by KJMaui4064 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to improve the quality of my travel pix - landscapes demand more detailed images than I get from pocketable cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love this camera

Body Only 07 August 2017 by Bird Man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from the a6000 to this a6500. Loved the a6000 but really love this a6500. The focus is faster and tack on most of the time compared to the older version and way better than my old Nikon. I shoot wildlife mostly birds. I purchased the 70/300 G lens for it which to my understanding brings it up to a 450mm on the smaller formate. Have taken some great photos of peregrine falcons flying and diving. Can't get a faster critter than that to photograph and the focus does an amazing job. Would like to see Sony make more long range telephoto lenses that will work with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 27 July 2017 by jh28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently took this camera to Kew Gardens in London and it performed very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Very fine body, frustrating interface.

Body Only 23 July 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The actual camera is excellent - very high quality captures in all lights, and the actual photo-taking is generally easy to do. Some useful settings including one to take 3 photos in rapid succession, with an f-stop up and down on either side of that set. However the overall interface, like most Sony cameras, is horrendously difficult to negotiate, and the fact that the touch-screen only allows touching to select focus point rather than options within menus is a trick missed. Hopefully some of these criticisms will be addressed in software updates - the hardware is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Excellent Camera

Body Only 17 July 2017 by macman2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a migrant from the DSLR world, this camera has everything that I moved formats for. Small size, features to compete and beat the best Canon and Nikon have to offer. Truly brilliant!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing light weight camera

Body Only 16 July 2017 by a6300 user (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

my 3rd of the a 6000 range, the 6000 was good, the 6300 very good, the 6500 very good just got even better

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

I haven't been able to format the SD Card.

Body Only 26 June 2017 by j8castro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had Sony Before and they seemed simpler to use. I have yet to take a picture

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Great upgrade - at a price!

Body Only 19 June 2017 by Old_wump (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as an upgrade to a Sony A6300. Five axis stabilisation, an improved grip and a much improved menu system are all excellent. The new touch screen is of limited functionality but fulfills it's primary function of focus point selection admirably. This limitation reduced 5 stars to 4. There are improvements in video functionality. It was tough wading through less than adequate manuals (on-line) even as an experienced user of the A6300 but third party tutorials and blogs helped. Overall, as an upgrade, it is expensive, but more comparable with other systems if chosen "stand alone". Sony need to improve the manual in the same way they have improved the menu tree.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

I keep discovering new features

Body Only 18 June 2017 by Roberts12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little camera is amazing. I keep finding new features I didn't know existed and am thoroughly enjoying the camera. Its amazing what you can do with a box, some buttons, a sensor, a lens mount, and most of all, a computer with software! Not like the film cameras of old!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-6500 18 June 2017 by AJames (USA)

Fast focus, light and easy to use. I just mind blowing to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent APS-C Camera!!

Body Only 15 June 2017 by jlozano281 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is the best mirrorless you can buy!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little pocket rocket

ILCE-6500 08 June 2017 by Muflonizacija (USA)

I am a Nikon user and I wanted something small and compact that delivers a good video. I shoot weddings 95% of my time and I shoot video so I wanted to try something I can travel easy and something that is not super heavy like my Nikon cameras. Guys this camera is beast, built quality is amazing, 4K video crisp, low light amazing, lot better than one on my friends GH5. Autofocus fast and responsive. I am more than happy. I am using it with Sigma 30mm f/1.4. Only downside if you ask me is complicated menu, because I am used to Nikon simplicity and battery life is bad. Other than that it is a pocket rocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

a6500 delivers beyond expecations

ILCE-6500 05 June 2017 by SmileySpencer (USA)

Purchased the a6500 two months ago and cannot be more happy and impressed. I take a lot of sports photography (indoor and outdoor) and need the speed but weight also plays an important role. Moving over from Nikon and having early adopted the RX100 for casual compact needs I'm truly a Sony convert and raving fan. The images are beautiful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 08 May 2017 by Edbay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only use this camera for filming, the 4K quality is nuts! So so good!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 05 May 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the camera. It's quite easy to use and picture quality is amazing. I'm not an expert, but this camera makes me look like one :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Several things you should know

Body Only 01 May 2017 by woodburger100 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because of the bad screen protector on my Nex-7. I tried to get it off to replace, but ruined the screen. Shouldn't have been necessary in the first place! WIFI is EXTREMELY cumbersome on the 6500!! Don't like Play Memories, and pics transferred to ipad look blurry (but were not so in camera.) Play Memories is awkward, trying to get shots into Photoshop not easy. Suspect typos in manual/guide.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4

0

More features than I can count.

Body Only 29 April 2017 by wrk17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 1 week ago and 1000 pics later. Happy. Very Happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Ace

Body Only 26 April 2017 by JJDD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Winner, lush, ace buy one, it is good, nice one, the best in category. Good camera, nice lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great camera in a small package

Body Only 24 April 2017 by P3NG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago, and I am so very happy with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Complex menus but excellent viewfinder

Body Only 15 April 2017 by feelyjordan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought body only to replace a Sony NEX 6 camera and used for stock shooting using manual focus lenses ( The Sony standard zoom isn't great). Appears well built and the excellent EVF appears better than that on the NEX. I like being able to specify the focal length of the fitted lens so as to maximise the effect of the inbuilt image stabilisation, and the fact that auto ISO now comes with an adjustable minimum shutter speed. Negatives, very complex menu system, taking time to adjust from the much more simple NEX set up. I have simple needs, alway shoot raw mainly on aperture priority, sometimes fully manual, so don't need all of these choices.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Reason for purchasing

Body Only 04 April 2017 by David 747 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced my Sony a6000 which I have enjoyed using extensively around the world.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Leaks like a bucket

Body Only 02 April 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At 3 days old a milky coffee was poured over it showing just how leaky it is. Battery compartment, Lens mount, even with a lens mounted, Hot shoe cover! Flash housing all allowed milk in. Just hope the professional clean works. 2nd issue is the tutorials need to be in insular blocks rather than per single menu item. 3rd issue is V1.0 firmware has Dodgy bugs so that after installing V1.2 the video recorded at V1.0 cannot be played back by the camera<Thats truely SAD!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

I regret this Purchase... really

Body Only 23 March 2017 by Cjallen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I must say, all the talk about this camera got me hyped up only to be let down in a big way. I have had this camera nearly two weeks now, and have tested it significantly in that amount of time. I have taken pictures at a recital, various social events, street shots, night time, beach portraits, senior pictures, marine shots, architecture shots, and several other distinct categories. The camera seems to miss focus roughly 20% of the time and will often suggest a completely blurred image is in focus… I have never had a camera do that. This camera seems to have absolutely no weather sealing either. Dust and sand can easily find its way into various parts of this camera which grinds and surely damages the body. For the record I use the Sony 18-105 F4 lens. It is rarely sharp and I am not impressed with this G Master lens. I will say it feels good in the hand and seems to be built well. The digital zoom ring is constantly lagging and frustrating to use. I bump the power zoom button often and that’s frustrating as well. Battery life is horrid… but I am sure everyone knew that already. One battery from my previous DSLR lasted the equivalent of about 4-5 of the 6500’s batteries. The camera strap must be made out of sand paper… but at least it exfoliates your neck when you use it. The camera strap also damages the eye cup…. very poor design when one aspect of the product damages another part. The dial used to set aperture is badly placed and is often hit as well. So as I am taking pictures, the aperture is at various openings. The camera also didn’t come with a stand alone charger for the battery… you have to plug the camera into an included 18 inch cord. How could that be any more annoying? The screen is also totally useless if you’re shooting outside. It is so dim and you will often tap it which will mess with the autofocus. Honestly, I regret buying this camera and I believe its worth less than half of the MSRP. I thought I would learn to love it, but I only find more and more ways that it was poorly designed and falls short of the competition.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

15

15

0

One of the most versatile cameras on the market

Body Only 20 March 2017 by Chetan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from the A6300 and it definitely has been worth it! 1. The new deeper grip and the little extra weight has significantly enhanced the ergonomics of the camera. 2. The new additional customisable button is proving to be really useful. 3. IBIS is spectacular, a game-changer for photography. I am getting 4.5 stops of compensation with the unstabilised 24/1.8 and 55/1.8. 4. Touch to focus helps a lot when you quickly need to switch your focussing point. I only wish it had a faster write interface. Perhaps UHS-II or even xQD card compatibility.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Excellent features

Body Only 20 March 2017 by sgfj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from an ILCE-6000 last month. The ILCE-6500 is a significant improvement: sensor noise is much reduced and I can easily shoot at ISO3200 without serious image impairment, the viewfinder/screen level is simple but very effective, the extra in-body stability is worthwhile and even though the normal shutter is considerably quieter than the ILCE-6000, having the silent shutter is brilliant for wildlife and for candid shots. The touchscreen is disappointing in use and the menu system is still difficult to use - extra manual dials for things like exposure compensation and drive settings would be better. This is an expensive camera body too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Astonishing Pictures

Body Only 13 March 2017 by Jordi2445 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the pictures, their definition, the great detail, the awesome effects I can make straight out of the camara... The bokeh effect, how I can play with all the focusing spots...incredible... The ease of use, compared to other brands Sony is very user friendly. But to this greatness I have found several disavantages: after a long shooting session, I have to reset the camara by taking the battery out to be able to power it again if it turns off, Sometimes the focusing goes beserk after a long shooting session... It is not compatible with all transreceivers, found out finally its compatible with PocketWizard...I have upgarded the OS, this improved the LEDs touch sensitivity, and some little quirks... overall a great camara.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Amazing

Body Only 11 March 2017 by pismo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If I could use only one word to describe it, it would be amazing. The only problem is that there is not an adequate user manual available from Sony. You can bypass it by purchasing one of the available third party books.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent product

Body Only 06 March 2017 by Nippit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned and a6000 for a couple of years, so impressed but wished I could use my a mount lenses from my dSLR. The a6500 is a technological leap above the a6000 and the steady shot inside now allows (with the required mount) me to use my non emount lenses and still keep the steady shot proved by the a mount cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

A Brilliant Camera

Body Only 23 February 2017 by DAGPAG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I sold my Canon and bought this and what a difference it has made to my photography. I was always an "auto" photographer, but this camera has given me the confidence to go fully manual and it's so easy to do. Love the autofocus and face recognition. I also do a lot of video work and had to carry two cameras around, but not anymore. The $K images are stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

3

0

Lightweight and great features

Body Only 23 February 2017 by wannaBphotographer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Going from a Canon Rebel xTI to this is going to take some getting used to. This is so lightweight and compact and the pictures are amazing. It's an all around camera due to the video ability which my old Canon did not have. I'm so used to having my iPhone I stopped carrying a camera, now with the a6500, it will be my new companion. A tad bit too pricey in my opinion because I am not sure it can honestly compete with a true professional camera that has better quality features in the same price range. Having a feature for just "My Customizable's" or something to that would be great under the function, which needs some organization. I purchased the a6000 model the day before and it stopped working after reading reviews, I decided when I returned the camera I would might upgrade to the 6300, I wanted the a6300 but was told it was being pulled completely and the store I purchased my camera from no longer was stocking them, that's when I actually made the decision to 'dig deeper' and get the a6500. The weather 'resistance' and upgraded features over the 6000 & 6300 was a seller but the cost was not. I also purchased Sony's E mount E30mm/F3.5 Macro lens and Sony's Handicam Cyber-Shot flash along with a UV filter and Polarized filter. Forgot the stupid spare battery! Haven't figured out how to change the camera from 60fps to 120fps - just read that on a review but they did not explain how do it. Purchased on 2/22/17 .. going to do my first actual pictures today 2/23 of my grandson...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Great complement to A7R2

Body Only 21 February 2017 by Photoguy525 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony's mirrorless line is fantastic! Very pleased with the lenses and functionality of the mirrorless line.

Design

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera, complex menus

Body Only 15 February 2017 by Stewart62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was an upgrade to my Sony NEX 5, and was a great choice. The camera gives good results, although the menu is quite complex and I am still getting used to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06 February 2017 by Wee Malky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

amazing camera terrible battery life.

Body Only 02 February 2017 by jsv598 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is amazing! the features and design are best in class but the only reason i couldn't give it 5 stars in the terrible battery life. Sony should have included another battery instead of making you buy another one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

Best crop cam out there....needs some fixes 88/100

Body Only 25 January 2017 by Jimmy7777 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great pictures....amazing 4k vid. dial wheel on rear needs improvement and firming up but its a great cam for the price....next.....A7rii ;-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

9

2

0

My best camera ever

Body Only 20 January 2017 by Anhow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is a pleasure to use, it's given my photography a new lease of life, I can take it anywhere in my pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Very good general purpose camera

Body Only 17 January 2017 by Scot38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After limited use I can say that this is a very good camera. I use it as camera for carrying around and only use it with the f4 16 70 mm lens. This makes a very good combination that will produce excellent images in most situations. A f2.8 16 50mm lens would be a useful addition to the range of legal ses available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Great camera in a compact body

Body Only 16 January 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent image quality with amazing autofocus in a compact package, it's hard to see why anyone would choose a bulky DSLR now this is available. Build quality is excellent and the camera is a pleasure to use. I love the quiet 'snick' of the shutter too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

great

Body Only 02 January 2017 by tondhoosh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great 4k quality and good stabilizer and also sensitive iso

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

6

0

A very worthwhile upgrade.

Body Only 28 December 2016 by SteveL1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an owner of previous Sony cameras and lenses, some non stabilised, some 'A' mount, I've been looking forward to the stabilisation feature and the touch screen focusing. They work very well and make this a camera I expect to last me for some years. Well done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4