53

4.0 based on 53 customer reviews

29
11
2
5
6
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent Action Camera

Body + Live View Remote Kit 28 February 2017 by davelee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the GoPro 5 Black, had so many issues with it so purchased the Sony FDR-X3000 Camera, so far it has been MAGIC

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

If ONLY it would stay in FOCUS!

FDR-X3000R 08 April 2018 by Bleeder (USA)

The feature set on the Sony FDR-X3000 is absolutely AMAZING for the money, the menu is actually fairly easy to understand once one uses it for a short while, and the B.O.S.S. system is absolutely tremendous in both execution and final results. Blown away by it, actually. But the 4K video quality become aggravating in short time! The INITIAL video quality on all three of my FDR-X3000's (my other two I've had to return, HOPING I'd get a "good one.") would be amazing out of the box, but the honeymoon ends soon thereafter. Once the action cam gets warm with use, the camera's lens become unable to focus correctly (focus to infinity like all action cams do), thus the video, which was initially amazingly brilliant throughout, will become very blurry. You're left with unusable blurry videos once the camera gets warm, and the focus becomes temperamental and eventually terrible. There's a obvious glaring design flaw as the primary reason for the blurry video that eventually happens, as MANY people have experienced the same thing with this particular action cam. As you research the 'net, many have taken their Sony FDR-X3000 apart to try to figure out why the focus was becoming progressively blurry, and found the issue. It comes to find out that Sony "engineers" decided it was a good idea to use some sort of GLUE to secure their awesome lens in the B.O.S.S. Housing to secure it in place. As with all glues, heat it up as the battery will do with Action Cam use, and the glue becomes soft and will eventually MELT. Sony absolutely knows about the flaw in their design, as it is in their own forums regarding this blaring design flaw and focusing issue. The FDR-X1000 hasn't had this issue as far as I know. Simply look for focusing issues on the Forums and YouTube videos regarding the FDR-X3000, and you will find many examples of the design flaw, as well as pictures of where the flaw is located! I can only hope that the Sony engineers will redesign this action cam and better secure their amazing lens within the BOSS housing so blurred focusing issues will no longer occur as the action cam warms up. I really WANT to like my third Sony FDR-X3000, but like the other two I've sent back, it now only focuses 4 feet in front of itself, so I'm limited to making a video was at that distance. Talk about frustrating!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

53 Customer Reviews

0

Love it

Body + Waterproof Case 16 May 2018 by pochobs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this and its accesories. im ready for my vacation now.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Upgrade from HDR-AS100V

Body + Waterproof Case 08 May 2018 by Andybike (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already have a Sony HDR-AS100V, which I use for cycling and skiing as a helmet camera and for snorkelling, using the standard waterproof case. For the first two, it has been perfect, giving excellent footage, which I use to produce candid videos for my cycle club and skiing friends. I also liked the idea of attaching it to the side of my helmet, rather than having to look like Tinky-Winky all the time. For the snorkelling, the images were not very good. I decided a second, backward-facing camera would be very useful when cycling and so upgraded this time to the FDR-X3000 4K. Being supplied with the waterproof case with flat window, this should give excellent under-water footage when snorkelling, but I have not had the opportunity to try that yet. I have used it when cycling and the images are first-class. The additional features available on this camera should be really useful, but again, I have not yet used them. The design of this camera has many improved features and I found it simple to set up and use. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an action camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overheats

Body + Waterproof Case 25 April 2018 by Xaero (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My first brand new unit would overheat after only a few minutes of recording. I did not have it inside the waterproof case and it was about 40 degrees outside (we were hunting). I had it replaced with another brand new unit that did the exact same thing. I even did a recording test and placed it next to my HDR-AS50. The HDR-AS50 ran about an hour an a half before the battery died. The FDX-X3000 powered off in 9 minutes of recording.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

works pretty good

Body + Waterproof Case 22 April 2018 by jimmy james (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought it a couple of mounts ago it is ok but turns off when i ruin it a long time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great quality

Body + Waterproof Case 14 April 2018 by James Beard (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best action cam you can get. Sounds great outside waterproof case in the case it does not.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good Camera Battery Life Terrible

Body + Waterproof Case 10 April 2018 by breeze13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really love the FDR-X3000 it has an awesome picture and great ease of use and has no equal with the image stabilization and image quality. But the battery life is the worse. Maybe one 15 min shoot or one time lapse. I have not yet make a determination of how long they actually last.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

If ONLY it would stay in FOCUS!

FDR-X3000R 08 April 2018 by Bleeder (USA)

The feature set on the Sony FDR-X3000 is absolutely AMAZING for the money, the menu is actually fairly easy to understand once one uses it for a short while, and the B.O.S.S. system is absolutely tremendous in both execution and final results. Blown away by it, actually. But the 4K video quality become aggravating in short time! The INITIAL video quality on all three of my FDR-X3000's (my other two I've had to return, HOPING I'd get a "good one.") would be amazing out of the box, but the honeymoon ends soon thereafter. Once the action cam gets warm with use, the camera's lens become unable to focus correctly (focus to infinity like all action cams do), thus the video, which was initially amazingly brilliant throughout, will become very blurry. You're left with unusable blurry videos once the camera gets warm, and the focus becomes temperamental and eventually terrible. There's a obvious glaring design flaw as the primary reason for the blurry video that eventually happens, as MANY people have experienced the same thing with this particular action cam. As you research the 'net, many have taken their Sony FDR-X3000 apart to try to figure out why the focus was becoming progressively blurry, and found the issue. It comes to find out that Sony "engineers" decided it was a good idea to use some sort of GLUE to secure their awesome lens in the B.O.S.S. Housing to secure it in place. As with all glues, heat it up as the battery will do with Action Cam use, and the glue becomes soft and will eventually MELT. Sony absolutely knows about the flaw in their design, as it is in their own forums regarding this blaring design flaw and focusing issue. The FDR-X1000 hasn't had this issue as far as I know. Simply look for focusing issues on the Forums and YouTube videos regarding the FDR-X3000, and you will find many examples of the design flaw, as well as pictures of where the flaw is located! I can only hope that the Sony engineers will redesign this action cam and better secure their amazing lens within the BOSS housing so blurred focusing issues will no longer occur as the action cam warms up. I really WANT to like my third Sony FDR-X3000, but like the other two I've sent back, it now only focuses 4 feet in front of itself, so I'm limited to making a video was at that distance. Talk about frustrating!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Supreamo 4K handicam

Body + Live View Remote Kit 29 March 2018 by Mechhead (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I researched over weeks before settling to buy this little gem, I have 3 other Sony cameras of various capabilities and value but this is the more travelled go everywhere camera I own, I don’t use the 4K option but it’s there if I want to, it’s eye catching in style and ideal for YouTube vlogging and FB. It’s very much a unisex device, both men and women have shown love for this x3000.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent videos

Body + Live View Remote Kit 29 March 2018 by Maur25 (United Kingdom)

Pros: The optical stabilization works great on 4k. It does a great job in creating a smooth video. The colors are very good if you have good light. Underwater videos are good and camera catches lively colors. Angle is very good and it's not rounding as much as other cameras. In medium angle there's almost no rounding on pictures / videos. Excellent footage on the slopes with great reaction to shadows / direct sun light. Stabilization in 4k is again super. Sound filtering and wind noise reduction is great. Cons: In low light the pictures are quite bad. Videos are also average but...after all it's an action camera. I got the accessories as well and I just hate the way you need to force out the display from the camera support accessory. If you want to switch the display from camera holder to the wrist holder, you'll have lots of troubles doing it. The buttons on the right / left side of the display require firm pressing. I don't know why you need to push that hard for them to work, sometimes it feels like I'm gonna smash the display because of hard pressing. Overall I think it's a very good product. If it was not for the poor photo performance, I would have rated this a 5 star. The above cons are related more or less to the accessories.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Do not get G o P r o !!! SONY all the way!

Body + Live View Remote Kit 23 March 2018 by reviewer12345 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great small camera, which has so many additional items inclusive. I needed a cam for diving and this camera already comes with a case to dive down to 60m! G o p r o you need to purchase separately. The image stabilization is what kills the competition at this size. It is very smooth! I got mine with a remote, thinking it is a gimmicky remote - in realty it is really good, fast responding quality made, up to 3m deep in water if required. This is the ultimate active camera from my opinion. Pack so many features, GPS, WIFI, Bluetooth, live recording - the list goes on!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Disappointing

Body + Live View Remote Kit 15 March 2018 by BobWdisappointed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago to go scuba diving and the pictures on 4K are shuddering

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

4k and Optical Image stabilisation

Body + Live View Remote Kit 14 March 2018 by Snatch709 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a go pro which is still great for me, but the optical image stabilisation is why I went fro this item, I like the sideways design , it makes it slim on helmets when mounted, and the 4k is awesome quality with stabilisation juts lovely on my 5k monitor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Product, works reliably, unlike its rivals

Body + Live View Remote Kit 08 March 2018 by wushujohn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I set it up easily and quickly, tested it and the picture quality was great. It has worked every time since at 4K and 1080p. It is so easy to work with. I would recommend this camera to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

softwear is under developed

FDR-X3000R 03 March 2018 by ColinW (USA)

bought the camera to stream to youtube and twitch,but the software/firmware has been neglected im not sure the relationship between IBM & Sony but Ustream is the only Option supported? the cam is old enough to assume they will not be adding support and updates . pointless buy for me

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

softwear is under developed

Body + Waterproof Case 02 March 2018 by ColinW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought the camera to stream to youtube and twitch,but the software has not been neglected im not sure the relationship between IBM & Sony but Ustream is the only Option supported? the cam is old enough to assume they will not be adding it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Camera and High Quality Product

Body + Live View Remote Kit 02 March 2018 by Klipa250 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it beautifully records in 4k and HD quality, ease of use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent video quality BUT TERRIBLE AUDIO...

Body + Live View Remote Kit 25 February 2018 by Phil480 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Firstly I'll start with the bad points before telling you how good this camera is otherwise... This would have certainly got a 5 star review if it wasn't for the terrible audio quality on the external mic input. The sensitivity is far too high to be usable even when using a standard microphone, regardless of if you plan to use a lapel mic or just an external microphone somewhere. So unless you have an inline volume controller or something to control the gain, there is no way of rectifying this. I suggest to Sony that they issue a firmware update that adds the ability to change the mic sensitivity in the menu to resolve this. This is an action camera, you shouldn't expect to have to plug in extra devices to have it work correctly, especially on a top of the range camera such as this. The same microphones I am trying to use work fine in my other cameras (Drift Ghost S and GoPro's). A minor issue for me, is the Micro SD card can sometimes be tricky to insert correctly. Although it is the right way up and clicks into place, the camera doesn't always detect the card, so I have to re-insert it to get it to work. Now, on to the good stuff... This camera is packed full of features, such as GPS info, Live Streaming, time lapse and burst photo shooting, not to mention various video modes and frame/bit rates. The one button record is a handy feature (something that GoPro stopped doing on their later models). Just press the record button and it will turn the camera on and start recording straight away with the previously set settings. Another handy feature for those who may want an "always recording" option and don't want to worry about having to keep deleting unwanted footage from the card is the continuous loop recording, like the dash cams. It will record a continuous loops of a set time, or you can set it to maximum and it will record until the card is full and then start overwriting from the oldest file. The picture quality of this camera is fantastic! I have attached a video of some 4K test footage I shot from my motorcycle in day and night, all on standard settings. This is at the 60mbps bit rate (the camera can do up to 100mbps with a higher spec SD card, which I don't currently have). Some quality will be lost with YouTube's compression unfortunately, so it doesn't do it true justice. The night footage is by far the best I have seen on an action camera, this is on standard exposure settings. The daytime footage may be slightly over exposed on standard, but I have since tried dropping the exposure a notch which seems to be an improvement. A few people have mentioned that the colours appear to be washed out, even on the vivid colour setting. I would agree, certainly if you compare it to other cameras. However, comparing it to real life, I would say the colours are more true to life. Either way, this can be corrected with editing software, so it's not really an issue. I also have some 1080p, 60fps test footage on my YouTube channel. The higher frame rate does look good, and I think I prefer a higher frame rate over a higher resolution (4K only does a maximum of 30fps). The file size of 4K, 30fps, 60mbps frame rate VS 1080p, 60fps, 50mbps is about the same. A 40 minute continuous clip came to about 14GB, much higher than other cameras but that is understandable because of the higher bit rate and quality. The balanced optical steady shot works very well and gives a nice stable image. It works almost too well for some situations actually. You can turn this off or switch to a standard steady shot which doesn't over-do it. The battery life is significantly reduced when using 4K as you would expect. I'd say you get about 1h30mins at the very most with 4K. You can apparently run this camera from a power bank. I am yet to try it myself, but I hear that it will run off the power bank, but not switch to the internal battery when the power bank power runs out. The camera will turn off, but you can turn it back on again to run off the internal battery. Maybe this is also something Sony can look into, maybe bring out a battery expansion pack? My camera came with the Live View remote, the waterproof housing and the finger grip. The finger grip is a must have accessory if you plan on doing any hand held shooting. It clips the camera and Live View remote together nicely so you can see what you are shooting. It could to with somewhere to hold the rubber lens cap so it's not blowing around on the tether. The waterproof housing does add a bit of bulk to the cameras small size. This is only necessary to use if you are planning to submerge the camera though, otherwise the camera outside of the housing is rain proof. So overall, it is a fantastic camera that is just let down by the external mic audio, something that I'm sure Sony can easily fix. Other than that, I am very happy with this camera and would recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

GREAT LITTLE CAMERA

Body + Live View Remote Kit 13 February 2018 by DOWNUNDERMM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT PRODUCT ALTHOUGH NOT A FAN OF SONY PRODUCTS THIS CAMERA IS THE EXCEPTION.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Outstanding video quality

Body + Live View Remote Kit 31 December 2017 by T2 biker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Outstanding video quality, Excellent depth of field, a little disappointed in the still picture quality ,but early days yet !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Exceptional action camera

Body + Live View Remote Kit 17 December 2017 by Danny B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful vibrant mode colors, excellent image stabilization and a very easy to use interface. It is a bit hard to find accessories for it being given the shape, but otherwise it's maybe the best action cam on the market. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The best action cam on the market.

Body + Live View Remote Kit 15 December 2017 by Alexotronic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had Gopro 5 and 6 after selling my fdr x3000 to my friend - they didn't even get close to quality of Sony so I have bought another fdr x3000 but this time I am keeping it. Optical stabilization does its job magnificently for extreme sports. No need for gimbal means less weight and less risk of breaking something. Battery life could be lil bit better tho. I always have two spare batteries with me and that is more than enough for one day. Quality stuff..get it ...NOW!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Doesn't Come With Adhesive Mounts :(

Body + Waterproof Case 24 November 2017 by etmz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It comes with a USELESS clip. Must order Adhesive mounts off the internet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera for use in and out of water

FDR-X3000R 13 November 2017 by Cjac (USA)

Researched the Sony x3000 and the GoPro, ultimately went with Sony due to optical vs digital stabilization. Took to Hawaii for use snorkeling and hiking. Clarity was amazing underwater and out with footage nice and steady. Recommend getting the desiccant packs for using the housing underwater to avoid fogging. Battery life is decent and mine routinely lasted 1.5 hrs when not in 4K. Adapters are available to use with GoPro accessories if you want a better selection. Didn't get the remote and don't feel it's necessary if you're debating. Mine connected to my phone easily and I could change settings and view video with just some intermittent minor lag, no issues otherwise.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Build quality above competitors. Lens very clear

Body + Live View Remote Kit 31 October 2017 by Sam17 (United Kingdom)

Build quality is fantastic, feels solid, case is brilliantly designed. Audio quality (without case) is very very good. Video quality is crisp as long as you are in well lit conditions. You will need a fast memory card for this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

brilliant cam

Body + Live View Remote Kit 21 October 2017 by ricky brown pants (United Kingdom)

ive had all the gopro cams and this beats all of them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Camera but poor reliability

Body + Live View Remote Kit 13 October 2017  (United Kingdom)

I have purchased two of these expensive cameras, the quality if the picture @4k is fantastic and the stabilisation is better than Go pro, BUT... my first camera stopped shooting in 4k two weeks after purchase, I was already using one of tge top 5 quickest cards, but I tried buying new cards that were even faster, I did a many resets and formats, the camera wiuld try and work but just stick on 0000, then turn off, I spend over a week every day with Sony support, to be told in the end, take it to be fixed and deal with it yourself... I brought tbis camera to take on a trip I have been planning fir the last few years, a solo trip accross spain on my motorbike, I leave next week so no time to try and navigate a third party repair agent, so sadly I had to get a loan to buy another... Great Camera but poor reliability..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

1

0

4 years without upgrading my old sony action cam

FDR-X3000R 27 September 2017 by Greg007 (USA)

In 2013 I bought the Sony AS30 / AS20 action cam. I have been using it for 4 years now to built my youtube channel to 1 billion views (AmusementForce). Every year I have been waiting for Sony to make a better camera for me. They failed 4 years in a row. The AS20 comes with a waterproof case that has holes on front of the mic so the audio quality is very good. The problem with this camera is it doesn't offer the same housing instead it's housing is highly enclosed so the audio quality is much worse and for that reason I can't upgrade to this model - still. I know the image quality is much better but I can't trade it in for worse audio quality. Sony, if you are reading this what I'm asking is very simple. You offer 2 different waterproof housing for this camera selling them separately. One will be super waterproof like the one you have right now. The other one should be less waterproof (5m / 16ft) but with a membrane in front of the mic for better audio. It's simple. Go ahead and do it. I can't wait to upgrade my old camera I can definitely afford it just offer something to me that's good for what I do. I never bought this camera and never will until you sell the waterproof housing I'm asking for providing good audio.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Best Action Camera

Body + Live View Remote Kit 21 September 2017 by Andrew90 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this camera every day and it is great. Best video and audio quality on action camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Wow!

Body + Live View Remote Kit 31 August 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an unbelieveble camera. I am very satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Bad Recommendation, bad camera

FDR-X3000R 07 August 2017 by GB0524 (USA)

I bought this in December 2016, and have been trying to make it work....but I give up. It's just awful. Loses connection all the time with the Live Remote. Very cumbersome to zoom. Almost impossible to track live action because you can't actually see what you are recording without the live remote. I paid a pretty high price for a complete dud. I tried to cut my losses and sell it, but zero buyers. I'm done with Sony over this, unless they want to buy it back.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

11

0

Best actioncam

FDR-X3000R 30 July 2017 by anvartvhd (USA)

SONY FDR-X3000R A great camera. Has great stabilization. Great camera for vacation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

High Quality photo/video for such a camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 22 July 2017 by Bidib17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

1. Personal ExperiencI bought this camera about a month ago. I was debating whether to buy this camera or the GoPro Hero 5 black. After watching so many in-depth reviews on both cameras, I decided to buy this camera. My main use for the camera is to use in vlogging vacation trips which always include some water activities. I took this camera to Florida's Universal Orlando theme parks and let me tell you, the video quality is unbelievable. I am a very picky person when it comes to video quality and the image stability while filming and walking. I was really pleased with the end result of my videos. Video quality is extremely clear and stable even in the 1080p setting; even though they advertise it for the 4k setting. 2. Battery Life: This was my main concern because GoPro battery life is very short and I needed a camera to shoot plenty of videos within a long period of time. I'm the person that records videos, stops and turns off the camera to save battery. Even though the camera lasted me 3 whole days, I would still buy an additional battery back because, by day 3 mid day, my camera died. Definitely advise not to overcharge your camera, which results in battery damage in general. I took this camera to a water park and the waterproof housing was sturdy and kept all the water away from getting into the actual camera. The only small con I would say about the camera is that when the waterproof housing is in use, the microphone is covered and the video sounds like in underwater. But nothing like video editor systems can fix that. 3. Live Remote: When you get the product, I would suggest buying it with the Live Remote. The live remote not only is handy for viewing your camera angles, but it also controls your camera settings so you dont have to use the actual camera to control it. In addition, having the remote allows you to save battery on your phone because you would not have to use the sony app to control views. The live remote does work with wifi bluetooth. The only thing I was kind of annoyed with was that the fact that while you are recording your videos, it only shows 5 seconds of the view then the screen goes black;but still records. I wish I would be able to view the whole video while recording. 4. Overall: i'm satisfied with this camera and all the updated features. I would recommend this camera for people who are interested in action video/photo shots as well as people who are interested in normal vlogging video/photo shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Won't connect to many smartphones for live viewing

FDR-X3000R 21 July 2017 by DonX (USA)

The smartphone app to use with the camera will not work with most Android-based phones using Android 7.0 !! Sony needs to fix this problem immediately. I can't monitor the camera without buying the special Sony remote and having to carry around more gear, so I will return the camera for a refund. Moreover, trying to use the app and connect the camera severely corrupted the OS on my phone. I had to delete everything on my phone by doing a factory data reset, and this almost permanently damaged my phone.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

6

0

Great Quality at First

FDR-X3000R 15 July 2017 by Joshyutah (USA)

So the camera is great at first. The image quality is something else. But there are a few issues. 1st one is the memory card was relocated to under the mount. So every time you need to change the memory card you have to take the mount off. This is very time consuming. 2nd the camera easily over heats. When sitting in a room that is 70 degrees, it will over heat in 20-30 minutes. This is a big problem when out in the summer and warm places in the winter. I find myself not recording everything i want to try to keep the camera cool. 3rd the focus goes crazy. The problem with this is if the camera gets over 90 degrees the focus will set itself to near and the video goes blurry. From what i have found on the internet, this sounds like a design flaw after reading other people's posts. But if you can keep the camera cool it works amazing. I will likely wait to the next generation before buying another.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Updated review...

Body + Waterproof Case 12 July 2017 by RwallacePhoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm man enough to admit when he was wrong and well....I was wrong. My first review I talked about only having this for six months and two recording when suddenly it would no longer recognize the memory cards. It was because I was inserting them backwards. This is the first camera (stills or video) that I have had that the memory card clicks in easily no matter which way the contacts go which left me no reason (as far as I'm concerned lol) to think it was backwards. Anyway, this is an outstanding camera (I love more than the GoPro I used to use) and would recommend it to any and everyone!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect until it wasn't...

Body + Waterproof Case 10 July 2017 by Rwallace (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I've only used this a couple of times (went from GoPro to this due to image stabilization in camera) the results were better than GoPro BUT only after my second time using the camera it now will not recognize my microSDXC cards and it's only been 6 months since purchase but that is also past the warranty agreement. So now I'm going to be stuck paying more money if I want to fix it leaving me with a tough decision on whether to pull that trigger or just go back to GoPro. I hope others do not run into this problem and they get their money's worth. Thank you Sony and I'm sorry GoPro peeps!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Difficult set up menu and inadequate instructions

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 09 July 2017 by tovidal51 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Neat little camera but it took me hours to finally get it working with the Live Remote. Sony needs to post a detailed tutorial on this camera on YouTube.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Great alternative to a Go Pro

Body + Waterproof Case 05 July 2017 by kjos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A nice alternative from the usual square design of action cams. I use it when cycling, It fits neatly in a pocket and can be filming in a few seconds. The design fits easily and comfortable in hand.Feels very secure and bomb proof in the supplied casing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Excellent Actioncam

FDR-X3000R 21 June 2017 by Jekerer (USA)

The Camera creates excellent quality movie Clips. Mounting options are good. The remote turned out to be very useful. The wrist band of the remote however is poorly designed. It is too short if wearing a jacket. It fell of in a jump during a Canyoning. I'm trying to buy a remote only, but I'm not sure if this is possible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

First time owning an action cam

FDR-X3000R 15 June 2017 by AlexDoro89 (USA)

I've never had an action cam before, so I can not compare it to anything. But, this little piece of equipment is just amazing. I love traveling around the country, going camping, hikes etc. In April 2017 I was going on a cross country road trip and wanted to make a video of it. I was not shooting 4k since the files would be too big for me to process. The menus are very simple to use and fast to switch between the modes. The video and photo quality is stunning. The stabilization is very impressive. I had it mount on the trunk and the hood of my car while driving on very bumpy gravel road and the video looks as steady as the road was paved. I always try to keep the cam in the protective case which seems to be very durable. At some point the cam fell on the ground without the case and the lens got a tiny scratch, but I can not see that scratch on my photos or videos, so that's a good thing. The battery lasts decent amount of time, I got 3.5-4 hours of time-laps on a single charge. If you need a longer time-lapse get a usb power bank. I did tons of research before getting this product and I don't think there is anything better on the market at the moment. My only regret is that I did not get it earlier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Neat little action cam

Body + Live View Remote Kit 12 June 2017 by Blobby55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's worth every penny and weight in gold it's lovely to handle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

sony akcion cam

Body + Live View Remote Kit 08 June 2017 by gajos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hi. I recommend this camera Sony Action Cam FDR-X3000R everyone who likes to record in different conditions. Even underwater. Great recording in 4K and Full HD. Good stabilization. I use it mainly in the field I am very satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic camera - terrible accessories

Body + Live View Remote Kit 30 May 2017 by Rick P (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There's no doubt in my mind that the camera itself is fabulous. The image stabilisation is the main reason I bought it and I haven't been disappointed. However, everything else about Sony and their action camera ecosystem is less than helpful with the successful deployment of the camera. For a start you can only buy this camera with the live view remote in the UK. This adds a lot of money to the purchase price and, for me, isn't really that necessary and it's not particularly good to be perfectly honest. Why it couldn't have been available as an accessory I don't know - other than Sony UK might make less money of course, heaven forbid. Also, the accessories for the X3000, despite the camera having been around for a good few months, are both expensive and pretty naff. The suction mount, for example, broke on the first outing and wasn't particularly stable when it was briefly working. There are no stick-on mounts provided with the camera either even though they give you a buckle attachment to go into them (!) - I'm assuming Sony think to buy this camera you must be upgrading from an older one but then they haven't thought that through as some of the older mounts - the skeleton for example, don't work with the new camera. You can get adaptors and add-ons for GoPro cameras to work but it's all a bit Heath Robinson in the end and leaves you fairly frustrated. So it's nearly great, but so far away it means I'm unlikely to buy another. It's a sad situation sadly, a great action camera well and truly stymied by a poor ecosystem. They really ought to ask their people to try to use the cameras in real-life situations and put their undoubtedly talented minds to a proper set of accessories.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

Great camera

Body + Waterproof Case 08 May 2017 by Nidge (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it 3weeks ago and I carnt put it down been filming everywhere

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great Quality

Body + Waterproof Case 08 May 2017 by astodrew (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wish accessories were easier to find in stores. Many hard to find in US market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

good choice

Body + Live View Remote Kit 02 April 2017 by supser (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought it 2 weeks ago..battery life should be better and the siftware doesn't have fish eye correction

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

My Sony Little Friend

Body + Live View Remote Kit 30 March 2017 by Shiraz55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I start my review by saying how amazing is the quality of the videos from this little tiny camera and how pleased Iam with my purchase .My first video camcorder was a full VHS Panasonic M7 which I bought around 1990, A very heavy and huge camcorder .I bought more and more camcorders over the many years followed as technology became better and better .,,,,,Till 2 weeks ago I got my FDR-X3000 The weight of it so light,The size of it bit bigger than a match box ,the battery lasts twice as long ,and the size of its micro sd beyond comparison with that huge VHS tape and above all the quality of the video so magical. I can go on and on ..... My only wish was that if it could have been able to take still pictures in Raw maybe . Saying all that I am not happy with the remote display size and loosing connection every few min with the camera . Stabilization is awesome and does a good job ,I definitely recommend this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Exellent Action Camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 21 March 2017 by ianmendoza991 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is great! Quality is awesome, I've been looking for tons of videos and comparison between the gopro 5 and the fdr-x3000x/w(by the way I think it needs a better name), and I belive that for recording the Sony is the better one. The gopro is good, but it doesn't compete with the optical stabilization at all! So that's why I choose this camera, it has room to improvement? It does, but it's a solid camera as it is, and it would be better with some other functions, yes, but I think the price would be higher also. I will use this one for vblogging and the B.O.S.S. is great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Super Video Quality

Body + Live View Remote Kit 11 March 2017 by BossyRossy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed an action cam that could produce the similar quality as my sony HDR PJ810E and I believe the FDR-X3000 more than met my quality expectations. The image stabilization technology is the feature of this Sony product that makes it truely unique. I bought it packaged with the Live View Remote which I used exstensively on my wrist while the FDR-X3000 mounted on my ski goggles. The only thing I find annoying is the time that the remote takes to switch on the cam as it is not instant enough, however afer a few days of use I got used to making sure the remore was synced and ready to record immediately on pressing the record button on the remote. My only other issues was the battery life was rather short and I would highly recommend anyone to buy a spare or carry a powerbank so if you are out for a whole day you can capture all the days action. Overall, I am delighted with this small but capable action cam. If you must have smooth video then this is the camera for you. My other well known branded action camera is now fully retired!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Excellent Action Camera

Body + Live View Remote Kit 28 February 2017 by davelee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the GoPro 5 Black, had so many issues with it so purchased the Sony FDR-X3000 Camera, so far it has been MAGIC

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Exceptional performance!

Body + Live View Remote Kit 25 January 2017  (United Kingdom)

I initially thought it was a lot to pay for an action cam. However upon receiving and using the camera I found the performance to be head and shoulders above the competition. Even comparing the X1000V of which I own two the X3000R is so much better in features quality and results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

An impressive improvement over the last model

Body + Live View Remote Kit 15 January 2017 by cipnt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Through the years I've owned and used extensively GoPro 3 and 3+, Sony AS15 and AS100. The main reason I bought my first Sony action cam, the AS15, was for its image stabilisation. Sony has always had great stabilisation in all its cameras, both consumer and professional, and this was a huge advantage over the GoPro. This evolved significantly with the AS100 but was still digital stabilisation. The X3000 brings an impressive optical imagine stabilisation system, something I never thought possible in such a small form factor. The great thing about optical imagine stabilisation is that it doesn't "eat" into your sensor resolution and you get the full 4K resolution the sensor can deliver with 170° viewing angle. Another great addition is the loop recording option which is really useful when I have the X3000 mounted on my motorcycle helmet. There are some things to complain about it though... I haven't directly compared it with my AS100, but the light sensitivity of this new 4K sensor seems worse and creates darker pictures when filming indoor or during the night. The battery no longer last as much as it did with AS100, something understandable since now it's handling 4x more pixels and data. I definitely don't like the new power button - it was so easy before to just press the Rec button once and the AS100 would power up and start recording, all with just a single press of a button. Now you have to press the power button, wait a few seconds for it to power up, then press Rec. If you press record too early you get an error. This is definitely a step backwards in my opinion. One thing I have for the AS100 and wish it was available for the X3000 is the skeleton case, which allows a very compact helmet mount

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

5

0

BOSS is the best!!!!

Body + Waterproof Case 20 December 2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really love the optical image stabilization - a great feature compared to any other action cams out there. Btw, the fisheye effect is greatly reduced in this unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2