545

4.4 based on 545 customer reviews

329
153
29
10
24
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera

DSCH400/B 03 May 2015 by frugalchariot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera in late June, 2014 and have used it regularly. My photographic interest is the outdoors, both scenic and wildlife from closeup to telephoto, and the wide angle with 63X optical zoom allows amazing reach. The 20 megapixel resolution allows fine tuning and cropping on the computer with no loss in quality of the end product. And the camera is not heavy or bulky, is easily carried, and relatively easy to hold steady even on telephoto shots. Overall, the camera is a bargain at its asking price; I would recommend it without question to anyone who wants simplicity and great photographic range.

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could do with some better firmware and fasterfocus

DSC-H400 02 July 2017 by MAD MAX (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Sony Camera has been dogged by constant problems with focus. By pressing the shutter button partially it pulls into focus, then at the point of shutter release, loses it frequently. It also loses it's way and saves "invalid" files, that is most unpredictable. Focus - when it works is painfully slow. Multiple shutter release has never worked. It is also not possible to take control of focus, for example leave it on infinity. Aperture and Shutter priority pictures are fit only to delete. This is a very poor excuse for a camera. Shame because it is light, has a marvellous telephoto capability - but so little of the electronics really work properly. Unreliable and not really much use, I have initialised this camera on nearly every outing to get it to work at all. I will more than likely end up throwing it in the dustbin.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

545 Customer Reviews

0

malta and gozo

DSC-H400 25 July 2020 by robert 97 (United Kingdom)

holiday in Malta last year for me and my wife for my birthday

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning Images!

DSC-H400 19 February 2020 by Christiano Niño Adan (Philippines)

Awesome, its 63x optical zoom, Which is my primarily reason is to capture the beautiful Earths moon.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Close ups r fab

DSC-H400 31 January 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good purchase, is everything I was expecting, works very well and is easy to use and set , sharp images, good video function

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Easy first camera.

DSC-H400 11 November 2019 by jlily (United Kingdom)

It is my first camera and I'm happy with the simplicity of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Camera

DSC-H400 05 November 2019 by Puffinpoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Camera to go on safari in Botswana. it came about a week before I went so had to play with it a lot to figure out what it did. I learned more when I was there and from other people. I would like to go on a course ot understand ewverything this Camera does as I suspect it has the facility to do way much more than I could ever need. However, I shot the moon and I shot some amazing animals and birds and was very pleased with the results. I need more practice though - but overall , I really like it. One thing that does bother me, when I take it out the camera case I got, I always manage to hit the on/off button - I know it goes off but I feel it is in the wrong place!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Amazing Videos and Photos

DSC-H400 09 October 2019 by Noni67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like it since the day one easy to use quality photos and videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

top of the line

DSC-H400 11 September 2019 by YOURPHOTOMAN (USA)

great zoom, great quality photos high resolution over 20 mb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Thanks

DSC-H400 04 August 2019 by Redyan (United Kingdom)

Good item thanks very nice Machin I go this for months now and is really nice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

great camera

DSC-H400 23 July 2019 by bkj 1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this in 2017 I am pleased with it ,until a error about a file

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Not as good as anticipated

DSC-H400 16 June 2019 by Dave 83 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera looks and feels the part but many photos are blur especially if they have been zoomed in the auto focus is not very good .We replaced a Kodak bridge camera with this this has an eye view finder on it as the kodak didn't it was difficult to see the screen in bright light . This is the same but u can then turn to the eye view finder but this is not very good as auto focus doesn't work very good. And i can't view anything through my glasses . We have a little fugi film pocket camera that gives me better photos than this very poor. We are very disappointed we took it to anglesy and the photos of a seal through it was absolutely terible this is the first sony camera i have bought and it will be my last. I will stick with the little fugi film that is only 14 mp rather than be disapointed

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

view finder and screen great for sunny days

DSC-H400 14 June 2019 by ktd2222 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and simple menus to follow, very good quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great thanks

DSC-H400 08 June 2019 by youss (United Kingdom)

I bough this item a month ago and I'm very happy thanks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good value

DSC-H400 28 April 2019 by maritime (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

various test pics. A good easy to program and use camera. one criticism. the phocus a tad slow,but once you get used to it. no issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

can't find to buy another

DSC-H400 26 April 2019 by Julie99 (USA)

i am handicapped, by not having enough blood O2, so I can't walk anywhere. we drive around to find something to take a picture. with this camera I can sit in the car and take a picture of something a long way away and get an enlargeable picture to sell. people wonder how I got such a beautiful picture. I want to buy another of this camera but can't find anywhere that sells it. I have taken so many pictures that the camera is wearing out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great camera

DSC-H400 21 April 2019 by Theoben rapid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best camera I've ever used just trying how to use it manually instead on auto

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not far off a great product

DSC-H400 22 March 2019 by Johnnyz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after a couple of years with a Sony compact zoom just for the extra zoom. The majority of my photography is on safari in Africa so I need a viewfinder, this camera has one but would benefit from a rubber eye cap fitting. The camera is easy to use, takes great photographs with detail down to whisker follicles on wild dogs. You can also manually create photos with aperture or shutter priority. My only other wish would be a manual focus and zoom facility

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far,so good

DSC-H400 10 March 2019 by Mick Hoppy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only bought a couple of weeks ago so not used much yet. Finding fairly easy to get good quality photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Cracker

DSC-H400 05 January 2019 by Nik the dude (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been given this for Christmas and I am very excited about this camera it is just what I wanted and it is easy to use 10/10.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent camera for stills and video

DSC-H400 26 November 2018 by neilnwda (United Kingdom)

Had one of these cameras previously, but somone else took a liking to it and it was removed from my posession. so bought another, excellent camera for stills and video,

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony camera dsc h400

DSC-H400 03 October 2018 by Chris19087 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great digital camera. Easy to use. Takes good pictures. Excellent software support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good zoom

DSC-H400 11 September 2018 by Nonexistent You (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m disappointed with the multiple shot feature!!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sharp quality pictures

DSC-H400 08 September 2018 by Rab12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have just printed my first pictures and have been delighted by the sharpness of the image. As a novice I have only used the camera in auto mode but have been pleased with the early results. Supplied documentation could be more generous for me but is probably adequate for a seasoned photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great camera, but low video quality

DSC-H400 05 September 2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The cera takes great pictures, but has small issues when it comes to focus especially when is filming

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great camera

DSC-H400 27 August 2018 by julie 2103 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this and very glad I did, great pictures and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So far, so good.

DSC-H400 21 August 2018 by Discovery (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera was purchased as a replacement for another Sony camera. My previous Dale was a superb camera, but with its interchangeable lenses was on the heavy side with restricted hand luggage, when traveling. This camera does it all in a lightweight package.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-H400 18 July 2018 by KCcol (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this model recently and have used it on several occasions. Easy to use and produces good shots. Battery provides good level of photos before recharge. Nice to hold and added bonus of viewfinder for zoom shots and more accurate photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-H400 15 July 2018 by Dave113 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used this camera for 1 month & find it good except at extreme range of zoom.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

new camera

DSC-H400 10 July 2018 by dougal 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

still learning but a great camera.it is so easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile camera with a good range of features

DSC-H400 07 July 2018 by DJM53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera to replace a Nikon bridge camera that had died on me after about 5 years of regular use. Have had it about a month now and have been very impressed with the quality and variety of photo settings and am pleased with the pictures that I have been able to get.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great feature

DSC-H400 05 July 2018 by Isanue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this product sights good and pictures are excellant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very Bad product

DSC-H400 29 June 2018 by Ranga1982 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this three weeks ago in Trondheim in Norway. It had a big problem. When I switch ON the camera, the lence usually work UP an DOWN without any control. Really sad bout this product

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

great little camera

DSC-H400 27 June 2018 by skiprat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

just bought the dsc h400 and am really pleased would have liked more info on all the features of camera especially the best settings for attaining the maximum view of this camers

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

EASY TO USE

DSC-H400 26 June 2018 by Koiman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this unit for several weeks now. So far, very pleased with it. The full test will be in July at the Farnborough Air Show.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Inadequate Manuel

DSC-H400 25 June 2018 by david 64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At the time I was bought the camera for a birthday I didnt have a computer, I could not download anything , I am not satisfied with not having a manuel, the print out I eventually downloaded was not sufficient

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Great camera, easy to use and fantastic zoom.

DSC-H400 21 June 2018 by Willpuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my upcoming trip to Alaska. Great camera, easy to use and fantastic zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

many great features

DSC-H400 18 June 2018 by gwbert (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this camera a couple of weeks ago after being satisfied that it was the best value for the money that i wanted to spend. after using it i am sure it was the right choice. it makes me feel like a profesional

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Very good camera

DSC-H400 15 June 2018 by Kippers1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased wifh H400 camera great features and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The Good and the Very Bad!!

DSC-H400 13 June 2018 by Tonys Dandan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good short focal length photos but Very bad long and full length focal photos.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

A easy to use bridge camera

DSC-H400 13 June 2018 by Abraxos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is a dream to use. The menu system is clear and uncomplicated, and the diopter, though not of the best quality, is sufficient to do the job. The resulting images are clear, although will always benefit from a little judicial sharpening at the higher resolutions. All in all, a wonderful camera for it's cost.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional value

DSC-H400 09 June 2018 by Not got one at all (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having planned my trip to the West Coast of the US I felt I needed a special camera to view some of the most spectacular scenery one could imagine. This camera is definitely the one. Great features easy to use and looks and feels more expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Having fun learning about the camera

DSC-H400 16 May 2018 by Ali boase (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with the photos and l am happy with the camera and l will post pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent option for value/quality

DSC-H400 11 May 2018 by Phil02 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only have started to familiarise myself with the DSC-H400, but seems to fit the bill an de meeting my expectations. Bought as replacement of my old Fuji FinePix S5600 (which feels tiny in hands now). And as an alternative to my Nikon 3100 + 18-55mm + Tamron 300. Still have to carry out field test (travelling soon for 3 weeks in Madagascar) but already find easy to handle. Liking 63x zoom ( probably most important point in buying decision process). Only minus for now is the lack of cord/tie from camera to lense cover, meaning when shooting need to hold/drop or put in a pocket. Happy otherwise!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - DSC-H400 Good and not quite so good

DSC-H400 10 May 2018 by Belmont36 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In general the camera is very easy to use, picture quality has surprised me by how good it is and the ZOOM. Superb !! This was the feature the camera was bought for and it has not in the slightest disappointed. Even when using the digital zoom, picture degradation is less than expected. Not so good points - speed of writing to the SD card. Even when using lower quality setting, somewhat slower than expected. But does this detract from the camera overall - that depends upon the type of subject you'll be photographing. Finally, I haven't yet found a dedicated macro setting. A slight annoyance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dissapointed

DSC-H400 29 April 2018 by stelianbirea (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does not focus in low light conditions if zooming even just a litte, and struggles a lot without zoom. After a couple of charges , the contact between socket and charging cable is unstable and i need to keep the camera lens down to work.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Mega camera.

DSC-H400 25 April 2018 by kayjay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What a great camera, lots of useful functions and easy to use. A great purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Need better instructions

DSC-H400 12 April 2018 by Sue63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was brought for my as a gift, being a beginner would have liked more detailed instructions with it so that I can use it to its full potential.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Better than expected

DSC-H400 08 April 2018 by GeorgeSkye (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was requested as a 65th present , so pleased. Zoom is great for wildlife , easy to use . Very light in weight, could do with a full manual , either cd or one to down load , just for guidance, but , very pleased . Picture quality is very good .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great weight

DSC-H400 07 April 2018 by online34 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera,great handle clear precise pictures.Great value camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AWESOME PICTURES

DSCH400B 01 April 2018 by ANNE9391 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I HAVE HAD THIS CAMERA FOR A WHILE NOW, TAKES AWESOME PICS AND VIDEO, THE ZOOM IS SUPERB, I WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMEND THIS CAMERA TO ANYONE!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0