DIGITAL CAMERA ZV-1

Product Reviews

P 42,999.00

195

4.4 based on 195 customer reviews

126
40
17
4
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Useful

ZV-1/BC E32 18 July 2022 by RainD (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice, helpful, good Fuction, use our living streaming

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but overheats in 4k

ZV-1 09 October 2020 by Jhat (USA)

So for just carrying around its been great. It's light weight and shoots great footage. Unfortunately I'm having a ton of trouble with it shutting off while streaming and recording gameplay in 4k. Most times my daughter and I can get 25-30 minutes before it shuts off from overheating but just today we only got 20 minutes max. I'm considering returning the camera to purchase something different. I don't think I'd recommend the zv-1 as it isn't a cheap camera. Plus, I've changed the hi temp setting and other tips I've seen on youtube but they aren't working.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

195 Customer Reviews

0

Very good camera for Travel

ZV-1/BC E32 03 October 2022 by KK Leong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good small compact camera for travel. Practically you could do almost everything with it for travel trip. Function like Vlogging, photography, timelapse, slow motion video, etc. are well crafted in this camera. And, because of its compact size, it is easy to handle and carry around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Porta8

ZV-1/BC TW6 28 September 2022 by macrobokeh (Philippines) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using it for family portraits and for video footage

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exactly what I needed for Vodcast!

ZV-1 10 August 2022 by DMayo (United Kingdom)

Great camera, it is lightweight and really easy to use. Picture looks brilliant and I am very happy with it!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

A lot of settings but easy to use

ZV-1 10 August 2022 by amg27 (United Kingdom)

Has a lot of settings but easy to use. Takes great still photos as well as video. Only downside really is the battery life - it's very short

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Perfect Point and Shoot for all content creators

ZV-1/BC UC2 31 July 2022 by UrDadAdam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to use as my primary vlog camera due to how compact it is. after watching over 50 youtube videos to justify my purchase I found that the features and body of this camera would be a great point-and-shoot camera for travel vlogging. this camera can easily fit into your pocket, side of your backpack, jacket, or just held in hand. It is very discreet and provides great quality and decent audio with just the onboard microphone. the only con to this camera is the battery life but if you use this point and shoot in tandem with a DSLR as most vloggers do, the battery life isn't a big deal. Love all the sony products I have and how long they last.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great compact digital camera by Sony

ZV-1/BC E32 29 July 2022 by NorthernStar (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently just bought this ZV-1 one of the best compact digital cameras on the market, can add on 3rd party wide angle lens. Value for money.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Fast Aperture for a point and shoot camera

ZV-1/BC E32 27 July 2022 by SG Techie DAD (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The first time I would say to love a point and shoot camera so much that I use it everyday for vlogging video and still format.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Fantastic Compact Proffesional Camera

ZV-1 22 July 2022 by ken the Mac (United Kingdom)

Had this Camera now for just over a week! Having using a DSLR camera with different lenses for quite some time, this camera really is amazing if in comparison. Why? Well the features at your finger tips can produce some really professional pictures and amazing quality videos. I don't really know where to start...The camera is so light, so easy to use, and once you get chance to try all the options, you just need to hone in on those that you feel give you the results you need. Why professional? The quality of this camera from the lens to the software, to the way it so easily fits into your hand can but only help you create some amazing shots...I definitely recommend this camera! Most of all, it far surpasses in my opinion any mobile phone in taking pictures. Why? Because it allows you to concentrate on the great creativity that is available on this great product by Sony.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

Useful

ZV-1/BC E32 18 July 2022 by RainD (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice, helpful, good Fuction, use our living streaming

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Great low light camera for the night

ZV-1/BC TW6 26 June 2022 by Noel nugid (Philippines) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a month a go and its very good at low light capabilities

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not what i expected

ZV-1 07 June 2022 by James NW (United Kingdom)

Sadly the camera was a big disappointment, with all the positive reviews , it must have been me i found a lot of pictures were very noisey also plenty were overexposed. The reason i bought the camera was mainly because of the class leading auto focus, and i found my fair share we not in focus and some were confused focusing when two people entered the frame. I have to say i was very disappointed . I have sent it back ,sorry sony i dont like it at all.

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

Response From Sony Support Team
09 June 2022

Hi James ,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're getting a lot of overexposed pictures and a lot of noisy pictures using your ZV-1
As an attempt to resolve the issue, we recommend making sure that your camera is up to date here:
Windows: https://bit.ly/3NOHzLe
Mac: https://bit.ly/3xi3yn5
Also, you can check essential points on shooting here:
Autofocusing based on subject movement or size: https://bit.ly/3xfd8ak
Tracking erratic subjects: https://bit.ly/395K7ph
Focusing on a person’s face or eyes: https://bit.ly/3Q6L2GV
Focusing on an animal’s eye: https://bit.ly/396QYPr
Switching the level of defocus in the background: https://bit.ly/3myVNnA
Switching exposure mode: https://bit.ly/3Qb1hmb
You can also reset the settings on your camera here: https://bit.ly/3H5cSiu
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Elshahat @Sony Support UK

0

Great features and easy to use

ZV-1/WC E32 03 June 2022 by Xiao Ho Kitchen (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Function is easy to use, very straight forward. is compact and easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very good

ZV-1/WC E32 02 June 2022 by andikahar (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this camera I like this camera I like this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent cameta not only for vlogging

ZV-1/BC E32 24 May 2022 by ilidan85 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a small camera that will always accompany me when go out. I've switched from heavy and bulky DSLR. I'm happy with camera's design and quality. The best part is its rotating screen and focal length.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

As beginners like to use it.

ZV-1/BC E32 14 May 2022  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 1st Sony camera. 1sr time use it and i satisfied. Tq

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Amazing camera

ZV-1 04 May 2022 by Drbrox (United Kingdom)

Really enjoying this camera and finding it super easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Phenomenal camera

ZV-1 27 April 2022 by osamamadlom (United Kingdom)

I bought this with a view to improving my YouTube videos, but it has so many other features and abilities, all within a compact form factor. It really is a pocket film studio!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent camera but viewfinder screen a problem

ZV-1 24 April 2022 by Heliophile (United Kingdom)

Good camera: crisp pictures & videos, lots of options for tweaking the shooting, but the view screen at the back is a problem. It's polarized the opposite way to sunglasses so it looks black when out & about in the sun.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Great value for money

ZV-1 23 April 2022 by JosePhoto (United Kingdom)

It hasn't been that long since I bought the ZV-1, which is my first camera from Sony. I chose it mainly because of its size because some time ago I tried to vlog with my Nikon Z fc and when I put a mic on it, it was way too big and heavy to be convenient for vlogging. And since the sensor is much smaller, it doesn't suffer from rolling shutter that much. To be honest, I'm a complete beginner in video. I am mostly a photographer, though, so I know a bit about cameras and how they work. That's why I can appreciate that the ZV-1 has a lot of different shooting modes from complete autopilot to fully manual settings even with picture profile. Therefore, as I learn, it will grow with me and perhaps one day I will learn how to colour grade. When I first started to play with the camera, I was surprised at how good the picture quality actually is. This goes for both video and photos. This camera takes surprisingly nice photos and as it can shoot RAW, one can get even more from them. I like that the video can also be shot vertically, which is very handy in the time of Instagram Reels and TikTok. The ZV-1 has a built-in ND filter, which is very useful, however, 3 stops is not always good enough to shoot wide open on a bright sunny day. The camera comes with a windscreen for the built-in mic which can improve sound quality by quite a lot. I'm happy that the camera can produce decent audio quality without having to use a bulky external mic. But that is still an option. If there's something to complain about, it's the battery life. The batteries are very small and the camera doesn't come with a charging brick. One more thing I don't particularly enjoy is the Imaging Edge mobile app which for me being used to the Nikon's app is quite complicated to navigate. Also, I don't always succeed when I try to establish a wi-fi connection between my camera and smartphone. But maybe I just need to learn how to use it properly. Over all, I'm really happy with this camera and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for either a beginner camera primarilly for video (but it's very capable at photography too), or a camera that is small enough to take anywhere. It's inconspicuous, therefore it can be used in environments where cameras are usually not welcome.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Unpacking was great

DCZV1/W 03 April 2022 by sergionarv1993 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product looks great,mis charging now, we'll see later hahaha

0

2

0

Compact and amazing!

ZV-1/BC E32 22 March 2022 by Hajar (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used it for a month for making home videos and I am very satisfied. best purchase ever!!! also receive free gifts: camera pouch and limited edition colourful windscreen! love them so muchhh!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good for fresher vloggers

ZV-1/WC E32 22 March 2022 by Jovix (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this months ago, pretty solid basic features for a new comers camera, however the UI design is not really easy to use, too much complex features and not friendly menus. Need some to get use to it and it will be a quite handy camera for fresh camera learners.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great quality camera and really easy to use

ZV-1 27 February 2022 by Runcie (United Kingdom)

Bought this to use as a live stream camera and and it does the job perfectly. Easy to use and really flexible too. Just takes great quality photos and video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

All round excellence

ZV-1 25 February 2022 by Theatrechicks (United Kingdom)

We love this so much. We have been using it to film our live Theatre shows. Such amazing quality and options for video and photo. Continuous filming is a real plus!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good

ZV-1/WC E32 22 February 2022 by SamCG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

No regrets choosing this camera. Good value for so many features. Wish the mic can be better.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant camera easy to use

ZV-1 19 February 2022 by David vincent (United Kingdom)

I brought this a month ago to up grade my old camera. Got to say so happy with so easy to and to set up and record great memories.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very confortable and easy to use

ZV-1/BC E32 07 February 2022 by Fresnelens (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bougth this camera a month ago and very satisfied until now. The dimension is compact and small so easy to bring everywhere which is good! For me as a beginer, this camera very suitable and user friendly.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing Camera!

ZV-1/BC UC2 18 January 2022 by Eviequeen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It took me a minute to save up for this! So glad finally own this amazing camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great but one irritating feature

ZV-1 18 January 2022 by Una1 (United Kingdom)

As I more or less want to use the ZV-1 for vlogging, I find it annoying that it randomly stops stops recording after a couple of minutes, over and over again. Otherwise i am happy, but this is actually quite a drawback and I am not the only one encountering this flaw.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony Support Team
20 January 2022

Hi ,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with you ZV-1.
You can try the steps in this link as an attempt to resolve the issue: https://bit.ly/3egvFKk
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Compact powerful and fun.

ZV-1/WC E32 06 January 2022 by acls (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The pictures/videos quality is superb. And compact is the key, you will more willing to bring it out instead of bulky DSLR camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Size not important but quality, but quality

ZV-1/BC E32 23 December 2021 by Gimbaran (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I buy this ZV-1 for my latest documentary shoot and have used and tested its video quality as good as my EX3 XDCAM. Its 4K and can crop to my desired part of the video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Camera

ZV-1/BC UC2 12 December 2021 by Puni (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Things I like the most is it has external mic output and At same time it misses out the flash kinda dark pics at night. One of the loyal customer of song from South Asia to North America I have been getting sony products, first time I have registered my product here in North America.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Cheap n cheery entry into vlog style video

ZV-1/BC E32 08 December 2021 by tjnuo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Articulating screen, dedicated video features, lots of accessory support, colour profiles, pocketable. Put it on a gimbal and go. Great as a b-cam too.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super camera

ZV-1 03 December 2021 by TGS Adventure (United Kingdom)

This camera is very good for vlogging, every thing there, I recommend everyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A practical camera that you can take anywhere

ZV-1 02 November 2021 by SlavekGo (United Kingdom)

It would be useful to upgrade the software so that the camera could support the Sony ECM-B1M Microphone If someone already has one of the better cameras, definitely more practical than the zv-e10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony support team
05 November 2021

Hi SlavekGo,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We will make sure to deliver your feedback about the microphone through the proper channels for future consideration. If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Great camera let down by a very poor internal mic

ZV-1 31 October 2021 by Jules75 (United Kingdom)

The ZV-1 is a great camera, but it is let down by a very poor quality internal mic. My camera developed a fault that resulted in excessive white noise being recorded. This issue could not be fixed. If the mic was functioning correctly then my only other conclusion is that the mic is not fit for purpose. Given that this is a camera designed for vlogging, the mic should be able to operate in a variety of different environments. It's not always possible/practical to use an external mic, so having a functioning internal mic is essential, especially as Sony highlight how good the internal mic is on the ZV-1.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony Support Team
22 December 2021

Hi Jules 75,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your ZV-1.
You can try the steps in this link as an attempt to resolve the issue:https://bit.ly/3egvFKk
If that didn't work and you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

Fantastic Camera for Video

ZV-1 23 October 2021 by DviP (United Kingdom)

Fantastic Camera for Video, which is what I bought it for. Very Good quality even on presets. Much to learn as a bigginer, but Very Happy with my choice. Only thing I find difficult is the little micro USB input for charging / linking. This is awkward which is a shame as you are using it a lot !. USB C would have been better and easier to use. Other than that, a fantastic product. :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony support team
25 October 2021

Hi DviP,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We will make sure to pass your feedback through the proper channels for future consideration. If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony Support UK

0

Compact and Convenient!

ZV-1/BC E32 20 October 2021 by MY Chai (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to make video about my journey about my solo car camping and photography trips. Since I already have a set of full frame Sony gears I decided to get myself this small compact camera, and I was surprised by the ease of use and the output quality of this camera. I really like this camera but theres a few issue that needed to be solve, firstly is that you can't access to the battery and memory card is you have anything attached to the tripod mount, secondly is the weak battery life, and thirdly is the crop while using the active stabilising. Theres other accessories to solve those issue but it's another layer of complication, really hope they will improve on these issue in the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very pleased with it..see my YouTube channel for a

ZV-1 14 October 2021 by KK AND FAMILY (United Kingdom)

I have a review of the Sony on KK AND FAMILY which is my YouTube channel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony support team
02 February 2022

Hi KK,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Great for vlogging

ZV-1 14 October 2021 by nom nom_greenhair (United Kingdom)

I have been using this for over a year now and just been asked to review my new camera, I have been using as my main vlogging camera, this replaced and panasonic mirrorless slr, the size and 4k output along with high frame rates drew me to this model along with a load of youtube reviews. I have done maybe over 50 vlogs using it, i do have a seperate mic but the built in one is still good, the picture is great as are the modes and settings. The downside is stability, on any setting even the active one its not good at all, so mostly i leave in on a tripod static, so indoor or outdoor, if i need to walk about i revert to a gopro. As i said though this is my main vlogging camera, night shooting is awesome, i dont do stills really as i have cameras for that, but the few i have taken have come out really nice.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
18 October 2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Camera, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're glad to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @ Sony Support UK

0

Good results in the right situation

ZV-1 14 October 2021 by Robinsong (United Kingdom)

I wanted a camera with which to record songs outdoors and the ZV-1 sounded ideal. However, if the subject is moving at the start of a video recording, there is often a jerkiness to the image. I can only see if this has happened at the end of a recording - by which time I have spent sometimes seven minutes performing and may not feel able to use the recording. Also, although the lens gives a sharp photograph, the zoom - which is limited in range - gives a blurred image. Effectively, I cannot use the zoom feature with this camera. Another idiosyncrasy of the ZV-1 is that it does not handle extremes of contrast between dark and light areas of a picture very well. Lighter areas are sometimes completely white.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

Response From Sony Support Team
18 October 2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to learn that you're facing difficulties with your ZV-1.
Regarding the stabilisation and jerkiness of the image, we recommend adjust the focus settings: https://bit.ly/3pdvB4p & https://bit.ly/3vuHYu7.
And you can check this link on how to operate the camera's zoom: https://bit.ly/3jfSO2b.
We would also recommend checking this link to adjust ''White Balance'' of the camera: https://bit.ly/3vlRoYK.

Also, having read your feedback, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sawy @ Sony Support UK

0

Works well as a webcam and camera

ZV-1 13 October 2021 by _ryan (United Kingdom)

I've been using the Sony ZV-1 regularly as a webcam for work, including Zoom and Google Meet video calls, and it has been very reliable with high image quality. I feel it has been good value as a mid-range camera with its additional uses as a webcam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing 4k Videos and photos

ZV-1 13 October 2021 by Amateur Vlogger (United Kingdom)

Such a small camera packed with features which produce video quality equivalent to professional cameras. Dynamic auto focus from distant to macro and auto exposure give ultra sharp pictures and accurate colours under most conditions. Ease of use ideal for making top quality Youtube videos especially when paired with GP-VPT2BT shooting grip/tripod. Still photos excellent too. Battery life poor on 4k videos. Buy a spare battery and charger. No wrist strap and no charger provided but will work with most mobile phone chargers rated at 5V 1500mA or more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
09 February 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.

To learn about the battery life of the camera check these links: https://bit.ly/3JiUbrD & https://bit.ly/3HIJ7Ub.
And to check all the accessories that you can buy for the camera check this link: https://bit.ly/3uRzgbh.

Also, rest assured, we'll pass your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @ Sony UK

0

Outstanding camera; one or two minor niggles.

ZV-1 13 October 2021 by bloke in kent (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for vlogging and self-op documentary footage. I needed something that would perform in challenging light, could be easily self-operated; that could produce acceptable vision and sound quality with minimal setup. It delivered on all of these fronts and is one of Sony's best thought-through cameras as a result. The fact that the price was accessible was the primary determining factor. I have it in a smallrig cage and use it on a mini tripod or a gimbal, plug in a cheap (£12) lapel mic and the results are stunning - indoor and out. Focussing is pretty much flawless, including the product showcase option. I found I didn't have to worry about the focussing when using it, which is what you want from a piece of kit. Although you could spend a lot of time tweaking the settings - and I had a wonderful afternoon on holiday going through all of the possiblities, accessing the different colour profiles and applying LUTS to the result - most people won't need to do this and actually will run on one of the automatic settings. It just works. And the results are more than just acceptable. Visually it delivers big time and I prefer the look and feel of the HD to the 4K footage. Minor niggles; Zoom range - both wide and tight - feels a little cramped. The menus are extensive but until you get to know them finding what you need to change can be a bit of a challenge; and they do change when you select different settings - so it's easy to get lost. Both HDMI out and the USB streaming option have more latency than I was expecting. There's no headphone socket, so you can't find out without making a trial recording whether the mic is picking up wind noise; Battery life is acceptable but not stunning; Sometimes it seems to be reluctant to draw power from a USB power brick which is fine until it isn't. In 4K you need to set what level of overheat you will tolerate; I used it as a B camera on one job; set it to record and it shut down after ten minutes and I couldn't get to the camera for another ten minutes to try and work out what had gone wrong. There's no headphone socket. Did I mention this? It's a big, big drawback ... The on-off button is prominent; if you pick up the camera and accidentally brush the power button it will extend the lens and has more than once nearly jumped out of my hand; I never leave batteries in it now ... But all of these are relatively minor; I have other cameras some with better features, but this is the one I'll have with me more often than not and certainly for doing any pieces to camera. I'd highly recommend it for both beginner and advanced users and would happily have another (though I rather fancy the one with the interchangeable lenses ... )

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
03 February 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your ZV-1 and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.
You can check this link for more information about Auto Power OFF Temp. so you can set the settings that you desire: https://bit.ly/3sgvDbE
Rest assured, we've raised your feedback to the relevant channels for future considerations and developments.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Amazing camera! Love it so much

ZV-1 13 October 2021 by Iryna (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera half year ago and it is incredible. A video quality is super professional. Now it is easier to me montage a video without any features. Love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The most reasonable vlog cam out there

ZV-1 13 October 2021 by The wrights (United Kingdom)

We both this cam for vlogging and YouTube. But, was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the cam. The upside is the quality 4k and audio. Downside is the battery life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
02 February 2022

Hi The wrights,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera, and for more years to come.
Having read your feedback about the battery life, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Versatile little beauty

ZV-1 13 October 2021 by Wisebaxter (United Kingdom)

I bought this for vlogging but have now gotten into filmmaking and this camera holds its own there. Very easy to navigate menu, user friendly, made for beginners but lots of functionality too. I love it more than life itself

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simplifies Vlogging

ZV-1 13 October 2021  (United Kingdom)

Good camera. I have been making short talks for TV from home for a time. It's challenging to do on your own – lights, camera, audio, background, etc. Finally, I don't have to worry about my camera losing focus. The ZV-1 locks in place pin-sharp on the pupil. The colour rendition is warm and pleasing, too. It means set-up is faster, and the days of endless retakes (at least over focus issues) are behind me. One request, Sony – a proper touch-screen menu. And one for the wishlist – a faster lens with better bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Portable, great design and picture quality

ZV-1 13 October 2021 by Sumith Damodaran (United Kingdom)

The design and portability of this camera makes it so easy for vlogging. The picture and sound quality is good. It picks up your voice even in a noisy environment. Only down side for me is the menu, cannot select it using touch screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Camera, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.

Also, the touch controls for this camera works only for touch operations as shown in this link: https://bit.ly/3qHhpkB.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @ Sony UK

0

Good camera for photos, not so good for filming

ZV-1 13 October 2021 by Flossietakesphotos (United Kingdom)

Overall the camera is good. The focusing in video mode can sometimes be tricky as it can lose focus quite easily. The battery life isn’t great, probably lasts around 30 minutes in video mode so I had to buy another battery to swap over when shooting. The overall quality of the camera is good, it’s just a shame that these couple of things let it down

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20 January 2022


Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your ZV-1.
We'd like to highlight that depending on the scene you're shooting, you can adjust the focus for abetter results, you can check this link for more info: https://bit.ly/3GH6Fs2
Also, you can check the battery life and the number of recordable images\movies from this link: http://bit.do/fTdQi
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Perfect in all aspects except for battery time

ZV-1 13 October 2021 by Sepic (United Kingdom)

I believe this camera is the best for vlogging on the market right now. The focus tracking is excellent and it catches voice/vocal sounds incredibly well - even in windy settings if you put on the fluffy wind cap. The high frame rate shooting mode produces some really nice footage, although it can be a bit impractical to work with, as 3 seconds of recording time requires 15-20 seconds of buffering time (and the camera is unusable while buffering). Overall it's very easy to whip out and start recording with this camera, and I paired it with the Sony tripod/grip which makes it ergonomically better and easier to start recording. The battery life time is a constant limiting factor though - and if you only have a single battery like myself, you're gonna have to consider how much you record and how long you leave it on standby in between recordings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
21 January 2022

Hi Sepic,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Camera, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.

To learn about the battery life, and maximum recordable times, check these links: https://bit.ly/3Akj0Qt & https://bit.ly/3nKNiqw & https://bit.ly/3Ir0hpe.
And to learn more about the buffering while shooting, check this link under ''[End Trigger]/[End Trigger Half]'': https://bit.ly/3tSbxap.

If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Super Sony

ZV-1 13 October 2021 by SeriousSonySid (United Kingdom)

I've had this little camera for a few months now and am truly amazed with the brilliant quality. I have absolutely no negative comments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good image quality

ZV-1 13 October 2021  (United Kingdom)

Compact size good image quality extremely poor battery life I would opt for a full size camera in the future

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support team
01 February 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad to learn that you like your camera, and for more years to come.
We would recommend checking the "Battery life" section here:
https://bit.ly/3L3vrW0
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link:
https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Moe @Sony UK

0

WORTH THE PURCHASE

ZV-1/BC E32 02 October 2021 by Norlisa95 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I watched a lot of reviews begore finally bought it. Love the fast autofocus and the steady shot features. I appreciate the screen flipping very useful for me to record video. Hopefuly the touch screen can be used for more things rather than just to focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Vlog-cam

ZV-1 22 September 2021 by Florin25031978 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I made a best choice! Period. There are alot of words wich can make the best description. You just have to try it. And the rest will come by himself.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent indoor and outdoor camera

ZV-1 15 September 2021 by Lineside (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As well as a great little indoor blogging camera it shoots spectacularly well outdoors. The built-in ND filter really makes this camera. Ok the telephoto lens motor speed is somewhat harsh but using it as a fixed magnification you are able to get stunning shots, especially with the Ziess lens. A fantastic pocket-sized camera ideal if you are constantly on the go. It has the ability to take superb photos too. For the price this was an ideal camera to get and knocks spots off any smartphone!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My first camera

ZV-1 01 September 2021 by 3ligijus (United Kingdom)

Everything great apart couple of things: Very poor battery life Zoom sound in footage

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support UK
03 September 2021

Hi 3ligijus,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to learn that you are happy with the overall performance of the camera. The battery life usually depends settings of the camera along with, the ambient temperature, and the conditions of use. You can find more information about battery life here: https://bit.ly/36ciPsF. If you require any further assistance, we recommend contacting us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2Uadm09. We would like to highlight that we've passed your feedback about the the sound of the zoom for future consideration and product development

Seif @ Sony Support UK

0

UPDATE pls the Imaging Edge Webcam for M1 Apple

ZV-1/WC E32 31 August 2021 by Sam Chu (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a use for a month mainly for live streaming, and my video is must more elegant and vivid than before. One thing is really concerning which is not the camera but Imaging Edge Webcam App which until now cannot support the Apple M1 processor. The team should be able to keep with times! Come on! This is my GREAT concern as I wish to upgrade my MacBook in future. And also, why is USB output is only 1024x576p? This is 2021. Can u update to you 1920x1080 or even 4K? These are my 2 concerns.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Interaction Centre
06 September 2021

Hi,

Greetings from Sony Malaysia.

Firstly, the specification for USB streaming is available at our website via the link: https://bit.ly/2WSbyfR and it will not support 1920x1080 resolution.

Secondly, USB streaming function from ZV-1 is a standardized protocol that allow the USB connect, to act as a webcam where it carry Audio and Video together. Hence, It should be able to work on device with USB input in general. However, Sony never guaranteed it’s compatibility on all computer, as individual computer vary from one to another, in terms of hardware.

I hope we have clarified your concern here and should you require any further assistance, feel free to reach out to us via the details below.

Contact number: 1300 88 1233

(Technical Support/Repair/Warranty)

Operating Hours:
9:00AM to 6:00PM
(Monday - Friday, except Public Holidays)
Website:http://www.sony.com/my/

Email address: cic.somas@ap.sony.com

Thank you,

Regards,
Sony Malaysia

0

AMAZING

ZV-1 29 August 2021 by Tracy41 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best camera I have used the focus on the camera is amazing like beats this

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera in good price

ZV-1 29 August 2021 by SandraSzych (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought by argos with 100£ cash back from Sony, my partner love it !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Product!

ZV-1/BC E32 29 August 2021 by rizaldymar (Indonesia)

I bought this a month ago and this product amazing. easy to use, have many features that can help you for newbie person in camera world. the results is OG and am so happy to have this product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic!

ZV-1 28 August 2021 by Salts (United Kingdom)

I have been wanting to buy this camera for a while now, and it arrived today! I cannot wait to start filming, my YouTube video out put has not been the best due to not having a decent camera. I always used my phone, but I'm hoping that now with the in my arsenal my YouTube page can take off a little bit. I still need to learn how to use this properly and I love the aftermarket support that this camera has. I am looking forward to starting!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect size

ZV-1 24 August 2021 by CJay22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The perfect camera to have to record family & friends!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice en good

ZV-1 22 August 2021 by Nasissak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last month ago en am loving it. Das great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but professional looking footage

ZV-1 18 August 2021 by Jasonstanley68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this to film my holiday on a cruise, I have an a7iii but didn’t want to lug it around plus it’s expensive. Got th

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Happy so far…..

ZV-1/BC E32 16 August 2021 by Singapore Street Shots (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had 3 different RX100 cameras in the last 8 years…. I am a professional photographer and I love the quality of the photos these little cameras provide!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0