P 2,999.00

40

4.0 based on 40 customer reviews

23
6
3
3
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

BASS FRIENDLY

MDR-XB550AP 01 August 2017 by Bass Head (USA)

The headphones are fantastic. just got them a few weeks ago and the headphones don't let you miss out on anything. the sickest thing about them is that they rumble with bass. Sony has defeated Beats entirely. it would be cool if i could test all of Sony's headphones and leave reviews but thats a lot of money. maybe one day. Sony keep up the great work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very disappointed with these

MDR-XB550AP 16 November 2018 by Carol89 (USA)

I must say, I’ve always been a fan of Sony headphones but my loyalty has faded. This is not the first set of Sony headphones Ive purchased that have broken. They have managed to maintain their sound quality but the build quality and durability of their items have been extremely disappointing. I only got a little over 3 months of use from these headphones and of course it happened after the 3 month warranty ended before the cheap plastic swivel piece used to hold the ear phone to the band, finally gave way. If you look closely at the provided photo, you will see the cheap plastic piece I speak of, the earpiece is totally separated from the band rendering them totally useless. I can’t rationalize that I just received a defected pair because as stated earlier, this seems to be a common problem with other models i’ve purchased. If these durability issues are not addressed by Sony, I will not be buying anymore of their headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

4

40 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent sound

MDR-XB550AP 31 May 2020 by MDR XB550 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased these headphones a few weeks ago for listening to music on my MacBook Pro and they have exceeded my expectations. Superb bass and clear audio no matter what you’re listening to. Only downside I have found is that the ear cups can make the top of your ears hurt as if they are being squeezed if worn for long periods of time other than that they’re a great pair of headphones at a reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

2

0

Unsatisfied

MDR-XB550AP 16 April 2020 by AyoItsFoxy (USA)

I bought the headphones a few weeks ago. Everything was fine but a few minutes ago the right side stopped working. Please help me.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Very nice sound and bass!

MDR-XB550AP 14 April 2020 by ttttttony (USA)

I bought them about a month ago, very nice headphones with great build quality. For this price they are the best that you can get!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

very good

MDR-XB550AP 07 April 2020 by MMelih (United Kingdom)

this is a very good product however mic got broken in almost a year time and it was not registered to guaranty. I bought exactly the same one again and registered it this time :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Great features.

MDR-XB550AP 04 February 2020 by February 2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item about 2 months ago and I am so glad I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Great phones

MDR-XB550AP 11 August 2019 by Ducar (USA)

Great phones and excelent bass. Good value and nice design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Cord broke

MDR-XB550AP 09 August 2019 by kimokeo (USA)

The cord where the 2 lines come together broke after a month of use. Rendering the headphones useless. Cord not the most sturdy. Sounded great up until then.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

0

Good Sound Quality. Cheap Construction.

MDR-XB550AP 04 May 2019 by Rayd12 (USA)

I was looking for a pair of headphones to replace my 6 year old ZX300AP. Found these in a store sale at a good price. Pretty good sound, though a little bit heavy on the bass. Confortable to use nevertheless. The materials feel very good to the touch and the metal band is a nice touch. However, the hinge design where the side meets the phones is poorly executed. Other headphones with the same design suffer the same problem. 6 months after I bought them and both sides are broken. Hopefully Sony can look into this manufacturing defect for future designs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

9

0

For everyday BASS

MDR-XB550AP 16 April 2019  (USA)

Simple headphones, fair price, comfy, nothing special except really good bass. Had some issues with left cup cord (I dropped my phone so it was hanging on the cord and it looks like the cord lost contact somewhere inside the cup), changed to the same ones on the next day. I'm still using them to this day and I am more than satisfied.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sound

MDR-XB550AP 11 April 2019  (Philippines)

Well, as new substitute: this set is my replacement for my previous Sony On-Ear Headphone like 450AP. I think I heard better sound and bass. Just awesome. Its sound makes me feel every note. It feels not comfy when I am using it for 3 hours maybe.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Hearing aid user

MDR-XB550AP 06 April 2019 by Mrs Grumpy (United Kingdom)

Hearing aid user, having sound problems, not easy 2 use

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

38

0

Ehh

MDR-XB550AP 03 April 2019 by Charlotte K (USA)

I bought this a couple weeks ago and they just broke a few minutes before i wrote this review. They got slightly tugged on where the cords come into that plastic piece. They broke easily but other than that they are really good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

BEST HEADPHONES I'VE EVER HAD

MDR-XB550AP 19 March 2019  (Philippines)

This headphones is just INSANE. I cant really hear the rumble of the bass and and the highs,mids,lows of this headphones is good I would really recommend this product to people who are BASSHEADS like me

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too uncomfortable to use

MDR-XB550AP 02 February 2019 by Andrew_IsThisNameInUse (USA)

Bought this to replace a 6 year old XB-500 I had. The sound quality is better and the inclusion of a mic is nice. But I can't wear it for more than 5 minutes. It is somehow so loose it falls off my head unless gravity keeps it there (not the case with the XB-500's), while also pinching my ears that it becomes painful. Basically unusable. Rather annoying since the reviews I read for this praised the comfort. Hoping nobody else gets shafted.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

3