143

3.7 based on 143 customer reviews

62
35
9
12
25
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic treadmill headphones!

MDR-XB650BT 05 January 2018 by Marathonrunner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these as I wanted some good quality wireless over-ear headphones for the gym treadmill and they are great! Light, don’t move around, good and loud! Bluetooth connection was super simple plus long battery life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

The swivel arms will easily break

MDR-XB650BT 30 March 2018 by Yb509 (USA)

Received as a Christmas gift. Have worn them 10 times both sides broken. How will Sony assist with the repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

143 Customer Reviews

0

Just like a dream...

MDR-XB650BT 03 December 2018  (United Kingdom)

Bought it yesterday. Wireless. Has fantastic sound. The deep bass is just perfect. I had a minor problem paring it with the other devices but it's solved. And blue is my favourite colour. A boy purchased a no name headphone for the same price, right in front of me. I am sure Sony is better quality. The only reason I can think of is that the ear circle piece is foldable on the other model. You may want to consider it?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lack of Information

MDR-XB650BT 24 November 2018 by His Exelency (United Kingdom)

I am very disappointed by the absence of any instructions written in English. The absence of a transmitter is also disappointing.

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

0

0

0

Great Headphones, Until They Broke

MDR-XB650BT 14 November 2018 by swannie6699 (USA)

Received these headphones about two years ago, and they were a great set of headphones while I had them. Good sound quality and very comfortable. The issue is they simply broke one day. The plastic swivel snapped for no apparent reason, durability certainly isn't there.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound, Terrible structural integrity

MDR-XB650BT 12 November 2018 by Kyle236 (USA)

I bought this just under a year ago and they were definitely an upgrade from my Skullcandys (in sound quality), but I used those for 3 times longer and they are still in better shape than these. They've broken off both of the swivel joints and I've had to super glue them back on and one of the support arms broke off all just from daily use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

The swivel arms will easily break

MDR-XB650BT 12 November 2018 by opuskev (USA)

i bought these headphones about a year ago and the swivel arm breaks and then i found other people complaining about this problem on ifixit

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good tones

MDR-XB650BT 03 November 2018 by Billy buck (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product recommend to everyon excellent tones and sounds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good headphones!

MDR-XB650BT 31 October 2018 by TheThat (USA)

I've owned these headphones for about a year now and they're amazing! no complaints very easy to connect and would reccomend for everyone. but after about 45minutes of usage the band does start to hurt the top of my head. :(

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

THE SOUND IS GREAT AND CLOSE OUT ANY OUTSIDE NOISE

MDRXB650BT/B 30 October 2018 by EDISON77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUT 6 MONTHS AGO BUT THE PLASTIC RINGS HAVE BOTH BROKE . THEY ARE TOO WEAK FOR THE EAR PIECES.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Faulty Manufacturing/ Poor Construction

MDR-XB650BT 22 October 2018 by Svasthya (USA)

Like many others, I am sad to report that the plastic attaching the headband to the earphone completely shattered one day from gentle use. I just took them off my head like normal and the swivel joint broke. Had only used them a total of two months since I bought them. This was very confusing and disheartening as the headphones basically seemed to self-destruct, and up until then I loved the sound quality and comfort. To have such poor and faulty manufacturing is completely absurd and outrageous for headphones at a price point of $250.00 when I bought them. Most upsetting was the complete disregard on behalf of customer service. They seemed aware that this was a recurring issue with their product but still referred to it as “product damage” and told me it voided the warranty. Both times when I called I asked to speak to the manager and as I was insisting upon replacement or repair, she went as far to begin saying she couldn’t hear me and I was breaking up, under a perfectly sound Wi-Fi connection. She acknowledged she knew it was an issue yet continued to put blame on me. By looking at their next model, which fixes this swivel connection problem, you can tell the company is aware of it. When it is so clear from looking at reviews that this is obviously a consistent problem indicating a failure of their manufacturing, and knowing that the company refuses to own up to it and compensate consumers, I will not be supporting Sony in the future and will not recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great sound

MDR-XB650BT 14 October 2018 by Jason 1969 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these headphones a month now they have a great sound and look amazing only draw back is the headband is to smooth and they tend to slide about a bit on my head apart from that I'm very happy with headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

CHEAP QUALITY

MDR-XB650BT 06 October 2018 by Pimpgrease47 (USA)

I bought these a few weeks ago and both sides have just fallen off

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-XB650BT 29 September 2018 by brownie1707 (USA)

The headphones are great I love them. They have great battery life I can listen to music or Netflix for weeks ad not have to recharge them. They are very comfortable. My dad and sister own a pair and love them. They are very nice and are durable. I wish I would have bought them earlier than I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Solid Piece of Equipment

MDR-XB650BT 24 September 2018 by callovian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted some headphones that were of good quality that did not break the bank - and these fit the bill. I use them primarily to listen to movies without bothering the neighbours and they are spot on for this. The sound quality is pretty good although I am no expert but it does everything I want and the sound is very immersive - exactly how I like it. However, the design could have been a little better and they can get a little uncomfortable after a couple of hours wear - but this may be me not quite doing it right as these are still a recent acquisition. This is the only reason I am rating it four stars. Otherwise a nice piece of kit that I am happy to recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great headset

MDR-XB650BT 10 September 2018 by Brian the lion (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these head phones for my wife as she can’t always hear what being said on television. Worth every penny they are Bluetooth so does not interfere with my listening. Well recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great design comfort but too much stuttering.

MDR-XB650BT 06 September 2018 by Alan_1970 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product 6 months ago and am so dissapointed. Like the overall sound/design/comfort/features but they suffer from so many stutters in the sound it has made them unusable for me. Tried all the troubleshooting but problem just recurs. Should have bought a wired version.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Right side broke both times.

MDR-XB650BT 05 September 2018 by Dipendra (USA)

I enjoyed the sound quality of this headset. It mostly sat in a nice velvet pouch in a drawer and was in use barely 2-3 times per month for 30 minutes or so. One day the right side of the sound was completely gone. Piece so immaculate and cared for, I couldn't understand why!? Thankfully I had few days left from a factory warranty, and after some trouble, they had replaced the unit to a new one. I was happy until after a few months the sound was gone again and it also started to tear from inside by itself. I'm left confused as the unit is not cheap and I cared for it very much and used it gently, but it just was ripping apart.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good basic but missing some features

MDR-XB650BT 13 August 2018 by NeilW57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this as a gift and it plays ok...radio is good...Bluetooth works fine. I am not so happy with big not being able to play from an iPod. More importantly I am.not impressed that it has no way of listening via headphones neither wired nor bluetooth this is a big oversight. If you have no one else to annoy with your tunes then it is a nice small tidy piece of kit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Its good but only one flaw...

MDR-XB650BT 07 August 2018 by kenzoo (Philippines)

sound on this item is superb. soft cushion.... only issue that i have is that its becomes hot on the ears after an hour or two of use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fragile...Poor design

MDR-XB650BT 07 August 2018  (USA)

The swivel arms broke almost immediately. Very disappointing and not typical of the quality expected from a brand as well known as Sony. Hoping to replace these with a better constructed pair. Read the reviews...many others have had the same issue. If you are lucky, they MAY last the 90 days [covered by warranty]. Ours did not. Huge waste of money!!! Would NOT recommend if you use them frequently.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Poor construction

MDRXB650BT/B 06 August 2018 by CenFloMom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this item on 05/29/2018 and within two weeks the hinge located just above the earpiece which has a rotating base has broken exposing the wires.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Great Colour

MDR-XB650BT 24 July 2018 by Ema28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these red metallic earphones over a year ago. They stopped working but because they were under warranty I was shipped out a brand new set. They've been great ever since. Value for money, easy to connect to Bluetooth devices, great sound and volume control.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

MDR-XB650BT 20 July 2018 by Rami95 (USA)

Great sound and built quality but I have a question. I have a 5v power bank. can I charge my headphones by using it?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Battery died after a month

MDR-XB650BT 18 July 2018 by Started out Good (USA)

Battery died after a month and now the headphones won't charge or turn on.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great affordable high quality headphones

MDR-XB650BT 01 July 2018 by Jack12345 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great option if you want high quality headphones if you don't want to go over £100. If you've got a higher budget I'd suggest going for a better pair that maybe has a wired option or a app that could allow changing the effects but they have served me well for several months and has surprising range at times. Though it does collect finger prints rather well but that's not an issue if you wipe them every few days/weeks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very poor design/material quality

MDR-XB650BT 26 June 2018 by Valval (USA)

Got them of Amazon as a Christmas gift for my wife. Six months later both side swivels are broken, the ear phones just dangling on the wiring.Bought a protection plan but it is just a standard one (no accident protection)-not covering this kind of issue. Very disappointing-125 bucks wasted on these headphones

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

A very good product

MDR-XB650BT 18 June 2018 by Peter Catley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I selected this product after careful research, it has not disappointed. There was something of a learning process to set it up and to get it to work easily. Bluetooth is a flaky technology sometime and I have had difficulties in pairing with non-NFC devices, but still making progress.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

After 4 months it stopped working.

MDR-XB650BT 02 June 2018 by Freitasgj (USA)

Bought the headphone in JAN 2018, it worked fine until MAY 2018 when suddenly it stopped working, it will not charge or turn on anymore, completely dead. Interestingly enough warranty is limited to 90 days. Very disappointed. And it is a shame because, while it worked, it was a good headphone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Very poorly put together.

MDR-XB650BT 25 May 2018 by BeeJayO410E (USA)

I purchased two of these items, about two months apart. They actually work very well and the sound quality is great. No issues with the performance at all. Sadly, they are very flimsy, especially in the swivel area....both headsets failed (broke) in the same area, after a few months of very careful use. (Two different users). The retailer refused to repair or replace either headset!! I had to repair both items myself...superglue came to the rescue. Lesson to be learned...NEVER, EVER, hold the headset by the ear cups when putting on or taking the headset off! The swivel connection WILL break eventually. A close inspection during the repairs I did, showed that the swivel joint is about as strong as a piece of wet spagetti.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

wow....

MDR-XB650BT 21 May 2018 by ebrosz (USA)

um, just had my mind blown.....l have NEVER heard such sound in my life 48. just wow and get these.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Broke almost immediately

MDR-XB650BT 21 May 2018 by Mike North (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphones broke within three weeks of purchasing them and had to be returned to Sony. The third time I went to recharge them they would not charge.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

NOT

MDRXB650BT/B 19 May 2018 by marines13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product I was very happy for 2 months and 19 days

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Excellent product

MDR-XB650BT 14 May 2018 by Filmbuff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First use of Bluetooth product. So easy to install and it instantly connected with sound sources. Audio quality excellent though only bought to monitor and edit dialogue. Bass feature irrelevant in this instance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor pivot quality.

MDR-XB650BT 10 May 2018 by Clakids (Philippines)

I bought mine last month, it fell on the floor (about 4'-5') once, and its pivot coupler (the one that connects the head band and the ear piece) broke easily. The sound and quality is good, but the structure is too weak. This part should have been a metal one. The power button placement is too different to reach.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Owners manual sucks big time

MDR-XB650BT 09 May 2018 by noone23 (USA)

The headphones are very nice but the owners manual is worthless. Nothing but a cartoon with no written instructions. When something happens your on your own to figure it out. Worse manual ever.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Won't Charge-but awesome!

MDR-XB650BT 07 May 2018 by Whatismyname (USA)

These are super nice headphones. I got them for my birthday a couple years ago, and they work amazing! But recently, I went to plugged them in overnight, and when I got them in the morning, they hadn't charged at all! But I recommend these to anyone!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony never fails

MDR-XB650BT 03 May 2018 by Piniy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very enjoyable high quality sleek look Headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My headphones stopped working all of a sudden

MDRXB650BT/B 01 May 2018 by gabbyL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I loved these headphones, used them occasionally and took care of them, but they just stopped working all of a sudden. They won't turn on and I haven't had them for a year! Not sure if they are under warranty but it's very frustrating!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome

MDR-XB650BT 29 April 2018 by Gobby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have never had a sound so good before should have bought them a long time ago

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good quality headphones.

MDR-XB650BT 15 April 2018 by Dave63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had these a few weeks now and very pleased with purchase. Easy to link to my iPhone via Bluetooth but did need to buy a Bluetooth transmitter to link to my Bluetooth enabled Sony Bravia. That surprised me although this was due to lack of connectivity from the TV, not the headphones. Lovely sound and easy to set up and use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Swivel broke on both side

MDR-XB650BT 01 April 2018 by ara1 (USA)

After about 6 months of regular use the swivel broke on both side

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

The swivel arms will easily break

MDR-XB650BT 30 March 2018 by Yb509 (USA)

Received as a Christmas gift. Have worn them 10 times both sides broken. How will Sony assist with the repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

0

awesome sony headphones

MDR-XB650BT 28 March 2018 by manish10patel (USA)

i feel refresh whenever i use it excellent sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Swivel broken both sides

MDRXB650BT/B 20 March 2018 by NothappyJan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my headphones for approx 12 months. They have been sparsely used but when I had the opportunity, I loved them & looked afyter them which is obvious in the photos attached. However, a few months ago I noticed that one of the ear-piece swivels had broken. I taped it back together as a temporary fix. Thinking it must have been my fault due to some unknown misplacement or such like, I was extremely careful from then on. However, just last weekend the other swivel broke without the slightest mishandling or impact. Upon checking the website I found that others experienced the same problem so obviously there is a fault with the structure. Reading the sony forums, this seems to be a common issue with these headsets therefore, Sony is obviously aware. I do enjoy these headphones and I would like them to be fixed. How can I get this issue resolved?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great sound quality

MDR-XB650BT 17 March 2018 by Jacko2204 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these 3weeks ago as I travel a lot with work. I wanted good quality and good sound and this product oozes both.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Strong colour, looks smart

MDR-XB650BT 17 March 2018 by Grandad1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the headphones a few days ago, they are such a good buy. The sound id excellent and they stay still on your head, once set.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sounds.

MDR-XB650BT 17 March 2018 by tommy66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones to replace my sennheiser ones. They are very good and I am very pleased with them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

MDR-XB650BT 15 March 2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got these as a present - great sound , great fit , great design easy to use and connect with other Sony Products

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound, but poor quality of swivels

MDRXB650BT/B 13 March 2018 by adicretu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After only 6 months of regular use, both swivels broke.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great sound with extra base

MDR-XB650BT 23 February 2018 by Billycan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After shopping around for a month I bought this product and I made the right decision.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice sound

MDRXB650BT/B 14 February 2018 by Racko (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this product is the real bass booster, recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to set up

MDR-XB650BT 11 February 2018 by KennethA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sound quality. Very pleased with the product. Looks great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excillent Sound Quality

MDR-XB650BT 09 February 2018 by Harsh342 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excillent product for the price. Very good sound quality, extra bass really adds to experience. I will recomend this product if your price range in medium and you do not rough use electronics.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I wouldn't recommend it.

MDR-XB650BT 04 February 2018 by fq28 (USA)

I bought these headphones a year ago and within the first month the bluetooth stopped connecting to any of my devices!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Unbelievable sound

MDR-XB650BT 29 January 2018 by Patsyc47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed some Bluetooth headphones and by way of a gift I had several makes etc to choose from, as long as they weren’t too expensive! As these were Extra Base (and Sony) I thought they might be pretty good. Pretty good doesn’t cut it, they’re fantastic. Makes the music from my iPad sound like I’m in a concert hall!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lousy connectivity

MDR-XB650BT 27 January 2018 by Gruuuvy (USA)

While these headphones sound great, have long lasting battery and are comfortable; I've only been able to connect them to Apple iPhone 7. They do not connect to a W10 PRO PX, an iPhone SE or a Galaxy S8 Active. That's a waste of monry, and time. I have turned off bluetooth on headphones and mobile devices, turned back on and scanned till utter frustration sets in. Maybe it's just my pair but I'll say again the only device they connect to without a flinch is the iPhone 7.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony headphones

MDR-XB650BT 25 January 2018 by Davh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones to match my iPad Pro. They work perfectly together.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Exceptional sound quality

MDR-XB650BT 23 January 2018 by Hawklance (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received a pair for Christmas, listen with them everyday. I usually connect through my Sony A1, connection is instant. I find them very comfortable over 2-3hours. Battery lasts for ever.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GOOD ALL ROUNDER

MDR-XB650BT 17 January 2018 by PJ SMITH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

GOOD SOUND, BATTERY LASTS FOR EVER. ONLY CHARGED UP TWICE IN 2 MONTHS

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great battery life

MDR-XB650BT 15 January 2018 by Leninboro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Look good, great battery life and sound is good. Slip off my head too easily though and that’s the only complaint

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0