164

3.6 based on 164 customer reviews

67
42
13
13
29
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic treadmill headphones!

MDR-XB650BT 05 January 2018 by Marathonrunner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these as I wanted some good quality wireless over-ear headphones for the gym treadmill and they are great! Light, don’t move around, good and loud! Bluetooth connection was super simple plus long battery life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

The swivel arms will easily break

MDR-XB650BT 30 March 2018 by Yb509 (USA)

Received as a Christmas gift. Have worn them 10 times both sides broken. How will Sony assist with the repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

164 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent sound quality

MDR-XB650BT 06 February 2019 by Petrus123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones a couple of weeks ago. The sound quality is very good and much better that other of a similar price.They attached via the bluetooth easily. I like the fact that you can adjust the volume on the headphones and you do not have to look for the remote or volume control on the device you are linked to. They are reported to have up to 30 hours of battery life but I have not yet tested this claim. My only minor gripe is that you cannot really see how much batter life is left. Press the heaphne button and it appears always to say medium. Think I would place more trust in a visual representation of battery life. Notwithstanding this minor gripe, they represent excellent value for money and would have no hesitation to reccommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Swivel broke.

MDR-XB650BT 29 January 2019 by Ana A (USA)

I got this headphone with my rewards points and the swivel broke. I am hoping Sony can repair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good quality value and battery life

MDR-XB650BT 21 January 2019 by Hugh01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a gift for Christmas. Cant fault other than lack of control over amount of base. For most part amount of base not a problem but with some music it seems excessive. Extra Base button would be welcome

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rattles

MDR-XB650BT 20 January 2019 by Kewl (USA)

The thing rattles but the sound quality is amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb!

MDR-XB650BT 19 January 2019 by Naddie (Philippines)

I saw it on the store and got attracted to the design. I didn't bother to do research about the MDR650. I am a fan of Sony and i trust them when it comes to quality. There are 2 things i didn't like is no ear jack in case im running out of batt. And no sharing of audio feature as well. Lack of feature though. But thats fine. I have other headphone to use in case my roomie would like to watch netflix with me. By the way, pls pls add ear cushion to the accessories in case the foam is cracked.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice looking headphones

MDR-XB650BT 17 January 2019 by Paul L 77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was gifted these at Christmas (2018) and I loved the design of them straight out of the box. They are on ear headphones, and not over - I feel this is important to stress, because there is a difference. Sound quality is decent, but nothing outstanding. I didn't experience powerful bass as the product details suggested, and the headphones were tested across multiple audio devices, if anything, they are more on the crisper side. I have a cheaper pair of blue tooth headphones, that in my opinion, sound just as good. The other thing which surprised me, is the fact that the volume control dosen't go that high - again, I can get much more volume from the control on my other cheaper pair than these Sony's. My conclusion is, they are a good looking and nice sounding pair of headphones, but nothing really out of the ordinary. I was gifted these, but not sure I would have been really happy if I had payed the price out of my own pocket

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound, bad encasement

MDR-XB650BT 16 January 2019 by Joe_R (USA)

The sound is great, but they break way to easy. I take care of my stuff and they still didn’t even last a year without cracking and I kept them at my desk at work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great until they break with only a month of use

MDR-XB650BT 14 January 2019 by Fennerz28 (USA)

Bought these headphones and enjoyed them until the right ear cup clamp broke for no reason

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Rubbish

MDR-XB650BT 12 January 2019 by Catz74 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought of amazon came scratched and right ear didn't work obviously Bern sent back before and not checked

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Poor Sound

MDR-XB650BT 10 January 2019 by John7mag (USA)

The Sound is good But This did not Last very Long

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

THE BASS IS REAL!!!

MDRXB650BT/L 09 January 2019 by God usopp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good equality, wish the volume was louder but the bass is amazing!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic Gift

MDR-XB650BT 09 January 2019 by Neville57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given these headphones as a gift and very pleased with the sound produced they are very comfortable to use whilst I'm in the gym

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Feature.

MDRXB650BT/R 08 January 2019 by Sk04 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought last month this product and i am so happy to use this item, long duration battery and comfortable on my ear and nice looks. also nice quality. Sony is the king of sound. wawooo bass......

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Quality

MDR-XB650BT 07 January 2019 by Artistik (USA)

As a very artistic person, I like to be able to feel the music, and these headphones deliver the heart and the feeling in the music that I'm looking for. They fit comfortably, and allow me to work in the yard without putting my iPad next to me in the dirt. The only downside is that they do cut out for very brief periods of time occasionally, but that could very well be an error with my device. Overall, these are wonderful, quality headphones that is definitely worth the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Do the job

MDR-XB650BT 02 January 2019 by Farah1214 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones are great and are of good quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top quality bass

MDR-XB650BT 30 December 2018 by Big Dan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Top quality sound No wires to break Bluetooths awesome and battery lasts a long time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

MDR-XB650BT 29 December 2018 by Beastmcoy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these about 2 weeks ago, I’ve only ever had buds but wa sick of the wire breaking all the time, these so far have been great other than a little big ( my head is small I think Lol) I cant complain with any of the features or the sound. I can’t actually hear anything else when they are on other than my music .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Affordable sound

MDR-XB650BT 29 December 2018 by Matty C (USA)

I bought them a while ago and they are amazing. They have great sound for a cheap affordable price. Thank you Sony

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

MDR-XB650BT 28 December 2018 by Kyd2016 (United Kingdom)

I just received today and im very happy with my product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

head band

MDRXB650BT/B 20 December 2018 by zachary2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i was in school and i go to put them over my head and the ear part snapped off the head band. other wise the headphones sounded great!!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

2

0

0

Good song

MDRXB650BT/B 18 December 2018 by nas32 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this couple of months ago. it was excellent and sound wonderful.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fragile!

MDR-XB650BT 14 December 2018 by Ayo_Fu (USA)

I purchased these headphones a month ago and was content. A month later I pick up my headphones and find the right arm of my ear cup is broken. Never dropped or anything. I’m a “Sony guy” when it comes to audio. But I’m disappointed. Be careful!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lack of Information

MDR-XB650BT 24 November 2018 by His Exelency (United Kingdom)

I am very disappointed by the absence of any instructions written in English. The absence of a transmitter is also disappointing.

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

0

2

0

Great Headphones, Until They Broke

MDR-XB650BT 14 November 2018 by swannie6699 (USA)

Received these headphones about two years ago, and they were a great set of headphones while I had them. Good sound quality and very comfortable. The issue is they simply broke one day. The plastic swivel snapped for no apparent reason, durability certainly isn't there.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great sound, Terrible structural integrity

MDR-XB650BT 12 November 2018 by Kyle236 (USA)

I bought this just under a year ago and they were definitely an upgrade from my Skullcandys (in sound quality), but I used those for 3 times longer and they are still in better shape than these. They've broken off both of the swivel joints and I've had to super glue them back on and one of the support arms broke off all just from daily use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

The swivel arms will easily break

MDR-XB650BT 12 November 2018 by opuskev (USA)

i bought these headphones about a year ago and the swivel arm breaks and then i found other people complaining about this problem on ifixit

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Good tones

MDR-XB650BT 03 November 2018 by Billy buck (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product recommend to everyon excellent tones and sounds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good headphones!

MDR-XB650BT 31 October 2018 by TheThat (USA)

I've owned these headphones for about a year now and they're amazing! no complaints very easy to connect and would reccomend for everyone. but after about 45minutes of usage the band does start to hurt the top of my head. :(

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

THE SOUND IS GREAT AND CLOSE OUT ANY OUTSIDE NOISE

MDRXB650BT/B 30 October 2018 by EDISON77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUT 6 MONTHS AGO BUT THE PLASTIC RINGS HAVE BOTH BROKE . THEY ARE TOO WEAK FOR THE EAR PIECES.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Faulty Manufacturing/ Poor Construction

MDR-XB650BT 22 October 2018 by Svasthya (USA)

Like many others, I am sad to report that the plastic attaching the headband to the earphone completely shattered one day from gentle use. I just took them off my head like normal and the swivel joint broke. Had only used them a total of two months since I bought them. This was very confusing and disheartening as the headphones basically seemed to self-destruct, and up until then I loved the sound quality and comfort. To have such poor and faulty manufacturing is completely absurd and outrageous for headphones at a price point of $250.00 when I bought them. Most upsetting was the complete disregard on behalf of customer service. They seemed aware that this was a recurring issue with their product but still referred to it as “product damage” and told me it voided the warranty. Both times when I called I asked to speak to the manager and as I was insisting upon replacement or repair, she went as far to begin saying she couldn’t hear me and I was breaking up, under a perfectly sound Wi-Fi connection. She acknowledged she knew it was an issue yet continued to put blame on me. By looking at their next model, which fixes this swivel connection problem, you can tell the company is aware of it. When it is so clear from looking at reviews that this is obviously a consistent problem indicating a failure of their manufacturing, and knowing that the company refuses to own up to it and compensate consumers, I will not be supporting Sony in the future and will not recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Great sound

MDR-XB650BT 14 October 2018 by Jason 1969 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these headphones a month now they have a great sound and look amazing only draw back is the headband is to smooth and they tend to slide about a bit on my head apart from that I'm very happy with headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

CHEAP QUALITY

MDR-XB650BT 06 October 2018 by Pimpgrease47 (USA)

I bought these a few weeks ago and both sides have just fallen off

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-XB650BT 29 September 2018 by brownie1707 (USA)

The headphones are great I love them. They have great battery life I can listen to music or Netflix for weeks ad not have to recharge them. They are very comfortable. My dad and sister own a pair and love them. They are very nice and are durable. I wish I would have bought them earlier than I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Solid Piece of Equipment

MDR-XB650BT 24 September 2018 by callovian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted some headphones that were of good quality that did not break the bank - and these fit the bill. I use them primarily to listen to movies without bothering the neighbours and they are spot on for this. The sound quality is pretty good although I am no expert but it does everything I want and the sound is very immersive - exactly how I like it. However, the design could have been a little better and they can get a little uncomfortable after a couple of hours wear - but this may be me not quite doing it right as these are still a recent acquisition. This is the only reason I am rating it four stars. Otherwise a nice piece of kit that I am happy to recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great headset

MDR-XB650BT 10 September 2018 by Brian the lion (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these head phones for my wife as she can’t always hear what being said on television. Worth every penny they are Bluetooth so does not interfere with my listening. Well recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great design comfort but too much stuttering.

MDR-XB650BT 06 September 2018 by Alan_1970 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product 6 months ago and am so dissapointed. Like the overall sound/design/comfort/features but they suffer from so many stutters in the sound it has made them unusable for me. Tried all the troubleshooting but problem just recurs. Should have bought a wired version.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Right side broke both times.

MDR-XB650BT 05 September 2018 by Dipendra (USA)

I enjoyed the sound quality of this headset. It mostly sat in a nice velvet pouch in a drawer and was in use barely 2-3 times per month for 30 minutes or so. One day the right side of the sound was completely gone. Piece so immaculate and cared for, I couldn't understand why!? Thankfully I had few days left from a factory warranty, and after some trouble, they had replaced the unit to a new one. I was happy until after a few months the sound was gone again and it also started to tear from inside by itself. I'm left confused as the unit is not cheap and I cared for it very much and used it gently, but it just was ripping apart.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good basic but missing some features

MDR-XB650BT 13 August 2018 by NeilW57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this as a gift and it plays ok...radio is good...Bluetooth works fine. I am not so happy with big not being able to play from an iPod. More importantly I am.not impressed that it has no way of listening via headphones neither wired nor bluetooth this is a big oversight. If you have no one else to annoy with your tunes then it is a nice small tidy piece of kit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Its good but only one flaw...

MDR-XB650BT 07 August 2018 by kenzoo (Philippines)

sound on this item is superb. soft cushion.... only issue that i have is that its becomes hot on the ears after an hour or two of use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fragile...Poor design

MDR-XB650BT 07 August 2018  (USA)

The swivel arms broke almost immediately. Very disappointing and not typical of the quality expected from a brand as well known as Sony. Hoping to replace these with a better constructed pair. Read the reviews...many others have had the same issue. If you are lucky, they MAY last the 90 days [covered by warranty]. Ours did not. Huge waste of money!!! Would NOT recommend if you use them frequently.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Poor construction

MDRXB650BT/B 06 August 2018 by CenFloMom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this item on 05/29/2018 and within two weeks the hinge located just above the earpiece which has a rotating base has broken exposing the wires.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Great Colour

MDR-XB650BT 24 July 2018 by Ema28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these red metallic earphones over a year ago. They stopped working but because they were under warranty I was shipped out a brand new set. They've been great ever since. Value for money, easy to connect to Bluetooth devices, great sound and volume control.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

MDR-XB650BT 20 July 2018 by Rami95 (USA)

Great sound and built quality but I have a question. I have a 5v power bank. can I charge my headphones by using it?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Battery died after a month

MDR-XB650BT 18 July 2018 by Started out Good (USA)

Battery died after a month and now the headphones won't charge or turn on.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great affordable high quality headphones

MDR-XB650BT 01 July 2018 by Jack12345 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great option if you want high quality headphones if you don't want to go over £100. If you've got a higher budget I'd suggest going for a better pair that maybe has a wired option or a app that could allow changing the effects but they have served me well for several months and has surprising range at times. Though it does collect finger prints rather well but that's not an issue if you wipe them every few days/weeks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very poor design/material quality

MDR-XB650BT 26 June 2018 by Valval (USA)

Got them of Amazon as a Christmas gift for my wife. Six months later both side swivels are broken, the ear phones just dangling on the wiring.Bought a protection plan but it is just a standard one (no accident protection)-not covering this kind of issue. Very disappointing-125 bucks wasted on these headphones

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

A very good product

MDR-XB650BT 18 June 2018 by Peter Catley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I selected this product after careful research, it has not disappointed. There was something of a learning process to set it up and to get it to work easily. Bluetooth is a flaky technology sometime and I have had difficulties in pairing with non-NFC devices, but still making progress.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

After 4 months it stopped working.

MDR-XB650BT 02 June 2018 by Freitasgj (USA)

Bought the headphone in JAN 2018, it worked fine until MAY 2018 when suddenly it stopped working, it will not charge or turn on anymore, completely dead. Interestingly enough warranty is limited to 90 days. Very disappointed. And it is a shame because, while it worked, it was a good headphone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Very poorly put together.

MDR-XB650BT 25 May 2018 by BeeJayO410E (USA)

I purchased two of these items, about two months apart. They actually work very well and the sound quality is great. No issues with the performance at all. Sadly, they are very flimsy, especially in the swivel area....both headsets failed (broke) in the same area, after a few months of very careful use. (Two different users). The retailer refused to repair or replace either headset!! I had to repair both items myself...superglue came to the rescue. Lesson to be learned...NEVER, EVER, hold the headset by the ear cups when putting on or taking the headset off! The swivel connection WILL break eventually. A close inspection during the repairs I did, showed that the swivel joint is about as strong as a piece of wet spagetti.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

wow....

MDR-XB650BT 21 May 2018 by ebrosz (USA)

um, just had my mind blown.....l have NEVER heard such sound in my life 48. just wow and get these.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Broke almost immediately

MDR-XB650BT 21 May 2018 by Mike North (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphones broke within three weeks of purchasing them and had to be returned to Sony. The third time I went to recharge them they would not charge.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

NOT

MDRXB650BT/B 19 May 2018 by marines13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product I was very happy for 2 months and 19 days

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Excellent product

MDR-XB650BT 14 May 2018 by Filmbuff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First use of Bluetooth product. So easy to install and it instantly connected with sound sources. Audio quality excellent though only bought to monitor and edit dialogue. Bass feature irrelevant in this instance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor pivot quality.

MDR-XB650BT 10 May 2018 by Clakids (Philippines)

I bought mine last month, it fell on the floor (about 4'-5') once, and its pivot coupler (the one that connects the head band and the ear piece) broke easily. The sound and quality is good, but the structure is too weak. This part should have been a metal one. The power button placement is too different to reach.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Owners manual sucks big time

MDR-XB650BT 09 May 2018 by noone23 (USA)

The headphones are very nice but the owners manual is worthless. Nothing but a cartoon with no written instructions. When something happens your on your own to figure it out. Worse manual ever.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0