86

4.2 based on 86 customer reviews

58
7
7
9
5
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

They work so well I’ll never buy another brand

WH-1000XM3 15 November 2018 by Laura k (USA)

I just want to start this review off with I don’t write reviews often, but this product is such an amazing gift from the Sony gods I wanted to share it. 2 months ago I was in the airport and I was looking for some headphones, I was thinking of buying the wireless Dre beats headphones. I asked the sales rep if I could check some out. He asked me what kind of quality/technology I wanted, I told him I was looking for wireless, comfortable, noise canceling headphones that are reliable. He told me to stay away from the beats and to check out sonys newer headphones. Hesitantly I tried them on and all of a sudden my world changed. The world went quiet and all I could hear was my Pink Floyd I started playing. The quality of the headphones was so well I heard instruments in the song I have never heard before. I was unable to hear anything the sales rep was saying to me- I was unable to hear anything other than the music- which was not even at half volume. To conclude this review- if you’re looking for a quality product that looks, feels and is GREAT; I recommend this one, I use them everyday for long periods of time (2-3 hours a day at least) and the battery life is tremendous. G

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good except for potential touch control flaw

WH1000XM3/B 16 November 2018 by Cochlea (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would have loved this product but in cold weather (30-40F) the touch controls either stop working or become fritzy (randomly and frequently pause/skip tracks or activate voice control. Makes them unusable for cold weather commuting.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

86 Customer Reviews

0

The features to this set of headphone are awesome

WH-1000XM3 08 December 2018 by Joelwhy2000 (USA)

I bought this set yesterday at best buy and when I first put them on the comfort of them were outstanding I right the bose as well sony did great with the comfort just like bose did the music is great and crisp the bass isn't to aggressive it is just right and everything blends with each other great the noise cancelling is really good the built quality is good very light in weight over all of the WH-1000XM3 they are a really good investment if you want really good quality headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing NC and sound quality but painful to wear

WH-1000XM3 08 December 2018 by CathyG (United Kingdom)

The noise cancelling function on these headphones is amazing. They help me focus at work and tune out of the noise on the train ride home. The sound quality is also fantastic.I love the touch control too. However - and this is a big problem for me - I find them so heavy that I can only wear them for about an hour. I am quite small and the bottom of each ear piece presses just underneath my ears making my jaw tingle after a while. (I have them on the smallest headband setting). So they're a real mixed bag for me. I would have taken them back to the store and tried to find a lighter pair but they only accept returns if they're faulty.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Terrific noise canceling

WH-1000XM3 07 December 2018 by Quiet (USA)

I usually don’t write reviews but felt I should on these headphones. I was researching for months trying to find just the right ones. I started leaning towards the Sonys when the MX3 came out. Finally pulled the trigger at a BestBuy vending machine in an airport. Have loved them from day one but a flight last night proved their worth. I flew standby on a commuter jet and literally got the last seat on the plane. It was by the window in the last row, right next to where the engines were mounted. When the pilot started the engines, the sound was unbearable. The guy next to me immediately put his fingers in his ears. It was piercing. I quickly donned the Sony’s and WOW, barely any noise. I started up some music and that cured any balance of noise that may have snuck in. These headphones made the worst seat on the plane almost paradise. Although pricey, they work better than advertised . I was very thankful I bought them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good headphones but...

WH-1000XM3 04 December 2018  (United Kingdom)

When I walk, jerk my head, take public transport such as bus, train I keep getting popping sounds in the headphones. This happens only when the NC is turned on. It is actually unbearable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5

0

LDAC and DSEE HX is amazing!!!!

WH-1000XM3 04 December 2018 by 33COTF33 (USA)

Love the audio quality! Great bass, mids, treble is pretty good. But having those audio codecs for bluetooth is amazing. I only stream music. So having support for it on select apps makes it definitely worth it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

I bought a bubble

WH-1000XM3 03 December 2018 by Steve__M (United Kingdom)

Very comfortable headphones which I can wear for hours. Sound quality is great (though I'm no audiophile). Noise cancellation is fantastic - I can listen to music while others are watching TV, even though I don't have the volume too loud. When I'm at work having them on without music really shuts out din. Using for phoning is not so great - it seems the mic picks up too much so I would not use the for an important call or telephone conference.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

Better than the Best

WH-1000XM3 02 December 2018 by Jin2123 (Philippines)

I tried to turn on the NC and I only felt music. No noise just music. Overall It's perfect for taking transportation and for hardcore music...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent

WH-1000XM3 01 December 2018 by Mmmgood2369 (USA)

Bought them a month ago they work very well but the problem seems to be that when in movement sound gets distored for example if moving your head to the left sound distorts from the right and sound goes on the left.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

excellent noise cancelling!

WH-1000XM3 30 November 2018 by Tau Klaus (United Kingdom)

I bought this one week ago, and it's very comfortable to wear and exceptional noise canceling features. I am beyond satisfied with this headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Battery charging problems too

WH-1000XM3 30 November 2018 by lrwilly (USA)

I just bought this about 2 weeks ago. At first no problem. Yesterday I tried to charge it. After trying several USB ports and several cables, it finally charged. What the sam hill. $350 for problems!!!!! Oh heck no.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Amazing Noise CancelingI

WH1000XM3/B 28 November 2018 by SaltyClone63057 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for black Friday, sadly no sale, however, I am very happy with this purchase, the noise canceling is OUT OF THIS WORLD, you cannot hear anything if music is playing, and sound quality is to die for, I never take them off, and they simply disappear on my head. One issue, however, is I find at random, the left earcup cancels less noise than the right, and also randomly the left earcup's sound is less and off balance to the right, however, I am in the process of getting support to fix this issue. Highly recommended, buy these headphones you will not be sorry.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best bluetooth headphone for the moment

WH-1000XM3 24 November 2018  (USA)

Great sound quality, subjectively good-looking headphone, lighter and improved comfort, fast charging + best battery life and great features. Really love this headphone <3

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does not work as they claim it does

WH-1000XM3 23 November 2018 by jjwx (USA)

Not very convincing compared to much cheaper versions of headphones. Problems: 1) very noisy when outdoor. The microphones are poorly placed on the top and underneath the headrest. Due to the turbulence there is much noise. 2) very poor bluetooth connection which drops frequently. Especially when you listen to e.g. music and is interrupted by a phone call. Then bluetooth is lost and phone has to be restarted. 3) The touch control is fuzzy and very hard to manouver and does not help you when you want to answer a phone call. 4) The app is pointless and also contains bugs and incorrect data, like the battery status and the claim that "now playing" and obviously no sound in the head phones. Tested with a huawei p10 and p20. A head set which is 4x cheaper does the job much better. Poorly executed.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

9

0

Doesn't operate in cold weather

WH-1000XM3 22 November 2018 by PoiDog (USA)

Got this yesterday, and it sounded fantastic indoors. Unfortunately, when I went outdoors for my daily commute to/from work, the headphones stopped working properly, alternating from low to high volume and not responding to my swipes for volume control. Temperature was about 1-2 degrees Celsius (I'm in Stockholm). Really bummed out, because the main reason I bought these was for my daily commute. Also, there was no workaround since there's no manual volume concontrol. Would've given this 5 stars if it actually worked in cold weather. Debating whether or not I should return them. Sure hope Sony comes out with a fix real fast.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Outstanding Performance

WH-1000XM3 20 November 2018 by Jayson123 (USA)

These headphones are the best i have ever tried. Believe me i did about 6 months of research back when the 1000xm2s were out and i decided to wait. I'm glad i did these headphones are unbelievable. I have worn the bose and beats as well and somehow the sony has better noise canceling than the bose and the beats. and with no cabin pressure. if you don't know what cabin pressure is, it is when the headphones have a hiss in the background that hurts most peoples' ears. even though the bose has better comfort just barely who really cares when everything else is so much better. I conclusion These headphones are the best of the best right now and if you can afford the heft price tag i'm sure it'll be worth while.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Great sound & noise cancelling, poor phone calls

WH-1000XM3 20 November 2018 by Mric (United Kingdom)

The sound quality is great, the noise cancelling is genuinely superb, and the functionality of the app and the controls is fine. But the sound quality for phone calls is terrible with Bluetooth. The other end of the call complains of lots of noise, crackling, and interrupts. That is with me in a silent room, and the phone 10cm from the headphones. It works much better with a wired connection, but I would describe the Bluetooth call quality as broken and useless. I may well return the product, and can't recommend it if you intend to use it for phone calls.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

14

12

0

GREAT PRODUCT

WH1000XM3/S 20 November 2018 by AKA Nickyu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this headphone and enjoy me very happy, this is very good product,i like it very much

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony headphones

WH-1000XM3 17 November 2018 by Better Dd (United Kingdom)

Fantastic products really well made and excellent sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

14

0

Good except for potential touch control flaw

WH1000XM3/B 16 November 2018 by Cochlea (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would have loved this product but in cold weather (30-40F) the touch controls either stop working or become fritzy (randomly and frequently pause/skip tracks or activate voice control. Makes them unusable for cold weather commuting.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

They work so well I’ll never buy another brand

WH-1000XM3 15 November 2018 by Laura k (USA)

I just want to start this review off with I don’t write reviews often, but this product is such an amazing gift from the Sony gods I wanted to share it. 2 months ago I was in the airport and I was looking for some headphones, I was thinking of buying the wireless Dre beats headphones. I asked the sales rep if I could check some out. He asked me what kind of quality/technology I wanted, I told him I was looking for wireless, comfortable, noise canceling headphones that are reliable. He told me to stay away from the beats and to check out sonys newer headphones. Hesitantly I tried them on and all of a sudden my world changed. The world went quiet and all I could hear was my Pink Floyd I started playing. The quality of the headphones was so well I heard instruments in the song I have never heard before. I was unable to hear anything the sales rep was saying to me- I was unable to hear anything other than the music- which was not even at half volume. To conclude this review- if you’re looking for a quality product that looks, feels and is GREAT; I recommend this one, I use them everyday for long periods of time (2-3 hours a day at least) and the battery life is tremendous. G

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Just great

WH-1000XM3 15 November 2018 by j1mty1 (United Kingdom)

The sound quality I believe is second to none,and with the app it is so easy to personalise them to your requirements !....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

11

0

100 Better then beats

WH-1000XM3 15 November 2018 by Elder1God (USA)

Smiles for the hour I have only had it And I'm sure many more to keep coming

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Worth buying if you don't own the WH-1000XM2 model

WH-1000XM3 14 November 2018 by MrTreize (USA)

I bought these headphones because I had some extra cash, I am a tech-aholic, and I wanted to offload my barely one year old Sony WH1000XM2 to my father who asked me for some headphones. I may end up giving him the news model because it is most definitely not worth the upgrade price. The ads will dazzle you with fancy terms like Liquid Crystal Polymer drivers or fast charging, the reality, in simple terms, is that these headphones are marginally better sounding than the previous model thanks to the new QN1 chip. What makes these headphones different aside from the fancy new tech built into them is this, they are designed for people with bigger ears and bigger heads. The padding which was ample on the older model was thicker. The new processor technology in the headphones sounds marginally better which amounts to basically nothing since the older model sounds exceptionally good. You'll hardly notice the better sound since the key feature in the noise cancelling headphones is worse in the new model, that being the noise cancellation. That thick cushion layer in the old model helped with the noise cancelation, any pro-reviewer that tells you the noise cancellation is better with the new model is a shill and I will stand by that statement. I use my headphone primarily at the gym (I am in the military) and the difference is quite clear. When wearing the older model, I barely head the grunts, chatter, or equipment from the other people using the facility even when I am not playing music. I have to turn the music up on the newer models to block out most of the ambient sounds since the thinner cushioning does not block out anywhere near that level of noise. Noise cancellation on any headphone that lays claim to that term is a combination of lots of things including the technology. The tech only goes so far. Yes it is excellent software based sound cancelling but without the extra cushioning it is wasted. Does the new model sound better, just a little. Not the current over $300 price they are charging better. Are they more comfy, to me no. But if your ears and head are bigger than mine, probably a great deal. It is most certainly not worth the price they are asking for if you own (and are happy with) the older model, definitely not worth the upgrade. Wait for some truly incredible headphone breakthrough before you upgrade, buy the older model which is the sam price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great Noise Cancelling, BAD for Calls

WH-1000XM3 14 November 2018 by Froi (Philippines)

Got this a few days ago, I was really stunned how the Noise Cancellation works how the battery life is so great and audio quality for music/videos/games were amazing , unfortunately this headset is really not good when you are using it in a call. 1. During calls ambient noise is always active thus all outside noise is being heard during calls, this is voice and VoIP. Tried using the app to switch off ambient sound but the ambient setting is still showing active. Tried using the physical buttons for NC/Ambient nothing happens 2. Using the wire thus solve the issue of ambient sound but the other end of the line can not hear me at all. It is kinda useless to use it literally on any type.of calls. 3. I have an updated firmware but I still hear echoes of my voice. Hope this issue will be fixed in the next firmware release, because the headset is really nice in all aspect except for calls.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sounds very good but have some issues...

WH-1000XM3 13 November 2018 by Rnld (Philippines)

got mine last Oct 27. but home some issues the left side of the headphone have some problems (NC is on) when im travelling and walking is very annoying I heard the tickling sound!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great sound and true bass

WH-1000XM3 12 November 2018 by Headbass27 (United Kingdom)

I just brought these and they sound great. I listen to a lot of drum n bass and these headphones definitely do justice to drum n bass and I mean Bass

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

14

0

Best wireless noise cancelling headphones - ever!

WH-1000XM3 11 November 2018 by Ash Hirani (United Kingdom)

These are Sony’s best wireless noise cancelling headphones. They’re packed full of features and the noise cancellation and sound quality are superb. They’re sturdy and comfortable, supported by a great app and well worth the upgrade from the 1000XM2. I’ve tried the Bowers & Wilkins PX which are quite heavy and noticeably so after a short period of time. I experienced frequent dropouts, particularly when using YouTube and support just advised me just to turn the noise cancellation down – which rather defeats the purpose of the biggest feature. They also came in a flimsy fabric pouch and not a rigid case that you would expect. Having also frequently used the Bose QC35 for some time, and then the QC35II which I promptly returned, I can safely say that the Sony 1000XM3 is pretty unbeatable in almost every way. The headband has been slightly redesigned to fit more snugly over your head and no longer gives you the Mickey Mouse look of the previous rounded headband. They fold neatly into a rigid and easy to carry case (which, oddly, has a fabric exterior as opposed to the smooth wipeable finish of the XM2 case – but that’s a minor point). The charging cable is extremely short but it’s cheap enough to pick up a longer one. The audio cable is a reasonable size and everything fits neatly together into the compact case, along with the airline adapter that comes included. The app supports the headphones really well and expands the set up options for a customised listening experience. The noise cancellation is incredible, though it’s quite eerie to stand in front of someone who is talking right at you and you can’t even hear a peep. Do be careful when out and about as I couldn’t hear a thing so I quickly turned the noise cancellation off. Yes, they really are that good. The sound quality is pretty unbeatable. Everything from Classical to Country to Bhangra sounds absolutely fantastic, whether you’re in the house, walking around outdoors or on a train. I imagine these will be just as great on a plane too. Taking calls is easy and the call quality is brilliant, just as it was on the previous version. If, like me, you’re fussy about sound quality as well as style and comfort then these headphones are well and truly unbeatable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

4

0

Good sound, but the bluetooth firmware is broken

WH-1000XM3 09 November 2018 by rjcarlson49 (USA)

The sound is excellent on the headphones. So is the noise cancellation. It is better than the wired Bose headphones that these replaced. However, when you attempt to switch audio sources, the headphones lock up. You must go to whatever your previous source was and explicitly disconnect. Only then can you power off the Sony's and power up again. THEN it MAY finally connect to the new source. This is hugely annoying as I have at least 4 different sources, iPhone, iPad, MacBook Pro and AppleTV. Unless this is fixed I would not recommend anyone buy these. I have had many bluetooth headsets in an apple environment. I have Airpods for casual use. None of them had a problem remotely as debilitating as this one. If the firmware is fixed my evaluation would probably be a 5.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

8

0

Everything They're Made Out To Be

WH-1000XM3 08 November 2018 by user1026 (USA)

These are easily the best headphones I've ever had. Rather than paying for mediocre headphones with a popular name, I paid for top-quality, and that is exactly what I got. I have been brand-loyal to Bose for years, but when I tried these on the display in BestBuy, I knew instantly that they were what my next purchase would be. I ordered them online because they had sold out so quickly in the store. These are definitely superior to the Bose QuietComfort II headphones. Go to BestBuy and check out the displays to compare, and you will see what I mean.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Best in class

WH1000XM3/B 08 November 2018 by ANC GURU (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Better sound, material, and feature quality compared to Bose and Sennheiser.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great sound but quality of the headband is poor

WH-1000XM3 08 November 2018 by Mykie Bars (Philippines)

When I bought the item I was very excited because of the best reviews this headphone. I can't say anything about the sound quality it's superb. But after 5 days using it upon purchased the hinges started to have a very annoying cracking sound when your wearing it. I replaced twice but the same problem occurred. I'm really disappointed what I have experienced I still want the headphone but they don't have anymore stock to replaced the headphone which got me more disappointed. I just refund my money instead. I'm hoping next time I buy the quality of the headband hinges is better and durable.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Incredible sound...noise cancelling superb!

WH1000XM3/B 07 November 2018 by prs7001 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Plush, comfy hardware. Sound is pristine, all - low, mid and high. Noise cancelling is mesmerizing silence. Bit expensive but worth. Compared to bose QC35-ii shoulder to shoulder...but my fav. brand is Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Great ANC Headphones!

WH-1000XM3 05 November 2018 by RDC75 (USA)

Not only do these headphones have excellent noise canceling, the sound is absolutely spot on! Very impressed with all the technology Sony has packed into this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Heats up. Very uncomfortable! Mic is useless!!

WH-1000XM3 04 November 2018  (USA)

I hate the sony xm3! Heats up like an oven after an hour! Mic sounds like i am talking from the bathroom! Touch controls do not work if your hand is sweaty!!!! Annoyed! Why would you make this??? I have tried Bose QC 35 and they are way more comfortable. My money is going to Bose!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

33

0

JAW DROPPING!

WH1000XM3/B 04 November 2018 by z_DOC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these since I travel a lot and also use for commuting to work and hands down the best pair of headphones I had bought ever. From the amazing sound quality down to the hand gesture features. These are a pair of headphones that are hard to beat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great Noise-cancelling headphones

WH1000XM3/B 02 November 2018 by TKD Mac (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this on my way back to the USA from Auckland, NZ. The sound and the noise cancelling features are great. They are also very lightweight so I don't get a headache from them My husband is so jealous!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great features

WH-1000XM3 02 November 2018 by CaroleB (United Kingdom)

Great features and easy to set up, sound is perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

20

0

Really good but I need some help

WH-1000XM3 01 November 2018 by Luishunited (USA)

I just had them as a birthday gift but my problem is that when I used them in a plane I got hit with the wall of it in the left ear cup and microphone doesn’t work that good like it used to noise cancellation I not that good as before when I got hit I heard like a crack in the left ear cup microphone I rested it and I have the same problem

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

terrible calls/audio recording, playback is great

WH1000XM3/B 01 November 2018 by smokers (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Basically I can't use this headset for calls nor recordings. Playback sound is fantastic but to have one headset for calls and one for playback, defies the purpose of this setup.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

2

0

Good for music but really poor for phone conv

WH1000XM3/S 31 October 2018 by Blitzsk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was excited about this product for quite some time. And was really happy with the music play back and noise cancellation. But they have screwed up one basic simple functionality, Yes it cannot be used for conversation on the phone. Everyone on the other end of the phone call could not hear me properly , my sound appeared muffled and distant even though i was screaming . I gave my headphone to my friend and tried it out . They were right once cannot hear properly on the other end of the call if the person is talking through this headphone . Also something even weird is that when I'm talking ,I can hear my own voice in a muffled tone , the audio feedback of my voice back to my ear was not clear and felt dis-oriented . I tried all the modes and still feels very uncomfortable. So bottom line , its good for music but really bad for audio calls. I spend over $350 on this headphones only to remove them and put the phone to my ear to talk . What a waste of money. I wish Sony had tested basic functionality properly before releasing the headphones

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

6

9

0

Excellent Sound, mediocre build.

WH-1000XM3 29 October 2018 by Pkcpga (USA)

I was absolutely shocked by the sound quality of the m3 over the original version and even my B and W PX’s. The Sony M3 definitely offer a much fuller sound without losing the details and active noise cancelling on the M3’s are actually usable. Unlike on Bose or B and W where the sound is so altered it sounds artificial and less detailed. The Sony’s almost have an analog sound to them you forget they’re cordless. Great jog on sound Sony. Now only if they were build more like the B and W PX’s or any of the Bang and Olufsen. The Sony’s build has a cheaper plastic feel like they may break easily, so far that’s the only downside to the headphones. Even with that they are well worth Sony’s asking price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

1 step forward 2 steps back

WH-1000XM3 24 October 2018 by YY18 (United Kingdom)

I bought those after my 1000xm2 broke down after 10 months of use. Something with the motherboard, Sony rendered then as unrepairable and I got a refund. So this is a comparison with the previois model: XM2 vs XM3. :) Comfort: better than XM2, smaller factor, better fit :/ Sound: same as XM2, deep bass, high quality sound :( Passive NC: worst than XM2, obviously the ear cushines are softer but not denser and more ambient noise is coming in :( Active NC: Same as XM2, excellent but given the passive is worst, overall is not better than on XM2, feels worse :) Buttons and feel: buttons are more prominent and the cover material is vinyl/rubbery like which appeals more to me :( Sound feeback(beep): is lower in volume but is laggier than XM2, the feedback of a touch action is heared probably 2x later than on XM2. Should be instant. :) Battery level: Battery level now says the percentage "about 60% charge" which is an improvement over the XM2 where it had three levels for feedback"battery level low/medium/high" :/ Battery life: Same as on XM2 :( Phone audio/mic: Phone audio is great,same as on XM2 but mic is aweful. No improvement over XM2 which renders them.unusable unless one shouts. Quite disappointing. :( Connectivity: Same options as in XM2, no improvement. Competitors and older headsets are announcing the device the headphones are connected to even when more than one are. Me personally, use two phones, one for music one for phonecalls. The headphones say "Bluetooth connected", nothing else, no way for me to know which device I am connected to. Please fix and allow for more than two devices to be remembered and to be able to toggle between which two to be connected to.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

32

0

Remarkable!

WH1000XM3/B 20 October 2018 by Klugklug (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this head set is amazing! Not only is the noise cancelling short of magic, but the sound quality and battery life are incredible. Right out of the box flew across country and had 50% battery life after landing. Just paired it to my gaming PC to see how it compared to my high end gaming cans, and it is top notch, WITH the added bonus of cancelling out background sounds like a small fan type heater running, or the dang PC itself! Cant recommend enough. Great work Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Unbelievable!!!

WH1000XM3/B 20 October 2018 by moonskivich (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Granted this is my first experience with noise canceling headphones...took me a a little bit to figure out all the beneficial features, which Sony really helps with intuitive instructions. Works seamlessly with my iphone. I'm so happy I've disabled my cars bluetooth. I've never had a smoother quieter ride

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great Sound and style, but lacks comfort/quality

WH-1000XM3 18 October 2018 by WCHUNG (USA)

It was really hard to find this product. However, I got the product. The first impression was great! the design was slick and very nice looking. Sound Quality is good, but thru the headphone app makes it GREAT! However, comfort is lacking..... ear pad is lacking and seems to me QA/QC wasn't done properly... due to back order (maybe?) I wish there could have done better job with some quality. I can't replace it yet,.... or seem to find any place to do some repair/replacement work. Overall, This is one solid headphone. I would recommend it to everyone if they are looking for a headphone with some tech features. But I wish Sony done a better job with Quality finish with products... seemed bit rushed right now... so wait a bit until this backorder/ unavailable is solved.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Great product

WH-1000XM3 17 October 2018  (USA)

This headphone worth the price, its the best among all my previous headphones, the 1 start removed because I believe that sony should release a fabric version instead of leather for those who are not comfort with leather around ear, In the first days I have my ear getting hot and sweating but after a week sweating gone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Sony - I am back!

WH-1000XM3 16 October 2018 by TheDashingMajor (United Kingdom)

Dear Sony, you have got me back after a 10 year defection to Apple and Bose; these headphones have me hook, line and sinker. In a word ‘outstanding ’. I forgot just how fabulous my music sounds. I actually look forward to my daily train commute to London. I am quite simply lost in another world of peace and tranquillity if I need quiet with ANC on; or enjoy alluring sounds whilst taking away the monotonous journey . For very good reason, these headphones are highly acclaimed in product reviews to be the best noise cancelling headphones on the market today. This was a considered purchase and quite frankly worth every hard earned penny. It’s not often gadgets earn a review from me, but I will make an exception here. I absolutely love this product with no concerns or reservations. If I lost them, which is unlikely, I would simply buy them again - they are that good. If you are in the market for headphones then look no further!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

13

0

Amazing!

WH-1000XM3 15 October 2018 by Goldsmith (USA)

Amazing product thank you. exaclty what i needed..

1

2

0

LOVE THEM...BEST HEADPHONES EVER!

WH-1000XM3 12 October 2018 by sexylexy (United Kingdom)

just try them and you will see they are the best on the market

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

14

0

Best pair of headphones on the market

WH-1000XM3 10 October 2018 by Music as hobby (USA)

Just got it today and it blocked out all of the noises from the plane perfectly.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Amazing product..wanted to own since its launch..

WH-1000XM3 07 October 2018 by Fernandito75 (United Kingdom)

Love the build and sound quality...and the app and features..very happy with this product..

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

14

0

wonderful sound canceling.

WH1000XM3/B 07 October 2018 by AndruJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just picked up the headphones after trying them out at the store, they were out of stock at the time. The design, simplicity, and the sound quality was what sold me- wonderful noise canceling, noticed as soon as putting them on. The comfort is amazing, no pressure from the headband or around the ears. The bluetooth capability could improve allowing switching from a phone to a computer without getting into the settings on one device to disconnect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Just perfect

WH-1000XM3 06 October 2018 by Mikkelejsen (USA)

Just got these today. I have an injury at my left ear from diving, so big crowds and noise tricks me. Not anymore. These are by far the best noise canceling I’ve ever tried. And the sound is marvelous with deep dark base and clear sound. Ain’t got no negative thoughts!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

great product

WH-1000XM3 05 October 2018 by gbomb (USA)

i ought this while i had he Bose QC 35 and the Sony's are almost better .

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Excellent Noise Cancellation

WH-1000XM3 30 September 2018 by atandauk (United Kingdom)

I bought this headphone nearly a month ago, and I used it in the south east train towards London Bridge I hear no noise of the train movement or announcement throughout my journey. Its truly the best NC headphone at the moment. The music is rich but am not really happy using it to receive call because of the noise heard from the other end. An improvement on this is required

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

7

0

Wonderful

WH-1000XM3 29 September 2018 by Mbee162 (United Kingdom)

The best headphones I have ever used. Great sound insulation , brilliant spacious sound, very comfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

the best

WH-1000XM3 29 September 2018 by georgehh (USA)

best headphones by a mile. best quality,best design and extremely convenient.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Outstanding sound and high build quality

WH-1000XM3 29 September 2018 by DavidMacD (United Kingdom)

I bought these just a after the were released. I'm a happy customer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

8

0

Outstanding audio quality, but nothing is perfect!

WH1000XM3/S 26 September 2018 by mazhak (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The audio quality is superior. It works right out of the box. Simply pair it with your phone and you're done. Downloading the app helps you control the headphone easily. This is one of the great sounding bluetooth headsets. I will see how long it will last. About 30 hours of usage is pretty decent in comparison to what other brands currently offer. I have 4 critiques about this headphone. First, the headphone is unusable while charging. This is extremely annoying and inconvenient. I hope they provide an update and solve this. You can't schedule the charging time to sync with your usage specially if you are traveling or forgot to charge earlier. Second, the overall quality is decent. I don't mind the plastic. It's a good quality plastic, but I feel that I'll break at any moment. For something this pricy, I shouldn't feel so anxious on breaking the gadget. Third, the charging USB-C cable is about 3-4 inches long. It's short! Seriously, Sony? Not cool. Lastly, it would've been nice to have Bluetooth 5.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

It didn’t cancel the noise, I still heard my dog.

WH-1000XM3 26 September 2018 by Jackie10011010110 (USA)

It didn’t work and it was kinda pricey too for something that doesn’t cancel noise.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

7

0

i love the nc and the hifi sound is awsome

WH-1000XM3 26 September 2018 by Bacon Baby 14 (USA)

i just bougth these 2 days ago and i feeling these

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

The Best Quality Sound and NC, buy them!!

WH-1000XM3 25 September 2018 by rich6490 (USA)

I own or have owned recently the Bose QC35 II's, the Beats Studio 3's, and the Sony XM2's. I am a consultant and fly weekly for work, so I have logged plenty of hours testing all of these brands and can decisively say the new Sony 1000 XM3's are by far the best noise canceling and best sounding headphones I have tried. I put a little over 100,000 flight miles on my XM2's last year alone, and during my testing of the new XM3's over the past month or so it's clear to me they are better in every way. Comfort was a big issue for me with the XM2's, the one category that the Bose QC35's beat them in by a large margin. On long-haul flights I used to have to regularly take off the XM2's and give my head and ears a break, that is no longer the case with the XM3's. I have worn these for 7+ hours straight with zero comfort issues. Sound quality is exceptional, I like a huge variety of music including Rock, Country, Rap, etc. and the bass and overall quality of the sound is absolutely amazing (blows the Beats Studio 3's and Bose out of the water). Buying these for sound quality alone would be worth it, but the noise canceling makes these an absolute steal, especially if your a frequent traveler who needs to escape from the real world. I've tested the 2's and 3's side by side in an airport lounge and on a flight, and the 3's have a noticeable improvement. The new design style of the headband portion of the headphones is much more comfortable and low profile compared to the XM2's, the band conforms closer to your head which looks less clunky, and helps if you want to sleep against the window/wall of the plane with less discomfort! Additionally, the Sony app is great for tuning, the battery life meets or exceeds the 30 hours, the swipe/gesture controls are extremely handy, and the build quality is rock solid. I'm a huge vehicle and home audio fan of Bose and have Beats headphones for the gym, but I can and will 100% recommend these headphones over any competitor by a mile for the intended purpose of listening to quality music or movies with the added bonus of noise cancellation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

so good

WH-1000XM3 25 September 2018 by crumby (USA)

just got these a few days ago...i had to go to several stores to find a place that had them in stock and i actually asked a sales associate at one store about them and she told me they were "flying off the shelves" which is a good sign in my opinion. these headphones sound wonderful. the sound is pretty warm which is nice! the noise canceling though, which is the main feature i and probably everyone else bought them for, is incredible. the product page here says experience "the next level of silence" and that's exactly what you will experience with these headphones. i tried them a few times in the store and was very impressed with the noise canceling, but when i got them home and out of the box and finally put them on for myself was when i was really blown away. i have used a few competing models including the bose QC35IIs as well as sony's previous version of these, the MX2s, and these blow all of them out of the water. it has been so nice to use these headphones even just for the last few days and the looks i get when i let friends try these phones noise canceling are so funny. people love them. the physical design of the headphones is very sexy. i have the silver model but i did try the black ones and they both are very attractive. wearing them for long periods of time is no issue, either, as they are VERY comfortable. i have actually fallen asleep with these on a few times already lol. i have seen some complaints about the touch controls online but i haven't had any issues with those. they're pretty intuitive. the bluetooth/headphone connect app functions also work well! i would 100% recommend these headphones to anyone looking for good sound quality, amazing comfort and true noise canceling. another one for sony, baby!!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

My travel necessity!

WH-1000XM3 24 September 2018 by Philyoon (USA)

I've had the Sony WH-CH700N and the MDR1000X noise cancelling headphones and I must say, the new WH1000XM3 wireless noise cancelling headphones take the cake! The MDR1000X definitely has similar features to the WH1000XM3, but when I received these from Sony for free to review I definitely noticed the improvements with the WH1000XM3 model. These headphone have slimmer oval shaped ear cups that fit my head perfectly, something the MDR1000X lacked. There's also better cushioning on the underside of the headband area, which is great for dispersing the weight of the headphones and make them feel super light.  When it comes to the sound quality, I only need to turn up my volume to the halfway mark to tune out my surroundings. The noise cancelling feature is phenomenal... I can't hear anything except my music (which is how I like it). The sound quality brings out the details of every song, emphasizing nuances I couldn't hear with previous headphones. I've thoroughly enjoyed listening to a song on my laptop and then listening to the same song with my headphones to really appreciate the difference in sound quality. It feels as if I'm in the club next to the speakers with every song! The most defining moment for these headphones was when I was traveling back home after a long weekend of work, and my seat was surrounded by four babies! The noise canceling headphones allowed me to sleep like a well behaved baby! Now let's talk about the touch pad features on the headphones; I'm absolutely in love with them! I've been raving about them to anyone who will listen, as it brings convenience to a whole new level. The fact that Sony has introduced a Quick Attention feature that reduces the volume when you simply cup your hand over the right headphone is ingenious. It allows me to take in my surroundings and hear people who are talking to me without having to scramble for my phone to pause the song or decrease the volume. The double tap to pause functionality is equally as useful – that's typically my go to whenever I'm wearing them and someone approaches me. My friends have all been amazed at the fact that I have an invisible control panel on the right headphone.  These headphones are the perfect traveling headphones. I have photoshoots in New York City so when I commute and walk around the city, I'm constantly around noise, whether it's people, traffic, or babies crying on planes. For those who are nervous about having noise cancelling headphones while trying to weave in and out of traffic as a pedestrian, have no fear! Sony has come fully equipped with Smart Listening – these headphones are able to detect whether you're sitting still, walking, running, or on public transportation and will adjust the noise cancelling level accordingly! I have no idea how they do it, but I tested it and it works very accurately. Once it detects that you're walking, it will lower the noise cancelling levels so you can hear the traffic around you as a safety precaution.  I've read the reviews and was a bit apprehensive with the call feature, as I heard that's the biggest drawback of these headphones. My mother called me tonight and I took the call on my headphones to test them out – I can't say that I noticed anything particularly negative about the experience. I will say that the call quality was nowhere near as crisp as the sound quality when playing music, but it wasn't bad either. I was on the phone for about 20 minutes and neither my mom nor I had any complaints about the quality of the call.  All in all, I just want to say again how much I love these headphones. Amazing work Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Awesome Headphones with few flaws

WH-1000XM3 21 September 2018 by Dcater1221 (USA)

I bought these Sony Mk 3s in hopes of awesome noise cancelling headphones and I certainly don’t regret that choice! The Bluetooth connecting is a little bit strenuous with the app but all in all ok, but the noise cancelling makes up for that, it IS the best out there. What I would like you guys at Sony to improve is the rattling of transports invading the music that’s playing on the headphones, that is the whole reason this isn’t a 5 star rating because to me it is still a huge flaw.... Thanks to Sony though for the best headphones I’ve ever had!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

My favorite all around headphones.

WH-1000XM3 21 September 2018 by Dennis C (USA)

I got these alittle over a week ago as a gift and must say that after using them over and over for these past few days that I love them. I wanted some new headphones that were vesatile for both my daily commute and traveling and also something with a wired connection for when I did my videography work so I can monitor the audio coming out of my camera and these worked perfectly . So far battery life has been exceptional for my needs and the noise cancellation is top notch. Glad to have these head phones in my possesion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Genius design and outstanding performance

WH-1000XM3 20 September 2018 by Scott K (USA)

I recently received the new Sony WH1000XM3 headphones to test out and review. After extensive use in my office and home environments and while traveling, I’m thoroughly impressed. Here are several noteworthy impressions I had. First, in addition to the superb sound quality you’d expect from Sony, the noise cancellation is outstanding. Whether I’m sitting on an airplane at 35,000 feet up, or sitting at my desk in a shared workspace with various other conversations taking place around me, these headphones silence the background noise and allow greater focus on the task at hand. Second, expect serious comfort. After wearing these headphones for hours at a time, on several different occasions, I have yet to feel any discomfort on or around my ears. I’ve used other noise-cancelling headphones, such as the Bose QC35, and in comparison, these Sony headphones are the first to not cause any discomfort after prolonged use, in my experience. Third, the battery life is excellent. According to Sony’s written specifications, the battery life totals 30 hours, and a 10-minute charge results in 5 hours of playback. On the first instance of running the battery down after plenty of use, I charged these headphones for around 20 minutes, and afterwards the battery was nearly full. Wow! Lastly, these headphones reflect genius design. Rather than clicking buttons, you can utilize easy touch operation by swiping your finger along the right ear cup. It took a few minutes to get used to it, but now it’s second nature and very convenient. Also, I love the “quick attention mode.” Simply cover the right ear cup with your hand, and it automatically turns the volume down and the noise cancellation off, allowing for spontaneous communications to be heard. I could go on and on about the other features I enjoy, but suffice it to say that I’m extremely impressed, and I look forward to using these headphones during work and travel for years to come.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Amazing noise cancelling. Great sound

WH-1000XM3 20 September 2018 by celeb0rn (USA)

The sound quality of these is superb. I used studio beats in the past, these are significantly better. But really it's the noise cancelling that's really amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Headphones

WH-1000XM3 20 September 2018 by Sherlock Holmes (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphone after I broke my beats studio 3 and I gotta say that these are a huge upgrade. The features are definitely better on the Mark 3 as well as sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

The M2 is great but there IS a reason buying this

WH-1000XM3 19 September 2018 by jacobkohsamui (USA)

I first tried the M2 model but wanted the best, even they are more expensive. That was a smart uppdate as the noicecanceling now is 100% and not just "good enough". Importent to use the app both for updating the firmware and all settings. To use the Equalizer at Manuell and set the base and the rest, made a huge differense. The player app is also very important, as you can add HD songs that iPhone player not can play, and get top quality music to listen on. I can not hear myself shouting, that good is the blocking of the sound. There are also a lot of different settings for this. That it also messasure if you are on a airplane and block that sound if super. You will not regret buying these airphones...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Without Equal!

WH1000XM3/B 18 September 2018 by Justforplay (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I don't know what made Sony go after the headphone market like this but whatever it was it was something that really motivated them like they had something to prove. I frankly didn't think anyone would ever create a more dominate electronic since the iPhone. I have never seen something that completely checked every box there was and then made up more just for the heck of it. Comfort, they basically tied Bose QC 35's( if that was even possible) by making these lighter and softer with a smaller footprint. Sound, they created a headset that had every major codec in it and yet still dominated the Bass while giving a very good sound stage and separation for close back headphones. Battery life, they not only give you back the same 30 hours they gave us on the previous model but they threw in a quick charge feature through USB C, that gives you 5 hours on a 10 minute charge. Enough? Nope, they also gave you the same direct google assistance direct button feature found on the Bose and then turned around and made your call quality better. Finally, they put in a different chip for Noise canceling that makes the N/C better than anything ever put on the market. Gone is the over pressured effects to force N/c into your skull, creating wonderful headaches and motion sickness. Now it works without you really knowing it's working and that is the best kind. So, if you haven't already jumped into your car yet, you should, like right now! Best Buy has them in very small quantities if you don't want to order them. So they are hard to track down still. I don't think most know that they are out yet and the few that do have grabbed them up pretty fast. I had to hunt my down at two different location and they had to find mine in the back, as it was not on the shelves.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

THE BEST ALL ROUNDER

WH-1000XM3 18 September 2018 by Hermes204 (USA)

Ive had several other noise cancelling headphones by Bose (QC35 II) and Beats (Studio Wireless) and I always hailed Bose as king of Noise Cancelling headphones. Now the only thing that Bose has over Sony is the durability of the headphones, my Bose headphones I could pretty much bend however I wanted and they wouldn't break. The Sony's are a bit more stiff, but the material is still premium! I originally went with Bose because of their comfort though, I like to wear my headphones for an extended period of time and the old Sony's (XM1 and XM2) got uncomfortable after a few hours. With the new design however, I can see myself wearing these all day! What does Sony have to offer that's better than Bose? - Noise cancelling (much better) - Sound quality - Battery life - Customization through app - Accessories (better quality auxiliary charger cords, as well as a good airplane adapter!!) - USB-C Charger!!! (as a MacBook Pro owner this was a must, I hated micro-usb so much) - Comfort? (I'm still testing this out but ill update in a few weeks if its better or on-par with the Bose QuietComfort 35 ii)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1