78

4.3 based on 78 customer reviews

51
10
8
5
4
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic Headphones

WH-1000XM4 03 September 2020 by Fifibelle (United Kingdom)

So glad I waited for this model to be released. Sony did not disappoint. These headphones are amazing!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Bring Back VPT!

WH-1000XM4 13 September 2020 by ElectroJunkie77 (USA)

Don’t take away the custom EQ, but please bring back VPT as an added feature set. Nothing more to say...if VPT returns with a software update these will be hands down the BEST HEADPHONES WORLD WIDE, and the sells will flourish. For now I’m keeping mine. Purchased Silver but I won’t change my 3 STAR review to 5 Stars until the VPT is brought back with a software update.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

81 Customer Reviews

0

Crystal Clear / Better than Live

WH1000XM4/B 30 September 2020 by Candew (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound from these is far better than anything I could have imagined. Words cannot describe the experience. If you try them, you will want them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The headphones your ears have been waiting for.

WH-1000XM4 29 September 2020 by Web57 (United Kingdom)

The first thing you notice about these is the quality, from the headband down to the ear pads. Then, as you put them on, they are so comfortable you may forget you’re wearing them. This isn’t a problem, as you can activate the speak-to-chat function, that pauses playback so you can have a conversation. The controls on the ear panel make using them so effortless, from volume control to skipping a track and answering a call. As for the noise cancelling, I have just completed the most enjoyable three hour flights ever. Screaming kid two rows back, a thing of the past. General aircraft noise, unheard. Nagging wife, blissfully ignored (until getting off the plane). The sound quality is excellent, as expected, with the 360 reality audio really does make you feel “in” the music. I’ve been using Sony wired headphones for many years now, but I have been converted to the freedom of wireless. A real treat for your ears.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Best headphones available

WH-1000XM4 28 September 2020 by Eric3838 (USA)

Sony does everything right. These headphones are no exception. Comfortable lightweight, battery last forever and you can get ours of music outta a few minutes of charging. Sound canceling is amazing. A must buy if your looking for the best headphones available

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mark 4 Headphones

WH-1000XM4 27 September 2020 by Nemo90210 (United Kingdom)

I was gifted these headphones and i really love them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excessive Headphone Users Thoughts

WH-1000XM4 26 September 2020 by Edd9 (United Kingdom)

I use my headphones 40 - 60 hrs. a week every week. I have been happy with my XM3 Headphones but was looking forward to see how the XM4 Headphones Compared, First thing I noticed was the feel & form factor had changed slightly the newer shape makes a notable difference to comfort levels especially on a long session, they seem to put less pressure on the top of your head (good news if your head is like a Cannon Ball like mine !!). The main body seems to have changed to a slightly more matt feel but is not really noticeable Setting up the headphones with the Headphones Connect app was no problem, I enjoyed the set up process it was unusual taking pictures of my ears but the app made it easy, with the shape of my ears logged I used the optimiser and was very impressed with the results. I listen to TV, Tablet, Phone and Music keyboard both via Bluetooth and wired, on all sources I was very Impressed with the quality of the sound. The high end clarity and good deep smooth base remained from the XM3 but the Mid range on the XM4 seems to have gone to another level making the sound clearer you actually notice the details of the the sounds more its hard to describe but i am very pleased with the quality and enjoy my listening even more with this upgrade in sound quality. Another new feature I liked was that when say you are watching a video or listening to music you can remove the headphones and things automatically pause, then put them back on and they re start just a little thing but it adds to the experience of these quality Headphones. the Noise Cancelling has also improved it was good but seems more robust and rounded even less sound get through to disturb you surprising as the XM3' were so good at this. Another new feature I tried was the 360 degree sound this seemed to work well I have only tried a few demo videos on this at the moment. The pause Noise Cancelling sound by covering your right ear feature has also been given an alternative option, when you speak the noise cancelling auto detects your voice and turns the noise cancelling off, I was not keen on this option as the use your hand option seems to work better as there is a delay in the back to sound source that is not there with the cover ear option. The Packaging, Carr Case and Adapter and wired Headphone Cable are all the same good quality as the XM3's no complaints there very nice and compact design. Battery life and fast USB C charging appear to be the same also, again this was great on the XM3's so good news there. I Charge them every 3-4 days After using the Headphones for a few weeks I am very impressed with them and would recommend them to anyone who is looking for Comfort, Great sound and Excellent Noise Cancelling easy set up with some very good additional features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

2

0

Absolutely Bonkers Headphones

WH-1000XM4 26 September 2020 by Chat123 (United Kingdom)

Hi everyone, I am going to attempt to make a review of these absolutely bonkers headphones. Well that's just given my opinion away! Too be serious, let's stop messing around and get on with it. The packaging is superb, typical Sony. Class. The inner packaging slides out gracefully. Lift the flap and there's the carrying case. Unzip the case and inside there's all the gear. It's all nicely laid out, the headphones are carefully twisted and flattened, well not actually that twisted and flattened, but carefully laid out, displayed in all their glory. Headphones plus cables. One usb and another for hard wiring them. Finally there is a connection block for use in airplanes. The usb cable is far too short. I don't really want to be charging expensive headphones on a hard floor. You could I suppose, cosset them on a gold coloured cushion so as not to scratch them. Let's be serious. Quite simply, the correct solution is for Sony to include a longer cable. Come on Sony, don't skimp on the cheap stuff after all they are a premium product. I had also sent for and received a separate mains power adapter. Something else that Sony should have included. I am pleased to say that this fits inside the case, keeping everything together. The headphones themselves are nice and light and when straightened out and fitted over your head and sitting on your ears, you start to feel right away how comfortable they are. Please don't do what I did and started playing on them without updating them first. It created all sorts of problems, like not being able to pair and use two devices simultaneously. One device wouldn't stay connected, it was like a Jack in the box, connecting and disconnecting on and off. Finally updated they were working as they should have been. Included in the pack is a code for 90 days, free trial to Tidals top tier. Connect to this and that's when the magic begins. The 360 Reality Audio is without a doubt incredible. I've got to admit that I can't hear all this about instruments here there and everywhere. But the sound coming into your ears is definitely a real pleasure to listen to. Battery life looks like that stated. They were 70 per cent out of the box add several severe listening sessions and when it had dropped to 20 per cent I fully charged them. They are feature packed, when you start talking they stop playing so that you can hear replies. The down side to this is the time that they take to restart playing is far too long. 15 secs is the shortest, which needs to be 5 secs max. You can restart them yourself by double tapping on the centre of the right ear cup after going into the systems settings and altering it to manual mode. Also when you start to sing along with the song, yeah you've guessed it, they stop playing. Quite annoying for all those budding stars out there. I have now discovered that this can also be altered to manual mode. We live and learn. The noise cancelling worked very well for me, with no complaints. Telephone calls are a feature that is really good well according to the person who I was speaking to. They said that it was crystal clear and to be true, it was. Please bear in mind that while you are listening to your music, it can be heard by people who are near to you. Pairing with another device is flawless. I also connected them to my PS4 controller with the cable provided. The sound that a horses hooves made while walking in a river, just made me smile with pleasure. The right pad takes care of most of the controls. Volume, skipping tracks etc. It is easy to control. The left pad is for turning on and off, pairing, noise cancelling etc. At the end of the day it's down to sound, usability and to a lot of people price. The first two hit the spot, the bulls eye without a doubt. The last one is a very different kettle of fish, personally I'd like to see them cheaper. Finally..... They are ago to set of Premium Headphones. Well done Sony. Give yourselves a big pat on the back. They are a thoroughly enjoyable to listen to and use. Thoroughly recommended. Enjoy..........

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

0

Comfortable Fit

WH-1000XM4 26 September 2020 by Brian43 (United Kingdom)

Excellent comfortable even after a long session, noise reduction fantastic, easy to set up and get started. Sound reproduction great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

1

0

Headphones for modern life

WH-1000XM4 25 September 2020 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom)

Recently received a set of WH-1000XM4 and it is many many years since I have had a pair of over the ear cans. So I did not know what to expect from a set that had noise cancelling and I can honestly say and as a person who suffers from tinnitus I found these absolutely unbelievable in the sound quality and tinnitus was a thing of the past with these on. About me, I am a 71-year-old music lover so having these has been a fantastic experience I cannot go into all the technical details that you may find on internet channels I just know how I felt when I put these on. For me, the innovation on the XM4 was an eye-opener I suppose younger persons will treat this as normal but for me superb. What I did have in the setup but only in using my iMac, not on my Macbook pro was terrible stuttering and I think this is something other users might encounter and it was a process of elimination and it appeared that Bluetooth bandwidth was competing with each other around my Mac I have a keyboard, trackpad, mouse. When listening to music, film or internet content when I switched a couple off everything worked fine. Would I recommend them for sure if you haven't experienced noise-cancelling headphones before then these are a joy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

1

0

THE BEST OPTION BY NOW.

WH-1000XM4 24 September 2020 by ROCOR (USA)

That was my anniversary present and am sooo happy. Ian enjoying at most

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for working from home!

WH-1000XM4 23 September 2020 by Vash382 (USA)

Bought these to drown out the dogs while working from home, especially when on conference calls -- fantastic for that! Also work in datacenters a lot where the droning fan noise can be deafening -- completely eliminates the issues there too and makes calls when working in the DC so much better than my previous wireless earbuds. I do not use the touch features that some have complained about. I use mainly for calls, music, and sometimes even just to drown out noise with nothing playing -- all controlled by my phone not the headphones themselves. Told my coworkers to pick some up, would buy again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

disappointing

WH-1000XM4 23 September 2020 by Busch1097 (USA)

I haven't had these for even a day's worth of listening but my $12 Koss headphones sound better. I'm into classical music (symphonies) and I find the sound closed in especially in the midrange. The sound stage is cramped as the opposite of spacious, like in a symphony hall. I have been experimenting with various EQ settings on my source material but can't get rid of that closed in feeling. I expected more for $350 and especially after reading all the great reviews. Plenty of bass which may be good for other musical genres. I'll update if I find a good EQ.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

8

0

Great audio, comfort and design

WH-1000XM4 23 September 2020 by jamestux (United Kingdom)

These headphones sound great and work with everything. They are lightweight and comfortable enough to wear all day - the battery lasts forever between charges which is useful as the headphones work with my phone, Walkman and even watches so I am using them a lot! The only real slight downside is because I change devices a lot - and the most that it can multi-pair with is 2 - and if you have it pairing to both then it won't run at top audio quality either, but I realise that I am probably not that typical as I have separate devices for everything. In terms of sound quality: Noise cancellation is superb, perfect for walks or commuting when you need to go to the office again. The system tunes to your ears which does make a difference in a very positive way. The signature is quite warm and bassy - which isn't my usual preferred sound but it works well here. Its not quite as coherent or analytical as my Sennheisers HD660s or HD600 - but it is a lot easier to drive and is a completely different solution (noise cancelling, closed back, microphone included, etc) - it has replaced my PXC 550 as my travel, outdoor and every day headphones and as my work headphones and headset. Sony have added a bunch of features that are useful such as different modes depending on where you are or how much you are moving - I haven't set them up properly yet but I can see that they will be helpful over time. So other than the pairing thing they would be perfect and it seems harsh to mark them down a full star that. Like I mentioned above they have replaced another set in my collection - and actually I find myself using the others less often too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

2

0

Bad implementation of basic features

WH-1000XM4 21 September 2020 by doms1221 (USA)

I bought it a month ago and while my experience with them is good - all of the features are there, but the implementation of a lot of basic functions is pretty bad. Tap controls are often registered after third or fourth try and after headphones register it, the controls work just fine. This is definitely a bad optimization for battery saving. Chose one - physical buttons and battery optimization or touch controls and no battery optimization. You can't have both. "Pause when taken off" function isn't great either - it often starts playing when my headphones are around my neck. Turn on/off with button hold is a bad implementation (even if you must use the hold button, why is it so long? It's long enough so that it feels cumbersome and instead of instant turn on/off, it's an operation onto itself). Also, there is no way of seeing battery level while the headphones are charging which is laughable.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4

0

Superb High-End Headphones

WH-1000XM4 21 September 2020 by Mel2955 (United Kingdom)

As expected for a Sony product, the high quality packaging tells a story before you even get to the goodness inside which doesn't let down. The headphones have a premium look with a soft faux leather centre section of the headband and ear cups which made them comfortable to wear for long periods. After around 4.5 hours of continuous use they still felt comfortable and could easily have worn them for a few hours more. Only small issue I could raise here is with the ear cups being so well isolated and close fitting I felt my ears getting a little bit warm, maybe just me. The headband has a good adjustment range to get the best fit and they didn't feel tight across my head. Even while wearing the headphones with power off the ear cups were great at reducing external noise. With Noise Cancelling activated the world outside went very quiet with only some higher pitched sounds creeping through occasionally, excellent. Controlling volume and music tracks worked well for the most part using the right ear cup touchpad sensors. Occasionally had to repeat the vertical sliding action to change volume, but didn’t have any problem changing tracks sliding finger horizontally. Plus point, good to find the sensitivity was not limited to a small area of the touchpad sensor. As for sound, the quality is excellent. For me, playing high quality FLAC files on my Walkman which has the LDAC codec is when you really hear the music as it should be heard. These headphones are not particularly Bass punchy, so if you like heavy Bass in your music without making any adjustments to the standard settings, or can't if you don't have a smartphone, these may not be your first choice. The phone app equaliser can push the Bass effect quite a bit if needed. Trying the DSEE Extreme setting using the SBC codec playing various MP3 music files, unfortunately I couldn't detect much of a difference. Maybe its just too subtle an enhancement for my ears. Speak to Chat worked great for times in shops etc, the headphones paused music instantly when hearing my voice. Nice feature but need to remember this will happen every time you speak or maybe hum along with the music. Fortunately it can easily be switched on or off using the phone app or two fingers against the right ear cup touchpad if not like it. The Ambient Noise feature was really handy while moving around busy areas and wanted to hear some of the sounds around me like traffic, and Voice Focus worked better than expected while waiting in a train station, clearly heard the 'the next train is for ***' while music playing. Using the Speak to Chat and Ambient Noise features depends much about what you're doing and where you are, useful in certain circumstances. Bluetooth range has been great with no drop-out issues while walking outside or around my home upstairs and downstairs through numerous walls at some distance from the computer playing music using a Bluetooth v5.0 dongle. Also tested connecting to my Sony NW-A45 Walkman which uses Bluetooth v4.2, no issues whatsoever and a nice match for these headphones. Battery power has been very good, pretty close to the times quoted I would say, albeit can't say 100% because I keep changing settings during use to find how well or not various settings work for me in different situations. All in all an easy recommendation for anyone considering purchasing these superb high-end headphones, cost may be the one thing that puts some off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

1

0

A significant improvement over XM3 0 Go buy.

WH-1000XM4 21 September 2020 by Dr Dee (United Kingdom)

This is an evolution of the XM3 which was already one of the best. Four things stand out for me. First, the XM4 has superior comfort versus XM3 and you can wear it all day. I found for example the B&W PX& had a vice-like grip. The XM3 was comfortable but the XM4 with its better cushioning now makes it possible to wear all day. Second, the musicality has been significantly improved and now far exceeds competitor brands like B&W P7. With its noise-cancelling already excellent on XM3, Sony now is far ahead. Sony’ has used its Dual Noise Sensor tech, making use of two mics in each earcup to suck in sound and analyse it with the QN1 noise-cancelling processor. The treble response is improved and so are the mids using the DSEE extreme processing capability. The introduction of DSEE Extreme, an AI-driven process that looks to restore detail from lossy compressed formats, d Third, when you pairing and multi-device usage is seamless with my phone and Macbook. The benefit of being able to use the better transmission through Sony's own LDAC codex with my Sony portable NW A105. I player is a plus. I would have preferred Sony to have kept Aptx HD which is a Qualcomm codex and is not as good as LDAC but is more available on portable devices. Finally, while Sony's XM3 was one of the best musically, Sony has also improved speaking and working with this headphone on. A new Speak-to-Chat feature. With this option switched on, the headphones’ microphone will intelligently recognise when you’ve started talking, and pause your music while ramping up ambient noise being funnelled into the cans. It’ll let you have a chat naturally without taking your headphones off, with a short pause occurring after you stop chatting before resuming music playback. Loved using the XM3's but love the XM4 even more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

1

0

Amazing noise cancelling

WH-1000XM4 20 September 2020 by Bilbob2002 (United Kingdom)

I recieved the xm4s 2 weeks ago and am super impressed with how good these headphones are. They are well packaged and come with a handy carry case to make sure they stay in top condition if travelling. They are super light for all the functionality they contain and once on barely notice there there the ear cups are so well padded my glasses are no problem and don't dig in with the fit of the headphones. Once on and the app downloaded they where so easy to set up and configure to my ear shape to maximise sound quality. The noise cancelling is AMAZING!! I was able to sit in my living room with the tv on and my dog barking and completely loose myself in the music. The speak to chat function was nice and it works well but I ended up turning it off so I can sing along without interrupting the music. They charge in no time and the battery lasts forever. But the biggest thing was being able to connect to two devices my pc headset has now been replaced so I can play games on my laptop and also take calls. The sound quality is what you would expect from Sony 1st class. I would definitely recommend these headphones with no problem at all

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

4

0

The best is back and this time refined

WH-1000XM4 19 September 2020 by Joey B (USA)

An extremely satisfying Sony product that with truly helpful features. The noise cancelling improved over the last generation and the sound signature is more balanced and refined in the tuning of the driver. Pairs seamlessly with my Xperia 1 II.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great headphones but...

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by BGHNY (USA)

I've been wearing these for a few weeks and there is an annoying clicking sound that developed in the left headphone. When I move my face or turn my head... click, click, click. It is driving me crazy and not what I would expect after doing my research and buying what I thought would be the best bluetooth noise cancelling headphones on the market.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

6

0

Fantastic headphones great sound

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by Colin (United Kingdom)

Have been using these headphones for two weeks now I have had quite a few different types of head phones over the years but these Sony noise canceling headphones are quite simply the best headphones I have ever used Sony app is fantastic and easy to use lots of great features. The lovely tones and the bass sound is brilliant the best headphones I have ever used the design is stunning so comfortable to wear no Bluetooth drop off while using them. Headphones com3 in a great carry case charge lead and airplane adapter. The 360 reality sound is brilliant changes the sound complete for the better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

7

1

0

Awesome Headphones

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by Rio 44 (United Kingdom)

These are the best headphones on the market in my opinion,super quality,first class noise cancelling,excellent sound quality and very comfortable to wear for long periods of time.The battery life is really good charge them up for a couple of hours and easily last all day.I would recommend downloading the Sony headphones app and install the latest firmware and use the app to customise to your liking.I would have no problem recommending these headphones to anyone,they deserve this Five Star review.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

6

1

0

Sensational Sound - Listen In Comfort

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by GeorgeL (United Kingdom)

From the moment you put these headphones on you relaise how comfortable they are! Using the headphone App helps to configure the headphones for hi fi sound using TIDAL. A very dynamic sound performance. From a band to an orchestra the music plays so sweetly in your head. Connectivity is excellent via Bluetooth; quality sound from my iPod or iPad or IMac with streamed music. The comfort is so good that I am able to wear them for as long as I want. But overall it is the sound quality from them that makes them so good. I have other SONY headphones but the lates take the prize for being first rate. I love them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

2

0

Good, potentially great with firmware improvements

WH-1000XM4 17 September 2020 by paul9991 (USA)

I upgraded from wired Bose QC25 headphones. Thus far I have found the microphones to be not quite as good as Bose, but the audio quality is exceptional. My main issue right now is that the dual bluetooth is causing problems. For example, I am often on a video conference and then I get a phone call. The headphone switches to the call before I even answer it. And then it completely drops the bluetooth on my computer. I have to power the headphones off and then back on to rejoin my conference. This needs to be fixed. So far the ambient control and speed to chat are more distracting than helpful so I turned them off. Pausing when I take off the headphones is nice, as are the touch controls on the headphones. My only other complaint is that the headband pushed down a bit too hard on my bald head. The Bose were more comfortable because of that.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Nice headphones

WH-1000XM4 17 September 2020 by Prime41 (USA)

The Good: Sound quality is fantastic Noise canceling is fantastic Connection to iphone is fantastic The not so good: The touch controls are okay. I had a little trouble with them picking up what I was trying to do. The "speak to hear outside noise" feature often picks up a cough. The comfort is so-so. I don't think I would use these for very long sessions. The bad: These headphones are completely unusable on Windows 10 with a bluetooth connection. My drivers are up to date but I get constant stuttering and skips made me resort to using the cord which defeats the wireless purpose. Overall: They're a good pair of headphones and would be 5/5 if not for the Windows 10 issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fabulous headphones

WH1000XM4/B 14 September 2020 by TrrkMol (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The WM-1000XM4 is replacing my Nokia headset. The unit is very comfortable to wear for long periods. Controls are easy to manipulate. The Headphones Connect app (iOS & Android) customizes the listening experience. It can take into account ambient background noise, switching to chat mode simply by speaking, and even switching listening modes depending on where you are located! All these features can be turned off. The noise canceling feature is one of the best I’ve experienced. You still get that “air pressure” feeling, but it is not as prevalent as many other units. The ability to connect to 2 devices is a great plus! I usually have my phone with me so I use the app to easily switch between my iPhone and laptop. I haven’t used the headset making calls so not sure how I sound on the phone. Overall a fabulous purchase. Warning to those purchasing on Amazon, I purchased a new unit but what I received was a returned unit. It was like-new so didn’t have any real issues, but not happy with Amazon.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Bring Back VPT!

WH-1000XM4 13 September 2020 by ElectroJunkie77 (USA)

Don’t take away the custom EQ, but please bring back VPT as an added feature set. Nothing more to say...if VPT returns with a software update these will be hands down the BEST HEADPHONES WORLD WIDE, and the sells will flourish. For now I’m keeping mine. Purchased Silver but I won’t change my 3 STAR review to 5 Stars until the VPT is brought back with a software update.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Awesome !!!

WH1000XM4/B 13 September 2020 by Mrmoemoe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought these headphones a week ago I'm liking them each time I listen to them as I compared them to my klipsch headphones. Listening to Tidal MQA is amazing. Although the head band should be wider for a 349.00 headphone feels kinda cheap.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Overall really nice

WH-1000XM4 12 September 2020 by Vlad96690 (USA)

There are better detailed reviews than what I could compose above. Still I am curious... This is my first Sony "premium" product, and i became very curious in what VPT modes would sound like now. Is this a feature that can be added back to the app?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Amazing and disappointing

WH-1000XM4 12 September 2020 by Nashville (USA)

I purchased these headphones for the office. If I’m listening to music they are fantastic, best headphones I have used. The sound quality and noise canceling on the audio to your ear is top notch. However, the microphone noise canceling is near worthless. I need to have my office door closed or people on the phone can hear my co-workers from down the hall. Even after spending time fine tuning the headset with the app, the microphone problem didn’t improve. This did enhance the quality of the music I listen to however. If you like only listening to music, buy these. If you take phone calls in a noisy environment, get something different.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Best wireless headphones ever!

WH-1000XM4 09 September 2020 by John Christendom (USA)

This past week I was looking for some headphones at my local retail store and saw a pair of these on the shelf. The second I put them on the noise canceling brought me into another world, that's the thing that originally and truly sold me on these headphones. Honestly, these are the best wireless anc headphones, and over the best wireless headphones I have ever used. Whether you are experienced in audio or just starting these are perfect for all. If you want base, you can have as much base as you could need in the extensive app, if you would like to listen to audio from more of a professional standpoint, they are completely perfect for that too. At the price point, and at the quality, and every feature packed into these headphones, they are completely worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Disappointed.

WH-1000XM4 08 September 2020 by ORBIKOX (USA)

I wait several months for this headphones, I had QC25, QC35I AND II, decided to get SONY beacuse sound quality, but unfortunately after using this headphones for 2 hours it hurts my ears. Inside can space it's too small, my ears were touching inside components. Hope Sony fix this in the future. At this moment I'm sadly returning my headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

9

0

My Favourite Headphones. My Problems With Them.

WH-1000XM4 06 September 2020 by Eclectic Sound Consumer (United Kingdom)

I bought the WH-1000MX4 model a month ago and I'm glad I did. The noise cancelling is fantastic, it will not silence a fighter jet taking off from 200m away, but what it will do is make day to day travel more peaceful. The noise cancelling coupled with a low volume of music (around a quarter volume) will immerse you into a land of tranquillity, privacy and give you the focus to really concentrate on what it is your doing or listening to. The coffee on the go and the line at the station with this product what you hear is now fully in your control. Also the noise cancelling is great without sound being played, but it does still let some noise through. But, to get complete silence anywhere on earth is impossible, and these make a really good go at it. The battery life is great and the fit is comfortable. I have gone full day with high volumes and noise cancelling and the battery lasts with some to spare. And after long listening periods I am not left with aching ears, which I have had from other products. I highly recommend these headphones to anyone who travels a lot. Or anyone who likes have wireless headphones with great audio performance and also some clever features. The features I like are the Pause/Play that you can customise for when you take your headphones Off/On. It isn’t noticeable at first, but the time I will save over the years from not having to press pause and play and fussing with wires when leaving a room, answering a call or even if you just want to have a scratch without missing a paragraph of a new audiobook. I also like the slider option for if you do want to let ambient noise in. Scenario: You’re in a busy city centre and you are dodging and weaving traffic and people running late for your next engagement. You can have the headphones set to let ambient noise in. Meaning safer passing on dangerous roads. However, the touch gestures on the earphones are unresponsive, especially to someone who is used to handling a modern smart phone. And when you turn the volume up or down, the content your listening to is rudely interrupted by the intrusion of a confirmation of the action you just performed. There isn’t an option available in the accompanying smartphone software to change this. I find this both annoying and useless. I have turned the touch features off. Unless an update is released where you can decide what touch features actually do and have this done silently it will stay that way. Speaking off software and updates. If you don’t own a smartphone you can’t customise the headphones at all. I can’t find a version of the application for Computer Desktops. Also, the Bluetooth quality is sometimes poor. It will connect to the hands-free channel and this will reduce sound quality and turns whatever your listening to into what sounds like a remix of the old internet dial-up connection sound and whatever soundbites your trying to listen to. Overall, this is a Premium product and its worth the money it’s priced at. I’m a happy customer. But if there was a version with a better touch function and better recognition of when you are connected to a phone call instead of a music platform or video streaming site. It would get 5 Stars. For me I give it 4 ½.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

3

0

I've got 2 pairs

WH-1000XM4 06 September 2020 by Jacksondore (USA)

Bought a pair of these for my wife for her birthday and I loved him so much I bought a pair too and everybody that I speak to I refer them. Excellent battery life awesome sound quality we wear ours outside during yard work we also wear them while mowing on our ZTR the noise cancellation works great! I wish I could turn the volume up louder on the ambient aware would be the only thing I would change

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic Sound Quality

WH-1000XM4 05 September 2020 by Kenny Bear (United Kingdom)

I’m have the Air buds , but decided to treat myself to the WH10004, and was not disappointed. As the sound quality is second to none , I found it a bit strange , when it wanted photographs of my ears , but after having the experienced the 360 degree sound , I now know why. Even better sound quality, and so many different functions . Expensive but you pay for quality, and that’s what you get with these earphones .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Missing Surround (VPT)) settings

WH-1000XM4 05 September 2020 by Scott14 (USA)

Without the VPT surrounds settings, in specific the concert hall setting, these headphones sound terrible for classical music. Had the WX-1000MX2 and the VPT settings made classical music sound great. Just recently upgraded to the MX4 and was very disappointed to see that setting removed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Way better than my old BOSE

WH-1000XM4 05 September 2020 by David Bobo (USA)

I purchased this when released and could not be happier. Comfortable, sound great, and don't hear the Tasmanian devil (dog) that lives above me in an apartment. Great for wireless gaming and watching TV..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Upgrade from 1000x M2

WH-1000XM4 04 September 2020 by KeishaB580 (USA)

I love these headphones, they were a necessary upgrade from my M2's which have a cracked headband on both sides. I'm not an audiophile so you can take this with a grain of salt, but listening to my music using these headphones was incredible. I use a custom EQ with the bass turned up to the max with my Tidal HIFI subscription and my music sounds amazing. It was definitely a better sound experience than my M2's which could tend to get a little muddy when the bass is turned up to high levels. I like the fit and overall design of these headphones. They are definitely lighter than the M2's, I could feel the difference immediately, and they are very comfortable on my head. I wore them for a straight 12 hours with no pain/irritation to my ears. The material feels like it will be more sturdy than the M2's, but I'll have to wait and see about that. This was a nice upgrade in features. I've used the speak to chat, and it works as it says it does. I'll be listening to my music and when my son comes over to talk, as soon as I say the first word out of my mouth the ambient sound is activated and then maybe 10-15 seconds after the conversation is over, the music or whatever I'm listening to automatically starts playing again. This feature will be clutch when I'm back in the office for work. The Noise cancelling is amazing, no surprise there. I can now connect to two devices at the same time, but switching between them isn't always as seamless as I would like it to be. I'm not sure if this has anything to do with the devices I'm connected to, but this feature can be a little buggy at times. There is one feature in the app that Sony took away with this upgrade in headphones, and that is the Surround VPT. I loved using this feature with my M2's. I was a little disappointed when I realized this was no longer available in the app. I hope SONY can put this feature back with an upgrade in the near future. I don't love the call quality. Of course it's an upgrade for me, but it's still not there yet, but It's not a deal breaker for me. Overall, these headphones are almost perfect for me. SONY just keeps knocking it out of the park with these 1000x headphones. If they can give us the Surround VPT back, make some improvements to the call quality, and these will be the perfect earphones. I'm very happy with my purchase (which i made with my own money) and I would enthusiastically recommend these to anyone!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Prefer the Sony wh1000xm3 to the new ones

WH-1000XM4 04 September 2020 by Sonyxm34 (USA)

I bought the xm4 a few days after the release , I expected better quality than the xm3 but I was disappointed. The feature for surround sound vpt setting was removed and that was one of the best feature in my opinion. If they release an update in which they can be used again I would rate these headphones the best yet. Hopefully they’ll be an update soon. Design was also not as good compared to the xm3 it has more a matte finishing and not as comfortable feel as the previous generation. Overall I would have stuck with the xm3

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Fantastic Headphones

WH-1000XM4 03 September 2020 by Fifibelle (United Kingdom)

So glad I waited for this model to be released. Sony did not disappoint. These headphones are amazing!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Too Many Flaws for the Price

WH-1000XM4 03 September 2020 by jose22 (USA)

I had been waiting for these headphones for a long time to upgrade my Bose QC25s and purchased them on the day they became available. I'll break my review up into sections: Fit/Comfort: The first thing I noticed when I tried these on was my ears touched the fabric that covers the audio driver. This never happened with my Bose, but I figured maybe I could get used to it (although I've had these for 3 weeks and this still bothers me). Ideally I think the foam should be thicker to prevent this. I also noticed these headphones didn't seem very comfortable after about 30-45 minutes, which isn't very long for me. Maybe I have an odd-shaped head based on other reviews I read, but I was disappointed by this especially considering I never had this problem with my Bose headphones. The headphones also get very warm, which can probably be attributed to the seal around my ears for noise cancelling. I can't really fault the headphones here as noise cancelling is a priority, but this is just an observation. Sound: The sound is really good. I still don't think it competes to headphones that don't have ANC but I don't really think that's possible. Overall I was happy with the sound. The noise cancelling is phenomenal, and these headphones do a great job of cancelling even mid-frequency rather than just low frequencies. Features: I'm not really sure if something is wrong with my pair, but the switching between bluetooth devices is very buggy. I still have to manually disconnect and connect my devices fairly often which is disappointing as that's probably the biggest feature of these headphones versus the X3. I've also had devices that are connected and playing but no audio comes through these headphones (and I have confirmed only 1 connected device was playing audio at a time). The touch controls are pretty nice, I do wish the custom button could be used for the conversation mode but that's a minor gripe. The swiping controls work great and I love the feature of putting my hand on my ear cup to hear my surroundings. Overall: I really can't justify the price of these headphones for the poor fit (which may just be a personal problem) and the buggy tech such as the multi-device bluetooth support (which is the biggest upgrade from the X3 in my opinion). At this price I would expect a nearly flawless device. I really wanted to love these, but unfortunately I think I'll be returning them and trying out some other pairs. I really hope I got a bad pair which I think is a possibility based on other reviews I've read, and I think these headphones are definitely worth a try from a store that allows returns.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great sound, poor comfort

WH-1000XM4 02 September 2020 by seajamcom (USA)

I love these headphones. Such great sound and noise cancelling. Unfortunately the headband is the most uncomfortable I have ever tried, and I can't listen to them for more than 10 minutes without getting a sore head.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great sound!

WH-1000XM4 31 August 2020 by Jakeinger_sdt (USA)

I preordered these and have been listeneing about 2-3 a day. Very comfortable, great sound and features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Turns off on its own while watching YouTube

WH-1000XM4 31 August 2020 by Jorge G (USA)

I love everything about them except one thing. they turn off on their own while I am watching YouTube. Not sure as to why and I see a few posts online that they have done the same to other users. Hopefully, Sony figures out the why and fixes it. Otherwise, great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Lower quality when in dual device mode

WH-1000XM4 31 August 2020 by dantm (USA)

This is my third Sony high res headset I own. I bought last week mainly because of 2 new features I didn't have on WH-1000XM3. I really lowed WH-1000XM3s because excellent sound quality. On XM3 NC worked fine in the office, but sometimes had issues outside withe repeated sounds, let's see how XM4s will perform.. I use the headphones in the office and support for 2 devices is finally supported, but NOTE there is something specs and advertisements don't say. If you enable this feature the LDAC is gone and it will switch headphones to AAC 44khz/16bit only. So my question to Sony is if it would be possible to keep for example LDAC (2 channels) on phone and AAC for laptop with some future firmware update? I'm switching between modes often to enjoy TIDAL music in better quality, but another issue is that headphones don't reconnect to second device automatically. So you need to enable second device support in the menu and go to different menu to reactivate second device. Another idea to Sony: Make this as an option to button and reconnect to second last used device automatically. Second new feature I really like is new sensor which will stop music when you take headphones off. I experienced some small issue today. Not sure if it was the trigger, but I walked with phones off my ears and heard email notification coming to headphones an then music started playing. I just moved them a bit and music stopped again. I was hopping for redesigned touch control which is quite a pain. Maybe next time? I have a feeling that NC is better even passive when headset is off. Comfortable to wear even outside on the street. Didn't experience any troubles like on previous model, but maybe I didn't met similar conditions yet. With XM3 the issue was for example in train when window was open and columns along the trail were creating specific noise. The headphones generated even louder noise and the only solution was turn this feature off. There are new mics inside which might hopefully prevent this situation. So some improvements are still needed, but overall the sound quality is still outstanding and I'm still ranking 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

I love the Sound and the Noise Cancellation

WH1000XM4/B 30 August 2020 by Music010 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im a student and with all the online classes these headphones are a real treat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

New listen in life

WH-1000XM4 30 August 2020 by behearknow (USA)

All my music sounds brand new. My blood pressure thanks you!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, issue connecting with windows 10

WH-1000XM4 30 August 2020 by HemantK (USA)

Hey Sony Team, Awesome headphone and so good sound quality. so easy to connecting with IPhone, however it is not connecting with laptop have OS Windows 10. Please help me or suggest me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sound quality is very impressive.

WH1000XM4/B 29 August 2020 by MRANKINS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

https://www.sony.com/image/050074ffeea1c1ca40a0c834176dd371?fmt=pjpeg&wid=1014&hei=396&bgcolor=F1F5F9&bgc=F1F5F9

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best headphones ever

WH-1000XM4 28 August 2020 by Forceman Prime (USA)

The headphones have been the best thing I have bought this year. The specs are insane especially when comparing charge speed and battery life. Easy to set up and works great with apps like spotify, tidal and audible. Thanks to the noice canceling I can focus on work without distractions. The smart features work great and are a great addition. The headphones also fit great and are comfortable no matter how long you wear them. For me this was a real surprise since my earshape normally disagrees with headsets.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

You got Bose by the toes!

WH-1000XM4 27 August 2020 by Hshehegee (USA)

As an ex-Bose NC700 owner, I can resoundingly say this is a significant enough of an upgrade in nearly all areas. The sound quality destroys the Bose. ANC is on-par but outstrips Bose in feature sets. Comfort dominates the NC700 bc it doesn’t pinch your head or ears, especially if you wear glasses or sunnies. One area it needs to improve on is the self-voice that’s heard from the headphones as it’s currently very muffled and unnatural. Bose did this right by having the option to tweak how much one’s own voice can be heard over a call.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Better sound than Bose

WH-1000XM4 27 August 2020 by Gyroscannt12 (United Kingdom)

Got the headphones as a birthday present to replace my Bose headphones, sound quality is superior, howevever, noise cancelling is not so good, on quiet sections of music you can still hear the TV,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

6

0

Great, but has issues...

WH-1000XM4 26 August 2020 by ZoesBass (USA)

I bought this about a week ago and it arrived just a few days ago. I really liked it, simple enough setup. However, my headphones randomly disconnect (still turned on) from my phone, and are unable to be phone via bluetooth. I am using an iPhone, and it’s not pairing to any other devices. I’ve factory resetted it. This bug can happen anywhere from about 10 minutes to 40 minutes from connecting my phone with the headphones. The sound is amazing, comfort is also amazing, and the design and ease of the headphones + case is very good as well. However, if I were to know that this headphone had a bluetooth issue as severe as this, I likely would not have purchased it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

11

1

0

Lacking bass and no Virtual Surround Sound anymore

WH-1000XM4 25 August 2020 by Larcenciel (USA)

I owned WH-1000XM3, and one of the features I like is to have different settings of sound from the Virtual Surround Sound. By setting it to Arena or Club this will boost the bass which makes big difference. The XM3 have a nice vibration to them that tingles your ears if your pump it to the max, that's sorely lacking in the XM4. Even though there is a default EQ which can be changed, the bass still lacking, very weak, and the feature of Virtual Surround Sound has been removed by Sony. There are plenty other people who have same opinion about this missing feature, and weak bass. I hope the Sony support will pass on this feedback and hoping with the new firmware or Headphones app update, Sony can bring back the Virtual Surround Sound or something similar.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

10

0

not enough info

WH-1000XM4 22 August 2020 by Andrea_MN (USA)

These are the first noise cancelling headphones I''ve bought and I'm using them for college. I did some google reviews and for the most part everyone said amazing things about them. I will say that they amazing for sound quality (see what happens when I use them at a busy Starbucks). My issue is that I cannot connect them through bluetooth on my Mac even though it says they are compatible. When I initially turned them on with my iPad and iPhone also own, very briefly did the headphones show up under system prefrences, then disappeared and now no matter what I do I can't get them to show up under my bluetooth. Also, I read that these headphones are great because you can be connected to two devices at the same time and switch effortlessly between them. That is not the case. I can't get the headphones to work at all if 2 devices are on. My iPhone has to be turned of or the iPad if I want them to work. So I can't be connected to my iPad and doing work with my iPhone on in my purse. Spending almost $400 shouldn't give problems like this, especially if these are not the first headphones you guys have made, those simple bugs should be worked out. The app isn't that great at all. Worked ok on my iPad then same problem, had to shut it off in order for my iPhone to be able to find the headphones and pair correctly. The only way I'm able to wear these headphones on my Mac is by plugging them in to the Mac- if they didn't come with this cable I'd be returning them right now and being AirPods Pro, In fact I'm still thinking about it if this issue doesn't resolve since it would save me $100 and I know they would work with all my apple devices. But the sound quality is amazing. The instruction booklet needs more information and not just relying on an app that may or may not work

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

9

0

ANC does not work as advertised.

WH-1000XM4 22 August 2020 by DisappointedCustomer99 (USA)

- I returned my Bose NC700 headphones and purchased these in the hope that they are better at ANC. - I use ANC headphones for studying, with ANC turned on (to the max), without music playing in the background. - At coffee shops, these headphones let in: 1) music, 2) its lyrics, 3) people's and cashiers' voices about 35 feet away from me (both muffled), and 4) coffee machines in the background (loudly). - Latest firmware/software. - Informed customer service, they recommended exchanging the device, I exchanged the device but I am still experiencing the same issue. - This leads me to believe that this is a software/firmware issue. - I hope that Sony addresses this issue in the near future.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

8

26

0

XM4 FTW! The New Kings

WH-1000XM4 22 August 2020 by LexineGroup (USA)

Wow Just Wow, Sony Finally Did It. You know its a good headset when you just have to buy two pairs, the only other headphone I got twice was the HD650. Not even the QC35, nor the 700's made it to the double list, the XM3 got purchased and those I returned the same day due to dummy sound and that dummy cloth touching your ear inside the ear cups. This here, truly is one of the best things of 2020. Good Job Sony! Good Job!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1