P 81,999.00

100

4.5 based on 100 customer reviews

61
31
5
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06 February 2017 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Overall a good camera

Body Only 19 November 2017 by Jon123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased for the 120fps & 4K feature which I am happy with so far. A good little camera overall, however the menu system is tricky to get your head around. It’s compact size is also a big bonus - although it’s battery life is very poor - and the fact you only get one battery with this camera is disappointing due to this. Canon give two batteries with their cameras and there are functions on their models which I enjoy more than the Sony range due to its simplicity. The autofocus is okay - it works eventually - but I’ve found it to be slow on ocassions. A few issues, but on a whole I’m happy with my purchase due to the features it has as well as the cost being reasonable enough for my use purposes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

100 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 16 May 2018 by billw917 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera a few weeks ago, upgrading from the a5000. I am still learning the differences, but what I have so far justifies the expense of the upgrade. Focus happens quicker. I do find the flip screen more limited than that on the 5000. Also, when in Intelligent Auto, I seem to have fewer options, but I only rarely use any Auto, sticking to P for nearly all shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My great compact mirrorless camera,,ever,,,,

Body Only 13 May 2018 by Kahimo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im very happy to have this little monster, very worth of money, im very happy to this beast,,,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quite complicated

Body Only 09 May 2018 by HJani (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera o months ago. I found is not user’s friendly. Settings are very complicate. Company want to give you too many options which very confusing. AF is quite poorly performing. In movie mode low lux lighting condition is not captured correctly.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 26 April 2018 by Taylordave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony A6500 it 3 weeks ago and it's awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very impressed with pertformance

Body Only 17 April 2018 by johnboy37 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as upgrade from a6000. Very impressed with improvements to handling, speed and quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great expectations, poor experience

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 12 April 2018 by Aenaryon (USA)

main issues are the autofocus and the battery life. battery life it's rated at 320 shot, in reality, battery last, not longer than 50 shots autofocus performance are very poor, lenses mounted on this camera are all electronic that means more battery drain and slow autofocusing. many shoots I made were not in focus or missed due to the slowness of the lens. this never happen with the previus camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

The camera I was looking for.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 06 April 2018 by GYUWISE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a 4K camera. Small, light and high quality camera. That is the Sony A6500.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Video Issue

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 23 March 2018 by swhaas4971 (USA)

I find this camera difficult to use. I actually traded a Sony Alpha a7-III because of the weight difference and my need for ease of use. However, as I used the video recording features, while pleased with the picture quality, I was greatly dismayed with the location of the recording button.. Why is the recording/end-recording button so small and why is it located at a corner of the camera which is difficult to locate when you are using either viewfinder to record . I found that I could not find this tiny button quickly and often had to resort to lowering the camera so that I could search for the thing in order to to stop recording. This button should be larger and located in a more readily accessible location, such as on the back or top of the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Lots of features - complex menus

Body Only 18 March 2018 by NickGolfDuck (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very capable camera. Lots of features - I like the ability to download and use Apps like the time-lapse and picture style features. Menu set is complicated and difficult. The User Guide is NOT GOOD. Very sparse and not user friendly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

This camera is the perfect size for travel.

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 27 February 2018 by Old Traveler (USA)

This camera can do everything. Just take you time and all the selections will make sense. While most advanced photographers use many of the manual selections the automatic selections help you never miss a shot while you are learning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb cam

Body Only 20 February 2018 by Tom Geo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love almost everything about this camera ( I don't like the battery life but that is no secret in Sony mirrorless cameras). First image quality is awesome, the AF is ultra fast and super reliable. The touch screen is a plus saves me the time of changing my focus point. The camera feels good in my hands, very lightweight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great Camera, wish there were more apsc lenses

Body Only 18 February 2018 by Kmanphotography (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera after owning the a6000 for about 2 years. I loved the a6000 but this camera is something else. Sony has put in so much refinement into this camera. Almost every feature is an improvement over the a6000. Aside from the big and obvious changes that everyone talks about anyway, one of the less talked about improvements is the sturdier e mount plate. With the a6000, one of my biggest gripes was that if you put a heavy lens on, there would be a worrisome wiggle at the mount and it made the lenses feel less secure. That is totally fixed with this camera. I do have a few gripes in general with sony though, those being that they aren't giving their apsc line of cameras much attention in comparison with their full frame line up or a brand like Fuji. We want more variety in lenses Sony!! We want battery grips!! I've been a customer and a convert to sony for almost 4 yrs but come on sony! Show us APSC folk some love.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 09 February 2018 by newtimes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very nice product, I do need to go to school to learn how to use it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Compact

Body Only 01 February 2018 by richard747 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Changed a large SLR camera for this Sony Product. The Electronic viewfinder gives a good representation of SLR viewfinder. Even with 16-70 zoom it is still only 30% of the SLR weight. Good Handling with a solid feel. Picture quality very good. No real down side to this transition

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic small camera

Body Only 31 January 2018 by WIlling65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extraordinary camera, and I wish the others in the A series had some of its features, most notably the touchscreen focus. But there are still issues with overheating even though Sony has added the 'high heat' select in the menu. After an hour's shooting in a reasonably warm environment it will shut down. Fix that and Sony will have a truly pro small camera which suits gimbals and the like. One other feature that would help is a flip out screen to the left...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic Images

Body Only 29 January 2018 by Willmas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the a6500 a month ago because I wanted to reduce weight from a heavy full-frame body to something easier to carry. I have not been disappointed with the results. Coupled with the 16-70 F4 lens the two make a " carry anywhere" combination and I am thrilled with the images. Very natural colours and sharp from the centre to the edges.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A fine camera for all abilities!

Body Only 27 January 2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been researching this camera for the past year and now finally have bought one. Truly superb and I have only just started to try out the video. Good to handle, very fast focus and with a wide range of features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera at competitive price

Body Only 16 January 2018 by Standonman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a good lightweight camera and this fits the bill

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 16 January 2018 by Akirashiba (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Light, great for travelling. Can do what a lot of the more advanced models can. Really pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This camera is amazing in all...

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 10 January 2018 by StoykoLY (USA)

I'm very happy of: -Picture quality -Video quality -Full control for video and photo -Picture profiles (more dynamic range of s-log 2 and 3) - Slow motion with manual control and high bitrate - compact body - Internal stabilization (perfect for my Nikon prime lens) - Option to power camera with power bank (this give me all day shoot with no problem) - And I'm very happy with my test on rainy night (*The rain is not strong) I shoot with no cover with 18-105mm F4 OSS G lens and dont have any problem after that. -The camera have to many things who I love. I cant write all :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pity about the touch screen and the lenses

Body Only 10 January 2018 by Photofinish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera, which is reasonable value for money. I would recommend it, but it has two areas for improvement. Firstly, the touch screen is nothing like the one on my Sony mobile phone. If Sony can make good touchscreens (and interfaces) on their phones, why not their cameras? The second area of weakness is in the lens line-up. Whereas, the A7r cameras have a complete range of f/2.8 and f/4 lenses, the a6500 has an incomplete set of APS-C lenses which relies on third-party manufacturers to prop it up. Finally, the installable Apps have not been improved to match the exciting features on competitor's cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A truly superb camera.

Body Only 07 January 2018 by Cav 79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I traded up from the Sony A6300 to the Sony 6500 just prior to Christmas. I matched the camera with my Sony Zeiss 16-70 ZA lens, (a lens I heartily recommend as a good all rounder) The A6500 shares much of the ergonomics,electronics etc with the A6300. One of the main benefits is the in body five plane stabilisation system which I find very useful. An other advantage is the addition of the touch screen function, although as an older photographer I rarely use the screen other than a quick review of an image I could see the advantage when working with photo stacking for instance. The menu system is a joy to use, again being familiar with the A6300 there is not much of a learning curve. Images straight out of the camera are well balanced and sharp. The camera is a high end camera and as such in the hands of an enthusiastic/club photographer will not disappoint, Battery life I found to be adequate but I will always carry a spare. The build and weight of the camera is sturdy and very reassuring to hold. All in all everything works as well as it should. If you are new to the Sony CSC system it will take a little time to get to know the ins and outs but well worth any effort.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Impressive camera

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 02 January 2018 by Fabro (USA)

I am so impressed with how this camera performs! The IQ and low light capability are beyond my expectations! I've owned Nikon and switched to an A6000 because it was easier to take better photos because of the electronic view finder,, but the A6500 blows them both away in low light and IQ over all! If you don't crop an image,, the A6500 at 12,500 ISO give a good photo and real good at 6400 ISO! The silent shutter at 3 fps is amazing and the photo's are as good as when the silent mode is turned off! don't listen to the naysayers, this is an awesome camera! I am blown away and would not trade it for a camera costing double the price! Some of it could be due to the IBS, I'm sure but if your considering this camera, don't think twice, just buy it and enjoy the features!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very nice camera, poor software

Body Only 30 December 2017 by BirgerNiss (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used it for a week now, the camera lives up precisely to my high expectations. Very good image quality, very easy to operate. Light weight compared to my Canon 5DIV. Excellent for street photography. Transferring stills and video via wifi to PC is really bad! It takes forever to establish the connection (I have a super fast LAN), and very often the connection is broken during transfer. Transferring stills and video from my Canon works like a dream. Point of focus for 2018, Sony:-)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Very portable

Body Only 30 December 2017 by Dinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very portable purchase thiscamera as a back up to my Sony A9 I am very happy with both

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent but needs some tweaks.

Body Only 18 December 2017 by CharleyW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve owned this camera for six month now and used it heavily during that period. Overall I’m pleased that I’ve made the switch to Sony’s mirror less cameras. The picture quality for photography is excellent and the various autofocus modes do a great job 95% of the time. Shooting in low light produces great results. Personally I’ve used the camera more for filming and my videography work. I’m using three lenses with the camera, the Zeiss Batis 25mm (stunning lens!), Sony 55mm, and the Sony 18-70mm. I’m really pleased with the results I’m getting and the 4K, although taking up a lot of storage, delivers super quality. I’m also loving the 60 and 100 FPS modes for super silky slow motion. I have one gripe with the camera though and that’s its built stabalisating system is a bit glitchy. It has a mind of its own and can work superbly or have a bad day and stutter and jump at random points during filming which can be a nightmare and has on occasion ruined footage for me. As said, overall I’m glad I’ve made the switch to lightweight mirror less cameras. This needs a little more work by Sony. I’d rate it 8/10.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Fabulous little camera

Body Only 17 December 2017 by ViewAskew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera at a great price. It's a fantastic piece of kit, the IBIS really helps with some of the older Minolta glass I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

cool little monster

Body Only 13 December 2017 by drpixels (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Couldn't be happier with the photo and video quality of this camera really love every aspect of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera and fast auto focus.

Body Only 12 December 2017 by STMK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera. Been playing about with it and it has a good set of features. The auto focus is super fast and makes switching focus fast and responsive. The burst setting is great with a buff for up to 300 images. Took some great pictures at the weekend of fireworks and did not have to worry about filling the buffer. The build in Time laps and hyper laps are also great. Only experimented with these so far but so easy to setup and use. So should results in some great video. Touch screen for focus is great. Would be nice to expand this to some menu selection or other onscreen controls.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Challenge for amateur

Body Only 11 December 2017 by perfectionist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Downloaded "Help" part of which could be simpler i.e.consider the amateur. Once I master I believe this camera will give me much pleasure. I'm a perfectionist!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great burst speed

Body Only 11 December 2017 by schishti (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing product, the burst speed is amazing. The autofocus with a 85mm 1.4 gm isn't the best for burst, but is pretty good still. What would be amazing is if the silent shutter is improved like the A9 or A7riii. The silent shutter is really slow, with a really slow read out and slow speed. You can only shoot like one photo every 3 seconds with the silent shutter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

superb image quality and great features

Body Only 11 December 2017 by cypek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would have given it 4.5 rather than 4 if that was an option. the only interchangeable lens mirror-less I had before was a Panasonic GH1, after that I had a Nikon d5200 and now the a6500. please also note that I only used it for a few weeks, so bar far not used to all it can offer. so far I have a 35f/1.8 and 18-105f/4. my main use cases - kids running about, kids sports activities, general family photos (when I feel like carrying along something heavier than my phone) and videos of kids stuff. pros: light great picture quality great video quality very fast AF lots of features I did not notice overheating yet, but I never recorded for more than 20 min yet. battery life is OK (I have 3 batteries and that works well). cons: start-up time is not like DSLR (especially with a motorised zoom lens like teh 18-105) - this is my only real problem. if you power off to save battery, you need to provision a good few seconds (10+?) to get it back to ready. features need to be found through menus and buttons (and you have to remember which state gives what setting) - this is a matter of training. it feels like it was designed for the wide AF-A focus mode, and in other modes (like centre) it shows you there is a face, but you need to have it in the focus markers (or use touch screen) to get focus - that may be me still learning it. the UI (like the gyro display) is not 'live-fast' (I am not sure I tries the 120fps EVF yet. BTW, it took me a while to figure out the picture settings (had to download the actual full-blown manual).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Some huge features in a very small package

Body Only 05 December 2017 by jhmaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall I am very pleased with my a6500. I bought it for video, but I am considering expanding the system and replacing my Canon stills kit (2 full frame EOS bodies and lenses from 15mm to 300mm). I have been working as a stills photographer for over 20 years and have used the EOS system all that time. Only now am I considering changing. As far as video goes the camera is also very impressive. On a one handed gimbal it is fantastic. Small and light, and the auto-focus does a great job. I heard a few negative things in reviews. Poor menus, battery life, screen brightness (particularly in 4K), touch screen responsiveness were all mentioned as was overheating. It's cold here so I haven't given the overheating issue a hard test yet but I have had it recording back to back 29'50" in 4K without problems. The batteries do go quickly but I have spares. Other than that those criticisms seem to be exaggerated. Downsides. NO CHARGER. That is just mean. I don't like the Play Memories stuff - put all the necessary stuff in the camera from the start. Panasonic does. Seems like a small thing, but the strap eyes rattle (not good for video) and need to be removed. Some manufacturers build in rigid ones into the body (Canon) that make no sound. I particularly love the fact that this is a very good stills and video camera and yet it is so small and light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

So fast for sports.

Body Only 04 December 2017 by djshorte (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy using this camera. Its so fast for sports I catch 95% of my shots now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Performer

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 03 December 2017 by Walkingseed (USA)

I have had my camera for about a year shooting video, stills, wildlife and scenery. It has travelled with me from desert heat to Antarctica, chasing whales in zodiacs. Fast shutter speeds allowed me to freeze birds and whales. No problems with focusing on fast moving critters. I got it as an alternate to my A7 to extend zoom capabilty of ny 70-300 to 450mm. It works well in dimly lit bars and bright snow. Battery life could be better but thats what soare batteries and pockets are for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very nice camera! Great in low light!

Body Only 02 December 2017 by Rastapoliceman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily to shoot video and it doesn’t disappoint. The quality is superb and it’s low light capability is beautiful. It’s well made and feels robust. Most of the operation is very intuitive and the menus are easy to navigate. My only slight niggle is the size and position of the video record button. I’ve looked at allocating a custom button to this, but it doesn’t seem possible... maybe it is ? I’d looked at the BMPCC and the Panasonic, but the specification and versatility of this system made it my first choice. All in all it really is an amazing specification camera and I love using it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This really is a pro grade camera, superb quality.

Body Only 26 November 2017 by Luapmac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from the superb a6000 and wow the upgrade is worth it. Really enjoying the addition of the touch screen and upgraded evf (electronic view finder). Coupled with the brilliant Sony 18-105mm F4.0 I am getting the best images ever. Take time to get to know the camera and you will be rewarded with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Quality Imaging

Body Only 25 November 2017 by Famous (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am pleased with this camera. Very quality images. I am new to photography and video and this camera has been a great one to learn on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

the quality you`d expect from Sony

Body Only 22 November 2017 by timbo1965 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Video Great Lens Great Pictures I had to save to buy this camera but I wanted the best i could afford and this and the A6500 has certainly delivered on every front. I particularly like the apps!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 21 November 2017 by Cucciman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

During my latest trip to Tanzania I tested a Sony A6300 and I fell in love with the picture quality and its small size factor that is ideal for candid photos. So I decided to buy the A6500 as soon as I got back home. As professional reporter I work with travel magazines and I need an instrument to pair with my full frame equipment. I think that in many occasions the A6500 is much more useful than a larger and bulky camera. After all I need to be ready to capture a shot anytime and carrying with me the heavy equipment of full frame cameras with all the lenses is out of question. Sony A6500, specially together with the convenient 16-70 f4, is the perfect tool to have with me full time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just perfect

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 19 November 2017 by dev84 (USA)

It would take a lot of time for me to explain why this camera is perfect. I had nex-5n, a500, a5100, a6000 and now a6500. With this new model all shortcomings of earlier models are addressed. For example with a6500 you can manually (with one press of customized button) switch from viewfinder to lcd screen and proximity sensor turns on and off the viewfinder when it's selected, this way it's possible to have camera turned on with screen and viewfinder off. This was not possible in a6000, it was possible only to turn off the screen but the back light was always on. There is a lot of small and big modifications in a6500, it's a very high quality professional product - You can't go wrong with it! I use mine with selp18105g which is very nicely balanced with the camera, and a perfect fit to hold in hands while using it. Thx dev

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Overall a good camera

Body Only 19 November 2017 by Jon123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased for the 120fps & 4K feature which I am happy with so far. A good little camera overall, however the menu system is tricky to get your head around. It’s compact size is also a big bonus - although it’s battery life is very poor - and the fact you only get one battery with this camera is disappointing due to this. Canon give two batteries with their cameras and there are functions on their models which I enjoy more than the Sony range due to its simplicity. The autofocus is okay - it works eventually - but I’ve found it to be slow on ocassions. A few issues, but on a whole I’m happy with my purchase due to the features it has as well as the cost being reasonable enough for my use purposes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great form-factor but disappointing

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 16 November 2017 by wrw627cinti (USA)

Several things exacerbate my dislike for the camera, e.g. 1. Deplorable battery life; just not big enough for all the things requiring juice; start-up lag time is a couple of seconds. 2. Fiddley little controls are ruff for old shakey fingers: the way some function suddenly doesn't work is often an inadvertent button-push that toggles an unwanted function 3. Rear LCD screen is impossible to read in strong sunlight - thereby hindering access to menus and adjustments like exposure comp! 4. Focus points should be accessible by touching rear screen, but that means they are reset to some corner by your cheek unless you lock them to, for instance, the center position. Focus point indicators very hard to see in bright sunlight; focusing via the contrast-detection is slow and fails more than in my Canon...an 8 year old technology! Phase detection focusing is only available IF you use the big A-mount lenses with an adapter!!! 5. Lens zoom ring and focus ring are virtually touching each other...easily mistaken if trying to touch-up focus; also, compared to every other ILC camera I've owned, mounting the lens to body feels "scratchy" and harsh - not precise. 6. Removal of SD card impaired by door only opening 90°: a finger nail buster. 7. In spite of largish APS-C sensor, the noise at even 800 DIN is noticeable. Stuff I've read says the new BSI (backside illuminated) sensors are the way of the future as they greatly reduce noise at high sensitivity. But, of course, that's another drain on the pathetic battery.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Simply the best

Body Only 13 November 2017 by Sonyboy 42 (United Kingdom)

Having had the experience of large dslr’s and struggling with the weight and awkwardness I invested in the original Sony e series cameras and lenses and progressed to the current A6500 and what a pleasure it is to handle and use, not heavy or awkward, quality is excellent and a joy to use, quite simply the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

Body Only 12 November 2017 by ELam (United Kingdom)

I am happy with all the feature from A6500 and is compatible with all my Sony E-mount lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just keep getting better and better

Body Only 11 November 2017 by Elliott C (United Kingdom)

I have used Sony cameras for a while now and I have recently acquired the a6500 and what can I say another great quality camera. I am still learning about the. Camera but so far so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

Body Only 06 November 2017 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I traded in my A6300 for it and it has lived up to my expectations. A very good camera. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile basis for system

Body Only 05 November 2017 by Mike565 (United Kingdom)

I bought the A6500 as an addition to my a6000. There are two main advantages which it has over the a6000, IBIS and the ability to tag photos with GPS data. The in-body image stabilisation means I can get great results from all my old Minolta lenses. I have tried GPS tagging before, with a phone app that needs clock synchronisation between the phone and camera, and then using Lightroom to complete the process. The Sony app works by connecting the phone and camera when you switch on the camera, and the phone sends the GPS data to the camera when you take a photo, all via Bluetooth. Very simple, and works every time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very good

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 09 October 2017 by chopin864 (USA)

a very good camera. i wish the touchscreen will be better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Near perfect ‘Go Anywhere’ camera!

Body Only 09 October 2017 by Injun (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A6500 was bought as a replacement or upgrade to my A6000, particularly for its features: improved sensor, 5-axis ISS, touch screen and better ergonomics. Indeed, A6500 has not disappointed me! Majority of my praises will already have been published .... so I would like to focus on couple ‘mods’ Sony should make via the next Firmware Update: 1. Ability to switch-off ‘Touch Screen’ option or make it a Custom Option. 2. Electronic Level display should larger and brighter. 3. Display short explanation of menu selection/option (see or similar to Panasonic LX100 system). Otherwise, A6500 is an excellent (near perfect) camera and I would highly recommend to any photographer either upgrading or from new.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love the camera

Body Only 23 September 2017 by N8ty (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have very much enjoyed playing around with the camera. It has great colors and even tone. The biggest thing is that I don’t like the light meter as much seems to underexpose, so I had to adjust the metering modes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

This little buddy have all!

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 22 September 2017 by StoykoLY (USA)

This little buddy have all what I need for video and photo needs. Compact body, in camera stabilization, big sensor with 24MP, full sensor read 6K for 4K movie recording, slow motion, S-Log, Incredible auto focus, amazing low light performance and so many other things! I stop here because is to many things that I like :) p.s. For users who talk of poor battery live: I adapt 5200mAh battery for hot shoe mount and because camera allow usb charge I can shoot all day :) For overheat problem I test camera with 4K plus activated auto focus,WiFi, Bluetooth, External battery plus internal attached and write 32GB SD cart on one file with NO PROBLEM on 30 degrees Celsius.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little package

Body Only 19 September 2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent AF and IQ. Handy in the pocket and works well with E and FE lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Lots of different features and options.

Body Only 04 September 2017 by Steve_t (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera because of its size since I was going on holiday to China and didn't want to carry my Sony a77 and lenses because they are too heavy.. The standard selp1650 lens is very good wide open and zoomed out (landscapes and quality holiday snaps) but not particularly good for portraits. More apsc portrait lens options would be appreciated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Compact with very high quality images

Body Only 27 August 2017 by Hariseldon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A recent purchase and overall very good. Compact size with sensor quality very close to full frame. I purchased with 16-70 f4 Zeiss Sony lens and find this to produce high quality images, good low light performance and the lens is compact with an equivalent 24-105mm in full frame terms, focus acquisition is very good, quick and consistent, tracking is pretty good. Previous full frame cameras have been Nikon D4, D810 and Leica M240 and the overall image quality is in the same ball park with a lens camera combination dramatically lighter and more compact. Clearly slower lens and the APS C sensor reduces the out of focus element available but the smaller lens is adequate in this area with attractive broken at the longer end of the focal length range.. Very highly featured camera, easy to ignore these but in fact the anti motion blur trick of combining four frames really does work incredibly well as an example, other features I didn't think I would use are pretty good. Highly customisable which makes for a potentially steep learning curve, fairly complex menu structure but the camera gives great images out of the box and one can take full advantage of the extra features , customisation etc in a slower manner, as you develop experience with the camera. Viewfinder is very good , screen is clear but not 100% in very bright conditions, touch screen for focus works well, even when using the camera at eye level. I previously had an Olympus OMD EM1 with 12-40 lens ( equiv 24-80mm) alongside my bigger full frame cameras but it was actually heavier than this combination and the quality was markedly lower than the full frame cameras, relatively poor high ISO and significantly less dynamic range whilst this camera provides great images in the same ball park as the full frame cameras. The free Capture One software is very good and the heavily discounted PRO version is a true bargain , I did not expect it to be so good and I am a convert now from the Lightroom subscription package. Overall very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera with some design flaws

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 24 August 2017 by SKiD12 (USA)

I am satisfied with picture quality and autofocus. What bothers me is dimming of the display (camera display is unusable in sunny weather) and lower quality of 1080/50p than on old A6000. I would also appreciate custom menu.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing Video Camera!

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 21 August 2017 by Stef929292 (USA)

The A6500 Is a great all around video camera, your able to use it as a B-Roll camera, a main camera, or anything you need it for. It doesn't over heat when you record for prolonged periods in 4K. I absolutely love this camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

Body Only 18 August 2017 by kam6140 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very good image quality an the best autofocus camera ever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lots of features, crummy WiFi app

Body Only 10 August 2017 by KJMaui4064 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to improve the quality of my travel pix - landscapes demand more detailed images than I get from pocketable cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love this camera

Body Only 07 August 2017 by Bird Man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from the a6000 to this a6500. Loved the a6000 but really love this a6500. The focus is faster and tack on most of the time compared to the older version and way better than my old Nikon. I shoot wildlife mostly birds. I purchased the 70/300 G lens for it which to my understanding brings it up to a 450mm on the smaller formate. Have taken some great photos of peregrine falcons flying and diving. Can't get a faster critter than that to photograph and the focus does an amazing job. Would like to see Sony make more long range telephoto lenses that will work with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 27 July 2017 by jh28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently took this camera to Kew Gardens in London and it performed very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Very fine body, frustrating interface.

Body Only 23 July 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The actual camera is excellent - very high quality captures in all lights, and the actual photo-taking is generally easy to do. Some useful settings including one to take 3 photos in rapid succession, with an f-stop up and down on either side of that set. However the overall interface, like most Sony cameras, is horrendously difficult to negotiate, and the fact that the touch-screen only allows touching to select focus point rather than options within menus is a trick missed. Hopefully some of these criticisms will be addressed in software updates - the hardware is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Excellent Camera

Body Only 17 July 2017 by macman2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a migrant from the DSLR world, this camera has everything that I moved formats for. Small size, features to compete and beat the best Canon and Nikon have to offer. Truly brilliant!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing light weight camera

Body Only 16 July 2017 by a6300 user (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

my 3rd of the a 6000 range, the 6000 was good, the 6300 very good, the 6500 very good just got even better

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

I haven't been able to format the SD Card.

Body Only 26 June 2017 by j8castro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had Sony Before and they seemed simpler to use. I have yet to take a picture

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Great upgrade - at a price!

Body Only 19 June 2017 by Old_wump (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as an upgrade to a Sony A6300. Five axis stabilisation, an improved grip and a much improved menu system are all excellent. The new touch screen is of limited functionality but fulfills it's primary function of focus point selection admirably. This limitation reduced 5 stars to 4. There are improvements in video functionality. It was tough wading through less than adequate manuals (on-line) even as an experienced user of the A6300 but third party tutorials and blogs helped. Overall, as an upgrade, it is expensive, but more comparable with other systems if chosen "stand alone". Sony need to improve the manual in the same way they have improved the menu tree.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

I keep discovering new features

Body Only 18 June 2017 by Roberts12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little camera is amazing. I keep finding new features I didn't know existed and am thoroughly enjoying the camera. Its amazing what you can do with a box, some buttons, a sensor, a lens mount, and most of all, a computer with software! Not like the film cameras of old!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 18 June 2017 by AJames (USA)

Fast focus, light and easy to use. I just mind blowing to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent APS-C Camera!!

Body Only 15 June 2017 by jlozano281 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is the best mirrorless you can buy!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little pocket rocket

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 08 June 2017 by Muflonizacija (USA)

I am a Nikon user and I wanted something small and compact that delivers a good video. I shoot weddings 95% of my time and I shoot video so I wanted to try something I can travel easy and something that is not super heavy like my Nikon cameras. Guys this camera is beast, built quality is amazing, 4K video crisp, low light amazing, lot better than one on my friends GH5. Autofocus fast and responsive. I am more than happy. I am using it with Sigma 30mm f/1.4. Only downside if you ask me is complicated menu, because I am used to Nikon simplicity and battery life is bad. Other than that it is a pocket rocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

a6500 delivers beyond expecations

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 05 June 2017 by SmileySpencer (USA)

Purchased the a6500 two months ago and cannot be more happy and impressed. I take a lot of sports photography (indoor and outdoor) and need the speed but weight also plays an important role. Moving over from Nikon and having early adopted the RX100 for casual compact needs I'm truly a Sony convert and raving fan. The images are beautiful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0