Starting at

P 149,999.00

157

4.5 based on 157 customer reviews

103
38
10
3
3
Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

What an upgrade !

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 20 April 2022 by Santesson_89 (United Kingdom)

I updated from the A7III and I couldn't be happier, the camera responsiveness is fantastic, the flip screen makes life so much easier and tons of other features will make you appreciate the camera even more !

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Beware of Overheating Issues.

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 23 February 2022  (USA)

I want to love it but, while setting it up along with a YouTube video last night it overheated in an hour and turned off. Had to extend the overheating threshold. This was without videoing or taking multiple pictures. Just set up, I want to love it but this frightens me. Hopefully this can be fixed with an update SOON!

3

0

167 Customer Reviews

0

High quality camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 26 June 2022 by Adj026 (Singapore)

So far so good, no regrets buying. With this camera equipped, I hope I could start a career in wedding photography.

0

0

0

One of the best hybrid camera

Body Only 22 June 2022 by HomoSapiens Jeff (Malaysia)

Bought this camera a month ago, using it along with my A7iii. Performance is so much faster and easier to use compare to A7iii.

0

0

0

Plenty of knobs and buttons, yet easyish to use

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 22 June 2022 by Petertheelder (United Kingdom)

Produces good images for enthusiast user. Does what it says on the tin.

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
24 June 2022

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your ILCE-7M4 and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members!
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia @Sony Support UK

0

good for entry level bird eye tracking

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 19 June 2022 by Hammyuk (United Kingdom)

Purchesed this for the bird eye tracking as the a7riv lacks this feature and the a1 is out my price range, menus east to use , could do with a pre shot mode to anticipate action that is going to happen ( ie bird taking off ) the bird eye tracking still needs tweaking as it is pretty poor at locking on and actually finding the eye which i can see perfectly.

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
21 June 2022

Hi Hammyuk,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.

When using Face/Eye focus, make sure to check these settings: https://bit.ly/3bhs9Rz & https://bit.ly/3y7msOT.

Also, rest assured, we'll pass your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

Amazing camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 16 June 2022 by DennisLee (Singapore)

After I purchased this camera, I love taking pictures even more. Best camera ever.

0

0

0

Sony a7iv overheat

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 15 June 2022 by Nicored (Indonesia)

My sony a7iv very fast focus, AF excellent, but very fast overheat. :(

0

0

0

Great all round camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 13 June 2022 by John 1651 (United Kingdom)

Had this camera for 2 weeks and found it to be an excellent all rounder, the new menu is a definite improvement.

1

1

0

Annoyed

Body Only 12 June 2022 by Masana (USA)

The Raw Image quality don’t work and keeps giving me a error message This operation or setting not available as follows and well as the Noise Reduction. So now I have to send the camera back and wait for a new and hope it Dont give me the same issues. The camera does take nice photos so far but this is annoying only had the camera for a week. And customers service was rude tech support was no support.

0

0

0

Amazing Features

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 12 June 2022  (Malaysia)

I upgraded from A7II a month ago and so happy that I made the right choice. The noise handling is superb that makes night photography so easy and fun. Plus the number focus points tremendous and so accurate. The Face/Eyes AF for Human/Bird/Animal is very useful and accurate.

0

0

0

beautiful

Body Only 11 June 2022  (Philippines)

i bought this cam a month now now only 1 compalin is overheating

0

0

0

WHAT a camera!

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 10 June 2022 by The Robot Boogie (United Kingdom)

Did a lot of research before buying so I understood how to use its strengths over APSC crop sensors. Stunning photo and video quality. Using manual mode with my vintage Olympus Zuiko lenses (which also work on my vintage OM1 film camera).

2

2

0

A very complicated camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 09 June 2022 by BrianOfThirsk (United Kingdom)

My first reaction was "Have I bought a camera that is much too complex for me to understand and use properly ??".

0

5

Response From Sony Support Team
13 June 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review and we're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties using your camera.

We'd like to highlight that you can always use the Help Guide available here: https://bit.ly/3QitMP2.

If you still need any further assistance, feel free contact us by following this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL, we will gladly assist you further.

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Best Sony Yet !!

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07 June 2022 by ChrisMC1959 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace an a7iii which i have given to my Son, which has been a brilliant camera from day 1. This, however, is so much more!! The slightly larger dimensions make it feel as if it has "Grown up" and the new button positions make it even easier to use and reduces the likelihood of hitting the video button the back button focus when in a hurry!! The new menu is much more "user friendly" and guides you through items rather than being illogical and confusing!!

1

0

0

focusing is amazing!

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 04 June 2022 by r011erb0y (United Kingdom)

Super happy with this camera,so glad i trading in my canon gear in for it .sony is the way foward ...... Instagram @r011erb0y

0

0

0

Just One Missing feature

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 03 June 2022 by LePapyDuWeb (United Kingdom)

I like it under every aspect, photo and video. The only missing feature, for me, is the traditional user's manual.

0

0

0

Good, but overheats easily

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 02 June 2022 by JBCL (United Kingdom)

Good camera! But for video shooting there are some problems. Despite following Sony's recommendations, the camera overheats. We also have static sound on input three, with and without the powersupply connected. We have tried different microphones with no luck.

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
06 June 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review and we're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your camera, this is not the norm as we strive to deliver the best quality possible.

We'd also like to highlight that if the temperature of the camera tends to rise when shooting movies continuously, and you may feel that the camera is warm. This is not a malfunction. Also, [Internal temp. high. Allow it to cool.] may appear. In such cases, turn the power off and cool the camera and wait until the camera is ready to shoot again.

As for the Microphone issue, could you ensure that your camera is running on the latest software version by following theses links:https://bit.ly/3P6nLnL (Windows) & https://bit.ly/3vWNKXd (Mac)?

If the issue remains, try resetting the camera to its factory settings by following this link: https://bit.ly/3x24Xha.

If the issue is still disrupting you, we'd love to offer extra assistance. Feel free to contact us by following this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL, we will gladly assist you further!

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Overheats

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 02 June 2022 by Deadroute (United Kingdom)

Even with temp shut off set to high, overheats after about 20mins, repair centre can’t find fault. Avoid

2

0

Response From Sony Support Team
06 June 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review and we're sorry to hear that you're facing an overheating issue with your camera.

We'd also like to highlight that if the temperature of the camera tends to rise when shooting movies continuously, and you may feel that the camera is warm. This is not a malfunction. Also, [Internal temp. high. Allow it to cool.] may appear. In such cases, turn the power off and cool the camera and wait until the camera is ready to shoot again.

If the issue happens constantly, could you ensure that your camera is running on the latest software version by following theses links: https://bit.ly/3P6nLnL (Windows) & https://bit.ly/3vWNKXd (Mac)?

If it remains, try resetting the camera to its factory settings by following this link: https://bit.ly/3x24Xha.

If the issue is still disrupting you, feel free to contact us by following this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL to provide us with more details about the issue so that we can better assist you.

Mennah @Sony Support UK


0

Compact, powerful, leading edge technology and a g

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 02 June 2022 by leo liam (United Kingdom)

Just purchased, so early days. Have previously been a Nikon for user for over 50years, but having seen the the reviews and handled the camera I decided to go mirrorless. So far everything is wonderful, with general ease of use and quality of photographs.

1

0

0

Almost a perfect tool for hybrid shooter!

Body Only 30 May 2022 by Christnalter B (Malaysia)

A perfect balance between Alpha R and Alpha S series. The big grip is very needed when using a huge lens. Also, the switch button for camera / video mode really change the game during run-and-gun situation. This is my first full frame camera and I love everything about it! However, there are two things that might be a trouble (sometimes): - Articulating screen blocked by camera strap. - Noticeable rolling shutter in 4K video. I could understand why Sony limited this camera to 4k60. For the next gen A7V, I hope Sony would eventually give us 4k120 as well.

0

0

0

Great Camera!

Body Only 29 May 2022 by Jimmyjacker (Thailand)

Not quite used to Sony interface but this camera helps me a lot and the results are brilliant!

0

0

0

Fantastic camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 26 May 2022 by MattyN (United Kingdom)

Very impressed with the new A7IV a big step up from the A7III. Fantastic features amazing image quality and much improved menus. Very happy!

0

0

0

Giant Leap from OG Sony A7

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 26 May 2022 by Nick_vk (United Kingdom)

After 8 years of the first Sony A7 the upgrade finally had to be done. What a giant leap the A7 IV is, even just using the original 28-70 kit lens as a stopgap while I wait for the new 24-70 GM II to arrive. The focus is faster than I can follow and so far nails it every time, the people and animal autofocus modes are pure witchcraft in how good they are. Both photos and video look amazing, though I am still trying to get to grips with the video modes. Taking photos on full auto I was shocked at how high-ISO biased it was, but still looked remarkably crisp and low in noise. I've never felt comfortable going much over 1600 ISO, but that is perhaps my film shooting days still holding me back. Having done some night time photos on both full auto and manual to compare, the camera nails it technically every time, the only need for manual is for being artistic. The only downside of how much this camera can do, and do really well, is that yes, I really needed to read that manual.

0

0

0

beautiful camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 25 May 2022 by MurrayMint (United Kingdom)

I already own a Fuji XT3 and wanted to upgrade. Could not be happier with the A7 IV. It's tactile, intuitive and powerful - I love using this camera.

0

0

0

Slightly Disappointed So Far

ilce-7m4-uc2 25 May 2022 by hwilson8 (USA)

I am slightly disappointed with not having a battery charger included in quite an expensive camera.

0

0

0

EXCELLENT CAMERA

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 20 May 2022 by T6518 (United Kingdom)

I purchased the camera a few weeks ago, upgrading from a Sony A7 iii. It was a wise move. The Camera does everything I could wish for, and the quality of movies and photos is none other than outstanding

0

0

0

Greats

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 19 May 2022 by Abraatjo (Indonesia)

So happy in used for photo and video cinematic and then carakter

0

0

0

The best hybrid camera ever!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 17 May 2022 by Emrem (Malaysia)

Bought it last month, I'm a user from APS-C for the past 8 years. Upgrade to full-frame makes me feel tralalalala! All my dream specs from slow-mo to 4K, 33 megapixels, S-log & s-cinetone, great IBIS, awesome autofocus & handling great lowlight, this has been my dream camera since it was the first announcement in October. I will not look back to get another camera or upgrade unless there is another investment to get FX3 or 4 (future release). Thank sony for the great hybrid camera for photo & video!

0

0

0

very good

Body Only 16 May 2022 by TOR13 (Thailand)

I bought this a week ago, very happy with sony A7IV

0

0

0

Best ergonomics ever!

Body + 28–70 mm Zoom Lens 15 May 2022 by Dr Panos (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently and I am impressed by the level of customization you can have in this camera. Within minutes, everything was so intuitive... I can just think about the photos now and not about the camera settings. Also, I haven't seen autofocus working like that... Simply amazing!

0

0

0

So far so good

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15 May 2022 by footprint photography (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as an extra body to support my Sony Alpha 1. There are some features (the articulated back for one) that I wish was on the A1. Only had the camera a week or so but so far it is an excellent camera. The 10fps is a bit slow for action but for things like weddings or events it should be superb. My wife and I both enjoy using it and the images that come out of the sensor are stunningly good. The 4k video is equally good

0

0

0

Grey camera.

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 14 May 2022 by Daniel75d (United Kingdom)

Perfect, I am really happy. The only thing missing Video side is a video raw out, even only 25p. That can give a really Hight value to this camera.

0

0

Response From Sony support team
16 May 2022

Hi Daniel75d,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
We'll make sure to pass your feedback about the video RAW out through the proper channels for future consideration.
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

A7IV Cool All function

Body Only 10 May 2022 by Mr Neng A7IV (Thailand)

I Happy For A7IV All function every and sony The development all the time

0

0

0

Eye focus should be called eyelash focus.

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07 May 2022 by Cashman2112 (United Kingdom)

Really annoyed that I went for the A74 over the A73. It seemed like a no brainer and after owning a A72 and I really was looking forward to having great Eye AF on my new camera. Really annoyed that even after the firmware update it’s still front focusing on most shots.

0

3

Response From Sony support team
09 May 2022

Hi Cashman2112,

We appreciate your feedback on the Real-time Eye AF function of ILCE-7M4.
We're sorry to learn that you're experiencing an issue eye focus.
We have released an update that resolves the issue as promised which you can find here: https://bit.ly/3yp0Qhv. If you updated the camera and the issue still there, we recommend following the steps below:
-Remove the battery pack, wait for about one minute, re-insert the battery pack, then turn on the power.
-Initialize the settings: https://bit.ly/38h2ffp
If the issue persists, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Great hybrid camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07 May 2022 by Mpnde (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera on back order and it was well worth the wait. The image coming out of this camera is phenomenonal, and the eye autofocus is crisp

0

0

Response From Sony support team
09 May 2022

Hi Mpnde,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Very good camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07 May 2022 by Jono12 (United Kingdom)

Bought a few weeks ago still getting used to it after a move from Canon. Overall a great camera although the updating of firmware leaves something to be desired

0

0

0

Great features

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 05 May 2022 by Domotions (United Kingdom)

Bought this one and really happy with it. Good quality images.

2

0

Response From Sony Support Team
09 May 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and happy with the picture quality we always aim to deliver! We're also glad to keep you as one of our loyal family members and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come!

Moreover, don't hesitate to reach out to us over the phone, chat support and email using the details here: https://bit.ly/3xPUapp to provide us with any further feedback you may have, we’re always delighted to hear from our customers!

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Overall Great Camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 05 May 2022 by JBinx (United Kingdom)

Had this for about a month and it’s brilliant, image quality is best in class and the features are plentiful. The cons are the overheating, the crop in 4k 60 (not the biggest issue though) and I’d of liked there to be 2 of the same dual card slot with the Type A CFexpress as they’re fast. But I get why there’s just the one of those.

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
09 May 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and happy with the picture quality we always aim to deliver! We're also glad to keep you as one of our loyal family members and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come!

As for the overheating issue, could you ensure that your camera is running on the latest software version by following these links: https://bit.ly/3P6nLnL (Windows) & https://bit.ly/3vWNKXd (Mac)?

If the issue remains, try resetting the camera to its factory settings by following the steps described here: https://bit.ly/3ypWLdg.

If the issue is still disrupting you, we'd love to offer extra assistance. Feel free to contact us by following this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL, we will gladly assist you further!

Moreover, regarding supporting dual Type A memory cards, we appreciate your valuable feedback and we've passed it on the proper channels to be taken into consideration. to read more about the supported memory cards by this camera, check out the following link: https://bit.ly/3sohgTG.

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Disappointed in video mode over heats

Body Only 05 May 2022 by Erimages (Singapore)

I bought this because of it’s hybrid build. Good for photography, however when using it for video it is very disappointing due to the over heating issues. Even in an aircon room, it is heating up really fast, although still operational in air conditioned environment. The A7iv performance in outdoor is terrible as it gets overheat within 5 minutes in a hot sunny weather, even when Auto power off is set to high. Making it unusable for video functions outdoor. Will only recommend for photo. Unless a firmware update is able to fix the heat issues.

1

0

0

Reliable

ilce-7m4-uc2 04 May 2022 by Apocalipsis (USA)

This camera has been such an amazing gift for Christmas. I have had it for almost 2 years and it has been so reliable and useful. If you needed to upgrade to a camera that gives stunning results this is a good starting camera.

0

0

0

Awesome

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 04 May 2022 by Den101 (United Kingdom)

My wife got me this camera at Xmas and it’s fantastic in each and every way . Highly recommend. And a great price to boot

1

0

0

Poor image quality

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 04 May 2022 by moldova1959 (United Kingdom)

I received this a couple of weeks ago and I have to say I am not impressed, my a7iii produces better images, I have used both cameras with the same lens and settings and the a7iv is very poor, images are darker and not as sharp as the a7iii. I dont know if it is a fault with the camera or not but I dont think I will be keeping it.

1

1

Response From Sony Support Team
06 May 2022

Hi,

Thank you for leaving your review, and we're sorry to hear that our product hasn't satisfied your expectations, this is not the norm as we strive to deliver the best quality possible.

As an attempt of rectifying the issue, could you ensure that your camera is running on the latest software version by following this link: https://cutt.ly/SG1tjeb (Windows) & https://cutt.ly/RG1tTFC (Mac).

We'd also like to highlight that if the subject is beyond the flash range (the distance that the flash can reach), the pictures will be dark because the flash light cannot reach the subject. If you change the ISO, the flash range also changes.

Moreover, please follow the troubleshooting steps mentioned here: https://cutt.ly/rG1pZ7L.

If the issue persists, try to initialize the settings by following the steps described here: https://cutt.ly/gG1t883.

If the issue is still disrupting you, we would love to offer extra assistance. Feel free to contact us by following this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL, we will gladly assist you!

Mennah @Sony Support UK



0

Great for Video

Body Only 30 April 2022 by tvnath (Singapore)

I was waiting for Sony a7Siii, but the set of specs in that camera is an overkill for me. a7iv is just right in the price and features for me who use the camera mainly for video.

0

0

0

OK BUT NOT AS ADVERTISED SO FAR

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 28 April 2022 by derekseaward (United Kingdom)

I bought this especially for the Sony quality I have with my a7r but unfortunately it doesn't shoot RAW tethered

2

1

Response From Sony Support Team
02 May 2022

Hi Derek,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties shooting RAW tethered with the camera.

You can shoot raw images, and tether the camera to the PC with the combination of some of the camera settings.
First, you need to set the camera shoot format to your desired mode: https://bit.ly/3OUeEGD.
Then you need to select ''PC Remote Function'' to ON: https://bit.ly/3F7PUqb.
Then connect the camera to Imaging edge desktop, and you can shoot, and save the images both on the camera, and the PC: https://bit.ly/3KzILQq & https://bit.ly/3F9VOXS.


If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

A Really Good Full Frame Camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 27 April 2022 by ThadeusB (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera for a short time. However, with the lenses I bought with it I am getting superb results - beautiful A3+ prints. It took a while to learn the menu system, however, it is layed out fairly logically. The camera is easy to set up for custom modes and I love the 'Back Focus' button, a great feature for wildlife photography. What is missing: focus stacking and bracketing for modes other than exposure. The overall quality is superb. I am growing to love this camera. My next purchase will be the FE 200-600mm G OSS lens. I have yet to use it for video. Highly recommended.

2

0

0

I like soft skin effect

Body Only 24 April 2022 by Tanawit (Thailand)

I like New function Ex. Dual dial easy to convince for user

0

0

0

Better upgrade compare to previous model A7ii

Body Only 21 April 2022 by RonneyW (Malaysia)

Very happy to own this hybrid camera for my personal and business used

0

0

0

What an upgrade !

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 20 April 2022 by Santesson_89 (United Kingdom)

I updated from the A7III and I couldn't be happier, the camera responsiveness is fantastic, the flip screen makes life so much easier and tons of other features will make you appreciate the camera even more !

7

0

0

Great features and controls for any photo or video

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 18 April 2022 by T2357s (Malaysia)

I bought this as an upgrade from my aging A6000. The jump in quality over my old camera is astounding. The controls available makes it possible to shoot in any situation. This camera provides the perfect platform for me to hone my skill.

0

0

0

Exceeded my expectations

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15 April 2022 by WildernessWays (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a month ago although I always had this camera in mind from before it was even released. Seeing all the specs announced it looked to meet everything I personal need from a camera. The A7iv does not disappoint. Super happy with my camera and all the customisation it offers. The mode dial is a blessing for what I do.

0

0

0

Much simpler and more intuitive

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15 April 2022 by Bathboy2 (United Kingdom)

A while ago I bought an A7C as a travel camera and was really impressed with the quality of the images and the ease of use compared to my A7Riii. When I read the reviews of the A7IV I decided to bite the bullet and sell my A7Riii and get the newly launched A7IV. No regrets whatsoever. The camera seems to be so simple to use to get great images. Also the new menu structure means no hunting around for changes. I particularly like the separation into 2 dials of the main setting wheel. I don't take video so just leave it on the still phot and don't have to worry. The autofocus is so quick and reliable. An image attached form my first outing with the camera.

4

1

0

Great Birds eye sensing feature

Body Only 09 April 2022 by Shiang K A (Singapore)

I brought Sony A4 for bird shooting which I get from the additional feature of Bird eyes sensing So far able to capture most of the targeting on the eyes

3

0

0

Great hybrid camera for the enthusiasts

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 06 April 2022 by N Emes (United Kingdom)

I love the upgrade from my previous A7 III. If you only take photos the A7 III is still a very capable alternative and save money towards a decent lens. But if you do videos as well this is hands down the better option, just shame about the crop mode 4K 60 hence the 4stars instead of 5, I`ve owned 2previous generations of Sony cameras and I believe it was about time not to cripple any features on a new model in 2022.

5

0

Response From Sony Support Team
11 April 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and happy with the quality we always aim to deliver! We're also glad to keep you as one of our loyal family members and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come!

Regarding the crop mode issue, we'd like to highlight that you're able to adjust the aspect ratio of the cropping frame using the rear dial L/rear dial R. You can also change the orientation as well as the size of the cropping frame using the front dial or the control wheel. The file format and image quality setting of the cropped image will be the same as those of the original image.

For more details, check out the following link: https://bit.ly/3E1dcNG.

Moreover, don't hesitate to reach out to us over the phone, chat support and email using the details here: https://bit.ly/3xPUapp to provide us with any further feedback you may have, we’re always delighted to hear from our customers!

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Very MORDEN band

Body + 28–70 mm Zoom Lens 03 April 2022 by dougals dad (United Kingdom)

I filmed a young band it was the best video i have ever filmed could not believe the quality

1

0

0

Great but still not enough.

Body Only 02 April 2022 by T2e07 (Singapore)

It's my first sony camera and I love the features. But from the price point and current Era, it should comes with better LCD, blackout free evf and higher frame rate.

0

1

0

Best hybrid camera ever made

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 01 April 2022 by Gabrielcraciun67 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and is the best decision iade as a photographer. The camere has great feature, great autofocus, great button placements, and lots and lots of customization. I love how the camera feels in my hands, while having a very good grip of the camera, so i feel confident when holding it, even woth heavier and longer lenses. Great picture quality, great video quality, a bit dissapointed on the x1 crop but this is just one con for me, the camera has plenty of pros.

4

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 28 March 2022 by janeyD100 (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera a week or so, but immediately impressed by superior speed and accuracy of focusing - esp face recognition. Only thing i dont like as much as the 7M3 is the screen - bit awkward - found M3 much better.

2

0

0

Love Love Love

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 28 March 2022 by Traffik (USA)

Almost 2 weeks in and I’m loving all the features of this Camera and the crisp photos and videos it takes. It also has great build quality because it is fully weather sealed

0

0

0

Perfect for hybrid shooters!

Body Only 28 March 2022 by Richard Anthony (Philippines)

If you don't mind the crop in 4K60, this is a perfect camera for hybrid shooters who need a single camera solution to handle both photo and videos. If you're stepping up from APS-C, take note of the focal range in crop to take full advantage of 4K60 shooting. Main drawback would be the storage solutions as they are quite expensive to utilize S&Q for video. There are workarounds but for my professional use, it is enough.

1

0

0

the best auto continuous focus for hunting birding

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 26 March 2022 by ruddyg (Indonesia)

sony a7iv is the best and more fun with bird's eye focus

0

0

0

Best camera so far

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 25 March 2022 by draganmikki (United Kingdom)

I am new to Sony photographic equipment, and with my limited experience so far I am comfortable in saying that this camera possess the best auto focusing of all cameras I have owned and worked with. I am almost certain the the dynamic range of the sensor is the best I have experienced. Small form factor is appealing feature but for the comfortable handling, when using the most of the Sony lenses, the battery grip is necessary. Quality of the images is beyond my expectations. I do find the menu quite complicated, coming from different systems, but with so many features, and being the hybrid camera, this might be the price to pay. I would not describe the ease of operating the camera as the easiest amongst the more established professional brands, but I approached this camera as a tool more akin to being designed by and for, a contemporary user without modern outlook on photography. So far, I am very happy with the purchase. My views are solely based on photographic use.

16

17

0

Simply Awesome

ilce-7m4-uc2 24 March 2022 by Sam254 (USA)

The A7IV is like a baby A1. Works perfect. The image quality is Amazing.

0

0

0

The best hybrid camera

Body + 28–70 mm Zoom Lens 24 March 2022 by KristianCapuliak (United Kingdom)

So far I bought this camera week ago and it did exceeded all of my expectations. Excellent video performance, excellent photo performance, great menu system coming from previous generation camera.

24

41

0

Good but...

Body Only 24 March 2022 by Novaphoto (Thailand)

Camera operating system freeze and becomes unresponsive. Battery removal reset necessary. 3 times its happened during night time Street photography. Firmware update please Sony.

0

0

0

JACK OF ALL TRICKS BUT MASTER OF SOME.

ilce-7m4-uc2 20 March 2022 by Jll35 (USA)

used this camera for a month now. I'm a sony user of A72,A7R3, A7C, A6600, A6400, A6500,and A6300. Patiently Watch sony improve thier camera with each reneration. My main reason for using sony now is the unlimited recording that help me to do long event plus some photos section. I know there are other company that have unlimited recording time. But AF is also important to me. I have mix feeling using A74 when it come down to video. It's amazing in photos mode. But in video mode, the camera get very hot to touch after an hr or more recording which I did not experienced in A7C or A6600. Even in 4k 420 8bit. And for some strange reason. When I plugged the power bank to extend my record time. The camera overheat even faster then it would have with just the battery. So it actually shorten your recording time with usb-c attached on it. And I cannot record higher then 1080p 60p in S&Q mode with v30 card. Where I was able to record that with A7c and a6600. Over all. This is still a very good hybrid camera. However if you are planning to record any long form in 4k. You should know that overheating is still an issue. YES. I SET THE TEMP. HIGH ON IN THE MENU.

1

0

0

Awesome Upgrade

Body Only 20 March 2022 by Teteksan (Malaysia)

I've used the A7III for almost a year and getting the A7IV was truly an upgrade. I love how now I have 3 custom settings for photo, video and S&Q mode!!! I took it on my trio to Ipoh and it made me realise how convenient getting the camera into the right setting was! My other friends were fumbling with their settings while I just needed to turn 1 or 2 dials and I'm good to shoot!

0

0

0

My first Sony

Body Only 16 March 2022 by Amazing camera (Singapore)

The AutoFocus is amazingly fast and the camera features and functions are just outstanding.

0

0

0

Best camera for Photographer

Body + 28–70 mm Zoom Lens 14 March 2022 by Masst (United Kingdom)

I have used Sony camera in last 4 Years. I am very happy and at the moment I am using Sony A 9 and I was waiting for A7 IV to come and now I bought this camera.

128

43

0

Nice new features

Body + 28–70 mm Zoom Lens 13 March 2022 by 4wdcowboy (United Kingdom)

Coming from A7iii and A7Siii I soon got to grips with most of the features but some of the new things in A7iv are useful and quite impressive. The Focus breathing compensation and Focus Mapping are good examples It's quite difficult to seriously bring up any niggles but batter goes down faster than the A7ii and the 50/60fps 4k crop which makes what is my default option on A7Siii sometimes is annoying. I wonder if there is any way to add a further file quality option which does away with that at expense of some resolution. Anyway great new camera and do hope that focus map at least makes its way to A7Siii too by firmware update

13

19

0

The camera I’ve been waiting for

Body Only 08 March 2022 by rahul131 (Singapore)

After using my a6400 for a couple years I needed something for my pro shoots - this camera is amazing for that. It’s a beast for portraits, and as long as you shoot compressed raw it’s pretty good for sports too. 10FPS at 33Mp is a balance between quantity and manageability of files. Bird Eye AF and real time tracking work amazingly. I used it to track pro swimmers at a meet and it instantly locked focus where it needed to (esp with the new 70-200 F/2.8 attached). My advice: if you’re upgrading from APSC or another ecosystem, get this. However if you already have an A7iii or A7C maybe hold off as those are still excellent cameras.

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

Body + 28–70 mm Zoom Lens 07 March 2022 by D8rters (United Kingdom)

I decided to upgrade from my A mount to a mirrorless E Mount and chose this product as my replacement. I chose this is it had an upgrade in the megapixels, a new menu system and more functionality than my old one. It also had 2 card slots, so that I couls set one up as RAW and the other as a backup in Jpeg. I also like the ability to charge 2 batteries ( I also own a grip) via the USB C slot.

65

42

0

Perfect value

Body Only 04 March 2022 by nixweil (Malaysia)

At this price point, a74 is no doubt the best buy.

1

0

0

GREAT CAMERA!

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 03 March 2022 by FabioFabs88 (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera for less than a week but I already love it. I had hired it before so I know it's incredible.

15

27

Response From Sony support team
07 March 2022

Hi Fabio,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link:
https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Moe @Sony UK