77

4.7 based on 77 customer reviews

62
11
2
0
2
Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best Mirrorlesss 4k Camera

ILCE-7SM3 13 October 2021 by Essay Visuals (United Kingdom)

I have been using this camera for over a year now and its absolutely fantastic camera, the video quality is night and clean especially in low light situations, it's so much easier to colour grade slog3 footages because of the 10bit output my only problem is that Sony should have released this camera years ago instead of making us wait.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Best compact camera ever but…

ILCE-7SM3 14 May 2022 by Daniel75d (United Kingdom)

The best compact camera you can get. The only thing to improve it is that missing a 120p 4K raw out. This can give the a hight value to this camera. It is not compatible with blackmagic recorder you can not use it with DaVinci

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

88 Customer Reviews

0

Great camera all around

ilce-7sm3-uc2 19 July 2022 by XAVIERGFX (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

From photos, to videos this quality and build is like no other.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Weapon

ILCE-7SM3 02 July 2022 by BB007 (United Kingdom)

This is a great piece of kit for outside videography. It’s a bit like an onion loads of layers to learn but is an incredible piece of kit!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good stuff

ilce-7sm3-uc2 29 June 2022 by Ling mai (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the low light and crisp photos. Shooting probe lense is dope on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fantastic features

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 27 June 2022 by limy (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

4k capability is really good and it is good on low light as well!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best compact camera ever but…

ILCE-7SM3 14 May 2022 by Daniel75d (United Kingdom)

The best compact camera you can get. The only thing to improve it is that missing a 120p 4K raw out. This can give the a hight value to this camera. It is not compatible with blackmagic recorder you can not use it with DaVinci

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony support team
16 May 2022

Hi Daniel75d,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
We'll make sure to pass your feedback about the 120p 4K RAW out through the proper channels for future consideration.
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

The best video camera

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 08 May 2022 by edwintan (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using a month, no regret, super awesome quality. Best of its class. I am using it for both photo and video for my stock photo, video production

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EPIC FOOTAGE

ILCE-7SM3/BQE38 07 May 2022  (Philippines) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this april and started testing it out for shoots and I will say, I am amazed. my youtube channel is Marco Mars! Love you Sony!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A fantastic camera for video

ILCE-7SM3 04 April 2022 by BPOC (United Kingdom)

A great low light camera. The flip out screen is a tad feeble and low res but apart from that it excels in every department. Very delighted with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love this camera

ILCE-7SM3 04 April 2022 by DavidKilkelly (United Kingdom)

I waited years for this camera to come out and it has not disappointed. I feel like I'm only scratching the surface with it's capabilities. But most importantly the picture is gorgeous. My only complaint is how much the media cards cost! It makes it very difficult to stock up with reserves. Other than that, no complaints at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A7siii

ILCE-7SM3/BQE38 03 March 2022 by Jhun (Philippines) Verified Purchaser Verified

The new King of lowlight, another great product of Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent video quality

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 14 February 2022 by Shannon86 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from Sony A7iii, this camera is a huge upgrade. Video wise, the quality of the 10-bit 4:2:2 is great given that this is only a mirrorless camera. Now I can shoot in S-log 3 without worry.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent Upgrade Over Predecessor

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 07 February 2022 by Caxton Chow (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall really satisfied with it's autofocus performance (I own previous models as well).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pro Camera for Video

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 05 February 2022 by Breado (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in 1 month ago, love the outcome quality and new menu interface. But lcd flipped screen is bad design for professional use as it will block the HDMI output part, and the monitor is still not clear enough. Another thing I would like to complain about is the lack of install LUT preview function.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing

ILCE-7SM3 29 January 2022 by Blessing333 (United Kingdom)

The best camera right now, I’m enjoying it so much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera but to lock up during a shoot!!

ILCE-7SM3 02 January 2022 by Mack001 (United Kingdom)

Having owned the original camera for 6 months, very carefully looked after, mid way through a Funeral Filming the camera completely froze. All the controls including the On/Off switch were non functional. Finally had to eject the battery to overcome the problem. This corrupted the SD card so I lost all the recording to this point. The battery was a genuine Sony as supplied, the SD cards were Angelbird V90 top of the range. Camera was also powered via a USB Powerbank on full charge. I was only recording in 1080p so was not over stressing the unit with high data rates.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

Response From Sony Support Team
05 January 2022

Hi ,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your ILCE-7SM3.
We highly appreciate your valued feedback and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future considerations.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

THE BEST ALPHA 7S SERIES SO FAR

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 22 November 2021 by KIN LAW (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love my Sony A7S3. The camera’s overall performance is up to my expectation. There are few things on this camera need to be improved:- - Plenty of space for bigger size monitor with higher resolution. - The flip screen's hinge is flimsy, prolong use would break the flip screen. - Locking knob on the mode dial should have use the same locking mechanism as on the exposure compensation dial for consistency and ease of use. - Enable shutter shut-down for sensor protection.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Compact Size Pro-Video Mirrorless Camera

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 24 October 2021 by SmilingAfro91 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been wanting to get a full frame mirrorless video camera that can perform amazingly in low-light. No regrets, worth the wait and the money spent, the versatility and quality of video will be helping me make content for years to come!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome camera, first Full Frame ever owned.

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 24 October 2021 by NaniShoots (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony A7S III is an excellent camera, that opened up a whole new world of image quality that I've never seen or experienced. The low light capabilities in video mode are so insanely good, it can "see" more than what our eyes could under extremely low light situations, but at a cost of noise if one were to boost the ISO too much. Ergonomics are pretty good - thick grip gives a sturdy hold of the camera BUT it can get pretty heavy with bigger lenses. Battery life is really good too - as compared to my old Nikon D5500, and it has USB-PD (Power Delivery) which is a plus to extend battery life or charge (at a slower rate) without the official battery dock. I shoot a little more photos than videos, and 12MP is pretty sad if the shot requires cropping. However, having expensive lenses helps in maintaining the sharpness and allows for slight cropping. As for its price point, it is insanely expensive for what it offers as compared to its competitors - Canon R5/R6. With the recent announcement of the brand new A7 IV, it would seem like a better choice to go for A7 IV as it has almost everything from A7S III at a lower cost (the only downside is cropped 4K60p which sucks in the day and age of 2021). In conclusion, A7S III is a high-quality Flagship level Full Frame camera but geared more towards video-centric than a true "Hybrid-Shooter" camera. The only cons in my opinion are the extremely steep price point and low megapixel count.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera for videography, cinematography, vlog

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 17 October 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been waiting for so long for this camera because always no stock. After pre ordering from Sony, I'm able to get it. The video quality blows my mind. Compare to my Sony A7C, Sony A7S III color range is totally impressive. I can shoot 4K120, 10-bit, 4:2:2 or with SLog3 PP, 4K60, 10-bit, 4:2:2 ProRes on Atomos Ninja V. Easy to edit on DaVinci Resolve 17 because it has so many color range that can be pulled compare to 8-bit camera. The still images also impressive, clear when testing using Sony FE 35mm f1.4 GM lens. IMO, anyone who wants to learn or do pro videography or cinematography or just vlog, this beast is the best choice for all options. Unless if you have the budget for Sony Alpha 1. Also cannot wait to use this camera for travelling and make videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Futures

ILCE-7SM3 14 October 2021 by ayman hijazi (United Kingdom)

Sony is ahead of everyone can't give up their products

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

FANTASTIC VIDEO CAMERA - BUT !!

ILCE-7SM3 14 October 2021 by JASPERIMAGE1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this Camera for Video. Camera is fantastic, however, if you are a Mac computer user, then Firmware Updates are not available as Sony does not have a working software update pack. I eventually had to install Windows 10 on Parallels Desktop so that could update all 3 of my Sony Camera's Firmware.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony support team
18 October 2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Speaker, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're glad to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.

We can see that the latest version of the system software update is compatible with the following Macintosh versions: macOS 10.14, 10.15, 11
But we keep adding new versions that's supported on newer Mac and Windows operating system, so keep an eye on the website for any future updates.
Rest assured, we'll pass your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @ Sony Support UK

0

A game changer

ILCE-7SM3 13 October 2021 by chrisgoor (United Kingdom)

I'm very happy. I can now do tracking shots without having to worry about focussing. This is a great camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Best Mirrorlesss 4k Camera

ILCE-7SM3 13 October 2021 by Essay Visuals (United Kingdom)

I have been using this camera for over a year now and its absolutely fantastic camera, the video quality is night and clean especially in low light situations, it's so much easier to colour grade slog3 footages because of the 10bit output my only problem is that Sony should have released this camera years ago instead of making us wait.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

422 is amazing

ILCE-7SM3 13 October 2021 by Spieluhr (United Kingdom)

There is still some friction when it comes to getting an absolute cinema quality image out of this camera, but it isn't a cinema camera. For its size and price this is a jewell! Capable of almost anything. I wish when Sony stepped up from mk2 to mk3, they would have increased the pixel count to at least 16mp. We do all love the large pixels, but 12mp is barely ok for a photo camera these days. You might as well buy the fx3 or a c70. The photos are actually great, but the low MP just doesn't allow space for professional use when it comes to cropping and manipulating the image.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Camera! Built for video

ILCE-7SM3 13 October 2021 by Nayf (United Kingdom)

I had the A7Siii for 6 months, unfortunately my example had a fault and while it was replaced under warranty very quickly and easily, I personally would recommend the FX3 - its a better example of this camera and more ergonomic for video!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony support team
09 February 2022

Hi Nayf,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that your camera developed a fault.
We appreciate that the failure of any product is both disappointing and inconvenient. As a manufacturer, Sony endeavours to ensure that all of our products meet our reputation for excellent quality and reliability.
However, one of the limitations of electronics is that on some occasions products may fail. To protect our customers in these circumstances, Sony provides a one year guarantee with our consumer products. Of course, we understand your feedback and we have passed them on for future consideration and product development.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Excellent performance

ILCE-7SM3 13 October 2021 by Alexxx8 (United Kingdom)

I bought 10 months ago. Excellent in every way. Great battery life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect camera

ILCE-7SM3 13 October 2021 by Denisx36 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera almost a year ago and have been impressed by the beautiful image it produces

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

impressive little camera,

ILCE-7SM3 13 October 2021 by BrendanR (United Kingdom)

I use this as a B cam to my FX6, the colour science matches so its win win. good AF face detection. amazing iso , and image stabiliser.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
20 January 2022

Hi BrendanR,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera, and for more years to come!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

A7siii

ILCE-7SM3 13 October 2021 by Jimandtonic (United Kingdom)

Ultimately the a7siii is an excellent camera. The image is great and easily comparable to my FS7, if not better. The auto focus is excellent and allows me to cover sport events with great ease. Shoot 200mm down the line as a runner sprints towards me, face tracking is well amazing. I shoot slog3 S-Gamut3.Cine for almost all content which in my opinion offers the greatest flexibility. If I'd say there was a downside it would be the lack of built in ND, and no shutter angle. I'd like to be able to set a 180degree shutter angle and not worry about it. Either way this is camera is brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The ultimate video camera

ILCE-7SM3 13 October 2021 by London Creative (United Kingdom)

Believe the hype, this machine outclasses anything I've every used. Image quality, usability, feature set. I'm now a Sony shooter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best mirrorless for video

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 23 September 2021 by Chunster (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

You cannot real ask for more for a video focused camera. Yes, built-in variable ND would have been great, but that's about it. Excellent auto-focus means you don't have to have a focus puller with you. And the low light capabilities is almost unmatched. Just make sure you are aware of the dual ISO function to avoid noise before the low light ISO kicks in. The SAVC I codec is clean and very much workable in post. All in all a great little camera that I would not hesitate to use as a B cam even with some of the larger cinema cameras

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome performance from this fab little package.

ILCE-7SM3 26 August 2021 by Jezzaboy67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just brilliant. Outperforms my old FS5 in every way!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Brilliant bit of kit.

ILCE-7SM3 24 August 2021 by garysathome (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The build quality is excellent it feels pretty solid in your hand but what makes this camera really special is the footage you get from it, If your on the fence about getting one then just go for it you will not regret it. Even a beginner can achieve great results with this the picture quality is simply stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

BEST Alpha 7 Series For Video For Sure!!

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 22 August 2021 by taufiknobo (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve used this camera in the past for couple of times until I really pull the trigger to bought one and I can’t say this is the perfect camera ‘coz there are flaws and SONY’s quirks for sure but for at time being A7S III is actually the best camera for video right now. The customization such as the color depth (10 bit 4.2.0, 10 bit 4.2.2, 8 bit) really useful ‘coz not all of us can work with the highest color depth. And also options to work with ALL-I or Compressed H.265 giving you flexibility which one you prefer at your current project. As in the glorious “color science” A7S III is the best colors SONY put out so far. Straight out of cam its already pleasing although it has a bit of green tint to it but not that we can’t compromise with that tint (at least for me). For photo I’ve found the camera has enough mega pixels for my social media works although at times I realize there’s a bit of softness in the results. Pretty curious what happened if SONY put 20MP here. I know lots of people will tey to compare this with FX3 although I’ll admit design wise FX3 is make sense for video shooters but if you’re a hybrid shooters than A7S III definitely a better choice

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

ILCE-7SM3 23 July 2021 by Bongz76photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best camera i have ever had. I will be at a wedding this weekend and I'm looking forward to using it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Its amazing camera

ilce-7sm3-uc2 23 July 2021 by Bhawan49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought 1 month ago, This is amazing Camera and I recommend to everyone to buy this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Vdo nice color and performance

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 15 July 2021 by ตุ๊ต๊ะ (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

nice color. focus very accurate. very high performace. advice anyone to try.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Hybrid Camera!

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 14 June 2021 by Markymac (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

By far the best system for a hybrid. Strongly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A7SIII

ilce-7sm3-uc2 27 May 2021 by Rmoran (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent system. Does everything Sony advertised without question. Only caveat, the III should include some of the picture effects of the A7SII like partial color. Other than that, the camera is stellar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Almost the greatest

ilce-7sm3-ap2 26 May 2021 by taufiknobo (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this almost a month and I’ll say this camera is 4 out of 5. The photography form makes you still want to use it as a photo camera sometimes and it works just fine. The lost of 1 star is because the lack of aspc recording in 4k mode. It’s an technical issue I know hopefully SONY can make this a consideration to give us a great low light camera with 20MP Another wishlist would be a capabilities to have even more exposure tools such as false color and waveforms

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent!

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 29 April 2021 by kentleejoon (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loving the grip, improved colours and gyro stabilisation, but with these great features, it comes with a battery sacrifice, battery drains slightly faster compared to my a7iii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super awesome feature

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 28 April 2021 by nd119 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought less than a month, love it v much with the slow motion and focus tracking response.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's a major upgrade form the A7iii

ilce-7sm3-uc2 17 April 2021 by Risewithin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The im still in the honeymoon phase of owning this but I've been shooting on the a7iii for over a year and this camera is just awesome. The giant leap in colors, usability and dynamic range is exactly what Sony users wanted so we know Sony listens . Im a huge advocate for Sony now that I know this and I hope they keep making huge strides in their cameras and phones. Thank you Sony!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pure magic!

ILCE-7SM3 14 April 2021 by johnuram (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use the A7S3 mostly in low light conditions, excellent for almost everything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

5

0

Excellent video capabilities

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 06 April 2021 by TL Fong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this in March 2021. Read up on it extensively and it lived up to the hype. As at April 2021, it is still the best video oriented mirrorless camera out there. Codecs play flawlessly. The revamped menu is a breeze to use. I used to be a canon shooter, but decided to switch my system and try out sony. The camera doesn’t disappoint. This camera will be relevant for a long time to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top price for top performance!

ILCE-7SM3 01 April 2021 by John Fry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A job came in that was to be shot mostly on a gimbal, my old a6300 was starting to creak, so I bought the A7S3 & a couple of full frame lenses. The camera has performed flawlessly, gives all the video options my director and editor could want, creatively and in terms of format & codecs, and is rugged, compact and feels great in the hand. The stills are as beautiful as the video, which was a surprise!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

7

0

Awesome in all aspects, especially in low light

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 29 March 2021 by nico caps (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very please with it after a month, I was stunned with its capacity in low light environment. I purchased it purely for professional quality video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Camera

ILCE-7SM3 28 March 2021 by JayPaterson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I previously owned the a7sii and like everyone else waited a long time for the release of this camera. It is incredible and with the addition of the S-Cinetone in the latest firmware update it is a little powerhouse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

XAVC S 4:2:2 10bit Cant Play

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 23 March 2021 by Zarulumbrella (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

All great juz hv a problem with file XAVC S 4:2:2 10bit which Quicktime can't play, on my iMac 2018

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The legend is real

ilce-7sm3-uc2 16 March 2021 by Mr Manny (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Exceeds the hype, the A7Siii gives videographers in any industry the flexibility and adaptability to shoot incredible video for any scenario.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good image quality

ILCE-7SM3 12 March 2021 by Room 8 (United Kingdom)

We bought it last month and we are impressed by the performance in low light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

20

Response From Customer support
15 March 2021

Hi Room 8

Welcome to the Sony family!

We're glad you like your new camera and hope you enjoy it for years to come.

If you need any assistance don't hesitate to contact us: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support UK

0

Brilliant camera, gamechanger

ILCE-7SM3 09 March 2021 by JCCJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera, completely changed approach to video and functionality, a great step forward. Great for photography also as my main use is for digital purposes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Serious video/stills camera

ILCE7SM3/B 28 February 2021 by remoran (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The update from the 7SII, in itself excellent tech, is substantial and nuanced. It takes time to get this system up to speed but in the end, it's worth it without question.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Most amazing video camera ever (great stills too)

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 27 February 2021 by MickSpiers (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wow!!! This camera is just amazing. It has instantly lifted the quality of all of my videography. Exceptional image quality; stability; low light performance. I am yet to find something that it can't do. Combined it with the Sony GM 16 - 35 lens and the XLR-K3M and now have the best setup I have ever had. Also, do not underestimate the quality of the stills. It is a great camera as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

ILCE-7SM3 06 February 2021 by jmpgood (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera for stills and video (I am TV producer and content creator) and I am delighted with this camera and its features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

32

0

NOT Dissapointed

ILCE-7SM3 05 February 2021 by sflsgd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Do you know I bought the new Sony A7S3 which comes with no lens & so bought 3rd party one from Tamaron I have to say im not disappointed with the camera at all being a video 1st beats my Canon. The saving allowed for the other accessories I need - like memory cards/spare battery etc..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

8

0

Don’t buy for clean iso in low light.

ILCE-7SM3 02 February 2021 by AlexFT (USA)

I bought this camera to replace my GH5s thinking that it would blow it out of the water as it relates to noise in low light video and higher iso’s, but I was surprised to see that it doesn’t exactly perform any better and is some cases it is actually noisier. Color retention however is excellent at high iso. Perhaps Sony could add, in a firmware update, a dedicated low light mode that has built in noise reduction so we can shoot cleaner footage past iso 6400 straight out of the camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Impressive Lowlight Camera For Video and Stills

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 01 February 2021 by Cliffie (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

My perspective is coming from a beginner DSLR user for the past 8 years. I am very impressed by the capabilities of the a7Siii. It delivers what Sony has claimed. I mainly use it for automobile videography and some casual shots. Body/Ergonomics: it feels dense, solid, really well built. Comfortable to grip on. Tested it out under the rain this monsoon season multiple times, held up well. EVF: it’s like looking through a window! Sharp, bright, spacious for your eye. Annoyance are, rain drop and gimbal arm blocks sensor, resulting in the screen blacking out while video recording. If you set the screen to always on, now you can’t use EVF to take photos. -Video Feature- The Dual Gain ISO at 12800 for S-Log 3 greatly helps with my use of the camera as I do not have control over lighting situations outdoors. It has less grain than at ISO3200. Dynamic Range is simply amazing! I could see way more into the highlights and shadows. During editing, I was playing around with the Tone Curve and it almost felt as if I was editing a RAW image with it’s newly implemented 10bit feature. -Photo Feature- It takes great photos. It resolves fine detail really well. There’s no smearing in the images, unlike point and shoot that boast 24MP but it’s a smeary mess in non-direct sunlight conditions. I do feel 12MP is somewhat limiting, using APS-C Mode brings it down to a 6MP file. You have to frame your subject well to prevent cropping in during editing. Although it doesn’t affect my workflow much for creating Thumbnails. I understand it’s a video camera first and a processional cinema camera has even less of a megapixel, but hey, this takes still images. Things I would like improve: 1. To be able to select Rear Aperture Dial for ISO, without having the need for “My Dial 1” 2. Independent reverse for Front/Rear dial. 3.Indipendent Video/Photo mode EVF Sensor (Example: auto switch between EVF and Screen, but once it starts recording, the camera stays Screen Only, it keeps sensing my gimbal arm) 4.Higher refresh rate EVF (OVF still feels easier on the eye while panning) Edit: Sony A1 has 240fps EVF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

MANTABBBBBB

ilce-7sm3-ap2 01 February 2021 by Andrew James (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

PARAH GILAKKK ga bisa ngomong apa apa ... keren bangettttt

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Video Camera

ILCE-7SM3 19 January 2021 by PeterMcC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using this camera for a couple of months for my business and personal use. It does everything I need for video; the quality of 4k video and the low light capability are simply amazing. So many options of video quality to satisfy each assignment. It does produce very impressive stills, but since they are 12 Mpix I really only use it for video and stick with my A7RII for still photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

84

17

0

Great Product Needs an update

ILCE7SM3/B 08 January 2021 by Enter the Zone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I truly enjoy this camera. I purchased it for professional filming and for low-light shooting. The missing features needed are per-channel audio recording level controls (L and R channels), and output audio level controls to the headphones/monitors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Amazing for Corporate Video

ILCE7SM3/B 01 January 2021 by eyedidit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy setup and by far best quality video for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best mirrorless camera ever!

ILCE-7SM3 31 December 2020 by Chelo54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used many DSLR and mirrorless cameras and haven't found anything like the S line from Sony and the A7sIII it's just a triumph!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

10

0

Great led screen. Very easy to use.

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 30 December 2020 by Golfwora (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony a7siii is the best for video. But i’ve a problem with color in the screen coz it’s to much orange that i compare with a7iii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Really awesome features in such a small body

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 26 December 2020 by EuMattPeeks (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using it for video shoots and it is really amazing. Lots of control in such a small body. Stabilization, the use of SLog3, all the ports, jacks and swivel screen all squeezed into this camera. Really makes it beast for video shoots. Forgot to mention the amazing improvements of the grip. Makes it really nice to hold. Have not encountered any overheating when shooting 4k All-I in 25fps for really prolong period of time. Exactly what I needed. So far the only downside I have encountered is when you plug in the microphone or headphone jack, you will not be able to turn the screen facing up as the jack blocks it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just wow

ilce-7sm3-uc2 23 December 2020 by Robisnotcool (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Spent the last 4 hours tinkering with it, it is an amazing camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant

ILCE-7SM3 20 December 2020 by iVIDEO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply brilliant.. but needs and should have 23.94p as it is a "film hybrid camera.. or at least it should have shutter angle then it would be perfect.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

24

0

Very capable camera with great video quality.

ILCE-7SM3 15 December 2020 by cameradude uk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is never going to be the perfect combination of features: personally I would have liked a 6K sensor for a better debayered 4K image in the A7S mk3 (and the FX6) but I guess that would be too much of a threat to the FX9. Also, more pixels would mean higher res. when using S35 lenses in crop mode. That aside, I can't fault the image that comes out of the A7S3: less noise than the original A7S and better colour science, all underpinned by a long-overdue 10bit 422 video codec that solves so many limitations of previous models across the entire Alpha range. AF eye tracking is now at a whole new level and this makes it a great gimbal camera when used with native lenses. I would've preferred it to use CFexpress Type B cards since they are half the price and twice the speed of Type A cards but that's not a deal breaker by any means.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

8

0

Wow! I sold my RED!!

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 14 December 2020 by 48kgproduction (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

48kgProduction: After many years in the RED ecosystem I am now in the mirror less world with the A7s iii. It is amazing - checking a lot of boxes. Rolling shutter fixed - check. Dynamic range - check. Autofocus great - check. RAW - check. Easy menu - check. Low light - insane. Ibis - check. 12,800 ISO (or greater) is where you need to be for best results in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best video camera in the world

ILCE-7SM3 13 December 2020 by Silviu CREATE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best video camera in the world I would recommend Beast

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

8

0

Great 4K Hybrid Camera!

ilce-7sm3-ap2 12 December 2020 by rnoerachmad (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

At last our long waiting being answered by this camera, what a lovely low light capability camera ever! And it's actually a still camera. I knew what i was looking for a hybrid camera. I can't hardly wait for Astrophotography later, and hoping too for Astrovideography. Other suggestions for Sony, it would be better to make shine button for dark environment like Astro did, focusing still/not only video at sony smartphone app, and more purchasing a year guarantee.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing low light camera

ILCE-7SM3/BQAP2 06 December 2020 by Tey22 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera 3 weeks back. Auto-focus and low light are amazing for wildlife photography. It's able to track fast-moving birds of prey during dusk. I wish it has 20fps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0