102

3.7 based on 102 customer reviews

42
28
8
10
14
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Mr

HT-RT3 21 April 2018 by Gigin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it couple of months ago. It works well with sony 4k tv with hdmi arc system. Good theatrical experience when you watch John wick and Martian. Only down side is that the fan sound is slightly Lauder now but can be ignored as the payment doesn't match the price tag of Bose soundtouch 300. Furthermore, you need to find a way to hide the wires for the rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good sound

HT-RT3 28 August 2018 by Normando (USA)

I bought my unit 3 weeks ago and the base unit wouldn’t receive signal from the remote,the store swapped it for a new unit and I’ve the same problem even after resetting. I have a Sony ct 290 model in another room and both remotes worked fine on that so I suggest to everyone else that thinks their remotes not working that the problem is with the receiver in the sub woofer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

102 Customer Reviews

0

Works well with bt, hdmi, or optical,

HT-RT3 02 September 2021 by Deanox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Over all think its good product, sounds good, But have few niggles the set up menus are confusing and remote isn't best signal so can be temperamental but with out remote adjustments are limmited to source and volume, Would be better if could move front speakers wider to match 52" TV Think maybe larger mids would be bonus, for music and gaming and softer vocals, But over all isn't bad bit of kit sharpe and bassy and does blend well. Well built, Quick touch for music, or surround mode would be bonus,

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Customer Support
06 September 2021

Hi Deanox,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your soundbar and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We'd like to highlight that we appreciate your feedback, and we've passed it on to the proper channels for future consideration and product development.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Usama @ Sony Support UK

0

Good product!

600 W 15 August 2021 by Darma2021 (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product last month based on review on youtube

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great sound

HT-RT3 07 June 2021 by kev070812 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this system has got great sound quality easy to set up too

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Sound and Great Feature!

600 W 01 May 2021 by Tjahyady (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 2 weeks ago and I placed it in my bedroom, along with my Sony TV. I used the HDMI ARC to connect them, and it was very simple. The sound produced by the soundbar is extremely clear and good, using the ClearAudio feature. Great product although I know there are many newer Sony soundbars already.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound Bar Plus

HT-RT3 03 April 2021 by Tricom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

With changing my sound set up, I was looking for a good sounding, less intrusive system that delivered well on all levels, and I am glad that buying this Sony unit ticks the boxes

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

Response From Sony support
05 April 2021

Hi Tricom,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your sound system. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sony Support UK

0

easy setup

600 W 23 March 2021 by denzfarid (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

for the sound in this series it is very satisfying when it is at a volume of 18+ the bass is very pronounced clear voice but the fan sound is very audible when watching at midnight and if on a Dolby Digital tv set surround sound feels very small but if the PCM is all very riveting

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony HT-RT3 5.1ch Home Cinema System

600 W 03 March 2021 by JL Teoh (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the earlier Sony Cinema Sound Systems 15 years ago and at present another set of Sony Blueray Sound System 5.1 BDV370 which is coming to 10 years and the sound going great. This latest HT-RT3 Home Theatre 5.1 is great on Bass which have a volume control and 2 rear speakers. So far enjoying my music either from the USB or through bluetooth connection from my mobile phone.

2

0

0

Great features

600 W 18 February 2021 by Zack7 (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago and happy with the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good product. recommended

HT-RT3 17 February 2021 by Jibin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one month before and it's working fine. in my experience in the low volume(level8-10), the bass is very low and not getting proper surround effect. If the volume level increase to (15-20) getting better effect and surrounding.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Response From Customer Support
21 February 2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your HT-RT3 and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Problems with subwoofer bass sound.

HT-RT3 27 November 2020 by Slugube (United Kingdom)

I was very excited when I bought this, I connected it to my smart TV but after a few weeks I started to have no sound coming from the subwoofer. I tried disconnecting and reconnecting, then there was no bass coming out of subwoofer. I was very disappointed. I just need to get this repaired because I like music with bass sound.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

6

Response From Customer Support
30 November 2020

Hi Slugube,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your home cinema system. To ensure optimal performance, we recommend resetting the system using the steps on page 29 of the Manual here: https://bit.ly/37jASNn
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Good sound

HT-RT3 16 November 2020  (Philippines)

I bought this a week ago and its good and has powerful sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice design

HT-RT3 19 October 2020 by gask12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought one for a trial and I am very pleased. After three weeks, I bought a second set.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Nice sound and design

HTRT3 10 September 2020 by Rolo_arriola (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality, very good sound and easy to connect and control.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound

HT-RT3 28 August 2020 by Rool911 (Malaysia)

The product is very good. Sound is very clear and gives a good feeling to enjoy the music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Digital audio with FO, easy pairing with NFC.

600 W 27 August 2020 by ajohan (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product have good build quality. Already support digital audio with Fiber optic cable and easy pairing with your mobile phone via NFC.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Price for quality and features

HT-RT3 02 August 2020 by GeffP (Philippines)

Bought this today. A floor model. Seems ok. A bang for your buck. N dts decoder but its fine.. audio quality is enhanced by the sub, if you turn off the sub, audio quality obviously comes from very small speakers. Suitable for bed room or small living room. Perfect for ARC with you sony tv

0

0

0

Very good sound

HT-RT3 16 June 2020 by Aberip (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to set up and connect to smart TV, phone and smart phone

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

10

0

Great spekaer

600 W 11 June 2020 by 10101100011000 (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for over a month ago and it's a great speaker

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use surround sound system

HT-RT3 05 June 2020 by Mad mancx (United Kingdom)

I bought this 17 months ago and it sounds just as great as my old one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

10

0

Surround test

600 W 28 April 2020 by Syafiq Baharudin (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Maby can improve on surround system and overall product okey

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great all round sound, particularly on films.

HT-RT3 07 April 2020 by Anne76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a few weeks ago after returning a Bose soundbar due to very disappointing performance. The difference between the Bose and the Sony HT-RT3 was unbelievable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

12

0

Nice

600 W 23 February 2020 by nine1977 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im happy with sony all product quality and friendly

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall it is a good product.

600 W 23 January 2020 by Thina (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not satisfied with its usb playable content. Im unable to play video and interface looks too basic.. Had to use my usb from tv to play content.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

I LOVE IT!!!

HT-RT3 26 December 2019 by Rikardo S (Philippines)

best 5.1 soundbar ! evaaaahh! yeaaah!!#@#! i love it!!! fan noise?! LOL!!! its so puuurfect!

1

0

0

Very good sound system

HT-RT3 18 November 2019 by Spike 2014 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent sound quality one little grip is that the cooling fan is a bit noisey

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

8

0

NICE SOUND

HT-RT3 07 October 2019 by djgeoff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

works well with sony tv,sound clear, plenty of volume could do with a bit longer cabling to remote speakers though

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

10

0

Fabulous sound

HT-RT3 02 October 2019 by Elma27 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product to compliment my Sony Bravia TV and it was well worth the money. Excellent choice.l

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

7

0

Good sound system, but annoying fan noise

HT-RT3 19 September 2019 by Austin_101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago, i love the sound and quality of the product. The only issue I have is the loud fan noise, which spoils the experience of listening to music at low volume. The fan noise is loud and annoying.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

24

14

Response From Support team
23 September 2019

Hi Austin,

We have read your review, and we recommend that you reset the soundbar to default settings following the steps on Page 29 of this Manual: https://bit.ly/2DpYz8Y

If the issue remains, please use the details on the following link to contact us so we can help you further: http://bit.do/eQZGU

Sony Support team

0

Loud and deep bass

HT-RT3 29 August 2019 by Fonytonylovessony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This home theater, is something else! It makes, not only the walls shake but the earth shakes with the fury of a mighty Lancaster ! If you want to be immersed into a film or a game then buy this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

4

0

Constantly breaks! Not fit for use

HT-RT3 23 August 2019 by Maddox93 (United Kingdom)

Useless product! Bought the same model January 2019, finally 8 months later had it replaced and would constantly show UPDT and no matter how many times it would be reset would do the same. The sound was then hit and miss so finally got an exchange. New speakers are doing exactly the same!! Cannot see if on Tv, BT or what volume because the display just says UPDT. Can’t just take the product back, Sony need it repairing and taking to a far away repair store. Would not recommend this product at all! Biggest regret buying this!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

14

15

Response From Customer Support
09 March 2020

Hi Maddox93,

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry to hear this. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information to ensure we can help you using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Great Sound Quality

600 W 22 August 2019 by ShuYing (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound qualities is beyond my expectation with the price that I am paying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound qality

HT-RT3 26 June 2019 by Karoly85hu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've bought this by mistake. I've thought it is a 5.1 Dolby surround system but unfortunately just stereo on 6 speakers. The sound qality is really great but not what I wanted.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

6

0

Great Home Theater,Music System for its price

HT-RT3 14 April 2019  (Philippines)

I bought this 3 weeks ago fr.SM store here in Fairview and I am very satisfied overall.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very nice surround

HT-RT3 13 April 2019 by Despite (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with the quality of the sound. Nice surround and loud speakers with crystal clear sound. Altough woofer could offer little more bass when speakers are not set to very high volume. Otherwise i am very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

1

0

Sony HT-RT3 5.1 Suround System

HT-RT3 18 March 2019 by MusB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as I was told in Currys the Sony TV did not have very good sound from the TV itself. (They were wrong, the TV has good sound). As I had an 10 year old Phillips 5.1 surround system which was connected by SCART it would not be able to connect to the new TV. So I decided to buy the Sony HT-RT3. I have been quite disappointed with this model. Good points: Build quality seams very good. It is easy to set up. The sound is quite good, not brilliant. The HT-RT3 comes on automatically when the TV is turned on. Bad points: There is an annoying constant noise of a cooling fan in the woofer. The menu, (operated by it's own remote control), is on a small digital display on the front of the woofer. (No OSD). Although settings are set to "Surround Sound" I have still not had any sound from the rear left or right speakers. Even after playing with various settings. Not even when using my DVD player. My old Philips system was brilliant compared to this new Sony HT-RT3. All in all I am very disappointed with the Sony HT-RT3. It is a 3.1 system and not a 5.1 system as no sound from the rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

16

7

Response From Customer support
25 March 2019

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have read your review and we'd like to highlight that the system can be operated using the remote control of a TV. You'll find more information and instructions on Page 20 of this Manual: https://bit.ly/2DpYz8Y

Also, we recommend that you reset the soundbar t the default settings following the steps listed on Page 29 of the previous Manual.

If the issue remains, you can also get in touch with us using the following link so we can assist you further: http://clc.am/4w7bGw

Sony support team

0

Great sound

HT-RT3 03 February 2019 by Chippy1964 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good value for money, the sound quality even via Bluetooth is excellent Highly recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Perfect!!!

HT-RT3 19 January 2019  (Philippines)

Have knowledge about AV systems to appreciate what you bought.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ok

HT-RT3 17 January 2019 by david345 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has a delay when playing audio through the aux cord and Bluetooth and also with the USB and the audio quality is poor when i play audio through the aux cord (analog). Also when the volume goes above 30 on the system the bass is lowered .

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

9

5

Response From Customer Support
21 January 2019

Hi David,

Thank you for your feedback. We recommend resetting the system to factory settings as explained on page 29 of the Manual here: https://bit.ly/2DpYz8Y. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

worth the money

HT-RT3 10 January 2019 by anthony17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just brougth this for the to use with xbox and now sounds great no issue with fan noise as per claims by other people. worthnbuying it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Brilliant quality

HT-RT3 04 January 2019 by gibbo98 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality is brilliant, they are so easy to set up and use, being able to connect to multiple devices using Bluetooth etc.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great Home Theater System for its price

HT-RT3 28 December 2018 by My Little Unboxing (Philippines)

Sound quality is awesome, thumbs up for this soundbar. Search my unboxing and sound test in Youtube.. "Mylittleunboxing" or "Sony HT-RT3 5.1ch Home Theater System with Bluetooth technology Unboxing and Sound Test"

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

simple! great!

HT-RT3 28 November 2018 by furich (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

had sound systems previously but this is the best to date

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

poor quality

HT-RT3 25 October 2018 by Mr Nut (United Kingdom)

i brought this as ive always had sony TV (bravia) for many many years as they are just a beautiful machine ,picture quality is just amazing, so i brought a good sound bar to go with it at the same time , but just total rubbish!!!! failed within 4 months, then failed again at 10 months, now failed again at 18 months no sound at all!! I will not be buying sony soundbars again as they are just cheap rubbish

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

22

Response From Customer support
29 October 2018

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback
We recommend getting in touch with our customer support to get help with the Sound bar. You can find the contact details in this link: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Sony support team

0

Not Outstanding

HT-RT3 05 October 2018 by Unimpressed Buyer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This system is not wireless, as the "Bluetooth Technology" strap line it leads you to believe. The surround speakers wire through the subwoofer and are as much of an annoyance as speaker wires always were. The subwoofer itself has a particularly loud cooling fan, which disturbs quite passages in whatever you are watching. Over-all a second rate product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

13

13

Response From Customer support
09 October 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

The Bluetooth on this model is used to connect smartphones and playback devices to play content from on the system as advertised on the sales page available on this link: https://bit.ly/2pHzvCC.

Sony support team.

0

Enhance Audio Format

600 W 24 September 2018 by Kim Loong (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I hope Sony will update the firmware in future so that this model able to support DTS.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

The worst sound quality ever!

HT-RT3 06 September 2018 by Roberto1975 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am not happy to buy this product! I lost my money for this junk product!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

10

15

0

HT-RT3 review Status

HT-RT3 01 September 2018 by Kallol Bhuiya (USA)

I Brought this 1.5 years ago but I am not happy because when i increase volume to 30 and sub-woofer volume increases to 5-6 then it's main volume decreases, but it is not the proper way. I think its sub-woofer volume would be decrease not main volume. I'm sure that the heat sensing technology not uses in wright area.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01 September 2018

Hi Kallol Bhuiya, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Regards, -Erin

0

Great Budget friendly 5.1 Sound

HT-RT3 29 August 2018 by AimaAdi (USA)

Have been using it for 3 months. Was looking for 5.1 Ch for a long time but didn't want 5 speaker format so when I chanced upon this I instantly liked the sound bar format. Had to just conceil the back speaker wires in false ceiling. My TV doesn't have digital out unfortunately, so using it with Analog and Bluetooth of FireTV and digital output of TataSky, so multiple inputs come in handy. However, I am not able to understand how it's converting Analog input into 5.1 sound ? Maybe someone from Sony can enlighten.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good sound

HT-RT3 28 August 2018 by Normando (USA)

I bought my unit 3 weeks ago and the base unit wouldn’t receive signal from the remote,the store swapped it for a new unit and I’ve the same problem even after resetting. I have a Sony ct 290 model in another room and both remotes worked fine on that so I suggest to everyone else that thinks their remotes not working that the problem is with the receiver in the sub woofer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29 August 2018

Hi Normando,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Zac

0

It has known problems - I should reseached more

HT-RT3 23 August 2018 by iAlan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Disappointed with this sound bar. I bought it at the same time as a Sony 55 TV. The sound is out of sync and the fan is very noisy. After doing research it looks like this is a common problem with this sound bar. Someone has posted a temp fix for the sync problem (go into menu and toggle sound effect off and on) but you need to do this everything you turn the system on. You get used to the noise of the fan but the problem is it speeds up and down so sometimes you hear it and other times you don't. The Sony TV is fantastic. It’s a real shame that the Sony sound bar is so poor. I think the issues could be fixed by a software update but as yet Sony are not recognising this problem.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

7

6

0

Disappointing!

HT-RT3 30 July 2018 by Cinema Man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Remote control is sluggish or does not work at all dispite resetting to factory values as recommended by Sony advisor by phone. Most functions of the device seem depentant on a working remote. Cannot easily change formats, sound field or volume levels. Local controls on the Sub unit seem okay but slow.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

6

0

A breeze to set up!

600 W 10 July 2018 by Arippo07 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using for a month or so, this thing rocks! So easy to set up. And ARC works like a charm!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not as good as we hoped

HT-RT3 08 July 2018 by Jon48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this just over a month ago and although the sound is much improved from that of the TV. The problem we have is with lip sync! Everything starts off fine but after a while the lip sync problem sets in. On contacting Sony they sent a list of different things to try to rectify the problem. We are working our way down the list but the problem remains,it is just an annoying fault.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Great sound!

HT-RT3 13 June 2018 by Timeteen (USA)

Tried this sounder at the store and was blown away by the sound quality, once I brought it home I got to play some FLAC files on it and it sounds even greater. My last Sony Home Theatre sounds amazing but is now 10 years old and I was hesitant about replacing it but this sounder has done an exceptional job.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great sound

HTRT3 28 May 2018 by KINGBRIIEEZZY1593 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the best money ive ever spent i would recommend to a friend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outdated for today’s bluray

HT-RT3 16 May 2018 by Wombat 2315 (USA)

I bought this about 4 weeks ago. Sales person seemed very knowledgeable. Asked about watching 3D Bluray. He said with a big YES it brings out the best with the optical cable. He left out the part that his units does not decode DTS surround, which all Bluray DVD’s have. Sadly have to settle for sound just from the sound bar and subwoofer and not the surround speakers.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16 May 2018

Hi Wombat 2315, We regret to hear that your device's performance failed to meet your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/
~Ralph

0

Mr

HT-RT3 21 April 2018 by Gigin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it couple of months ago. It works well with sony 4k tv with hdmi arc system. Good theatrical experience when you watch John wick and Martian. Only down side is that the fan sound is slightly Lauder now but can be ignored as the payment doesn't match the price tag of Bose soundtouch 300. Furthermore, you need to find a way to hide the wires for the rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Compact setup up

HT-RT3 31 March 2018 by Big Stu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this for its compact design and Sony’s good name Fan in side the amp is a little noisy if you have a echoy room

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Lack of Surround Sound

HT-RT3 29 March 2018  (Philippines)

from online streaming, the unit can't decode a dolby digital plus to dolby digital only receiver, as Dolby claimed that dolby digital plus can be backward compatible to dolby digital, so very upset up to the point i want to bring it back to the store. but sadly i notice the issue, when my 7 days return policy lapsed

0

0

0

Overall, it's great for the room, computer & TV's

HTRT3 21 March 2018 by Robbie86 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So, It was not very hard to set up right out the box. The soundbar and the two speakers just plugged right into the 600W Sub. The system is a 5.1 surround sound. It's got S/PDIF (Optical) sound, witch I hooked up my Computer to and connected it with my Soundblaster 5.1/7.1 soundcard Via S/PDIF Sample rates of 44.1 kHz, 48.0 kHz with Dolby Digital encoded format. Sounds nice considering what I had before (4.1).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Easy setup plug and play

HT-RT3 14 February 2018 by caney97 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this as part of a Sony 4K tv, surround sound and 4K dvd package. Speakers are wired which is the same as my old Sony 5.q theatre unit so run the wires same route as before. Main sub woofer just plugs into the tv via hdmi. The centre and left/right speaker all combined into one sound bar which is easy to locate compared with 3 separate speakers. Only problem encountered was sound bar blocks remote signal to tv, had to raise tv higher to get round this. If you leave the surround on but switch the tv of then speakers go into standby. Turn the tv back on and speakers liven up. Tv does require these added speakers as the built in ones are not that great. All in all a great simple to use product. Very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

best thing i have done

HT-RT3 02 February 2018 by johand (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent sound very good quality easy to use and good value

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Tv sound isn’t great:(

HT-RT3 02 February 2018 by Freebs (USA)

Purchased this unit about 6 months ago and Bluetooth function for music is amazing and loud BUT the tv option sound isn’t loud as all. Have it at volume max and it should be blowing me out of the room and it’s not loud at All. Bought it to hear the Vikings game loud and proud but man it’s a disappointment. We use the optic cable even.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02 February 2018

Hi Freebs, we regret that the unit failed your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Erin

0

So much problems!

HT-RT3 31 January 2018 by Lion F (USA)

So about 3 months after i got this, the Bluetooth feature stopped working, totally unable to connect to any of my devices. Also the on/ off button on the subwoofer doesnt work anymore. Sometimes the unit would turn on by itself on a really high volume like theres a ghost making it do so. Now 6 months later the remote is dead. The only way to turn it on is to plug it in and unplug after use, but it goes through this demo mode first. I really wish all this wasnt true because the sound was nice, but the speakers are useless if the controls and remote dont work!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01 February 2018

Hello Lion F, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Kindly consider troubleshooting the soundbar by simply following the steps provided on the links below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/43179
https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4587771133.pdf please see pages 25 to 29.
Best regards, _Bob

0

Great sounds

HT-RT3 22 January 2018  (Philippines)

Sounds great easy to setup. Been using it for a month with no problem. Using it with my android tv box, 5.1 surround sound is perfect. Im afraid to use its full volume because its so loud my neighbours might complain about it ( but not me) The whole room is vibrating. Awsome!!!! Just one problem is that it doesn't support dts. If you are dowloading movies make sure that the sound format is on ac3 or acc and you're good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good

HT-RT3 16 January 2018 by Luke9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it, some hardware difficulties to tv, console etc but overall brilliant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Excelent System

HT-RT3 13 January 2018 by Gepa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the 5.1 Home Cinema System last month, I love and my kid enjoys the quality sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Better than expected

HT-RT3 13 January 2018 by nnumadg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is Sony's usual good quality, definitely value for money and very happy with the first few weeks use using the TV, TV radio, bluetooth and USB functions.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Love it

HT-RT3 08 January 2018 by bruh101 (USA)

I'm happy we bought this, the sound is so clear. It's pretty good for it's price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good for the price

HT-RT3 31 December 2017 by Jakeip (USA)

I didn't expect much but the installation is clean if mounted, cables are long enough to fit a medium sized room. ARC works great, Bluetooth works too but low volume. I wish DTS worked but the 5.1 is ok for now Mixed stereo provides nice surround effect if you select music on non standard mode.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Terrific sound bar with back speakers

HT-RT3 21 December 2017 by mocol (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This sound system is terrific and the rear speakers are great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sony always a good buy

HT-RT3 18 December 2017 by Gonzagga (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This had some good reviews,and a couple of bad ones.I went with Sony name and found it was perfect for what I wanted.I play my music selection from my mobile phones memory card via Bluetooth,and films and other programs from the Television.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

1