50

4.2 based on 50 customer reviews

28
10
7
3
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by Christopher44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sync Problems

HTZ9F 22 February 2019 by Bill52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought xbr55x900f TV and Sony ht-z9f sound bar. The HDMI ARC function between TV and sound bar will not work. I have spent hours on this nothing works! Finally the sales person I bought the TV and sound bar from at Best Buy in Naples, Florida went way beyond resonable expectations and came to my house and put together a work around. The sound bar and TV now work together but still are not properly synced so that sound bar can be controlled by the TV remote. The amount of time I have spent on this is ridiculous. Sony and Best Buy should refund my money and take these defective products back. I purchased a 5 year service contract at Best Buy but they say this isn't covered. Defective products are not covered by Sony or Best Buy? Then what is covered?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

50 Customer Reviews

0

Sound immersion!

HTZ9F 08 September 2019 by Big TexEman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had surround sound before, but this system is fantastic. It’s so good I had to buy some old war movies with big helicopters roaring to re-experience that good old cinema feeling. Do get the rear speakers as well for the complete effect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-Z9F 08 September 2019 by Mackel (USA)

Have had for about 6 months. Great sounds especially with the rear speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No trebles

HT-Z9F 08 September 2019 by AudioGuy2000 (USA)

I got this soundbar along with rear speakers. Trebles are non-existent. Hi hat sounds more like ch-ch-ch instead of ts-ts-ts. A simple software equalizer would correct that and I hope Sony could roll it out as a firmware update. You can raise upper-mids by pressing “Voice” button twice to set it to “up 2”. It helps somewhat but it is no replacement for a proper equalizer. Lows are no problem. You have a dedicated subwoofer volume rocker on the remote. After paying a thousand dollars for an audio system I am upset that I don’t have complete control of the output. Presets are great, but they can’t cover every use case. I have faith in Sony engineering and my house is filled with Sony gear for a reason. I believe that we are going to see equalizer - a basic feature found on even the cheapest sound bars in the next software update. Dear Sony, I hope you are listening.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great bar

HT-Z9F 07 September 2019 by fcabalm (USA)

Excellent bar for enjoying Dolby ATMOS and DTS X I enjoy this along with my Xbox one X and a Samsung Smart TV and the Z9R surround speakers It is almost perfect except for the fact that when playing music you cannot hear it in the surround speakers and finally the ATMOS is little or at least I have not been able to configure the bar to enjoy the inmersive sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Troubleshoot Sync Issue

HT-Z9F 05 September 2019 by Blst (USA)

I see many uses are experiencing occasional sync disconnects, and this is one of the biggest concerns when buying this soundbar. I tired many solutions for hours and hours and found that TURNING OFF RF channel in the advanced option (attached pic) almost always fixes it. While RF channel option is provided to secure stable connectivity, ironically it seems to cause this issue. Wish Sony can update firmware and to solve it in the future. Otherwise, with rear speakers, this soundbar not only has an excellent sound quality among other soundbars but also gives nice integration with other Sony devices when used together. My wish list includes a control of equalizer but not a major issue. Menu is simple but not intuitive. Display of video and sound source format. Optimization tool to configure distance of speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good SB but Prefer Full Home Theater Setup

HTZ9F 22 August 2019 by jghsony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased when I got my 900F 4K TV because it has 2 HDMI inputs - 1 for Cable Box and 1 for 4K Player. The 1 HDMI output then goes to TVs HDMI3 ARC High Speed input port. Unfortunately the SB partially blocks the 900F infared signal from the remote. I initially purchased the SB designed for the 900F but it didnt support multiple HDMI inputs. I also added on the Z9F wireless rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome Sound

HTZ9F 20 August 2019 by ULTRASOUND (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased a 65x900f television and what is essential to pair with such a great TV you need great sound so I listened to several soundbars and I kept going back to the Sony HT-Z9F this was a perfect marriage. Very happy with my purchases so far they are only three months old and I think they will last 300 months based on my experience with Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost fool proof

HTZ9F 01 August 2019 by Lake0453 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing the sound you get out of a bar. I read all about the set-up, but it MUCH easier than I thought it would be.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

When It Worked, It Was Great. I Need Support

HTZ9F 22 July 2019 by DJervis11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product worked great for about 6 weeks. Now the after some time, the voice starts to get muffled. I have confirmed that it happens on all input sources, HDMI-1. HDMI-2, and Pandora. I remove the sound bar, and the TV speakers are normal and muffled. I unplug the sound bar for some time, and the sound comes back to normal. The issue almost seems as if there is something that overheats, but I could be making this up. I am an engineer, and I have not been able to figure out how to get Sony's support. When the product worked, it was absolutely amazing. I may have received a lemon, but I am trying to rectify this problem. If Sony can issue a replacement, this is a 6/5 star product. It is an amazing product. I am not an audiophile, but I think this sounds better than other companies that rhyme with pose. I will change my review if I can.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features.

HTZ9F 21 July 2019 by Bartlch2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and am so glad I did! The 3.1 channel with atmos and wireless subwoofer is awesome! I added the two wireless rear speakers...totally awesome sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound/footprint; poor software & Bravia Sync

HT-Z9F 07 July 2019 by fjho2000 (USA)

I bought this sound bar with its rear speakers as well as the Sony BDV-S6700 Blu-ray to replace a 3D Sony home theater that stopped working and couldn’t be replaced. I connected the sound bar to my Sony xbr-55x850a Bravia tv. The connection was flawless and the Bravia Sync worked as it should: when I turned the sound bar on, the tv speakers would turn off and vice versa. Then I connected the blu-ray player to the sound bar to its HDMI 1 input and as soon as I turned the sound bar on, the tv displayed a message that the device couldn’t be found and then the tv speakers would remain on while the sound bar was on, creating an echo and I had to manually mute the tv for it to stop. After resetting the sound bar, I connected the blu-ray to the HDMI 2 input, but got the same problem. I factory reset the tv and the sound bar, and same issue with both HDMI inputs. I then factory reset all, and then connected an Apple TV to the sound bar input (all these with the required HDMI cables) and got the same issue, and so far all I get from Sony support is to do factory reset, which doesn’t solve the issue. If these products are from the same company and are Bravia Sync compatible, they should work without issues. Disappointed on that.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

turns itself off all the time

HT-Z9F 25 June 2019 by artdavinci (USA)

I am going crazy having to listen to white noise when the sound bar decides to turn itself off

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Needs ability to disable touch buttons

HT-Z9F 08 June 2019 by Tbear678 (USA)

I would’ve loved this system, however Sony does not include the ability to disable the touch buttons which is a huge problem for me considering my cat loves to sit on things.....including this soundbar thus turning on the system and my tv or even blasting the volume up to maximum. Most manufacturers include a Child Lock in order to turn off the touch controls and just use the remote to control the system, for almost $1000 that feature should’ve been on the system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Treat sound at a reasonable price

HTZ9F 05 June 2019 by Colorist (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Z9F is a very versatile sound bar that delivers excellent sound in many ways. Whether you are watching a movie in 5.1 or a sporting event, you get great sound with excellent definition. I love the center channel control to bump up the dialog. It really helps when the dialog track is coxed down.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality but...

HT-Z9F 04 June 2019 by David899 (USA)

I have to say: I love the sound features but Sony PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a functionality on the remote control so I can switch the dolby speaker virtualizer function with the Sony Sound mode WITHOUT have to go to the configuration menu in order to change my audio experience. It's a big waste of time to do that every time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Unbelievable Awesome Sound!!!

HTZ9F 17 May 2019 by Vegasmike60 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This sound bar system is AMAZING!! It puts out sound that I thought only a professional sound system for a recording studio could put out. I could seriously blow out the windows with this! In addition, this compact and very sleek design looks fantastic and is a most welcome addition to my entertainment system. Sony, you have come up with an Amazing product that satisfies both my TV and You Tube sounds. THANK YOU!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony Z9F

HT-Z9F 16 April 2019 by Oscarr09 (USA)

Does not have the Full Atmos experience, but does a great job virtually creating the experience and beats the heck out of many sound bars out there, the rears are a plus and definitely give it the true immersive sound. Id reccomend to anyone looking for a good theatre quality set up for decent sized rooms or living rooms.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Early Disappointment

HTZ9F 15 April 2019 by SamWill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this a week with the new Sony 4K Ultra TV. They really don't work well together using eARC.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Sounds Great!!

HTZ9F 31 March 2019 by Stats (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You can feel the sound. Excellent addition to our new 75 in Sony Bravia TV. I added the rear speakers but realize now, I didn't need to, the soundbar and the subwoofer alone, create the great movie theater sound experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great Features in a little package !!!

HTZ9F 30 March 2019 by Jimmy S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago, almost bought a Bose system instead. Very Happy I bought this Sony system instead.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sync Problems

HTZ9F 22 February 2019 by Bill52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought xbr55x900f TV and Sony ht-z9f sound bar. The HDMI ARC function between TV and sound bar will not work. I have spent hours on this nothing works! Finally the sales person I bought the TV and sound bar from at Best Buy in Naples, Florida went way beyond resonable expectations and came to my house and put together a work around. The sound bar and TV now work together but still are not properly synced so that sound bar can be controlled by the TV remote. The amount of time I have spent on this is ridiculous. Sony and Best Buy should refund my money and take these defective products back. I purchased a 5 year service contract at Best Buy but they say this isn't covered. Defective products are not covered by Sony or Best Buy? Then what is covered?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Surprisingly easy to install and work CORRECTLY

HTZ9F 30 January 2019 by Retired Maggot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought the HT=Z9F today after reading a number of reviews. We installed it. We prefer HDMI over Bluetooth as we have enough electrical waves in our house so we had to get an optical digital cable and an additional HDMI Cable, but it all works great. We checked it on regular TV, Blue Ray, Apple TV (News and a movie) and so far it works perfectly. We are not "audiophiles" but we like the improvement. Most of all, it was near painless to hook up and get working CORRECTLY with our Sony KDL-52V5100 TV and Sony Blue Ray UBP8X00! We paid $649 for it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Perfect For Some, Great for Most, Headache for Few

HTZ9F 17 January 2019 by CombatKeeler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Soundbar to compliment our z9f tv and I must admit, I was pretty frustrated with it at first. The sound from the soundbar kept cutting out and even the bass from the subwoofer would cut out at times. I informed Sony of these issues and about a month and a half later they sent me a replacement. This was only after a Sony represtative and I exhausted every possible fix for the soundbar. Right now it works like a charm and is perfect for the apartment my wife and I live in. I should note that it’s possible the early issues could have been due to the hdmi cables used to connect my devices. I bought the belkin ultra fast speed hdmi around the same time I received my second soundbar so I could enjoy the Dolby vision/atmos media I was trying to watch before. As of today (2 months after arrival of replacement soundbar) I am super happy with this product. The reason I didn’t give 5 stars is because of the early frustrations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Amazing Sound Bar

HTZ9F 14 January 2019 by Chevyman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this sound bar about a month ago. The sound is amazing. Install was a breeze. I only have one issue. I purchased the wireless rear speakers (SAZ9R) with the sound bar. Every once and awhile the sub and rear speakers cut out. This is very discouraging specially in the middle of watching a movie. I reached out to Sony and they helped me do a reset. It helped out temporally and then started doing it again. It sucks that I have to turn unit off and sometimes unplug for it to work correctly. Besides this issue the sound bar is awesome. I just hope that Sony may come up with a solution to fix the connection error with an update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

GREAT DEVICE

HTZ9F 02 January 2019 by CY BOY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I PURCHASE THIS DEVICE 2 MONTHS AGO VERY HAPPY WITH THE RESULT

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great soundbar

HTZ9F 01 January 2019 by Billy61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Added this to my Sony x900f and it sounds great. Looks good and sound is great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent soundbar

HT-Z9F 31 December 2018 by m4rose_ (Philippines)

bought this 3days ago and I love it with my ps4 pro & sony bravia 2018 85F

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Complete Wireless Quality Sound and Bass.

HT-Z9F 28 December 2018 by 0S10D00GIT1TB (USA)

Updates: I can see that as the more we take in to our interest the more our smart devices become exactly what we want for ever. Since 98

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

fantastic sound bar

HTZ9F 04 December 2018 by jetsy61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great sounding sound bar, easy setup thanks to sonys well detailed owners guide blows bose 300 out of the room, a much better sound bar !!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

More like 5.1 with no Dolby Atmos.

HT-Z9F 24 November 2018 by Atmos fanatic (USA)

Bought this unit over the more expensive 5000 Atmos sound bar from Sony but did not realize this is just a 5.1 setup. I have the surround speakers and listen to plenty of Dolby Atmos and DTS X soundtracks but they are merely 5.1 with no immersion of heights at all. Even with the Vertical Engine on this is disappointing and should not even have the Atmos name on it since there is no height channels and only 3 channels up front. Should have bought the more expensive 5000 for the height channels but there are no surround speakers for that unit. If you are looking for a good 5.1 set up and this is it (but awfully expensive for just 5.1) but if you want Atmos or DTSX surround then look elsewhere. 3.1 and Atmos should not even be spoken in the same description. Thanks for over hype Sony. No give us a REAL Atmos and DTS X soundbar!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

6

0

GREAT SYSTEM

HTZ9F 23 November 2018 by JEFFERSON0428 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I,AM VERY VERY HAPPY WITH THIS SOUND BAR, IT IS ALSOME

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great speakers

HTZ9F 10 November 2018 by Kingcobra (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a easy set up and the sound is excellent and have to give it a five because it sounds good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

fantastic sound

HTZ9F 04 November 2018 by tzar1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy set up great features sounds great (so far)..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very Happy

HTZ9F 25 September 2018 by Master 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought the sound bar with Sony XBR75900F TV, and it has created theatre like surround sound. The negative is the screen display on the bar, it is almost illegible from the TV viewing distance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Everything Sony

HT-Z9F 17 September 2018 by yads2k11 (USA)

Had mine for a few months now, it's awesome only missing 1 key feature-- "night mode" need a schedule on and off switch. I don't like the sw on at night so I wish it can go on and off on its own, otherwise this thing is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by Christopher44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

wonderful product

HT-Z9F 03 September 2018 by stefan james (USA)

I have recently purchased the 3.1ch Dolby Atmos sound for my SONY Bravia ultra4KHDR TV, The sound is awesome. I can feel like I'm watching a movie in the theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

It is ok, servces the purpose but could be better

HTZ9F 23 August 2018 by Kherrm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a couple months ago to upgrade from a Dennon sound bar with wireless sub. It is ok but think it could sound better for the price. I have it attached to a Sony 65" Smart tv. Sound is good but not spectacular. Have an old Klipsch unit with another tv that appears to have better sound depth.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

9

0

Great sound but...

HT-Z9F 24 July 2018 by Tvandmusicsametime (USA)

I purchase this an a Sony xbr55x900f Sony 4k tv. Everything fairly easy to set up. Sounds great. No problems in that area. Very satisfied overall. If there is one thing I would like to see added is the ability to watch tv (with the sound turned down) and listen to music via bluetooth. Also listen to music while playing video games (with the sound tunes down). Have tried every possible combination of hookup and cannot seem to make this happen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

9

0

Real Review! Best High Definition Sound Bar

HTZ9F 17 July 2018 by BrZ1982 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

First off, almost all of the reviews I've read, describe Sony's branded discription. You can change the wording, but it's still the same sentence. This really bothers me!! With that said, I'm going to be the first to give a real user review from someone who is very familiar with high-definition 24-bit sound and Dolby Atmos. I have owned it all. Whether you own a Sony TV or not, the number one reason to buy this Soundbar is the Virtual Sound Engine. When this feature is enabled, by pressing the Vertical-S button, all audio signals are upscale to 7.1 virtual surround. To me it sounds like the audio is firing from every direction. Without this option the audio fires directly at you. Something I'm sure we're all used to. I bought this Soundbar to play 24 bit or greater audio, whether it be TV, movies or music. I was ready for the next big step in audio development. The Sony HT-Z9F is the best sounding Soundbar I have ever owned. I've had sound bars from JBL, Samsung, Klipsch and LG. The htz9f is the first Soundbar that sounds like a REAL sound system. The Z9F has true 3.1 sound, equivalent to any independently powered left, right and Center Channel setup. This is thanks to Sonys S-Master HX amplifier which allows each speaker to act independently in true 3.1 fashion. This is something completely revolutionary and new to Soundbars in general. As I'm sure everyone wants to know, the subwoofer is excellent. Installation was as simple as plugging in the power source and turning the system on. The subwoofer has incredibly impressive bass tones which hit the very lowest of decibels. Playing rap music with very deep bass was not an issue at full volume. I also positioned my subwoofer behind my couch. The bass is Amplified correctly throughout the entire room. Thanks again to the Sony rep that just happened to be in the store when I made the purchase. I really appreciate the extra discount! If you're using a Sony TV, make sure to go into your advanced audio settings and select compressed audio as well as Auto 2 for compressed multi-channel audio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

26

10

0

Real Review! Best High Definition Sound Bar

HT-Z9F 17 July 2018 by BZupancic (USA)

First off, almost all of the reviews I've read, describe Sony's branded discription. You can change the wording, but it's still the same sentence. This really bothers me!! With that said, I'm going to be the first to give a real user review from someone who is very familiar with high-definition 24-bit sound and Dolby Atmos. I have owned it all. Whether you own a Sony TV or not, the number one reason to buy this Soundbar is the Virtual Sound Engine. When this feature is enabled, by pressing the Vertical-S button, all audio signals are upscale to 7.1 virtual surround. To me it sounds like the audio is firing from every direction. Without this option the audio fires directly at you. Something I'm sure we're all used to. I bought this Soundbar to play 24 bit or greater audio, whether it be TV, movies or music. I was ready for the next big step in audio development. The Sony HT-Z9F is the best sounding Soundbar I have ever owned. I've had sound bars from JBL, Samsung, Klipsch and LG. The htz9f is the first Soundbar that sounds like a REAL sound system. The Z9F has true 3.1 sound, equivalent to any independently powered left, right and Center Channel setup. This is thanks to Sonys S-Master HX amplifier which allows each speaker to act independently in true 3.1 fashion. This is something completely revolutionary and new to Soundbars in general. As I'm sure everyone wants to know, the subwoofer is excellent. Installation was as simple as plugging in the power source and turning the system on. The subwoofer has incredibly impressive bass tones which hit the very lowest of decibels. Playing rap music with very deep bass was not an issue at full volume. I also positioned my subwoofer behind my couch. The bass is Amplified correctly throughout the entire room. Thanks again to the Sony rep that just happened to be in the store when I made the purchase. I really appreciate the extra discount! If you're using a Sony TV, make sure to go into your advanced audio settings and select compressed audio as well as Auto 2 for compressed multi-channel audio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

4

0

WIFI

HTZ9F 17 July 2018 by Dangaby (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THIS PRODUCT IS QUALITY EVEN THOUGH HIT A SNAG INSTALLING IT

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The sound keeps cutting out in random intervals.

HTZ9F 10 July 2018 by sal1981 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less then a month ago and the sound keeps cutting out on me randomly. I wish some would get a hold of me to fix this. I don't know who to contact. Other then that it is a great product when it is working. I would like to give it more stars if this issue could be fixed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

0

Great small package with diverse capabilities

HT-Z9F 12 June 2018 by Ben50 (USA)

I am music and sound affectionate and I have been fortunate to have decent systems through my life. Lately I was looking to a sound bar to replace my old Sony HT CT260 and at the same time get an upgrade with the budget stablished at 1K. After researching several sound bars in that price range and reading reviews and manuals, yes someone read manuals even not owning the product, I decided to do sound test with my top choices: Denon Home cinema Heos HS 2 and Sony HT-Z9F. On paper Sony had all the features I am looking for; Wi-Fi connectivity, all Dolby protocols including Dolby Atmos, High resolution music capabilities and a center channel. Listing closely they were a similar for my ears. I choose Sony because I have a TV Sony and the fact that it has Dolby Atmos, a dedicated amplified center channel and High resolution music upscaling software. It also helps knowing that I will be able to acquire the wireless rear speakers in the future moving to a real 5.1 setup. The sound produced by this sound bar is incredible on definition, texture and different frequencies and it is as loud as the total 400 watts. The sub-woofer has not only strong sonic abilities with its deep bass but has the tightness and definition expected on upscale systems. It also integrates it sound seamlessly to the bar giving a much unified experience regardless you are watching movies or listening to music. In relation to the music, they are some important points in order to adjust the experience to your sound signature preferences: a) In order to use the High Resolution upscaling capability (DSEE HX) you have to use the advanced set up correctly and it will work only when Music or Auto Sound is selected. Actually, for some low quality (kpbs) MP3 files the sound will be somehow harsh and on this case you must turn this off. First of all it is very strange for me, that someone buys a High resolution capable system and use the lowest quality MP3s to play in this system. For more details refer to page 52 on the manual. b) The tone adjustment; old fashion bass and treble, it is in this system called “Level”, and contradicts some reviews where it is claimed impossible to adjust highs and lows in the system. You need to access advanced settings, then speaker and select level. You will be able to increase or decrease the output by 6dB in 0.5 increments like any other equalizer. The front speaker adjustment will change the treble response and the subwoofer the bass response. c) In order to get the best musical performances you have to turn DRC off. It compress the dynamic range making the music sound flat. Overall after adjusting this system I was able to experience a sound quality that I did not expected from such small speaker’s drivers in such elegant design. I strongly recommend this sound bar!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

28

1

0

Good product

HTZ9F 11 June 2018 by Banmastr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a good sound bar. It does the job. The volume has to be up pretty high for the sub woofer and extra speakers to kick in, so it's not quite as dynamic of a sound as the store display.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

0

ARC kills Smart functions..

HT-Z9F 14 May 2018 by leezor (USA)

I bought this last week w/ the rear speakers, and it works great when going through a HDMI input, but while connected to via the ARC HDMI ports of the bar and my tv (sony 75x940e), my Netflix and apps don't output through the rear speakers.. switching to hdmi 1, my time warner set top box, the rears works.. i've tried everything.. getting very annoyed..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

12

15

0

HT-Z9F 3.1 Dolby Atmos Soundbar

HTZ9F 02 May 2018 by Rkirt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a sound system that was capable of pass through the latest video signals. I also wanted Dolby Atmos reproduction. My viewing area is not suitable for signal reflection. The room is open on one end, has a fireplace with windows and shutters surrounding it on the other end. The wall opposite the TV has a bank of windows with shutters. The ceiling is vaulted with a large fan. In other words, no flat uniform surfaces. The specifications of the Sony HT-Z9F sounded great for my purposes. As soon as they became available I bought one. At first I wasn't too impressed. The sound did not seem like it was coming from all directions like in a theater. Then I configured my DVD player to output a bitstream signal. The soundbar came alive. Closing my eyes and listening to a movie with Dolby Atmos did seem like I was sitting in a theater. Left and right separation was clear. The sound from the movie followed the scenes left and right AND up and down. After hearing how good the 3.1 system was, I purchased the rear surrounds-SA-Z9R. They are a must have for this system. They are wireless except for the power cords. This system is a hoot. Simple, tidy, up to date, and boy does it fill the room with clear, crisp sound coming from small speakers. Movies are so much fun to watch with the added sound effects of Dolby Atmos with this system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

30

6

0

Very Satisfied!

HTZ9F 25 April 2018 by Chas1030 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the HT-Z9F last week and added the rear speakers several days later. The sub, and later the rear speakers, connected instantaneously without a hitch. However, the system required some tweaking before I heard the sound I was hoping to hear. I had to activate Bravia Sync on my XBR-43X800D. Then I got out my tape measure and SPL meter and set distances and levels in the Advanced Settings. Non-audio settings required adjustment as well. The IR Repeater is off by default and the HDMI video signal needed to be set to Enhanced. The audio with the Vertical Engine off is a little tinny and not particularly satisfying. However, with the Vertical Engine on, the HT-Z9F really shines. After trying Atmos UHD movies, Apple TV 4K {5.1 LPCM but no Atmos), and music via Bluetooth and ChromeCast, I left Vertical Engine on for everything. The soundstage is wide and high. The included demo material showcases the height effects but Atmos 4K movie effects sound richer and higher in the front rather than anything directly overhead. The bass is plenty powerful. You can tweak as you wish easily via the remote. The soundbar alone is very good and can fill a small room but the rear speakers definitely improve the experience. And it can get LOUD… I have the HT-Z9F plus rear speakers in my small to medium sized office and they completely fill the room with excellent sound that has exceeded my expectations. My wife, an AV Luddite, even said “Wow! Impressive!”

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

24

3

0

Nice sound

HT-Z9F 23 April 2018 by Jay1234 (USA)

Packing was very neat and easy to take out of the box. Setup was very straightforward and you really don't even need the instructions. The subwoofer paired instantly as soon as it was plugged in. Compared to more entry level soundbars, it will take you a while to check all the settings available and adjust them (speaker distance, enhanced HDMI, voice control, and so on). While I can't say I notice a definitive Atmos effect, the sound field does seem remarkably wide for a bar with 3 tiny speakers in it. I didn't buy the separate rear speaker package but may do that to improve the sound even further.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

16

4

0

...

HT-Z9F 11 January 2018 by B panikumar (USA)

Super and awesome product i fully satisfy with sony products

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

33