Article ID : SX520104 / Last Modified : 24/09/2020

Will I lose my data when I perform a software update?

    In the majority of cases, a software update does not remove any personal data from your Xperia™ device.

    We do recommend, however, that you back up photos, videos and other personal content to a non-internal memory, for example, an online backup option which saves your data to online servers (the cloud). You can do this using Settings > System > (Advanced)Backup (Android 9) Settings > System > Backup (Android™ 8.x) or Settings > Backup & reset (lower Android™ versions).