53

4.5 based on 53 customer reviews

38
10
2
0
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best oled tv in 2018

A8F Series 12 April 2018 by Aikoku (USA)

This tv has an improve panel than the previous A1E. My 65” doesn’t have vertical banding problem. Pic quality is as greater, clearer than A1E, although Sony said they use the same panel and same tech on A8F. I don’t know why, because I use both 65” and in action movie with high noise, A8F will give better pic without vertical banding on dark grey color screen. The only thing I don’t like is Android TV, it’s not good as LG owns OS. But it’s not really important because pic quality is the most important for me when choosing new TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great TV but.................................

A8F Series 03 August 2018 by SOCA (USA)

I purchased 65" A8F two months ago and installed it a month later. Within a few weeks a red dot showed up on my screen. Although under warranty, Sony stated that the TV was damaged by looking at a cell phone picture. After my installer sent them a letter stating the TV was in perfect shape and it would be impossible to ascertain damage without physically looking at the TV, which he has. Love the TV, however it appears Sony will not support their products. I would love to recommend Sony and especially this model, but hard to live with a bright red dot on a brand new TV. I have read many reviews about the elegance of the picture quality and without the red dot, it's 10s across the board. However the fact Sony won't send a technician out to examine the screen on a brand new TV that is obviously defective speaks volumes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

5

53 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Lbve the SMART options

55" class (54.6" diag) 10 November 2018 by JIm V (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have had the Sony OLED TV for a few weeks and can't say enough about the picture quality, especially on 4K provided programming. The fascinating enjoyment is using the search feature with the microphone enabled remote to view high quality recorings of almost anything that you can think of using keywords. This TV as most newly produced TVs no longer have a slot for an SD card which was great for producing a slide of show of our travels. Perhaps I'll devise a connection to enable this feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So Glad I Chose This TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 05 November 2018 by Rick749 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this TV... the picture is so clear and vivid. Real life should look this good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Dimming Ruins TV

A8F Series 24 October 2018 by SeanW (USA)

An otherwise amazing set, software based dimming ruins this incredible set. So much so, I’m at home watching the World Series and it looks like it’s 2am in the stadium while watching the TV. Really disappointed as a longtime Sony fan.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Best Picture and Features

65" class (64.5" diag) 23 October 2018 by JJ Star (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best of its class. Needs to be handled carefully while installing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great colors

55" class (54.6" diag) 23 October 2018 by Shakira73 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy with this set it's better than the old one that die on me after 5 years of use. It was other make not a sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

good product

65" class (64.5" diag) 21 October 2018 by locletran (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this product is great product, i recommenced my family .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I'm A SONY Fan

55" class (54.6" diag) 20 October 2018 by Larrman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this installed along with a Sony AV receiver. The picture, and sound, is awesome. I was going to go with a Samsung, but was blown away with a side by side comparison of the two. I have used Sony products (and Samsung as well) for years and if I have a choice, I'll go Sony every time. You shouls too...you won't regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Picture good

65" class (64.5" diag) 17 October 2018 by M2m2m (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

First one lasted a week. Waited a week for a new one. Service staff very good and I got a brand new replacement. Fingers crossed on new one

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

This is one of the best entertaining TVs

55" class (54.6" diag) 17 October 2018 by Antonator (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had it for over a month, and I am enjoying it everyday. It has almost everything built in, for a very thin screen. It is pricey, but worth it. Also, the sound quality is so good, you don't even need a sound bar, that's my opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Superb SONY Style

65" class (64.5" diag) 10 October 2018 by Porsha996 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

An incredibly beautiful monitor with a picture to match...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect contrast

55" class (54.6" diag) 06 October 2018 by Paul6800 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One month. Perfection in evert respect. Sports are 10 times better than my old 4K TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The best TV I ever purchased

55" class (54.6" diag) 04 October 2018 by Mentor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the picture of the OLED TV. Vivid colors and very fast processor for internet viewing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

News Watcher

65" class (64.5" diag) 30 August 2018 by News Watcher (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony XBR65A8F OLED TV in June. I was so impressed of the picture. About two weeks later, the TV shut-off while I'm watching it. A red LED light is flashing. I checked manual and following the instruction accordingly and got TV turned back on. Next day same problem happened again. This time, it happened every 10 to 20 minutes. After contacting the SONY tech support people, and found out it is a problem unit and they are willing to replace it. The whole replacement process took more than a month. While I'm waiting the process, I did a research on the OLED TV, and found OLED TV has a known issue called Burn-in, or Image Retention if you watch a news channel like CNN or CNBC, which usually has a streaming bright news line running at the bottom. I'm a private investor, I watch the CNBC all day long. The suggestion to watch 1 to 2 hours and turn-off and wait, than watch again. My solution to this is I bought another LED TV for CNBC and only use the OLED TV for movies and other shows. For regular people, I'll recommend this product because the quality of the picture. But if you are news watcher like me, you better get a LED TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Beautiful, clear, picture with fabulous colors

65" class (64.5" diag) 30 August 2018 by flyboyn31 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the Sony A8F OLED TV about a month ago and I have never been glued to any TV, but this one got me. Watching any sporting event is like being in the stadium. HD movie or show is like standing next to the actors in the studio.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Arrived yesterday

A8F Series 17 August 2018 by MistaJoe (USA)

I only buy SONY TV's because in my opinion they are by far the best. Set up my A8F 55" yesterday and it is very nice. Excellent picture, still need a soundbar even though I read about how improved the sound is. Not enough for me just utilizing the TV sound. If I had the purchase to do over I would probably just purchase the 4K Sony instead of the OLED for a little more than 25% of the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Great TV but.................................

A8F Series 03 August 2018 by SOCA (USA)

I purchased 65" A8F two months ago and installed it a month later. Within a few weeks a red dot showed up on my screen. Although under warranty, Sony stated that the TV was damaged by looking at a cell phone picture. After my installer sent them a letter stating the TV was in perfect shape and it would be impossible to ascertain damage without physically looking at the TV, which he has. Love the TV, however it appears Sony will not support their products. I would love to recommend Sony and especially this model, but hard to live with a bright red dot on a brand new TV. I have read many reviews about the elegance of the picture quality and without the red dot, it's 10s across the board. However the fact Sony won't send a technician out to examine the screen on a brand new TV that is obviously defective speaks volumes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

5

0

Exceptional TV, really enjoying it

65" class (64.5" diag) 28 July 2018 by Barbra (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The clarity of the picture and the sound is great. So much better than my last TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

My first OLED 4K Ultra HD television.

55" class (54.6" diag) 24 July 2018 by Markey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful picture and great sound. Only complaint is very few directions in booklet. Have trouble tuning the HDR to my liking on netflix. Beautiful picture in HD with the right Comcast cable box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

Great contrast and eye popping color

55" class (54.6" diag) 18 July 2018 by Dave1946 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Watching an Sony Oled is a totally different experience than watching an led. The picture is sharper because of the single pixel control. I watch an original episode of Star Trek on Netflix and it never looked better. The roots band on Jimmy Fallon show instruments crome was brilliant. Best picture ever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Great tv

55" class (54.6" diag) 12 July 2018 by Dragon0486 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The a8f is a great tv. When watching 4k the tv is Amazing. 1080p is good 2 but the tv is amazing on 4k. I love everything about the tv. Sound is good, and android tv is good 2. The only thing I dislike about the tv is the remote. It is laggy at times, but when using an remote app like android tv remote or sony remote app. Sony just needs to work on a better remote for the tv's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Not bad!

65" class (64.5" diag) 08 July 2018 by Big homie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far, it's the best TV ive ever owned, And I've owned a lot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Better than Movie Theater with 4K

55" class (54.6" diag) 30 June 2018 by DrWatson (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In addition to the expected new dimension of picture quality, the full screen sound system is like a live stage production where the characters speak directly to you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

Grat fixtures!!

65" class (64.5" diag) 29 June 2018 by marto18 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV a month ago and I am very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

problems getting sound through the surround sound

A8F Series 25 June 2018 by luis arocho (USA)

i have a A8F65' OLED everything is connected correctly sound comes through my surround sound for anything from the cable bod but when i go into the apps in the home button i can only hear through tv anyone had this problem ?

7

15

0

Great Picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 22 June 2018 by JesseNat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the clear picture and the quality of sound. Thanks sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

5

0

Perfect Picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 20 June 2018 by Arcadianfox (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The color, contrast, clarity of this tv is off the charts. Zero burn in problems, excellent design, and good features include Acoustic Surface, Google Assistant, variety of settings and more. The Android TV I can live with, it’s not perfect, and the remote isn’t as premium as the TV itself, but I’m amazed at the TV for its stellar picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

5

0

Highest QUALITY products

65" class (64.5" diag) 19 June 2018 by Sony Quality (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony makes the highest QUALITY products in the market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

7

0

New Sony A8F OLED

55" class (54.6" diag) 18 June 2018 by Boldie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Set up was easy however the information booklet is terrible very little substance. Color is beautiful and very clear but the remote isn't so nice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Great TV..

A8F Series 13 June 2018 by AwesomeInAustin (USA)

I love the TV. Its got great image quality, but sometimes the software is LAGGY. I would have expected a snappier response from the software on a TV such as this (Better UX design on the software perhaps - expectation setters). The software issues seem to clear up when the TV is rebooted (I expect they will come back and this might be the answer). It would be nice if Internet TV providers (like HULU TV) are given first class citizenship into the tv viewing experience. Not sure if this is an Android TV or a Sony design "feature". Over all I'm pretty stoked by the TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

6

0

Amazing TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 12 June 2018 by MikeyStef (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was going to go with QLED but this tv is by far the best picture I’ve seen. Great wire management and has a bonus with the google assistant built in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

Best thing I ever bought

55" class (54.6" diag) 10 June 2018 by Wakigo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have built a top of the line PC for myself and this TV still out performs anything my PC can put out. The quality in the image is so good my parents (60+) actually appreciated how clear it is to watch old shows. Absolutely worth it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

HORIZONTAL LINES ON SCREEN.

A8F Series 08 June 2018 by DannyR (Philippines)

We had a SONNY bravia X85D 55" 2016 model unfortunately after one year a horizontal line appears on the screen and after a couple of months it became 2 horizontal lines and there is a problem in the main sound. I like Sonny TV it has superb resolution quality but I hate for we have this problem after only more than a year.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Is worth every dollar!!

65" class (64.5" diag) 31 May 2018 by Godofwar69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a must buy love my new oled tv!! I will buy another tv from sony in the future

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

Very nice dark colors and great sound.

55" class (54.6" diag) 30 May 2018 by Blue 17187 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this tv about two/three months. Initially selected this model but purchased 930 e instead. Kept it one day and decided on the 55 OLED. So the first unit was installed and then the OLED with no problems. Right now I would surmise the better unit is the OLED. Love the dark and rich colors and the new flat base. The screen sound is great and clear. Little adjustment was necessary during the setup.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Blown away every day

65" class (64.5" diag) 29 May 2018 by Cwok1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had my 65A8F for about a month. The picture is amazing, and so is the sound. I use the Google Assistant more than I ever thought I would.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Super picture quality

55" class (54.6" diag) 24 May 2018 by Landy12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband purchased this tv set about 3 weeks ago and we love it but we have not figured out a way to save the audio settings. We listen to music and adjust the settings but when we shut the tv set for the night, we have to reset the settings again when we turn it on the next day. There must be a way to save the new settings! I also hate having to use 2 remotes!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Great capability nice features and awesome picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 24 May 2018 by Danny85 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing product ,little on a higher side price wise ,but you get what you pay for with great picture detail awesome sound and great features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Amazing

55" class (54.6" diag) 22 May 2018 by barwal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture quality is outstanding and the user interface and apps are excellent. There are only three issues that I hope Sony will address in the near future. 1. The Closed Caption button on the remote doesn't work when the source is "Set Top Box". 2. Amazon's 4k content is not available in the Amazon App. 3. The remote is complex and very rich in user interface features but hard to figure out with limited instructions. TV is expensive but worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

2

0

Awesome picture, sound, and interface

A8F Series 22 May 2018 by GregInLA (USA)

Beautiful tv, state of the art design, picture quality and sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony Oled

65" class (64.5" diag) 17 May 2018 by Lucasman10 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing Tv but my remote stopped working 1 week in

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Excellent picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 14 May 2018 by Jdaddy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this just about a week ago, right off the bat noticed a huge improvement. Even in replacing a full hdr, backlit tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Unbelievable Picture Quality

65" class (64.5" diag) 06 May 2018 by Aunt DD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have only had this TV for about 3 weeks. But so far I rate it 5 stars. The picture quality is unbelievable. It has Great sound quality. Was easy to setup and is easy to navigate. So far we are in Love with this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Best oled tv

A8F Series 04 May 2018 by digitthecat (USA)

Wanted last years model but to pricey for me & wasn't crazy about the kick stand.The 2018 more affordable & better styling with the best oled pix on the market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

The best consumer display of 2018

65" class (64.5" diag) 02 May 2018 by Jeremy Magnolia (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

OLED is the superior display technology and it shows in this TV. Perfect blacks, fantastic color, and Dolby Vision support coming in Summer 2018 makes this TV a dream. It's thin and stylish and delivers an excellent picture. Very worth the price for anyone who concerns themselves with quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

4

0

amazing

A8F Series 02 May 2018 by mattia1 (USA)

its incredible, we thought the tv was turned off while a movie was loading since the back its really really black, sound was good i think im missing something because although sony advertises 2 base speakers, i can really hear much of a base. its very thin as thin as my phone x. incredible tv no doubt.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Stand isn’t 90 degrees.

A8F Series 26 April 2018 by Colorado lawyer (USA)

Got my 55”today. TV still tilts backwards. Disappointed. Not recommended unless wall mounted. May return it for lg.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

5

26

0

Great picture quality and design. But...

A8F Series 15 April 2018 by JB909 (USA)

Great picture quality and design but no Dolby Vision as advertised. After the initial setup and software update I played several shows on Netflix that I know it’s in Dolby Vision but for some reason it’s only showing in HDR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

20

11

0

Best oled tv in 2018

A8F Series 12 April 2018 by Aikoku (USA)

This tv has an improve panel than the previous A1E. My 65” doesn’t have vertical banding problem. Pic quality is as greater, clearer than A1E, although Sony said they use the same panel and same tech on A8F. I don’t know why, because I use both 65” and in action movie with high noise, A8F will give better pic without vertical banding on dark grey color screen. The only thing I don’t like is Android TV, it’s not good as LG owns OS. But it’s not really important because pic quality is the most important for me when choosing new TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

33

0

0

WOW!!! This is the TV I have been waiting for!

A8F Series 08 April 2018 by aubieguy (USA)

I have been wanting and waiting for the right new tv for the last 3 years. I knew I wanted to upgrade my old Sony Bravia for a new OLED when the new product reviews came out earlier this year. I am so glad I waited for the new Sony Bravia OLED A8F to be released - this tv is everything I have been waiting for. Very clean, upright appearance with a razor-thin border and INCREDIBLE 4k picture. I have been watching the Masters in 4k and it feels like I am back at Augusta behind the ropes. I was worried about the sound not being loud enough, but I am amazed by how much sound is produced by the glass/actuators (I don't have to worry about a new soundbar now). If you have been looking for a new OLED tv, check this one out - it will not disappoint!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

7

0

Beautiful Set with fantastic picture

A8F Series 02 April 2018 by Chuck901 (USA)

The styling is top notch, very thin profile. The picture is bright and rich with fantastic color saturation. Motion is butter smooth and this quite honestly the best set I have owned. Sony hit a homerun with this set !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

lacking info

A8F Series 02 March 2018 by Mark Boss (USA)

does not list true (or any) refresh rate (like Samsung does) 60, 120, 240

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

102

0

wow brillint technology

A8F Series 16 January 2018 by vimlesh (USA)

sony now back to real sony picture and sound quality. android is very good for gaming

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Sony always best

A8F Series 09 January 2018 by Rana (USA)

Design future and picture quality sound comes from screen wow thats great technology

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

4