P 110,990.00

11

3.5 based on 11 customer reviews

6
0
1
1
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent Lens

SEL200600G 12 September 2019 by Low country Frank (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a month ago and very happy with the lenses performance. Great pictures and the lens features are outstanding. It’s a little heavier than I’m used to but I am very happy with the overall package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Versatile and Great Design, but Poor QC

SEL200600G 01 October 2019 by MightyDog (USA)

I had many telephoto lenses from Nikon and Canon, and now Sony. I just got rid of a 100-400mm in order to get this 200-600mm. This is what I was looking for so long because I take aviation pictures. I love its speed, picture quality, and mostly all, coverage. However, when I pulled it out of a box a few days ago, the lens (it was wrapped) was covered with dirt/particles and a couple of big particles were in the lens. One of particle is stuck to inside of the front of the lens and won't move. I'm extremely disappointed by Sony's quality control since the particle is very visible; Sony should review its manufacturing environment.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

5

19 Customer Reviews

0

200-600 with A7r4 is made for birders.

SEL200600G 22 November 2019 by Ebird (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought an A7r4 and this lens a month ago, waited until yesterday for the lens, as it is quite popular. and there is a waiting list. This is my first Sony full frame, and I have spent the interval learning the system and setting the camera up. (I also got a Zeiss Batis 18mm, amazing lens) First impressions: I would not classify this kit as lightweight, but it is substantially lighter than anything else similar capability. Image quality is simply awesome, in FF or crop mode. I suspect most birders will use the crop mode more than the FF mode, particularly for small and/or distant birds.The lens becomes a 300-900 in APS-C mode (Called super 35mm here). First order of business is to assign this to a custom button. Cropability of the images is also eye-popping. Resolution is reach, and this oozes resolution. Image stabilization is amazing, I can't hold this rig all that steady, and yet it is tack sharp at relatively low shutter speeds. I haven't started playing with the three modes on the lens yet. So far I am using silent shooting for everything but BIF. Works great, but there is a risk of shutter roll with the tracking focus, hence regular shuttering for BIF. I am using hi-speed shooting mode (10fps, but am thinking about slowing it down except for BIF.) Auto Focus is also highly capable. As a start, I am using DMF with center mode for perched birds, or birds in clutter (often the same). Also have a set up with C-AF and Expand Flex spot. For BIF I am using C-AF with wide focus area, so far in limited action grabs right onto the bird Rear focus button is your friend; use it, and disable the shutter release focus. I also have an Olympus ee-1 red-dot sight for BIF, where has this been all my life?? Makes tracking BIF so much easier. (Note to Sony, build something like this into the view screen, make it assignable to a custom button, or just make it standard above 200-300 mm or so.) As for the infamous menu system, it is really a reflection of the extremely customizable nature of the camera. You aren't really going to use most of it, but you need to know what it all does. It is fairly easy to assign the settings you actually need in the field to the custom buttons, dials, fn menu and the "my menu" slot in the top menu row. I also recommend backing settings up to both the in-camera card(s) and to another (old) card that you carry in your bag. And copy them to your computer as well. And as you set the camera up, keep a chart on what you did, and keep that on your phone. (Note to Sony: you should have an option in the camera to offload something like this as a PDF) (Additional note to Sony: you should provide an option to make ANY setting a favorite from the setting itself. The process of going to the "my menu" section and using an add function is not only cumbersome, but impeded by the fact that the add function uses a different numbering system than the actual menu tree). Couple of random notes about the lens: The tripod foot is not Arca-compatible, you might want to get a third-party one. Look for one that will allow it to mount to the tripod without removing any carrying strap attachment. (Note to Sony: ????!!?). I got a set of camo lens-coats, the lens is pretty white to point at birds. Also, you should buy some lens caps with built in leashes. You can attach the leash to the tag on the lens coat section that covers the hood, using a couple of small cable ties. (be sure that said tag points toward the ground with when locked into place). The leash will reach the lens with the hood in either position, and keeps the cap always at hand. Couple of random notes about the camera. The FF files are very large, a reason to use the crop mode if you are going to crop the photos at least the much anyway. I am recording compressed RAW plus JPEG, given the size of the RAW files, having the JPEGS speeds up workflow considerably. Best advice seems to be that unimpressed RAW is only better for night shooting and astrophotography. Setting can be put into one of the easy to reach places if you want to switch it, for birding it seems superfluous. High capacity UHS-2 cards are NOT an option, unless you like watching your buffer write. The ergonomics of the camera are really excellent (I am average size, wear a mens large glove). It feels great in the hand, and the buttons are well-placed and easy to ID by touch. So, basically happy with it so far, will post some more when I have used it awhile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Focus issues

SEL200600G 04 November 2019 by Imastarkidder (USA)

I was so excited to finally receive this lens after waiting a month. Unfortunately, the lens I received hunts focus and when it does focus, as soon as I press the shutter to snap the photo, the lens loses focus and the image comes out blurry. At some focal lengths it doesn't do this but the longer lengths it does it most of the time. I found myself either having to use the focus hold button on every shot or just using manual focus. The images that are in focus are very good, but I think I got a defective lens and am returning it to the seller. Very disappointing. I researched and can't find any other related issues on the internet. All reviews rave about how fast and accurate the lens focuses. I will try again after they have been in production longer and hopefully any problems have been resolved. Love my other Sony lenses and AR7IV!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Superb lens.Exceeds all expectations.

SEL200600G 23 October 2019 by eddiejpeg (United Kingdom)

Exceeds all expectations.I have been using the lens with the latest Sony A7RIV and the resulting are simply stunning.The photos that i have included are all very highly cropped j pegs fine.The details are simply remarkeable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Remarkably good lens.

SEL200600G 19 October 2019 by JAWJR (USA)

Sony sent me several lenses to test, along with the A7RIII and A9 bodies. The 200-600 was/is the make-or-break lens in my decision to switch from Canon to Sony (which I am doing based on these tests). I currently shoot the Canon 5Dsr and 5DmkIV, and my go-to long lens is the 500 f4 L v1. So the bar was set pretty high for the Sony 200-600. It cleared it nicely. Throughout its zoom range, the 200-600 is critically sharp, even wide open, delivering images that scream, "Great glass!" at 1:1 on my monitor. Some of that may be due to the excellent sensor in the A7RIII, but that doesn't matter to me because I use a system, not single components. The internal zooming is extremely smooth and makes for a consistently well-balanced kit. The AF and IS are both great, yielding fast, accurate focusing and steady, shake-free images. And, it's light, about 5lbs lighter than my Canon 500mm. This means I'll carry the Sony to more, and more remote, places where I'll get that 600mm reach. This is the lens I've been dreaming about for years, and Sony has really delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Appreciable lens for appreciable price

SEL200600G 17 October 2019 by ArielP (USA)

I was looking for the 400mm 2.8 or the 600mm f4 but found out that it is a pre ordered thing. Bought this lens in Singapore instead 4 days ago but was hesitant that it will satisfy me...and it did after taking some photos to a nearby bird park.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Well balanced, short throw zooming beauty!

SEL200600G 12 October 2019 by Kwitty (USA)

I recently switched Canon to Sony and was attracted to the 200-600 zoom that Sony offered and I primarily shoot wildlife, small birds and birds in flight. This lens compared to other brands of zooms I have owned is a superior in sharpness wide open and fast to focus and does not vary in length when zoomed. Zoom ring is a short throw design and can easily be thumb rotated. Stabilization is impressive too! All good on this one with color and sharpness and pinpoint focus accuracy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

incredible hand held performance for a super tele

SEL200600G 09 October 2019 by mackle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

have shot this for a little over a month. using with a7r4 and a9. everything that is advertised and more. couldn't be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Versatile and Great Design, but Poor QC

SEL200600G 01 October 2019 by MightyDog (USA)

I had many telephoto lenses from Nikon and Canon, and now Sony. I just got rid of a 100-400mm in order to get this 200-600mm. This is what I was looking for so long because I take aviation pictures. I love its speed, picture quality, and mostly all, coverage. However, when I pulled it out of a box a few days ago, the lens (it was wrapped) was covered with dirt/particles and a couple of big particles were in the lens. One of particle is stuck to inside of the front of the lens and won't move. I'm extremely disappointed by Sony's quality control since the particle is very visible; Sony should review its manufacturing environment.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

5

0

Impressive lens

SEL200600G 22 September 2019 by santa claus (United Kingdom)

Haven't used seriously yet but my initial test are very encouraging. Focussing is so much quicker than my previous lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

Great for wildlife photography!

SEL200600G 14 September 2019 by Wingmac (Philippines)

This lens can hold its candle against it’s touted G Master siblings in terms of IQ quality, AF speed, reliability and resolving power! It matches very well with the Sony A9!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL200600G 12 September 2019 by Low country Frank (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a month ago and very happy with the lenses performance. Great pictures and the lens features are outstanding. It’s a little heavier than I’m used to but I am very happy with the overall package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Great build and features. Soft copy.

SEL200600G 05 September 2019 by SkySpades (USA)

I love the feel and ease of use of the 200-600, it can't be beat in that regard. Unfortunately I received a soft copy. I also own a Nikon 200-500 and my copy of the 200-600 is noticeably softer in all situations; good light, bad light, near and far. I really had high expectations for this lens. I've read about others who have received soft copies as well as many who have received exceptional copies that are sharp even with the 1.4x. Hopefully Sony gets the quality control in order, but maybe that's why it's a G and not a GM lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

4

0

Follow up review

SEL200600G 29 August 2019 by Mxer1255kxx (USA)

The only option Sony would give me is to send the lens in for repair. I also found a second particle on the inside body of then lens. Barely a week old when the issue happened and just over 2 weeks since I got it. This is not how you handle customer service. Furthermore I will not send this lens in repair because the facility they want me to use severely damaged a 24-70 F2.8 GM lens of mine a few months ago. I love every other product including this lens until all these particles started showing up inside the lens. I will be returning this lens today and waiting who knows how long to find another when they become available. Big let down Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

12

0

Great at first, not so much now.

SEL200600G 25 August 2019 by Mxer1255kx (USA)

I had this lens about 1 week and was loving it. Then a giant spec of something appeared inside the lens on the front element. $2090 for a sealed lens that doesn’t extend and STILL gets a large piece of something inside the lens after less than a week. Very disappointed in the quality. None of my 4 other GM lenses or Zeiss lenses have anything inside and they were all used.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

12

11

0

Sony hit a home run with this lens.

SEL200600G 22 August 2019 by Ross G (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Every since I changed over from my a-mount cameras to e-mount this is the lens that I have been waiting for. It has very fast AF and great sharpness. I am a wildlife photographer and this lens fits right in with my FE 100-400GM. I am using the 200-600G on my A9 and this is a killer combination. I will highly recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

1

0

Requires high ISO shooting, even in good light...

SEL200600G 19 August 2019 by johp (USA)

I appreciate many Sony's lenses, especially the GM lenses (of which I own all except the 100mm f/2.8 STF GM). I particularly love the 70-200 GM and the 100-400 GM lenses, so I was very excited to hear of the new 200-600 G lens that was getting so many positive reviews from Sony representatives... Unfortunately, my experience with the lens has been mixed. The slower aperture glass requires higher ISO shooting, so that, for example, even in full sun the A7R3 often requires ISO 1000+ when shooting wide open at 600mm at 1/500- 1/800 shutter speeds. I compared this result with my Nikon d850 using the 200-500 5.6 VR lens. I set the aperture of the Nikkor to 6.3 to match the Sony lens and set the focal length to 500mm and was able to shoot 1/500 at ISO 320 with no problems. The image stabilization of the 200-500 is actually far better than the OIS of the Sony lens, too, so I could actually bring the ISO down to 100 and handhold the lens at 1/100 (and even lower!) with no image quality loss. With the Sony lens, on the other hand, the shutter speed must be quite high to compensate for lens shake at longer focal lengths (even when using IBIS and with the lens' Optical Steady Shot set to on). The upshot here is that the Sony lens requires higher ISO shooting, resulting in noisier images that will require post-processing to clean up. It's too bad Sony didn't take a page from Nikon on this lens. I would have preferred a constant aperture f5.6 lens even at the expense of the extra 100mm on the long end instead of a lens that stops down to f6.3 at 300mm or greater... I realize there are design and engineering trade-offs, of course, and that Sony made some compromises to keep costs down. Unfortunately for me, and probably for other photographers, the slower glass combined with higher ISO requirements will present challenges in all but the most well lit situations. On the positive side, however, the lens is well balanced and when you nail focus and don't have any lens shake, the image quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

24

0

Ease of operation!

SEL200600G 17 August 2019 by Spontin (USA)

I replaced my GM 100-400 with this lens. Might be a lesser quality image, but it is so much more fun to use this lens. Smooth, modern zooming process (internal lens zooming), sharp and just a pleasure to use!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

Finally a long zoom for Sony!

SEL200600G 16 August 2019 by BillyS (USA)

This lens just came out, and I have just had it a few days, but I am so excited to review it! I am coming from the Sigma 150-600c with the MC-11 converter, which worked well, but was very slow to focus, and missed focus much of the time. As a wildlife shooter this meant many lost moments. I love Sony cameras, but was jealous of friends that had fast focusing lenses at over 400mm. I am using the 200-600 on my a6500, and it is night and day! The autofocus speed feels just as fast as my Sony 24-240 lens, which is to say, really fast. It is also silent, I can't believe it can move that much glass so fast without making a noise! I didn't know what to expect out of the all internal zoom, but it improves balance over the Sigma noticeably. The lens also feels lighter than the Sigma, even though it is spec'd a bit heavier. I was pleased with the Sigma's image quality, but this is another level. Sony hit it out of the park with this one! I've been wanting a Sony native extreme tele zoom for years, and couldn't be happier!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

4

0

Disappointed

SEL200600G 12 August 2019  (USA)

Pre ordered this lens without reservation as all my previous Sony lens are great products and far exceed third party lenses. This lens "hunts" to focus and even in bright daylight requires a very high ISO. Even higher the my 100-400 with 1.4 extender. Would not recommend to anyone.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

39