FE 50MM F1.8

Product Reviews

P 17,500.00

157

4.1 based on 157 customer reviews

70
48
25
7
7
Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great value.

SEL50F18F 20 April 2017 by ewoodsphoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Older tech focus motor is a bit noisy and a tad sluggish compared to some of Sony's speedier lenses, but it is not that bad in either regard. But... Sharp on center. Great bokeh. Thin DOF. Great colors. Exactly what I expect from a nifty fifty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

nice lens but noisy

SEL50F18F 21 February 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a nice lens with good results both in still image and on video. Unfortunately, everything stop there! The lens is too noosy for use in with friends in an event like wedding. Even on video you can hear the focus micro-adjusting. Due to the noise, i learn to shoot with the back button focus and that only in single focus as the continuous focus sounds like a tractor. I prefer my manual off brand 50mm f1.4!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

159 Customer Reviews

0

Nice Nifty Fifty

SEL50F18F//CSYX 16 April 2024 by Konzo (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad i bought this due to lightweight and great depth of field achieve

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing best beginner lens

SEL50F18F 05 April 2024 by Beannnnnnn (United Kingdom)

Easy to use super sharp no problem at all amazing for car Photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little lens!

SEL50F18F 31 March 2024 by Pete271 (United Kingdom)

I use this lens mainly for interior shots, churches, cathedrals etc. the wide aperature is great and the definition is very good. Very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The literal worst lens I’ve ever used.

SEL50F18F 27 March 2024 by Aphonic (United Kingdom)

People go on and on about “if you don’t need to shoot sports this is a hidden gem”. Don’t believe them. This is the actual worst first party lens I’ve ever used. Not only is the autofocus non functional (as in it hints on a static object, like a building, in full daylight) but when it does “lock” it’s wrong. I took 35 autofocus photos. Not one was in focus. You may say.. wait a building, trust me I tried everything including half a building with a blue sky behind it. For those long time experienced Sony users. My original rx-1 focuses at least three times faster than this lens on an a7iv. So fortunately I also decided to test sharpness. So I set it to f11 and focused about a a third if the way into a scene inside the DOF - awful. I focused directly on a few objects, awful. It’s less sharp than a 2010 nex kit lens. It hunts in broad daylight, it locks out of focus on a building even, it’s cheaply built, it’s not sharp, no weather sealing, bad manual focus feel, there is nothing redeeming. Again, and I really can’t stress this enough, it’s the actual worst first party lens I’ve ever owned across 5 major camera brands. Don’t buy it. Mom shocked they’re still putting this out there, it’s an absolute stain on their reputation. Everyone has a nifty fifty. None of them are this bad. Let’s see if Sony accepts this review.

Picture Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony support team
01 April 2024

Hi Aphonic,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you're having difficulties using the focus of the lens.
We can confirm that the focus also depends on the camera used, this is why we recommend adjusting the settings as per your shooting conditions, below you can find few examples:
-Focusing on a human eye: https://cutt.ly/mw30Svsq
-Focus area limit: https://cutt.ly/Sw3023Xk
-Registering the current focus area: https://cutt.ly/cw309ImG

We also recommend trying the steps below to make sure that both your camera and lens are performing to their ultimate potential:

-Update the camera: https://cutt.ly/aw303QNC
-Update the lens: https://cutt.ly/tw303cTI
-Follow the steps here: https://cutt.ly/aw303GaC

If the issue remains, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us here: https://cutt.ly/q8P6ehW, (Copy and paste the link in your browser).

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Not a sigma, but takes amazing pictures

SEL50F18F 26 March 2024 by Bayarealove (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this over 8 months ago and had not become serious about shooting. I've since learned my camera and I'm an apsc shooter. So it shoots like a 75 mm. I love the clean beautiful look. I am big fan of sigma, but I love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Broken lens for £159

SEL50F18F 24 March 2024 by Koudia97 (United Kingdom)

You’ve sent me a lens for £159 that’s broken, does not zoom in or out. Also I’ve already sent over a email with this issue and still no reply.

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
26 March 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to learn that you've received a broken Sony SEL50F28F lens.

Having read your feedback about this issue, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://cutt.ly/JwU9zuYo

Mazen @ Sony Support UK

0

Great value lens for the price but noisy

SEL50F18F 24 February 2024 by Guildo Fawkes (United Kingdom)

Overall a good low cost prime, your classic nifty fifty. Everything put together while for the price but would have liked a pouch to keep it in that you get with other manufactures like Viltrox 20mm. Biggest issue is motor noise, its loud and audible on video

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
28 February 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony SEL50F18F lens, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.

We highly appreciate your valued feedback, we are always delighted to hear from our customers, and are always working to develop our products to what suits your needs. We have flagged your feedback as voice of customer, to the concerned team for future consideration.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/JwU9zuYo

Mazen @ Sony Support UK

0

not bad for the price

SEL50F18F 14 February 2024 by marcell114 (United Kingdom)

using this lens already 2 years. I like it! It came with the version 1 firmware and the focus motor was extremly loud. but after updated to the ver. 3 the motor went bit quiter. Still loud but for photography its okey. otherwise only few time its fail to find the focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
16 February 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony SEL50F18F lens, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.

Yet, we're sorry to learn that its motor is loud, and that you had trouble getting the pictures in focus.
To improve the focus performance, always make sure that the sensor and the lens are clean. Please, check the steps here: https://cutt.ly/iwV2K7WC

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/JwU9zuYo

Mazen @ Sony Support UK

0

The magical nifty fifty

SEL50F18F//CSYX 30 January 2024 by bogieman8 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Value for money lens to shoot and practice composition and practically shoot with your legs.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love its simplicity

SEL50F18F//CSYX 19 January 2024 by Draz Visual (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago and really glad it becomes my prime lens. It is simple and practical for my ZVE1

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 50mm F1.8

SEL50F18F 30 December 2023 by Davers (United Kingdom)

Bought the 50mm as it as cheap and wanted to use it for portrait photography. Outstanding results given the price! Would highly recommend this lens, especially for beginners, it’s great for learning with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent design

SEL50F18F 08 December 2023 by 4zeropp (United Kingdom)

Nice material finish and compact. Sizing is great for travellers

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very nice lense

SEL50F18F 12 November 2023  (United Kingdom)

Very nice lense, luminous and sharp, also pretty lightweight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Mucho Greato

SEL50F18F//CSYX 31 October 2023 by Neisch (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ain't much, but it's an honest product, top quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exactly what you need it to be

SEL50F18F 26 September 2023 by Purpleguy (United Kingdom)

I needed a simple 50mm for street photography, had to be lightweight, and compact but have a reasonably fast aperture. Didn't want to break the bank so this little nifty fifty was a great buy. It has drawbacks 100%, it's not the fastest AF in the world, it's not the sharpest tool in the box, and it's a little noisy but it's a workhorse! It's very light, the 1.8 aperture gives a beautifully soft background, and its sharpness is not that bad, especially for social media. If you want a reliable, fast, cheap Sony branded Prime lens, you simply can't get better.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony support team
29 September 2023

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to learn that you're enjoying the lens and for more years to come!
If you require any assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Great Lense for this price

SEL50F18F 15 September 2023  (United Kingdom)

I am very happy that I owned this lense. It is very affordable and great lense for portrait photography. I really enjoy capturing photos with this.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony support team
18 September 2023

Hi Vijay,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your lens.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
If you require any assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Great lens for the money.

SEL50F18F 29 August 2023 by Lfimagery (United Kingdom)

I brought this lens a couple of weeks ago to mainly use for automotive photography (shows) works great, great image quality. Only negative would be it has struggled sometimes with focusing where I want it to focus but not all the time, not a deal breaker for th money.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
31 August 2023

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony SEL50F18 lens, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.
We highly appreciate your valued feedback, we are always delighted to hear from our customers, and are always working to develop our products to what suits your needs. We have flagged your feedback as voice of customer, to the concerned team for future consideration.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Mazen @ Sony Support UK

0

Love love LOVE

SEL50F18F 26 July 2023 by sallyc123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolute love this lens. You can never go wrong with a 50mm. So if you’re thinking about it just do it!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Standard Prime lense.

SEL50F18F 15 July 2023 by JRNRoa (United Kingdom)

Having recently bought a 35mm lense for things like street photography and landscape shots I felt that having a 50mm lense was needed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony above others, no doubts after owning Nikons

SEL50F18F 29 June 2023 by diverdan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

All my Sony alpha gear amazes - pro sport photoggraher

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great lens at great price

SEL50F18F//CSYX 29 June 2023 by Asfaloth (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good prime lens, however the autofocus is very slow and noisy. Not recommended for video.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great optics but very slow focus

SEL50F18F 19 April 2023 by MGM_82 (United Kingdom)

Compact, sharp and produces good looking images, bokeh is fine. The price tells everything. Good allrounder and great for starters. Unfortunately the autofocus reliability is questionable. I tried few portraits and those were great. After I tried some portraits of flowers in garden and there it struggled with autofocus especially when the flowers shaked due to light breeze. The size of the lens is great.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

Response From Sony Support Team
21 April 2023

Hi MGM_82,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your lens, and sorry to learn that you find the focus slow.

We recommend making sure that the lens is running latest firmware update as it Improves focus drive speed in picture shooting mode.
For Windows: https://cutt.ly/t5iguVP.
For Mac: https://cutt.ly/t5igpYq.

You may also test the 3 different focus modes for the lens, and test it with different camera bodies.

If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

Great lens for the money

SEL50F18F 13 February 2023 by WiloIndy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can’t go wrong with this tiny little lens. I love it, for taking pictures inside is very good. The quality is a lot better than expected in this price range.

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
13 May 2023

Hello WiloIndy, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this lens. Sony's commitment to customer satisfaction is our top priority. For the price and quality you get out of this lens, its amazing. We hope you continue to enjoy the lens. Thank you for choosing Sony. -Linda Sony Social Support

0

GREATEST PRODUK!

SEL50F18F//CSYX 15 December 2022  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

50mm 1.8 very eazy clean! easy to shoot for long & close range

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A very economical solution to get started

SEL50F18F//CSYX 21 November 2022 by Gibran (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its one of the cheapest lens available for Sony cameras line up. I bought it to pair with a7ii and the lens struggled with AF-C while in video mode especially at wide-open apertures. At first it was a bummer for me but soon when paired with a7iii the game changed. Its AF-C capability was dramatically improved. Besides it does have a slightly softer image but that is ok and a lot can still be achieved for photographs in post. For the video I will recommend to shoot between f4-5.6, that is where i find the lens to deliver a shallow DOF while being able to counter focus breathing. Personally i like the lens as it is a value for what it costs. The built quality is fairly ok however its benefits exceeds its shorfalls.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good prime lens 50mm F1.8

SEL50F18F//CSYX 18 November 2022 by Sjukimura (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

It amazing. Good lens and good price reasonable. I will also upgrade to be 50 F1.2 GM asap.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nifty 50

SEL50F18F 27 October 2022 by Karl8695 (United Kingdom)

Great lense at a great price. Super sharp images and an all round good lens for use with my Sony a6400. Love it!

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Sony 50mm 1.8

SEL50F18F 05 July 2022  (United Kingdom)

That’s love from the first sight: bright, fast and clear

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great portrait lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 06 May 2022 by Milo Van (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great budget portrait lens with a fast aperture for nice bokehs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice lens for general photography

SEL50F18F 06 April 2022 by normanjee (United Kingdom)

good build quality at a reasonable price.Fast focus lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Light and great

SEL50F18F//CSYX 12 March 2022 by Canon switcher (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens after reading some very informative reviews. I like the small size, light weight n sharpness at a great price.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The 50mm

SEL50F18F 31 December 2021 by PhilipProcter (United Kingdom)

Cheap and rock solid 50mm, does everything a 50 should, results are decent , this lens is a workhorse and lightweight enough to just chuck in the bag just incase

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony Support Team
05 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your SEL50F18F and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

A suitable lens for Street Photography

SEL50F18F 30 December 2021 by reynolds_desi (United Kingdom)

This length is very light bright and sharp. I use it coupled with my Sony A7C, obtaining an extremely versatile and portable kit. The only defect is related to the presence of the stepper motor, that makes the autofocus quite noisy and a bit slow. Despite this, the lens has a great quality over price ratio.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony Support Team
03 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your SEL50F18F.
We highly appreciate your valued feedback and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future developments & considerations.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

Good lens!

SEL50F18F 16 October 2021 by Coxie37 (United Kingdom)

I bought this with the A7iii body as a basic lens, but honestly hardly used it as I tend to use my 24-105mm lens mostly. However the quality etc is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony support team
18 October 2021

Hi Coxie37,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your lens. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony Support UK

0

Hunts like crazy

SEL50F18F 13 October 2021 by Gary1978 (United Kingdom)

I shot with Nikon for about 15 years before I went with Sony. When I purchased my first Nikkor 50mm 1.8, it was like finding photography again. Sadly, when I purchased the Sony 50mm 1.8, it was a terrible let down. This lens spends most of the time hunting for focus. Even in brightly lit conditions and stopped wide open at f1.8, it still struggles unless there is obvious contrast. Lower the light and shut the aperture down and you're in for a nightmare photo shoot. I have no idea why this lens is so bad as I've heard the 55mm 1.8 is fine. Firmware? Hardware? Who knows. It's just a poor lens. Nikon's 50mm1.8D can be sourced for about £80 new and it is blindingly fast. Sony's AF system on my A7mk3 is much faster than the Nikon D750 I had so it's defo a lens issue.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

1

Response From Sony Support Team
20 January 2022

Hi Gary1978,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your SEL50F18F.
Make sure that both of the camera and the lens are up to date. You can check the latest firmware version for both devices in the following links, ILCE-7M3K: https://bit.ly/3tNKnBh , SEL50F18F: https://bit.ly/3FFgWnr
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Nifty inexpensive standard lens, bang on the money

SEL50F18F 13 October 2021 by Paul13Walnut5 (United Kingdom)

One of the first lenses you should buy for A7 series, or if learning about depth of field and perspective. A sharp, compact inexpensive lens with solid if not class leading IQ (although there are lenses costing far more that don't perform any better) these got a bad rep for sluggish focus in earlier incarnations, I've found that with the camera and lens firmware up to date it's about where I would expect, rear button AF and considered choice of focus mode for your subject will also help. If you have a very high resolution camera, such as the R series, A9 or A1 you may want to look at a lens which can more closely match your sensors capabilities, although, for the money, this is pretty decent.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony Support Team
09 February 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your lens, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @ Sony UK

0

Average prime

SEL50F18F 07 September 2021 by No nicknsme (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cheap entry level prime. OK. But i need more, so have exchanged for the 55mm Zeiss lens. Much more expensive ! I suppose it depends on one's budget.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Value for Money

SEL50F18F 19 August 2021 by Photodojo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A a native Sony lens, for the price new, it performs very well when compared to more expensive others. Auto focus is more than adequate for day to day usage.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awesone lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 28 July 2021 by Nidhi (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product.Really nice product from sony....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Less than Stellar Features

SEL50F18F 13 July 2021 by Shomari (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony f/ 1.8 isn’t very sharp and hunts for focus on low light. I should have spent my money elsewhere. I plan on selling the lens probably at a loss.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support Nick
12 September 2021

Hello, Sony's commitment to customer satisfaction is our top priority. We are sorry to hear you are experiencing issues with sharpness and focusing when using the SEL50F18F. If you would like further assistance with troubleshooting these issues, please contact us using the link below:
https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/support-contact?language=en_US&category=di

0

Great Lens, Okay Autofocus

SEL50F18F 29 May 2021 by NYCStephen (USA)

This is the first lens I bought for my first full frame camera after switching from Nikon and it hasn’t disappointed me too much yet. It has great image quality, the bokeh is pretty nice of this lens, and it’s lightweight and affordable. The only thing I don’t like on this lens is that I wish the autofocus was in line with the 35mm and 85mm f/1.8. It is very loud in single autofocus and noisy in continuous focus. The autofocus is also not 100% accurate and it’s pretty clunky and slow. I take portraits, so it’s fine for now. I’d recommend for anyone starting out over the 28-70mm f/3.5-5.6 kit lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use and a lightweight lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 28 May 2021 by andy88 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed this lens for some shoot projects and it did not disappoint except sometimes ist does take a few more seconds to find the focus point. Overall, the image quality is on par with other Sony lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice image quality, and worth it at price range

SEL50F18F//CSYX 30 April 2021 by yudafanka712 (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first prime fix lens and i have a good experience with this lens, nice product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible chromatic fringing

SEL50F18F 18 April 2021 by ad91 (USA)

I recently bought the Sony A7R IV and was recommended this lens to go with it. Wide open, this lens is almost unusable because of the terrible green fringing. I'm still seeing fringing even at 5.6...I wish they would have recommended a different lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great glass but noisy and slow AF motor

SEL50F18F//CSYX 17 April 2021 by Miradj (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this together with an A7Riii. Works really great, peak sharpness at F/4 and enjoy taking portraits with it. I just find that the AF is very slow and the motor is loud.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

junk

SEL50F18F 08 February 2021 by bill999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Makes terrible video. Does not focus well. Focus is too slow for video. Maybe okay for photos, but not video. Get a different lens. The Sony mirrorless cameras deserve better than this.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

It is sharp and fast

SEL50F18F 09 January 2021 by Partick Express (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens for a month and use it for street photography and some close ups at high aperture. It has nice bokeh, it focuses fast and it is perfectly fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Affordable Lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 25 December 2020 by Shigan (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is light weight so it's easy to carry arround. It also produce nice photos. The only thing is it tends to hunt focus sometimes, but you can minimize that by going to manual focus

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Basic Lens for Your Sony Alpha Camera

SEL50F18F//CSYX 05 December 2020 by MayoSandwich (Indonesia)

Bothing Special, averga qualit, visible Color abbreviation

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

SEL50F18F 18 November 2020 by Chris Bucks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the price, a good buy. There are better options out there but not at this price.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Unhappy

SEL50F18F 14 June 2020 by mhunt94 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 3 1/2 months ago and the F stop showed up with dash lines and made the picture blurry. I'm not happy with this. Something so new should not look blurry.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

5

0

Fabulous little lens

SEL50F18F 08 June 2020 by Cameramark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this a few weeks now and it's well made, good value for the price and excellent in lower light, pretty much a bag essential!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

1st prime lens for everyone

SEL50F18F//CSYX 05 June 2020 by Dzul86 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good starting point for everyone. Focus a little slow in the dark with old body but not a deal breaker. Good lens for everyday use on fullframe body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Affordable Lense

SEL50F18F 07 May 2020 by Carol195 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with the quality of the pictures. Sadly, 3 months into using, the lense has developed a "tik", where after focus, it jumps around. So far, unable to get the issue taken care of through original seller or Sony, and since Sony Warranty Claims are shut down, hoping I can get it resolved/repaired/replaced soon as it is entirely annoying. Even so, one of my favorite lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice lens but noisy

SEL50F18F 21 February 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a nice lens with good results both in still image and on video. Unfortunately, everything stop there! The lens is too noosy for use in with friends in an event like wedding. Even on video you can hear the focus micro-adjusting. Due to the noise, i learn to shoot with the back button focus and that only in single focus as the continuous focus sounds like a tractor. I prefer my manual off brand 50mm f1.4!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Response From Customer Support
24 February 2020

Hi ChrisKoups,

Thank you for your feedback. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD to ensure we can help.

Sony Support Team

0

Lovely Lens for the price!

SEL50F18F 18 February 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this lens and it is awesome! The price I paid is well worth it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26 February 2020

Hi paulgalicea,

Great! We're glad that your investment is worth every penny. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

Nice bokeh in a small lens (and affordable)

SEL50F18F 12 February 2020 by jojim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very handy little lens to have at hand. I use it for street photography and portraits all the time, the bokeh is good enough unless you are a professional. You need to get closer to the subject than with an 85mm but this works for me. Small lens to carry around, which means is pretty much always with me, even if the focal range is covered by some other more expensive lenses. And that's one of the best things about this lens, the price is fantastic, I bought mine for £130 on a quick sale on Amazon and couldn't be happier. For that price is a steal. Best price per value I've seen on Sony lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An excellent value lens

SEL50F18F 08 February 2020 by scuddriver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was on offer at Amazon, and is a great little lens for the price. To improve on it you would need to spend 4 times the cost. It is very light and compact, and I found the autofocus speed to be quite acceptable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Takes great portraits on my Sony A7ii.

SEL50F18F 30 January 2020 by SuperDave54 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good fast focus. Great lense for portraits and all around use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31 January 2020

Hi, SuperDave54!

That's nice to know. We are happy you were able to take great portraits on your Sony A7ii. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great lens for budget.

SEL50F18F//CSYX 19 January 2020  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

ease to focus, better for portraiture, still learning how to create creative photo with this lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 18 January 2020 by Naefle (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good lens but focusing abit slow. Would love to see a firmware update for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sharp Image.. But..

SEL50F18F//CSYX 18 January 2020  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the image quality, very sharp in detail. but the focus system sometimes taking a bit longer time to lock in focus. Overall its a very good lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0