49

4.1 based on 49 customer reviews

26
9
7
5
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 July 2018 by Plasticmat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product, an upgrade on my previous Leica DLux. I bought it as I wanted the small form factor, but also wanted zoom telephoto, built in flash, excellent optics and best sensor size. I have not been disappointed- fantastic focus times, great colour rendering and very sharp telephoto zoom shots of birds in my garden. Only disadvantages over my previously owned Leica are poorer battery life, and strange inability to bulk delete all images short of reformatting every time. All the rest are pluses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

2 Major design flaws. Don't Buy.

DSC-RX100M6 01 September 2018 by Hughes386 (USA)

I will start off by saying this camera takes great photos, is decent in low light, and AF is perfect. This is my second Rx100 M6 both had issues with fine dust specs entering into the lense. I used the recommend sony camera case. I also use a small lint brush to meticulously remove any fine particles from the camera and lense area before and after each use; but no matter what dust still gets in the lense. NOT ACCEPTABLE FOR A $1200 CAMERA The 2nd flaw is the Pop up View finder Diopter Moves immediately after making adjustments.The Diopter adjusts the the EVF for your vision so you can see while using the EVF. If it is not adjusted properly your field of view inside the EVF will be blurred. When you close the Pop up viewfinder, the next time you pop it up the Diopter moves causing the view in the EVF to become blurry once again. This eliminates the convenience so called upgrade of the 1 step pop up viewfinder. I dont care that the M6 doesn't have a mic jack but the other two flaws make this Camera almost useless.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

6

2

50 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic Camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 December 2018  (USA)

Been using the RX100 since the beginning version 1. This is the best yet with the enhanced Zoom. Literally has changed my life!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Color Rendition and Detail

DSCRX100M6/B 28 November 2018 by ScottB100 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Many of the reviews have emphasized the zoom lens and the great video quality. As a professional still photographer, I rarely use video. The 24mm to 200mm has proven to be quite useful when shooting urban landscapes, but what I am really blown away by is the sharpness of the photographs (there seems little to no difference between the 24 megapixel ASP-C sensor and this 20.1 1" sensor) and the color rendition. I shoot RAW, and I have noticed I make very view adjustments to color in Lightroom. The noise is also very light even at ISO 1000, which I shoot below as much as possible. The blues, yellows, and reds are particularly good. Yes, the camera is expensive, but it so portable. Because of the image quality, I feel less guilty leaving my full frame at home when I am out and about and want a serious camera with me at all times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Get great images without looking like a tourist.

DSC-RX100M6 18 November 2018 by Taffy bloke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just to set the scene - I'm an amateur photographer who uses an A7mk 2, along with a number of G Lenses. Previously, my preferred travel camera was the hugely impressive RX10 mk 3, down simply to that incredible focal length of 24 - 600mm. The reason I bought the RX100M6 was an impending USA road trip where I had would be visiting the 'Real America' - New Orleans, Memphis and Nashville. I wanted a camera that would give great image quality but could be tucked away in 'dodgy' areas. The RX100M6 certainly delivers in both areas, image quality is absolutely incredible, better than my RX10 by a country mile in terms of sharpness and colour rendition. I've been shooting in RAW & JPEG, but to be honest the JPEGs are so good I'll probably ditch the RAW files. I've attached a few images from my American road trip which hopefully will illustrate my point. I know it's an expensive camera, but it's expensive for a reason, it's bloody good! Just hit the buy button, I promise you won't be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great little camera – good for creative pictures

DSC-RX100M6 16 November 2018 by tinaistda (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since I bought the camera about 2 weeks ago, she is always there. So far, I can only report good things. It makes great shots, you really have a lot of settings (almost like a big camera) and the absolute advantage is, it is small, light and handy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No manual

DSC-RX100M6 14 November 2018 by cookgirl (USA)

No manual is included with the camera and none is available online. Sony, you disappoint once again.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

10

0

Fast! Great zoom range. Good in low light.

DSC-RX100M6 09 November 2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this for a month and use it as a backup for my system camera where I don’t want to take something so bulky. It’s is Fast! Great zoom range. Good in low light. Touch sensitive For those who comment about complex menus -> Get a grip. It’s not that difficult. This is a 5 star camera for a compact pocketable camera. Yes pricey but you get what you pay for. I compared with many others and they all lacked something.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slow lens - Practically f4

DSC-RX100M6 04 November 2018 by Shaji123 (USA)

I had to cancel my order realising the slow lens compared to previous model M5, which will affect low light photos and bokeh effect. It's ok to have f2.8 max apperture (M5 have f1.8). But, I would expect it to keep f2.8 until 70mm. Unfortunately, its immediately going to f4 at lower focal lengths. There are lot of great improvements over M5. But the slower lens is a major flaw at this price. I will wait for M7, assuming it will have high zoom and better lens speed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

my RX100 M6 purchased for Oz trip

DSC-RX100M6 01 November 2018 by Snapparoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The M6 is my 3rd RX100, bought for the Oz trip with the longer reach of the 24-200 lens in mind. In bright conditions at wide & medium apertures it is OK, but nowhere near as good as the M3 I also took on the trip. Stop the aperture right down and resolution drops off. In low light the image quality drops off significantly, ditto from ISO 400 upwards. As a consequence I only use it on very bright days, fairly wide open and with as low an ISO as I can getaway with. The M6 is one very compromised camera, quite how I will get on when I get back to winter in the UK I cannot. Maybe I can, it will go in the drawer until next summer when it will be make or break. Break = eBay.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Does what it claims

DSC-RX100M6 26 October 2018 by Sceptic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about two weeks ago and it is impossible to try out many is the almost innumerable capabilities it has I have so far found nothing wanting. Perhaps as an experienced photographer you do need to check what setting you are on as the camera will produce a reasonable image unless perhaps you use full manual. The under desk shot was taken at iso 8000! Very acceptable. The others at iso 100. The optical stabilization works well too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

You can’t fault this cameras abilities

DSC-RX100M6 21 October 2018 by Wwwdotsteve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about three weeks ago and have used it in various situations to test the capabilities, I have not been disappointed with the results. Picture quality is second to none.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Missing a time lapse app

DSC-RX100M6 19 October 2018 by rockett100 (United Kingdom)

Great camera for travel photography with a huge zoom range. The camera seems to be missing software features that you would expect in a high end camera. I would like to see a time-lapse app included on the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Specifications to become the perfect camera

DSC-RX100M6 15 October 2018 by Manel RG (USA)

This camera has to extend its zoom from a minimum of 15 mm (wide angle is so important for mountaineers to include all the mountain in the photo). Also it must be sealed from dust and water. The viewfinder must be bigger and more comfortable. Add grip. Is it possible to add a variable polarizer and ND filter? Is it possible to increase the sensor size like APS-C or even full frame like the RX1R II? I know that the camera will become more expensive, but I don't matter, it will worth.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

The Best Yet!

DSC-RX100M6 09 October 2018 by Nick46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb camera. Worth it for the exrra range. 2.8 instead of 1.8 at the wide end doesn't effect the type of photograthy I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

E91:01

DSC-RX100M6 07 October 2018 by DB10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 months ago. It’s a nice camera, and it takes a good picture. Unfortunately, about 3 weeks ago it came up with E91:01, and the EVF & Flash no longer work. The web seems to be full of stories of Sony cameras having this error number. Unfortunately the remedies I found on the web have not worked, so i’ll Have to return the camera. I’d expect better from a Sony camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Exciting to discover but difficult to optimize

DSC-RX100M6 24 September 2018 by JDFT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I baught it 3 weeks ago... I am just starting to discover a quite small part of its potential. The menu is not really convivial. But the customer must understand that even if it is a compact camera, it is a great and complex camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

RX100 VI

DSC-RX100M6 24 September 2018 by Biddy33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a RX100 IV which is excelent , but mk6 with it's extended zoom range it now the only camera I need. The quality of the images are quite remarkable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Great Features, Fast and Efficient Focus Captue

DSCRX100M6/B 23 September 2018 by Bruzr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought about 2 months ago, and although this Compact Version Full Pixel does all it should with regards to the Latest and Greatest, it lacks the Specs offered, which was a disappointment (17mp vs quoted 21mp). But all in all, the performance is par to none I have owned thus far, for a Compact 4K Capture/Digital Still Camera of this calbre. Menu is a bit clunky, and has a moderate learning curve, until you Speak Sony operative. This, in which I pray they update with firmware soon, as the Sony Memories Android/iOS Sony app is DOA, with never a connect over wifi or NFC, just dismal, and sad. Is it me...? As my mobile devices are a iPX and GS9+, so it is a head scratcher. But I am surprised at the focus speed and capture is as agile and precise as one could dream of, but the optical zoom is a downer, and just sad. I have an old Samsung Galaxy Cam 2 with 21x optical, and this is half that, and that ain't right...BUT, I'm keeping it cause it's a sweet little honey, and I love it for what it is...Super Quality, Tight Ops, with all it's flaws...plus I kept it a little too long...:P Enjoy~! it's a winner, actually, give it a try..!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Greatest of all Rx100 Models

DSCRX100M6/B 20 September 2018 by PeterHK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned the M1, 2, 3, 4 and now the M6. All have been great, but I really appreciate the zoom range of the 6. I have Sony's A7R III and the Rx1 II, but the Rx100 is the camera I have with me all the time. I love this camera!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The zoom

DSC-RX100M6 14 September 2018 by djord (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this product 5 weeks ago, I have used it out and about about 6 times. The final image if you get the focus right is very good, but this camera still suffers the same as all camers when trying to use the LCD in bright light, and the view finder is the same, for the price charged for this product I would look at an alternative.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

0

AMAZING CAMERA

DSCRX100M6/B 12 September 2018 by AL72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I PURCHASED THIS CAMERA THE DAY IT WAS RELEASED, FOR MY CROSS COUNTRY VACATION.IT DID NOT DISAPPOINT. ACTION, LANDSCAPES, MOUNTAINS, WATERFALLS, OCEANS IT DID IT ALL

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Amazing quality

DSC-RX100M6 10 September 2018 by antispop (United Kingdom)

Amazing quality and excellent features. Ultra fast AF

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

really impressed with the zoom

DSC-RX100M6 08 September 2018 by f3dar (United Kingdom)

downside: pictures of moving people in low light. it seems the previous 5 mark's are better there

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Some initial impressions ...

DSC-RX100M6 01 September 2018 by Roger99 (United Kingdom)

These are just my initial impressions ... Pros - very good image quality (consistently better than smaller-sensor cameras such as the HX90, as would be expected), very small size (given the specification), easy to use EVF (single-push operation), convenient in-camera charging via USB. Cons - overly expensive, poorly-designed body (lacking any finger grip), lacking in-built GPS (which is a feature any camera aimed at the travel market should have).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

2 Major design flaws. Don't Buy.

DSC-RX100M6 01 September 2018 by Hughes386 (USA)

I will start off by saying this camera takes great photos, is decent in low light, and AF is perfect. This is my second Rx100 M6 both had issues with fine dust specs entering into the lense. I used the recommend sony camera case. I also use a small lint brush to meticulously remove any fine particles from the camera and lense area before and after each use; but no matter what dust still gets in the lense. NOT ACCEPTABLE FOR A $1200 CAMERA The 2nd flaw is the Pop up View finder Diopter Moves immediately after making adjustments.The Diopter adjusts the the EVF for your vision so you can see while using the EVF. If it is not adjusted properly your field of view inside the EVF will be blurred. When you close the Pop up viewfinder, the next time you pop it up the Diopter moves causing the view in the EVF to become blurry once again. This eliminates the convenience so called upgrade of the 1 step pop up viewfinder. I dont care that the M6 doesn't have a mic jack but the other two flaws make this Camera almost useless.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

6

2

0

No downloadable apps

DSC-RX100M6 24 August 2018 by Maltes falcon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely love this camera and its a huge step up from my mark 5 version of RX100. It is an amazing camera apart from there is no way to download the apps used on the previous version. Time lapse and slow motion would have been a great addendum to this great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Outstanding

DSC-RX100M6 21 August 2018 by Jeffersonranch (USA)

Have used the camera for approx two weeks and have found it to be above my expectations.Will update this review in about two months but for now this camera has been an engineering breakthrough.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Super camera -with fixable flaws if Sony wanted to

DSC-RX100M6 21 August 2018 by flight505 (USA)

As many reviews pointed out the camera is very good - its also expensive and perhaps something a camera-enthusiast might buy specifically because of the portability. It could be better in low light, one of the reasons I bought this camera is because of how bad mobile phone cameras are in low light scenarios and I would never drag a huge DSLR camera and lens around. But as far as portability goes the RX100M6 is close to perfect. HOWEVER, I will only give the RX100M6 / VI because of the inferior software. 1) the mobile app only has the absolute basic - no time-lapse you will need to buy an external remote control instead this could easily be improved upon. 2) The connectivity to mobile devices and laptops is full of bugs, for instance, I haven't been able to transfer photos wirelessly to my laptop (i am on a MAC) the guide process tells me the camera isn't connected although I am in process of transferring photos via USB. - There are several posts online regarding this issue. 3) Sony has removed some features, for instance, the ND filter and more annoyingly they removed TIMELAPSE and the whole app ecosystem. What I and several others users don't understand is why doesn't Sony respond to users questions? If they are working on new software - fine, but shouldn't that be ready before they remove good features? So my question to Sony is will the TIMELAPSE be available in the near future ??? The reason I wrote this review I that I saw Sonys response here in the reviews to NABhuiyan (USA) - the response reads "we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region" well that's not very informative is it? as he won't find any information about his complaint specifically about the missing TIMELAPSE app..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

5

2

0

Perfect second camera / travel

DSC-RX100M6 18 August 2018 by Birtyyy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Slightly better image quality to the mark 4 I had previously. Is now good enough for my only travel cam. DSLR now not invited on holiday....constant 2.8 would have been good and easier controls - but it’s managed to stay the same size as previous models which is an achievement

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Amazing performance from such a small camera

DSC-RX100M6 16 August 2018 by Adiew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought as a travel camera because I didn’t want to be weiged down with my pro DSLR Kit but still needed quality images and a wide range of focal lengths. I am very impressed with the images I am able to produce from this camera. The build quality is outstanding.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb.

DSC-RX100M6 15 August 2018 by albert1500 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb as a travel camera. The focus options are unbelievably good. My only quibble, why does it have to be so expensive!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

time lapse

DSC-RX100M6 06 August 2018 by NABhuiyan (USA)

very disappointed no nd filter, low light very bad, no time lapse. £1150 is not worthy to buy this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

5

4

0

Software compatibility with Adobe... not possible

DSCRX100M6/B 05 August 2018 by Ell3mental (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the product with great expectations. Tried to download images into Adobe and it isnt possible. I was shooting in Raw but so far I am wasting my time on this camera. Why in the world would you make a product that is incompatible with Adobe Lightroom and other products which is the industry standard. Or....am I doing something wrong.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

4

0

Best small camera for me

DSC-RX100M6 05 August 2018 by jaybee6345 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a lot of deliberation I sold my Sony a6000 and lenses because, although I loved it, I wasn't using it as much as I should. I chose the Sony rx100 mk6 especially for the long zoom and for the small size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M6 01 August 2018 by was1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Point and shoot or pro photographic capabilities all in one small portable package. Great travel camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Improvement

DSC-RX100M6 30 July 2018 by Graybak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used this camera for a month now I find it does what it says on the tin however I thought it would only take a photo that was in focus i.e. when the centre focus mark went green, this is not the case. Apart from a few occasions the focus was fast. For the price of this camera I think sony should have added a hand grip [ I have had to purchase one] They don't even supply a case but I can live with that. The screen is difficult if not impossible to see in sunlight so its good it has an eye viewfinder even though this is very small and hard to use with glasses, for my larger camera I have a shield that goes round the screen, I don't think its beyond Sony to design something similar as an add on. The camera takes some great photos but my main problem has been the lack of info, I got very frustrated trying to find all the items this camera was capable of as the so called manual is pathetic and only tells you what the camera programme already tells you, I have had to go on line each time I wanted any info about each item. [I have a Panasonic and their manual tells you in detail what each item in the programme does] So Sony don't be stingy, give a manual not a pamphlet. Would I still buy this camera, yes its a great bit of kit in such a small body, so well done Sony engineers, just get the paper work right Graham

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Sweet camera but...

DSC-RX100M6 26 July 2018 by UA48 (USA)

I looked at the RX100 VI at our city's last true camera retailer and would have bought it except that the image on the screen cannot be seen when wearing polarized sun glasses. This is not a problem with my Canon G16 (except when held on the vertical) so I am not sure why Sony has not installed a more usable screen. Since most of my photography is done outdoors and in the sun switching glasses is an issue. The viewfinder is not a viable alternative. I liked everything else about the camera and will buy the next generation if Sony can correct this one weakness.

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Superb powerhouse of a compact

DSC-RX100M6 25 July 2018 by Mk1 photo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had to downsize due to a nerve condition from my Fuji system I love what I get from this very pocketable camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Exceptional camera

DSC-RX100M6 23 July 2018 by Just leave it alone (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

• Exceptional, shirt-pocket/belt-bag compactness whilst still offering a tiny (on the limit!) EVF for those all too familiar ‘can’t-see-the-screen' bright days, plus a wee flash unit and 24-200mm (equivalent) telephoto zoom. • The innovative Control Ring provides a unique, clear way of changing aperture on the hoof. It also addresses the problem of how to hold a very small camera (with the left hand), close to its centre of gravity, without inadvertently tripping half a dozen other functions with your right hand (eg Lumix GX.7/8). • Auto-ISO blithely takes ISO6400 into its span of authority without any noise implications even in jpeg images. On close examination the auto-ISO algorithm is very clever, favouring a shake free exposure whatever aperture you have selected. • Lens and sensor offer extraordinary sharpness, dynamic range and freedom from noise. Really impressive. • Planned or not, the position of the EVF precludes greasy 'nose-smears' on the monitor screen. • Precision positioning of the point of focus is possible without using (the usually adequate) touch-screen facility that necessitates taking your eye away from the EVF. • High-discrimination focus. I had it focus-lock successfully on a dandelion seed puff! • The 9mm end of the lens travel together with the precision spot-focusing yield razor-sharp close-ups 80mm from the front of the lens; with (if you are a keen ‘Bokehfile’), a soft blur beyond. • In such close ups – typically tiny flowers that the wind shakes around just as you are about to press the shutter – the apparently ‘noiseless’ ultra-high ISO capability enables nailing the flora even in the most capricious wind conditions (see pics below – ISO.1600, 1/2500th!). • Problems. a. Having made that ingenious and space-saving EVF retract into the camera body, it’s a shame Sony did not make it pivoting – like Ricoh’s pioneering GXR and the Lumix GX. Real ground-level shots using the pivoting monitor are very difficult – a shiny glass screen out-gunned by sky reflections. b. Sony have brilliantly accommodated simple operation for the newcomer and the needs of the professional in a beautifully made, compact, ‘always-carry-a-camera’ device. (My Alpha 9 is beginning to feel neglected!) The 584-page Sony Help document for the RX100M6 is a brave and monumental attempt to explain everything but, alas, is not always as clear as it could be. c. The Mk 6 is so new Adobe have not yet been able to make Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) communicate with its ARW files (albeit Sony A9 ARWs work OK in ACR). Talking to Adobe, I understand that the RX100M6 will be included (like all previous RX100s) in the next update. But, select the jpg, then ‘Open in Camera RAW’ from Adobe Bridge > File and all the usual ACR manipulative magic is available. These noise-free jpgs won’t have the tonal discrimination of an ARW to handle really wide tonal range but the results are very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Great Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M6 21 July 2018 by dopant (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A huge step up from my previous compact, not perfect but very close

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Powerful options

DSCRX100M6/B 20 July 2018 by Doofus2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Barely a week in use . . . I like it. Powerful pocket camera . . . and complex to pack all of that into a small form factor. Does most of what my full frame DSLR does. Have used lesser pocket cameras before. Looking forward to learning and using all the advanced features. Really needs to either ship with a paper manual or allow to purchase one. In electronic version you need to know what you are looking for . . . can't easily just flip pages. I would recommend for a serious photographer . . . if just a snapshot shooter you can be as effective without all the advanced features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

no GPS geotagging

DSC-RX100M6 18 July 2018 by clchen711s (USA)

The RX100 VI would definitely be my choice of next camera if it has the built-in geotagging (GPS tracking) capability, but too bad RX100 VI doesn’t. Or, it’d be great if Sony can make the pop-up eyepiece viewfinder removable, and to be swappable with a portable geotagging unit that sharing the same slot/space. Such geotagging unit would be greatly appreciated by those who desire the GPS tracking much more than the eyepiece viewfinder on a camera. Less than a third of the photos I have shooted were taken from my eye level, those non-eyeleveled shots couldn’t use viewfinder anyway, so the pop up eyepiece viewfinder is really not useful, at least to me. For users who like to use the pop up eyepiece viewfinder for shooting in the bright sunlight, my experience/suggestion is, just increase the brightness of LCD 1-2 level would work, it’d be much better than see through the viewfinder without knowing the camera setting details that displays on LCD screen but not showing on the eyepiece viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

6

0

A perfect camera to carry everywhere

DSC-RX100M6 17 July 2018 by Jules1620 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very well equipped camera with, on the one hand, the ability to produce really excellent quality images, and, on the other, a size that is sufficiently small that it enables you to carry it with you in your pocket at all times. The addition of the 200 mm zoom lens eliminates the principal drawback of the earlier models of the RX100. My only criticisms of the camera are as follows. First, the shutter button is flush with the top of the camera which makes it hard to find by touch when looking through the viewfinder - an irritating oversight which has been a fault with all the previous models as well. Secondly the dioptre adjustment on the viewfinder is quite free moving and has no ratchet mechanism on it, with the result that it is very easy inadvertently to move it when handling the camera, thus rendering the image through the viewfinder out of focus for the particular user.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Capable camera at a price

DSC-RX100M6 17 July 2018 by MrsBlanchett (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good autofocus and good pictures , good zoom range. The camera is a good combination of quality and size .However it's too expensive for what it is. The design lacks a grip and its needed . Also the menu is cumbersome. Battery doesn't last long.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

6

4

0

Sensor Dust

DSC-RX100M6 14 July 2018 by GG52 (USA)

Great cameras until you get dust on sensor. Risk taking it apart yourself to clean it or spend over $300 to have it done professionally.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

8

3

0

SONY APPS DON'T WORK!

DSC-RX100M6 13 July 2018 by GRAYWOLF60 (USA)

I JUST BOUGHT ONE AND ONE OF THE FIRST THINGS I TRIED TO DO IS UPLOAD THE SONY APPS THAT I HAVE AND TO MY SURPRISE THEY DON'T WORK ON THIS VERSION OF THE RX100 FAMILY!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 July 2018 by Plasticmat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product, an upgrade on my previous Leica DLux. I bought it as I wanted the small form factor, but also wanted zoom telephoto, built in flash, excellent optics and best sensor size. I have not been disappointed- fantastic focus times, great colour rendering and very sharp telephoto zoom shots of birds in my garden. Only disadvantages over my previously owned Leica are poorer battery life, and strange inability to bulk delete all images short of reformatting every time. All the rest are pluses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Excellent up date from previous RX models

DSC-RX100M6 03 July 2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really like the way the viewfinder operates now and the extra reach of the zoom lens. The build quality and image quality is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Love the zoom

DSC-RX100M6 28 June 2018 by mintleaf (USA)

I own a RX100 II. That was an upgrade from DSC-HX7V which had 10X zoom. Immediately, I felt the loss, although I loved the 1” sensor. With the M6, I feel empowered again. I do not have much opportunity for astrophotography, given there is light pollution everywhere near me. However, I’m going to get the chance to try that out soon. I’ll find out then if the lack of f/1.8 loss is a problem. Right now, the M6 autofocus alone is a significant enhancement over the M2, among the other features. The only disappointment is both M2 and M6 are not supported by PlayMemories Camera App. I still cannot have time lapse installed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

15

0

0

awesome travel camera!

DSC-RX100M6 26 June 2018  (USA)

cannot wait to use this on my travels--love the extra reach!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

5

0

One step forward, two steps back.

DSC-RX100M6 15 June 2018 by elb111 (USA)

Camera needs a ND filter. A better mic. External mic input. I don't care about a zoom lens, I want a fast one. Should include attachable grip.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

24

66