FE 135mm F1.8 GM

Product Reviews

P 106,900.00

11

5.0 based on 11 customer reviews

11
0
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

11 Customer Reviews

0

This lens is a game changer!

SEL135F18GM 06 June 2020 by Mono135 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After starting my Sony journey with a second hand A6000 and kit lens(which is a great camera by the way, but has its limits ) I was itching to step up to a full frame body and lens, and a more capable prime lens as well. After much research I decided on the A7R3 body and because of the high 42.2 mp resolution, I wanted to pair it with an equally good lens. Because I shoot a lot of outdoor, full body portrait for my website, I needed crisp images and bokeh, from a distance, as I wanted a certain look for my product photography. The images are just unbelievable and the clarity and sharpness of the subject, in full frame and in crop is staggering. Drawbacks, while there are not many, you will have to stand quite a distance from the subject to get top to toe in the frame, so you'll need plenty of space. Also one thing to keep in mind is its a big lens(weighs a bit too) and with the hood attached, which is always attached its even bigger, so don't expect to be discreet. To conclude, if you have the money and a good camera body(so it can play to its potential) I wouldn't even think twice. It doesn't matter if you're a pro or intermediate, it will transform the appearance of your photos and the satisfaction from looking at the raw images is worth the price of admission. Believe all the hype, this lens really is a game changer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Outstanding performance for portraits

SEL135F18GM 01 May 2020 by QNTT (USA)

Sharp as a razor, beautiful bocke fast focusing. The quality of the lens in general is flawless. I can’t fault it at all. It is quite expensive but the results justify the price in my opinion. One observation that bothers me: The sunshade is very deep and the grips for the fingers on the lens cap are quite shallow not allowing for a secure grip. In this awkward position the cap has the nasty tendency to jump off from your fingers hitting the glass! For such a big lens cap deeper recesses for a more secure finger grip would be appreciated. It is not a fault of the lens, just a design flaw of the lens cap. I wasn’t able to find something better from a third party manufacturer so Sony maybe an optional cap wouldn’t be too much to ask.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The “Sharpest” lens I own!

SEL135F18GM 29 March 2020 by DMS2018 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am new to the Sony photography ecosystem. The FE 135mm f1.8 GM is the first of two Sony lenses I purchased. This by far is the “Sharpest” lens I’ve used in a very long time! The colors it produces are stellar! I am amazed at how I can hand hold my camera with this lens at shutter speeds as low as 1/10. The sharpness is there! I would recommend this lens to every photographer!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Simply Stunning

SEL135F18GM 17 February 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this Lens not only for studio work, but also for creating shallow depth of field for Street Time Lapse. It's such a creative lens and fulfils my thought process in every way possible. The click free aperture ring is a gem when ramping exposures and slick enough not to move camera during shoot on my motorised head. If you're thinking of moving to Sony, this would be a very good excuse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Much more than a portrait lens

SEL135F18GM 28 January 2020 by Chasdog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using this a month in my sports imaging. It was bought primarily for portrait work and weddings but is actually a real joy for sports, My only gripe would be more to do with me than the lens. I have large hands and perrenially use long lenses with plenty of room to support the lens without fouling the focus or aperture rings. Quite tricky on this lens especially in gloves but I am impressed by the way it feels in the hand, the solid build quality and excellent images especially in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sharp as a razor!

SEL135F18GM 10 January 2020 by Stopher77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to purchase this lens as I wanted a telephoto low aperture lens and traded in my Sony FE 70-200 F/4. Wow! What a purchase. This lens is razor sharp even wide open. This is marketed as a portrait lens, however, I have seen incredible results using it for landscapes paired with my Sony A7 III. My only minor issue is the weight, although, it is reassuringly heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Next Level Lens

SEL135F18GM 17 November 2019 by jloz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I waited and waited to purchase this monster lens and the long wait is over. When I say monster, I mean it is huge! It is a great workout for your forearms as it is very heavy. The IQ this lens delivers is next level. You will not be disappointed, even if you are an image snob. It focuses lightning fast. Performs well in low light conditions. The bokeh melts like butter. Even at $1900 this lens is a bargain. After reading my word salad, go to your nearest online or B&M retailer and do not waste another moment. P.S. Do not purchase the Intl' version. It may be $150 cheaper but it does not come with the manufacturer's warranty and the mount is made of plastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Faultless

SEL135F18GM 16 October 2019 by Chimneyfinder (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very fine lens. The sharpness is incredible and impressive for maintaining such a high level not only through the aperture range but from close to far distances. Focus speed is at a pro level response. Resistance to flare, ghosting, veil, etc. is very high. The weight and size comes with the design capability so it would be fatuous to criticise it for this. Really, I can not say that this lens is lacking in any department and very few lenses would achieve this in my experience. I have this lens (it is the longest lens I own) as it sits in the mid range of a 70-200mm, and it covers what I want as a telephoto. As I go out walking for a whole day the f2.8 zoom would need a larger bag and it can start to feel heavy. Apart from that the 135 is an absolute joy to use and, being used to prime lenses for 40 years, framing isn't an issue, it suits my eye. I am delighted and fortunate to have such a great lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Beautiful lens

SEL135F18GM 23 September 2019 by Snowsurfer55 (USA)

This lens is sharp and has an amazing focus system. Great bokeh for portraits and prefer it over an 85mm. So far this is my first GM and it is well worth the money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Absolutely the best 135mm fast len I've ever used.

SEL135F18GM 29 August 2019 by NRE 12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is totally fabulous particularly, for low light work. I tried it out at a stage performance this past summer and immediately returned it to the rental shop with money in hand. I've shot at least 10 low light stage performances sine then and have not regretted paying top dollar for this glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Beautiful lens

SEL135F18GM 29 July 2019 by Doug75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unbelievably sharp lens. The Eye AF tracks perfectly for portraits even in low light. The two focus hold buttons instead of the one is very useful when rotating the camera for portraits. The lens is expensive but you get what you pay for with the G master lens. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0