128

4.5 based on 128 customer reviews

95
18
7
3
5
Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Brilliant steep forward

WH-1000XM5 30 May 2022 by _b12 (United Kingdom)

## Design - No folding available in this iteration, just the usual cup tilt and pan. Works for me, don't mind the lack of foldability. - I personally appreciate the new design and can describe it as far more sturdy and quality feel. No more plasticy sounds when adjusting the headphones or moving your head - The cups are comfortable, with memory foam, coated with some kind of artificial leather - The proximity sensor is no longer visible(compared to M4), but is still there - Headband is comfortable and narrower. However, when at the gym and bench-pressing/dumbbell fly they still slide back off my head. - Approx. 5gr lighter on the scales than previous models. I can't really tell the difference when wearing either model, so doesn't make a difference to me but appreciate the change. Overall a welcome change. The cups seem a bit thicker in profile than previous iterations but overall with same comfort and nice fake leather coating material. Those are a fingerprint magnet(if you have the black headphones). Yet I prefer this design. The mics are quite visible though and given the grills are the trademark bronze/gold colour they stand out. Not really a fan of that color choice but given what it provides in other departments I have made my piece with it. Might not be for anyone. Definitely though would prefer the mics grills color to be same as the cups color. ## Active Noise Cancelling and mics - 7 visible mics positioned strategically around the ear cup for noise cancelling and voice calls - wind noise reduction is significantly improved (in NC mode only) - while listening and for the other side of a phone call - voice calls recipients no longer complaint about muffled or unclear speech, difference is quite audible. - Adaptive mode is very accurate in changing profiles both action and location based. Super useful in your everyday commute, gym, run/walk and in the office due to personalised ambient sound levels available through the app. You can save frequent locations with predefined ANC/ambient sound levels. Manually entered several of those and all worked well. But that is more on usability and the mobile app, yet worth mentioning. Overall very happy with the improvement in noise cancelling, especially in windy conditions such as the one I encounter every day in my park walks. Gym feeling is the same top notch. ## Buttons, controls and inputs - Same two button operation plus the same gesture controls as before: double tap, swipe up/down/left and right and tap and hold with palm - Still no dedicated button for multipoint connection control. You can pair the headphones with two devices and switch between them but only through the app. I really believe a dedicated button provides far better user experience - Same USB-C charging with fast charging available - Same audio cable provided to connect to your device if you do not want to use wireless - Same touch controls on the right cup, quite responsive and with nice sound feedback ## Connectivity - BT 5.2 - I appreciate that every iteration is supporting the latest BT protocol - Same frequency response as previous models in wired or wireless mode ## Features - Supports most Digital assistants - Google/Alexa/Siri - Connected apps option - chose what connected and supported app to run when double or triple clicking the NC button. I am using Spotify and when double click the NC button music starts playing from that app. - Speak-to-chat feature where once you speak transparency mode is activated until your voice is no longer picked by the headphones mics(5/15/30s or auto timeout). No more sing along in this mode :) - Battery life claimed is same as previous models - around 30h. I managed to get ~22h(100% down to 20%) with adaptive mode on and volume 30-50% . Quite a good deal. It could be different for you based on your prefered volume levels, EQ and NC mode. Worth noting that I received a firmware upgrade(1.1.1) right after the test. ## Sound - Playing the same song with default EQ seem to give this new XM5 a clearer mid-range than previous iterations(XM3 and XM4). For the casual listener I doubt it would make any change. For me personally I always use the EQ to adjust mid-high frequencies and also crank up the Clear Bass to +7. You must hear it for yourself with your favourite track to be able to appreciate the difference. - Quite a big technical change is the new drive - 30mm down from 40mm but with some better insulation and lighter mats such as carbon. Frequency response is same both wired and BT. All that signifies a change in the drive cavity and how bass resonates to produce the same quality low frequencies. - Each and every one of us has slightly different sensitivity for different frequency bands and self preferences as well therefore a head to head comparison of the output over a microphone(with different frequency sensitivity bands and possibly remastered post recording) gives some perspective but is in no way a fair depiction of what you, yourself, might take out of those headphones(or any audio device for that matter) and classify as "good" or "bad". Overall seem like an improvement(in the mid-range frequencies) and very much so appreciated. An audiofile will definitely hear a difference if comparing with predecessor. I still do and yet I am not a professional audio engineer. Given everything I mentioned, if you had any previous WH1000X model, I can describe this new one as a good step forward. In any other case prepare to be blown away. Coming from the other two brands competing with Sony will still feel very different and an improvement in most aspects. A very welcome upgrade I'd say - noise cancellation, audio quality, connectivity(with the exception of multipoint management) are all top level. A must have for travel on the tube, going to the gym or for a walk in the park. Adaptive ANC is brilliant. I very much want to see a hardware change for multipoint device management on the headphones themselves. Maybe a dedicated button to switch between connected/registered devices. Also, can't wait to see what Sony can offer in future iterations with regards to further improving noise cancelling, especially dynamic wind noise removal and would they offer multi-drive and true DD5.1(that would be amazing!) version of this product one day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not comfortable for glasses wearers

WH-1000XM5 29 May 2022 by Me_me (United Kingdom)

Previous models are more comfortable. If you wear glasses these make a rubbing creaking sounds around the leather surround on the ear. It's actually annoying and frustrating. The top head band is thinner and less cushioned that older models and less comfortable for longer periods. Unable to use dual bluetooth if you want LDAC and high quality which is the whole reason you just spent nearly £400 on these headphones. So all in all actually feel disappointed, the MX3s were pretty decent albeit mine are falling apart after a few years usage.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

130 Customer Reviews

0

Great Headphones

WH1000XM5/BME 18 August 2022 by Nelumbo18 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month ago and am more than happy with this purchase.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great.............................................

WH1000XM5/SME 17 August 2022 by SOKAI (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

great.......................................................

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the sound but annoying software hiccup

WH1000XM5/BME 13 August 2022 by Mus91 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought recently because I want to upgrade my old headphone. One of the reason is want to experience better sound and mic experience. The other basically features like Bluetooth 5.0 allow multi connected device which little disappointed, volume keep going to max each time switched between 2 devices.

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

XM5 - an upgrade for an ANC headset series

WH1000XM5/BME 08 August 2022 by Effendy (Malaysia)

I am a fan of the XM series since XM1 and the headset series never fail to impress me. The improved design while missing the headset flip function; the new design seems fit perfectly and not too tight. One of my issues with the previous versions of the XM series was the microphone. and the XM5 solve the issue. Now I can seamlessly connect to calls and I am not using my company headset anymore. Also the multi device function works like a charm; I can listen to my favorite music while connecting to my teams call. Happy for my XM5 and I hope Sony surprises me with more upgrades soon

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant product

WH-1000XM5 07 August 2022 by Gazhudson1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a week ago so when I’m in a plane I have silence on the way, they work and are of premier quality. The are so reliable and responsive to any commands.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but …

WH1000XM5/SME 06 August 2022 by Nalaoey (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Yes been using it almost everyday … the cups tends to get warm. App not optimized for iPad format.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing product. The sound is so much better now!

WH1000XM5/BME 28 July 2022 by Nagendran (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m upgrading from 1000-XM3 and I never regretted it!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb. Great sound quality.

WH-1000XM5 26 July 2022 by Roger Lord (United Kingdom)

The best and most comfortable headphones I ever had. Well done Sony.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best Quality on the market

WH-1000XM5 25 July 2022 by Kiki0327 (United Kingdom)

Best quality headphones on the market, great sound quality and ANC

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sound !

WH1000XM5/BME 20 July 2022 by jfynwa (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received it the day before it’s launch and it has been a joy to use for my commute & inside my room.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality NC Headphones!

WH-1000XM5 19 July 2022 by KingyJ (United Kingdom)

Most comfortable NC headphones I've won! Easy to set up and especially impressed with no plastic packaging!"

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Nice to have…

WH-1000XM5 19 July 2022 by Boris the 2nd (United Kingdom)

I bought this one month ago. Still questioning the style even if technologically this makes me smile

Performance

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony support team
22 July 2022

Hi Boris,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to learn that you're enjoying the technology of the headphones, and for more years to come.
If you need any assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Fabulous sound and so easy to use

WH-1000XM5 18 July 2022 by Rhacsyn (United Kingdom)

I bought these a month ago after much reading, testing and research. My time researching was well spent and I am extremely happy with the quality and sound. I use with an Android phone as well as a high end dtac system. My previous over ear pair were B&O which I had and enjoyed for 8 years. I am now using the new Sony and am thrilled. Looked at the Apple equivalent, which also had great sound, but in my opinion were too dedicated to apple products

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Transparency boost!

WH1000XM5/BME 18 July 2022 by stop1431 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having experiences with the previous models (XM3 and XM4), I can say that every iteration includes major upgrades and features: How it fits on me Ear Cups I found that the earcup is slightly bigger compared to the XM4. Quick head movement and tilts found that it moves out of place a bit more than the previous iteration (heads up to the gym freaks) Head Band I do prefer the XM5 design compared to the XM4 and XM3. It was not the case initially but having XM5 for a month and looking back at the previous models, it does look modern. What I prefer Sony would retain is the headband adjustment because with XM4 I can adjust the head band to my size by just hearing the clicks when I move it up and down. Transparency Leaps and bounds from XM4! I don't feel the muffle during calls with transparency mode anymore! I guess the addition of microphones does wonders! Noise Cancellation Nothing beats Sony's NC. The only competitor for XM5 in this case is the XM4! Battery No qualms on the battery consumption. About the same as XM4. Both are good. Touch features I am a fan of the clickety clacks and I do prefer mechanical/tactile buttons but no complains from me on the swipe features. I got use to it for volume up/down, pause and quick transparency. Price As a XM fan, I would say that the price is justified as we list down the features and wonders it make. Should any of you jump ship to the XM series headphones from other brand, I would say welcome! The XM4 and XM5 will rock your world! Kudos Sony!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

THE NOICE CANCELLING IS AMAZING

WH-1000XM5 14 July 2022 by roxjohnny11 (United Kingdom)

This is a really good headphone. Easily the best in the midrange market. It sounds amazing with and without the provided cable.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent headphones

WH-1000XM5 14 July 2022 by Mansy (United Kingdom)

Got fed up of Galaxy Buds Pro constantly popping out of my ears. You can never go wrong with Sony. Bought these headphones and it does all that I want at a high standard. They don't fall off. They are comfortable. Sound is amazing. Easy to use. Taking mobile calls is so easy and convenient with excellent sound quality for the person on the opposite end of the phone. I have yet to charge it despite using them for hours.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Headphones

WH1000XM5/B 12 July 2022  (USA)

I love these headphones, they have amazing sound quality and the battery life is great. the noise cancelling is great and works extremely well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13 July 2022

Hi Jeffrey Brady, Great! We're happy to hear that you like the sound quality, battery life, and noise canceling function. The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. The automatic Speak to Chat feature will stop your music once you start talking and let in the ambient sound. With up to 30 hours of battery life and a quick charge feature. The new lightweight WH-1000XM5 headphones provide all day comfort in an elegant design. Thanks for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Not Controversial but subjective

WH-1000XM5 10 July 2022 by 3DHombreezle (United Kingdom)

The look was amazing, it was indeed smarter and a better mic-call quality with ANC. Just one thing that made me wanted to return it was the so called wider sound stage , it made the sound signature terrible compared to XM4. I could not believe my ears, i think it's underwhelming for £379. The fact that water resistance still NOT considered for this pair of cans in 2022 is amazing. Overall, this is a really smart and great looking headphone, if you aren't sound freak you definitely would love it.

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
13 July 2022

Hi,
Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony WH-1000XM5. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members. Rest assured, we'll pass your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Elshahat @Sony Support UK

0

Superb Headphones

WH-1000XM5 10 July 2022 by Adam in Knutsford (United Kingdom)

Really pleased with these headphones. Although I am no audiophile, I think the sound quality is superb. The noise cancellation is also excellent. Really comfortable to wear for long periods. Did a lot of research before buying these and I am really impressed.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good product

WH-1000XM5 10 July 2022 by Andreabocca (United Kingdom)

Bought it last week, very easy to use , good noise cancelling

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
13 July 2022

Hi Andrea,
Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony WH-1000XM5 and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Elshahat @Sony Support UK

0

Great sound quality!!

WH1000XM5/SME 10 July 2022 by fMY13 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this online (Pre-order). Wanted the black one, but not available. But silver is also nice. It is a big upgrade from my previous WH-H900N. But I have tried WH-1000MX3 and MX4 a few times. Personally, I think the sound quality and the noise cancellation/reduction feature are greatly improved. I also like the other features such as the speak-to-chat feature, but I need to disable it if I want to listen to the music and hum/sing-along, or else it will keep stopping when I started to sing or hum, haha. I also find the hard-case design (with slightly tapered) great. It fits nicely in my bag, no issue.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fastastic and Awesome!

WH1000XM5/BME 07 July 2022 by Nori1429 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this beautiful and awesome product. Love at 1st sight!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Left side of headphones no longer working

WH-1000XM5 06 July 2022 by Simon4641 (United Kingdom)

I pre ordered these headphones looking for an upgrade however I am beyond dissatisfied being given a faulty pair of headphones that no longer work. Will not be ordering future headphones.

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

Response From Sony Support Team
11 July 2022

Hi Simon4641,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that the left side of the headphones are no longer working.

Please make sure that the unit is running the latest software version: https://bit.ly/3AGu8cE.
You can reset and initialize the headphones, and test it once more: https://bit.ly/3P1FHiF & https://bit.ly/3OZI9pH.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @ Sony UK

0

Master pice

WH-1000XM5 06 July 2022 by Raggi (United Kingdom)

Happy happy happy I like it a lot. Best sound ever and the noice chanselig is the best

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best overall

WH1000XM5/BME 06 July 2022 by Sly7239 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pre-order the item and with a month of use, I find it much better than the previous model. Less fatigue and hot on the head, very light and sound quality is awesome.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best head phone ever owned!!

WH1000XM5/BME 06 July 2022 by Shahrilh (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it last month. To replace my XM3. Best decision ever.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new go-to headphones

WH1000XM5/S 05 July 2022 by The_Scient1st (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are absolutely amazing. I recently took them on a trip and first of all the noise cancelling made it so I could barely hear anything of the plane engine while I was flying. The sound quality is crystal clear, and all of the smart functions are very very cool. I also like this case a lot compared to older ones (I also have a pair of h.ear MDR-100ABN) because it is flatter and has a nice compartment for the wires. Overall, it feels like Sony has thought through every aspect of how to make an excellent headphone and executed it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05 July 2022

Hi The_Scient1st, Thanks for sharing your awesome experience while using your new Sony wireless noise canceling headphones. With our WH-1000XM5 headphones, you can enjoy magnificent sound quality which is engineered to perfection and have a battery life that can last up to 30 hours with quick charging (3 min charge for 3 hours of playback). With 8 total microphones, these headphones are our biggest step forward in noise canceling technology. For everyday convenience, just Speak-to-Chat and Quick Attention mode stop your music and let in ambient sound. Thank you for choosing Sony! Vincent

0

Great mobile headphones

WH-1000XM5 05 July 2022 by Goansipife (United Kingdom)

Since a while i was looking a mobile headphones that maintain the sound quality I'm used to with living room headphones. I bought these and i think i reached there

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

WH-1000XM5 05 July 2022 by buckers (United Kingdom)

Easy to use and very comfortable , brilliant technology in making these headphones

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost the best

WH1000XM5/BME 05 July 2022 by Ah pui (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The smudges on black colour ones.... Sony, why do this to us?

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Singapore service team
12 July 2022

Hi Ah pui,

We appreciate your feedback and wish to assist you further. Please contact us @ the link below for further support
https://web.sony-asia.com/sg/contact-us/

Sony Singapore service team

0

overall, great

WH1000XM5/S 05 July 2022 by alfunzoA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the headset it's self is amazing. the sound is wonderful, they are very comfortable and they look amazing all while having the best Active Noise Canceling around. 4/5 because of the app. the interface is not comfortable and more customizable widgets would be greatly appreciated

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05 July 2022

Hi alfunzoA, Thank you for the awesome review! We're very happy to hear you like the incredible sound quality, comfortable fit, sleek and beautiful design, and industry-leading noise canceling feature of your new Sony WH-1000XM5. We also appreciate your feedback about the interface and customization of the Sony Headphones Connect app. For future reference, we can offer assistance on how to set up, operate the features and functions of the app to make it a better overall experience for you. Also, you can reach out to one of our agents through this link: https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US. who would be glad to help.
The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. The automatic Speak to Chat feature will stop your music once you start talking and let in the ambient sound. With up to 30 hours of battery life and a quick charge feature. The new lightweight WH-1000XM5 headphones provide all day comfort in an elegant design. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Excellent headphones.

WH-1000XM5 04 July 2022 by Tammy02 (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones a little while ago and I've used them every day since! They are truly amazing!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Noise Cancelling and Comfort.

WH1000XM5/BME 04 July 2022 by Oceantan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to purchase the 1000XM5 after hearing so much how good M4 was. ordered it during the pre-order. The pre-order came with a very nice charging stand for the headphone. But most impressive was the headphone itself. The noise cancelling is superb and able to drown out a lot of external noises. And it was very comfortable to wear. It is not heavy and the ear pads are comfortable without creating too much heat. I highly recommend it.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

WH1000XM5/BME 04 July 2022 by smyusuff (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

What more can you expect from Sony. Only the best product and quality. Love the headphone.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great headphones

WH-1000XM5 03 July 2022 by Ellp (United Kingdom)

Amazing piece of kit. When it comes to headphones you can't beat them

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great noise cancelling and battery life

WH1000XM5/BME 03 July 2022 by SportyTng (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great noise cancelling, battery life and comfortable to wear long period of time.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY HAS DONE IT AGAIN!

WH-1000XM5 02 July 2022 by DC1971 (United Kingdom)

Coming from the XM3s I thought it would be a good update. The soundstage is epic compares to the 3s, the low end is more detailed and defined this time round. Mids and highs are present, not muddy. Call quality with the extra mics are amazing, also cancels background nice and wind. Also the new design is great, no creaking with this design. If you're coming from XM3s or earlier, or your in the market for a great sounding headphones IMHO just buy these along with the Sony app, they work amazingly well.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

You need LDAC codec/TX to enjoy the headphone

WH1000XM5/SME 02 July 2022 by Butcher of Blaviken (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is in LDAC based headphone, if your smartphone has LDAC codec reader, you will enjoy the amount is sound in this headphone. Most PC/laptop of windows cannot read LDAC codec, so you will be best to get an LDAC transmitter (brands like Fiio have) to enjoy the sound You will need to be need picky to know if there is a latency, but generally latency is not significant once you have the LDAC codec reader Overall, connection is alot easier compare XM3, lighter and more close to ear

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I upgraded from the M2 to the M5

WH-1000XM5 01 July 2022 by Pabloz (United Kingdom)

I've only had the product for about a week now. So far from my ungrade from the M2 there is no going back. I can't say much in terms of sound quality of but m5 sound way better to me but these are on train ears, I also feel the the noise cancelling is by far away better but again I'm not a professional. What I can say for certain is when taking a phone call all the clarity on both ends is way better. My 1 negative is I do believe the price is a bit high maybe £300 instead of £380 would be a better price point.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

WH-1000XM5 01 July 2022 by Pablo27 (United Kingdom)

I would give 6/10 sound quality not that impressed good controls Too big for my normal sized head on min setting and have tk move head slip to avoid moving them Battery life is good But expected more sound quality and lack of volume not good also

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony Support Team
04 July 2022

Hi Pablo27,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headphones, and sorry to learn that you didn't like the sound quality and the fact that they are large.

You can always extend the slider to adjust the length of the headband, and check how to wear it through this link: https://bit.ly/3M6JFoi.
But, rest assured, we'll pass your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development.

Also, you can always change between the 2 quality modes to prioritize the sound quality, or the the connection: https://bit.ly/3NGhuNM.
Furthermore, to enjoy the best sound quality of the headset, try to play content that support high resolution codecs: https://bit.ly/3up6spr.

And if it's the same, you may reset and initialize the unit, and test it once more: https://bit.ly/3P1FHiF & https://bit.ly/3OZI9pH.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

Fantastic Noise Cancellation

WH1000XM5/SME 01 July 2022 by RGopal (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I pre-ordered WH-1000XM5 noise cancelling headphone after hearing the XM4 reviews. Indeed the product designed for ultimate noise cancelling as I used it for my recent overseas trip flying long hours. The headphone is light weight and easy to carry around. The colour which I bought is silver and it has beautiful tone to it. Value buy for this ultimate noise cancelling headphone.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overal ok, small tit-bits

WH1000XM5/BME 01 July 2022 by Avi99 (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

Soft and easy to wear, tho they might slide a bit when bending down, over 30+ mins of use the cushions kind feel warm over my ears even in Aircon. Build is good. Noice cancellation is 8/10 for me

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best ANC ever

WH1000XM5/BME 01 July 2022 by kelborhal78 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best ANC Bluetooth headset right now. Prefer the new design over the XM4. Feels more solid, wish there were audible clicks when adjusting headband. I don't mind that it's not foldable. Charging cable way too short

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Product never disappoint ever!

WH1000XM5/BME 30 June 2022 by Dex168 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I preorder XM5 before it launched in Malaysia. After I received and tested it, I have an incredible experience with my new headphones. Other than comfortably fit and wearing in long-duration, sound quality and those upgrades really impress me especially the switch of transparency is faster and compatible. That's my personal feeling and experience using Sony XM3 to XM5, I see lots of improvement and still can be better.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

WH1000XM5/BME 29 June 2022 by Josef1421 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last few weeks and it was incredible. Love it

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

WH1000XM5/BME 28 June 2022 by kpbong (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from Bose QC25, this headphone is a huge upgrade. Although the noise cancelling and sound quality is way better but then again I never tried airpods or bose latest noise cancelling headphones. The build quality is pretty solid but I wonder if the ear muff can be replaced

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

XM5 Sucks

WH1000XM5/SME 28 June 2022 by MarlinaJ (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I regret selling my XM3. The ANC on XM5 is way inferior to my 3 years old XM3. Ponder on that for a sec. Theres no manual optimization. i can still here my surrounding even at noice cancelling setting. I usually listen to a very low sound to protect my ear due to excellent anc..but now..i am very very very dissapointed. The headphone randomly switch off for no reason. The headphone button and touch sensor randomly working and not working.

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

0

Cool

WH1000XM5/BME 27 June 2022 by Shhh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sleek design, cool features. Happy with my investment.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

WH1000XM5/BME 27 June 2022 by Kugaanesan (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy listening to music via Sony WH-1000XM5 headphone. The sound quality is good and it's noise cancellation features is great.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic!!

WH1000XM5/BME 25 June 2022 by lancerlot (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Splendid performance!..Excellent bass for Rock Music!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Sound Quality and Great Noise Cancelling

WH1000XM5/BME 24 June 2022 by IvanTan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am still wearing this head phone as I write this review. I am happy to be able to trade in my XM3 ear buds for this new set. Thanks Sony! I don't mind this headset cannot be folded like the XM4. I just hung it around my neck! Battery life is super good.The only complaint is wearing too long builds up heat like every other over the ear headphones. Good thing this headset is light and cushion is comfortable. I was also able to make calls in a noisy environment with my voice sounding clear to the other parties. Overall, this is the most expensive headset i owned but it is worth every cent!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best ANC

WH1000XM5/BME 24 June 2022 by 31242 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from XM2 to XM5. The ANC on XM5 is way better than XM2. MRT track noise was cut to the minimum. Bus engine noise was reduce to a comfortable level. Headphone is comfortable for long listening.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

By far this is the best ANC headset by Sony

WH1000XM5/SME 24 June 2022 by Sunny Tang (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgrading from XM3 to XM5. Excellent ANC and sound quality in Ldac format.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony does it again!!!

WH-1000XM5 22 June 2022 by Daz101 (United Kingdom)

Amazing product, highly recommended. Love the build and sound quality.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The best ones

WH-1000XM5 21 June 2022 by PaoloPz (United Kingdom)

I was thinking about buying the 4th version, but when the 5th version came out, I just bought them, and im really happy with them. Nice build quality, best music quality, and best NC.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

So far so good

WH1000XM5/BME 21 June 2022 by dont_ask (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in as an addition to my in-ear.. works great so far, music sounds great.. noise cancelling is even better.. as expected of sony... one complain.. skin at cup contact will sweat during prolong use.. cant be helped, i guess... but overall.. havent regret yet..

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing product - much better than XM4

WH1000XM5/B 20 June 2022 by joshv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I accidentally broke 2 pairs of the XM4's but with the build quality of the XM5, I feel safer taking this on and off without breaking the metal/plastic band holding the headphones together. Sound quality is on another level but noice canceling could be a bit better compared to the Air Pods Max.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20 June 2022

Hi joshv, Thank you for purchasing the Sony WH-1000XM5 Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones! The WH-1000XM5 headphones have a robust design which helps prevent any type of breakage under normal use. And we're glad you like the excellent sound quality of your new headphones. To ensure optimal noise canceling performance, please refer to the steps on the link below:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000534745.html


The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. The automatic Speak to Chat feature will stop your music once you start talking and let in the ambient sound. With up to 30 hours of battery life and a quick charge feature. The new lightweight WH-1000XM5 headphones provide all day comfort in an elegant design. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Grat Noise cancelling and sound

WH-1000XM5 20 June 2022 by sjefkevalk (United Kingdom)

I am a fan of Sony headphones and I've possessed the previous versions as well. I started with the XM3 and was impressed by the sound (which is the most important feature in a headphone for me). With the XM3 I also discovered the ANC for the first time. The XM4 was an upgrade of the ANC but I found that the sound quality didn't change, though it kept an high standard. With the XM5 both sound and ANC quality increased together with the price, which is the reason for the 4 stars.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
22 June 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headphones and happy with the sound quality we always aim to deliver! We're also glad to keep you as one of our loyal family members and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come!

Moreover, don't hesitate to reach out to us over the phone, chat support and email using the details here: https://bit.ly/3xPUapp to provide us with any further feedback you may have, we’re always delighted to hear from our customers, and are always working to develop our headphones to suit your needs.

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

The best ANC headphones on the market.

WH-1000XM5 20 June 2022 by Zen_Shot (United Kingdom)

Upraded to these from my WH-1000XM3's. So much better with many improvements.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best headphones 2022!

WH1000XM5/BME 19 June 2022 by Nasir70 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comfortable with good sound & base but prolong use my ears heat up & sweating. Also too costly. Use it with my PS5. Wish Ps5 can connect wireless & with 3d surround sound.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very uncomfortable

WH-1000XM5 18 June 2022 by Anony45 (United Kingdom)

I own the XM3 and now the XM4 I came from the XM3 to the XM5. I had the XM5 on my head for one hour and the impression made on my head is as shown on the photos. The headband was not pressed down hard. Perhaps this is an allergic reaction to the material. The ear pads are thinner than both the XM3 and XM4. I cannot say for certain if they would have become very uncomfortable after wearing for a long time becuase I never had the headphones on for a long time. The sound was great but unsure if I would consider them better than the XM3 or XM4. I had high hopes for the XM5 but I am very disappointed. I returned them to Sony for a full refund. Thanks for that

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

13

Response From Sony Support Team
21 June 2022

Hi Anony45,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you've returned the unit due to the fact that it was very uncomfortable to use.

First of all the headphones uses recycled plastic materials from auto-mobile parts.
Also due to the new design of the unit it is thinner than the previous two models, but should also be lighter. And we would've recommended checking this wearing guide for the unit: https://bit.ly/3M6JFoi.

And of course we would've loved if you called us to discuss this further with you before returning it: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.
But, rest assured, we'll pass your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development. And once more, we're sorry about any inconvenience.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

Looks great, sounds great, comfort could be better

WH-1000XM5 17 June 2022 by Mikest3r (United Kingdom)

I bought this a couple weeks ago and have been using it 3 days a week to travel into work (London). I've really enjoyed using them. The noise cancelling is great, I can always hear my music/audio clearly and any outside noises are extremely quiet or non existent. The ambient-mode is great for hearing the outside world more clearly without taking the headphones off, and you can still hear your music fine. I often use this feature for listening to announcements on the train or if somebody is talking to me. The only down side so far is the comfort. The ears are fine, but the headband gets slightly painful after about an hour of use. It could just be my headshape, and usually after I move it back or forward it will stop for a bit. I think it might be related to how narrow it is and the pressure it has, because I have other headphones with wide cushioned bands and they never get uncomfortable.

1

0

Response From Sony support team
20 June 2022

Hi Mikest3r,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headset. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
We'll make sure to pass your feedback about the fit through the proper channels for future consideration.
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Great headphones well done Sony

WH-1000XM5 17 June 2022 by Makaveli666 (United Kingdom)

I bought these a couple weeks ago, very good sound nice battery life the Touch Is good.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty good

WH-1000XM5 16 June 2022 by OmniSnr (United Kingdom)

Overall these are pretty good headphones. I would have liked a bigger sound stage and occasionally the sound is a little muddy. I also have issue with “micro dropouts” when connected to my iPhone 13 which is infuriating. Although I would have liked more padding they are comfortable and the ANC is good. Support for spatial audio and Atmos would have been nice, rather the proprietary system than Sony uses and nobody on the plant supports

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20 June 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your WH-1000XM5 and we're sorry to hear that you're facing some difficulties with them.
Could you make sure that the headphones are up to date, you can find the latest firmware version in this link: https://bit.ly/3HAdxZ . If the same issue remained, try the steps below:
Reset the headphones from the steps here: https://bit.ly/3bdh8ki
And you can initialize them from the steps here: https://bit.ly/3y5rTho

Indeed, Dolby Atmos isn't supported on the WH-1000XM5 but, you can enjoy music with the 360 Reality Audio as real as if you are there at a live concert or with the artist recording in a studio, and it's also supported on number of apps and streaming services, you can find more information about that in this link: https://bit.ly/3xEt2eu

Furthermore, we highly appreciate your feedback about the earpads and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future consideration and developments.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia @Sony Support UK

0

Best headphones I have had

WH-1000XM5 15 June 2022 by FabRay (United Kingdom)

Bought these a few weeks ago and they are the best headphones I've ever had. They fit well and are comfortable even after hours of use. I work from home and use these to take calls, which the headphones work very well for. The noise cancelling is really good and the ambient mode is perfect - there's an option to adjust how much sound is passed through if you use the app. The app also has some good EQ modes and the difference between the modes are noticeable. All overhead headphones that I have used in the past never fit my head/ears properly but these fit perfectly. The ONLY negative that I have to say is that when they are on theres no light to show they are on - so if I dont have my phone I cannot tell from a glance if they are on or not.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great but be careful.

WH1000XM5/S 15 June 2022 by Ren2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought them to replace 1000xm4's that started whistling in my left ear. They are easier to pair and volume and ambient sound controls are improved. Needed a set with good noise canceling.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15 June 2022

Hi Ren2,

We appreciate the 5-star rating! It's good to hear you enjoy the ambient sound and volume of the headphones. The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. The automatic Speak to Chat feature will stop your music once you start talking and let in the ambient sound. With up to 30 hours of battery life and a quick charge feature. The new lightweight WH-1000XM5 headphones provide all day comfort in an elegant design. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards.
David

0

Really good, but...

WH-1000XM5 15 June 2022 by AlexRTR (United Kingdom)

Preordered these, love the design, light weight, noise cancelling and the sound quality is very good. Let down by irritating crackle/ticking noise that flares up seemingly at random. Noticeable over some music but especially when you've got it paused. I really hope this is a software issue of some kind so it gets fixed.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20 June 2022

Hi Alex,

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headphones despite having some issues with it.

As an attempt of rectifying the issue, could you ensure that your headphones is running on the latest software version by following this link: https://bit.ly/3NFB4tZ?

You can also test the headphones with different compatible devices.

Moreover, ensure to follow the troubleshooting steps clarified here: https://bit.ly/3HJQCuT.

If the above steps didn't help, try resetting and initializing the Headphones to its factory settings by following these links: https://bit.ly/3QyaBAM & https://bit.ly/3zKP0PD.

If the issue is still disrupting you, we'd love to offer extra assistance. Feel free to contact us by following this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL, we will gladly assist you further!

Mennah @Sony Support UK