62

4.4 based on 62 customer reviews

39
15
5
0
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17 September 2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

right size for my sony 43" tv

HT-X8500 23 September 2019 by josh 177 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tidy design and well built. Sounds ok, vertical surround average. Easy to connect and set up but sadly only had it three weeks when power transformer blew up had to take it back for refund this may be a one off !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

62 Customer Reviews

0

Not impressed.

HT-X8500 28 July 2020 by Swstn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this with high expectations. I found the background sounds completely over powered the voices making it virtually impossible to follow storylines.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Easy Setup

HTX8500 24 July 2020 by LilBear11963 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago. 1st took time to set it up today. Took me about 20 min. by myself and I'm picky about cords not being tangled or showing. The quick setup sheet was a big help. I'm also using a Sony 4K tv with this. I'm very happy with this sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

HT-X8500 20 July 2020 by kenziel23 (USA)

worked just fine for watching a movie with a group of people. could have been louder, good for a tv stand or any flat surface

0

0

0

HT-X8500 14 July 2020 by martinez21112 (USA)

I have had this sound bar since I got my tv and that was 4 years ago. Still works perfect. I totally recommend because it has held up and it is on the cheaper end of things. I would recommend because who does not love SONY. Come on lol.

0

1

0

HTX8500 09 July 2020  (USA)

This has to be the best sound bar I have heard. My parents got it after we got the big screen TV. The sound is amazing. You can everything clearly even when the volume is turned way down. It was worth the price. Definitely would recommend for someone who is looking for quality sound.

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 27 June 2020 by Fabby 48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar a few weeks ago, the sound is very good, loud and crisp especially connected with a 4k blu ray player. But the functionality is not impressive with no display on tv, the flashing lights on the top of the bar are confusing at best and they should have been on the front to be easily seen while seating down. So to summarise, this bar produces great sound, and I'm happy with it, but the lack of tv display is a real let down

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Beyond expectations

HT-X8500 22 June 2020 by Babs16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound when playing films is out of this world. Could be sitting in cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HTX8500 20 June 2020 by alexc102 (USA)

its a pretty alright speaker for people that need one i think that its pretty good compared to other products but the quality of the sound is good and i would recommend this speaker to other people that need a speaker/soundbar.

0

0

0

HTX8500 15 June 2020  (USA)

My Sony Soundbar really pumps out the sound! I absolutely love it. I cant imagine a life of just using the tvs built in sound anymore. The quality is fantastic and next I want to get surround sound!

0

0

0

HTX8500 11 June 2020  (USA)

I like my sony sound bar, the quality of the sound is perfectly great specially when watching a movie the sound is great. In my opinion this is no improvement needed. also for the price is great Sony sound bar. if anyone is looking for a sound bar with high quality sound this one would be the to go to. :)

0

0

0

Compliments the TV

HT-X8500 10 June 2020 by Del5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This soundbar in a word is ”Billiant” and ands to the experience when watching various types of programmes from movies to sport.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HTX8500 09 June 2020  (USA)

I personally do not own this product but a close friend of mine does and boy does it sound great!

0

0

0

HTX8500 05 June 2020 by kailync11 (USA)

This is a really good quality sound bar and I love that it is Bluetooth and can connect to my devices from pretty far away. I would recommend this product.

0

0

0

Excellent sound but lack of inputs.

HT-X8500 05 June 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So what can I say about the htx-8500. Well it's a lovely looking bar, nice rounded edges and a very simple but sleek design. One earc/arc output and one hdmi 2.0 input to connect a single device to. I would have liked one or two more inputs but I can live with only one. The input is 4K and hdr pass through, I have gotten hdr and hdr 10+ but it will not pass through dolby vision. The output handles all of the major codecs including dolby atmos. Now to the sound, I'm a little of a Sony fan boy so perhaps a little bias, but the sound quality on this is really breathtaking. You can get a good sense of height for atmos and it really shines through. I have no hesitation in reccomending this at all. Oh and if Sony wanna send me anything to review please feel free lol.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Great quality sound

HT-X8500 30 May 2020 by saintybalboa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This adds to the atmosphere when watching sporting events. Not just because of the extra volume, but the quality of sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Excellent first step into Dolby Atmos

HT-X8500 21 May 2020 by Gdawson (United Kingdom)

I have had this soundbar for a week now and on the whole I am very impressed . Unfortunately Earc is very buggy and I am forever having to switch the tv off then on to get any sound from the soundbar when switching to Netflix via the onboard app?! I had bought new high speed Hdmi cables and foolishly thought buying a Sony soundbar with a Sony tv would make the Earc process Seemless ?. How wrong I was !!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

5

0

Neat one piece sound bar built in subwoofer

HT-X8500 07 May 2020 by Discerning (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quickly elevates the TV watching to an amazing immersive experience Pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great sound and easy setup

HTX8500 29 April 2020 by buckhunter67 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this after reviewing several soundbars, I liked the fact that it has a built in subwoofer, so nothing else to clutter up a room. The easiest set up I ever had, plugged into an LG 4k television through the ARC, and I had to do nothing after that. It does have great sound and the bass, though limited, is sufficient to fill my tv room. Now I need to get Netflix again and watch some Dolby Vision and Atmos. Should be awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great Product

HT-X8500 28 April 2020 by Carol1teach (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to go with new Sony tv. Very impressed with Sony as usual.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

Good sound quality

HT-X8500 21 April 2020 by Deano 7762 (United Kingdom)

Very good soundbar good features. Would recommend this soundbar

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Soundbar HT-8500

HT-X8500 21 April 2020 by Gilliarno (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant sound from this Sony HT-8500 it looks smart as well easy to set up good value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Good product

HT-X8500 16 April 2020 by Bas23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased a while ago and all seems ok. Not sure I have it set right as I don't seem to be getting surround sound. My music from iPod is good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

pure rubbish

HT-X8500 09 April 2020 by Shod (United Kingdom)

possibly the worst thing i have ever purchased. With the soundbar connected and playing Netflix, Amazon Prime etc and selecting the pause button all sound is lost. the fix is to turn Sony Bravia TV off and on again

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

6

0

Tv excellent but sound bar exceptionally disappoin

HT-X8500 06 April 2020 by Ricardo46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tv has been excellent and all that I expected. Colours amazing and easy to set up and operate. This is our third Sony Bravia. Sound bar arrived in packaging that had been opened. I should have returned at the time. Base is overwhelming and unsuitable for a medium sized property. I have hardly used it because it because it spoils all tv and most music. Very disappointing Sony product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

0

Superb Sound

HT-X8500 29 March 2020 by Orac1024 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this Soundbar two weeks ago with a 65" XG95 what a combination superb vision and ATMOS Sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Great Sound, Easy Setup

HTX8500 02 February 2020 by snowinjuly (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product has great sound and is very easy to set up. Mounted to the wall easily and connected to my Sony Bravia TV right away via Bluetooth. This is a major upgrade in sound compared to the TV speakers and looks great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

7

0

HT8500

HT-X8500 28 January 2020 by nicky177 (United Kingdom)

excellent soundbar very good features,great sound nice design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10

0

Great features! Dolby Atmos All in one Soundbar

HT-X8500 26 January 2020 by Max03 (United Kingdom)

All in one sound is amazing, options of sound effect from remote and bass options too. I will recommend using an 4K HDMI instead of optical cable as the pass through isn't supported at all rates via optical. Dolby Atmos and Vertical sound is speechless! What I don't like is: not fully compatible with AG8 model, sound bar menu not displayed on TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

6

0

Awesome and monstrous sound quality

HT-X8500 25 January 2020 by CutieWil (Philippines)

I just got mine and the reviews are correct! Excellent product! Kudos! Top of the notch.. experienced atmos and worth it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Batteries!

HT-X8500 15 January 2020 by William the conker (United Kingdom)

Simple set up. Great sound. Couldn't work out why the remote wasn't working with the supplied Sony batteries. Swopped them out and all good. You don't expect supplied batteries to be stone dead!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

EASY TO SET UP

HT-X8500 12 January 2020 by MIKESCO (United Kingdom)

ONLY JUST GOT THIS VIRTUALLY A PLUG AND PLAY SET UP. WOULD RECOMMEND HDMI AS OPPOSED TO SUPPLIED OPTICAL LEAD. SO FAR IMPRESSED WITH SOUND

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

Mr

HT-X8500 09 January 2020 by GEOFFGB (United Kingdom)

excellent addition to my new sony tv which I registered thru Domestic and General on 7th January 2020

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

E, Exellent buy

HT-X8500 06 January 2020 by Lucky boy (United Kingdom)

Brilliant soundbar far exceeded my expectations in e ery way

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Just what I was looking for. Excellent quality in

HTX8500 30 December 2019 by 452Mary (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this 2 days ago. Was a bit sceptical when Sony rep at electronics store said my tv and cable box would work as soon as connected. He was totally right. Didn't have to do anythink except connect 1 cable and plug into power.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 30 November 2019 by TV favourite (United Kingdom)

Looks stylish in front of my Sony TV. Good sound on TV channels and also for music and films. Easy to use and is synced with TV automatically. Very pleased with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Overall Addition!!!

HTX8500 26 November 2019 by Bob In Towson (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hard to find item but well worth the search!!! Walmart has a display item and online item but they say they are not available. Ebay is best bet...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic sound

HT-X8500 16 November 2019 by Dazu7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought three weeks ago and no regrets, easy to set up and the sound is amazing,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

bad

HTX8500 12 November 2019 by gsk4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought the sound bar a few days later humming sound out of speaker and a couple days later sound just quit took it back to store and got a different sound bar it is still a sony this one works great

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

0

Looks very nice and fits perfectly in front of my

HT-X8500 05 November 2019 by Drewbear (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had it for a month or so and up to now i am very happy with it, looks good and sounds good. Had a few setup problems but Sony soon sorted it out for me with one short phone call.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent quality and features

HT-X8500 02 November 2019 by michaelcassel01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought with Sony XG90 49”. Easy setup and sync well with TV and SkyQ. Sound quality is very good and more than adequate for medium sized rooms. Easy controller. Enhances TV sound and viewing experience. Highly recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good bit of kit

HT-X8500 28 October 2019 by Dickymint (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wish I’d gone for the htxf9000 as this is more compatible with my Sony 65” android tv. Didn’t know at time but would have worked better with theatre system built into tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Simple and effective

HT-X8500 28 October 2019 by Zebra999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was recommended by a Sony 'expert' in store and he was absolutely bang-on our requirements. Very easy to set up and works very well. Still haven't used all the pre-set sound options but quick tests suggest will do all it promises

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A Good Soundbar

HT-X8500 27 October 2019 by Nicb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and use with my 4K TV the sound is excellent and watching football with Dolby Atmos takes it to a new level

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

HT-X8500 14 October 2019 by buffysaint (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

VARIOUS WAYS TO CONNECT TO YOUR TV, LOTS OF DIFFERENT SOUND CHOICES. I HAVE MINE ATTACHED UNDR MY TV VIA A SOUNDBAR MOUNT. MY ONLY ISSUE IS IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE AN ONSCREEN MENU

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

50

0

Soundbar

HT-X8500 14 October 2019 by dappadons (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good Sound, easy to operate, very pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

39

0

Neat compact unit

HT-X8500 29 September 2019 by Mike43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A must for wall mounted TV, pleased with the sound from all sources.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10