16

4.3 based on 16 customer reviews

9
3
4
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17 September 2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great all rounder but a little disappointed

HT-X8500 30 May 2019 by Kingeman7 (United Kingdom)

My initial thoughts of this were great when it first arrived, easy to set up. I liked how it came with an hdmi output plus optical cable, however for convenience I feel a normal 3.5mm jack should have been added as well. I value music a lot as I have a pair of MDR-1RNC Noise Cancelling Headphones, which I use mostly everyday. First thing I did was hook up my music from my phone using the bluetooth on the soundbar. I started to play songs with lows that worked well for the built in subwoofer and sounded great. However this kinda was short lived when I moved onto normal midrange to high tracks where the lows didn’t tie into the track at all, at times, which was a let down. I have been using this for a week now and and I tried all the settings from using it on cinema, sports, news and game. The subwoofer works well with the surround sound and veertical sound especially when watching movies. I would say the surround sound system is not the best I’ve had but it does well to fill the room. However, though you do really hear the lows needed to provide that added suspense. One of the options I do really like is the “night” option as It does what it says, basically takes that normal base and smoothens the sound a bit. This worked well with the news and sports options.Moving onto the game option which I was torn to half about because on one half the subwoofers do a really good job in providing that in game feeling if you are playing a first person shooter for example. But, on the other side when you are playing a game like Halo with the added tracks it has while in gameplay, you do really here the discrepancy if your into the sound stuff like me. Lastly to add, the finish of the bar is high quality, it’s something that isn’t going to break suddenly if you drop it, not that I have. My overall opinion is that, for the normal consumer who has a normal home cinema or just want’s to add a soundbar to their TV, this is the sound bar for them. This is more tailored to everything but music but don’t let this deter you as overall it does a good job just not for the ones who know more about sound and stuff. All I’m saying is that don’t expect it to be at the level of Bose if you already have their products, this sound bar is a more of an all-rounder.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

25 Customer Reviews

0

bad

HTX8500 12 November 2019 by gsk4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought the sound bar a few days later humming sound out of speaker and a couple days later sound just quit took it back to store and got a different sound bar it is still a sony this one works great

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Looks very nice and fits perfectly in front of my

HT-X8500 05 November 2019 by Drewbear (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had it for a month or so and up to now i am very happy with it, looks good and sounds good. Had a few setup problems but Sony soon sorted it out for me with one short phone call.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent quality and features

HT-X8500 02 November 2019 by michaelcassel01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought with Sony XG90 49”. Easy setup and sync well with TV and SkyQ. Sound quality is very good and more than adequate for medium sized rooms. Easy controller. Enhances TV sound and viewing experience. Highly recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good bit of kit

HT-X8500 28 October 2019 by Dickymint (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wish I’d gone for the htxf9000 as this is more compatible with my Sony 65” android tv. Didn’t know at time but would have worked better with theatre system built into tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Simple and effective

HT-X8500 28 October 2019 by Zebra999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was recommended by a Sony 'expert' in store and he was absolutely bang-on our requirements. Very easy to set up and works very well. Still haven't used all the pre-set sound options but quick tests suggest will do all it promises

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A Good Soundbar

HT-X8500 27 October 2019 by Nicb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and use with my 4K TV the sound is excellent and watching football with Dolby Atmos takes it to a new level

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

HT-X8500 14 October 2019 by buffysaint (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

VARIOUS WAYS TO CONNECT TO YOUR TV, LOTS OF DIFFERENT SOUND CHOICES. I HAVE MINE ATTACHED UNDR MY TV VIA A SOUNDBAR MOUNT. MY ONLY ISSUE IS IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE AN ONSCREEN MENU

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

49

0

Soundbar

HT-X8500 14 October 2019 by dappadons (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good Sound, easy to operate, very pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

39

0

Neat compact unit

HT-X8500 29 September 2019 by Mike43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A must for wall mounted TV, pleased with the sound from all sources.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

0

right size for my sony 43" tv

HT-X8500 23 September 2019 by josh 177 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tidy design and well built. Sounds ok, vertical surround average. Easy to connect and set up but sadly only had it three weeks when power transformer blew up had to take it back for refund this may be a one off !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17 September 2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

one speaker

HT-X8500 14 September 2019 by mreeee (United Kingdom)

very good sound worth the money just what i needed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very good value for money

HT-X8500 01 September 2019 by Frankie 540 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the compact soundbar last month was surprised with the overall clarity and detail.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Surround sound great

HT-X8500 17 August 2019 by Ted65 (United Kingdom)

Sound is great, Dolby atmos is fantastic feels that you actually there in the movie, would highly recommend compliments my Sony Bravia Tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Easy to set up with great sound

HT-X8500 26 July 2019 by Kaiser 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this a few weeks. Was easy to set up and gives very good sound especially with the vertical effect. Price also good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sounds really fab

HT-X8500 24 July 2019 by Barby22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only recently bought this sound bar , sounds great

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

great product

HT-X8500 26 June 2019 by jeff graham (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a little hard of hearing and this sound bar is great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb Quality Product

HT-X8500 25 June 2019 by Yack2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 weeks ago from Sony Centre Belfast. I am really happy with the performance and look of the soundbar. I have never had a soundbar before so in itself this is a massive difference to my viewing experience. The different settings give a great edge to your experience, bass and sheer powerful sound from this soundbar are fantastic. My only issue is that you cannot see what input you are on without standing in front of the bar. Wall mounted with built in subwoofer adds to sleek look with no subwoofer gathering dust on the floor. A must buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Good but!

HT-X8500 21 June 2019 by None but (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound bar gives very good all around sound effects.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Ok..great features but I've heard better sound

HT-X8500 15 June 2019 by Jfghhfv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this a good few weeks now. Lack of display is hard work trying to see what light sequence comes on and what that combination of lights means is very tiresome, performance is nothing more than ok though the features are good with earc etc

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Awesome - pretty darn good!

HT-X8500 07 June 2019 by ALLP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy connectivity and set up with Sony TV. Subtle, unobtrusive and sleek design - complements TV. Sounds great on auto setting but for the more refined the sound options are well placed. Bluetooth connectivity to multiple devices is a breeze & is most convenient.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great all rounder but a little disappointed

HT-X8500 30 May 2019 by Kingeman7 (United Kingdom)

My initial thoughts of this were great when it first arrived, easy to set up. I liked how it came with an hdmi output plus optical cable, however for convenience I feel a normal 3.5mm jack should have been added as well. I value music a lot as I have a pair of MDR-1RNC Noise Cancelling Headphones, which I use mostly everyday. First thing I did was hook up my music from my phone using the bluetooth on the soundbar. I started to play songs with lows that worked well for the built in subwoofer and sounded great. However this kinda was short lived when I moved onto normal midrange to high tracks where the lows didn’t tie into the track at all, at times, which was a let down. I have been using this for a week now and and I tried all the settings from using it on cinema, sports, news and game. The subwoofer works well with the surround sound and veertical sound especially when watching movies. I would say the surround sound system is not the best I’ve had but it does well to fill the room. However, though you do really hear the lows needed to provide that added suspense. One of the options I do really like is the “night” option as It does what it says, basically takes that normal base and smoothens the sound a bit. This worked well with the news and sports options.Moving onto the game option which I was torn to half about because on one half the subwoofers do a really good job in providing that in game feeling if you are playing a first person shooter for example. But, on the other side when you are playing a game like Halo with the added tracks it has while in gameplay, you do really here the discrepancy if your into the sound stuff like me. Lastly to add, the finish of the bar is high quality, it’s something that isn’t going to break suddenly if you drop it, not that I have. My overall opinion is that, for the normal consumer who has a normal home cinema or just want’s to add a soundbar to their TV, this is the sound bar for them. This is more tailored to everything but music but don’t let this deter you as overall it does a good job just not for the ones who know more about sound and stuff. All I’m saying is that don’t expect it to be at the level of Bose if you already have their products, this sound bar is a more of an all-rounder.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

0

Solid, Powerful, Consistent

HT-X8500 27 May 2019 by Southy72 (United Kingdom)

Exceptionally easy to set-up, probably no longer than 10 minutes if that. Quite heavy, and fairly chunky, so maybe some room for improvement on the design side of things, however when it comes to sound, this delivers, both in ambience and power. Bass is very evident, and power is right there from the start. Would dearly love to have a bigger room from which to test this, I can imagine the cinema sound is superb. Price-wise I think this would appeal if it were maybe £50-£75 cheaper, but this is Sony, so high-spec goods come at a premium. Recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Phenomenal sound, once you have figured it out

HT-X8500 27 May 2019 by SouthamptonG (United Kingdom)

The soundbar arrived and I couldn’t wait to get it installed as we love a movie and with the Dolby Atmos and Vertical Surround features, we were excited to take it to another level. The instructions were really easy to follow and I chose to feed it through our SkyQ box. Once I figured out that I had to turn the sound bar on first, we were away and watched BlacKkKlansman to try it out. The sound (especially in the vertical surround mode) is phenomenal and the built-in bass is really effective. It really is a huge step up from the built-in speakers in my non-Sony television. The only issues I have are that I have to stand up to see what mode it is in as the lights are at the back of the top of the unit (I would have incorporated a small flip-up lcd screen so you can see clearly what mode you are using) and sometimes, when pausing, rewinding and forwarding on Sky, there is a delay in the sound catching up. Sound-wise, I can’t fault it (it’s great for listening to music from my phone too) but for someone who doesn’t have much tech knowledge, it may be difficult to set up and figure out. Now we are used to it’s features, it is a great product and would recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Awesome without the the need for a subwoofer

HT-X8500 24 May 2019 by CC200806 (United Kingdom)

Firstly this is a little bigger than other sound bars, but if like me you don't have room for a separate sub woofer then this soundbar is ideal as it has it built in. It is still small enough to position in front of your TV or hang on a wall with looking to bulky. The design is pleasing to the eye and i like the fact the LED's turn themselves of after a short while. Connectivity was easy and it seamlessly integrated with my TV and PS4. Sound quality is superb with plenty of differing options to give you the right sound for the right situation. The reproduction of surround sound is good from a 2.1 speaker and the bass is adequate enough to fill a good size room without the need of a sub woofer. Connectivity with Bluetooth is easy so playback of music from smart devices works well. The only slight downside to this Soundbar is navigating the different settings. There is quite a few of them and without the instruction book it would be hard to remember how to access and change them all. However with that said once i found my desired setting I pretty much do not need to access or change them again

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0