P 21,499.00

13

3.2 based on 13 customer reviews

5
2
1
1
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Superb Music Player +

16 GB 17 November 2019 by MoggieP (United Kingdom)

When I received the NW-A105 I was immedietly impressed with its style and build quality. It feels solid in the hand and heavy enough to know it is still in your pocket. You could say it is a music player first and a mini-android tablet second as it has Android 9 (Pie) loaded as an operating system. However the display is small and using the NW-A105 as a small tablet (using the built in Wi-Fi) is tiring on the eyes. Given that the NW-A105 is sold as a Walkman its design and functions fit its purpose perfectly. The system is intuitive to use with infrequent reference to the online or printed manuals. WiFi and Bluetooth work very well with no problems connecting to WiFi or various Bluetooth devices (Sony and non-Sony Products). The output quality from the NW-A105 is excellent with lots options for adjustment of sound settings, volume levels are easily set and adjusted to suit my needs. Adding music files to the player is a drag and drop process using file explorer although Sony software is available to rip, access and load files on the player. Anyone with a large music collection may need to expand the memory which is easy with a micro-sd card. A minor issue for perfectionists is the need to name album artwork with the same name as the music folder name to enable the artwork to be shown on the player. Playing the music is a simple process using the Walkman software pre-loaded on the player, however as the NW-A105 can access the Google Play Store alternatives are available to download. Charging the player is simple with the provided cable either through a PC or a USB charger. Battery life seems reasonable although you are advised to disable WiFi and Bluetooth when not in use and also to power off the player when not in use. I can recommend this product to anyone who loves music and does not need the phone connectivity.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

17

1

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound but big issues spoil the enjoyment.

16 GB 27 January 2020 by Catscorner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The NW-A105 was a Christmas gift to replace my aging Sony NWZ-E436F which has served me well and will continue to in the car. The sound the NW-A105 produces is excellent. The addition of the Android OS allows for use of online music subscription services such as Amazon Music, although an additional SD card is a requirement as this quickly eats up the 16gb internal storage. My big issue is that there is no way to control the volume other than via the buttons on the machine itself. I have had this confirmed by Sony Customer Service. For such an expensive piece of kit, it's my view that you should have the ability to be able to use inline volume control earphones. It is also disappointing that if you try and use Bluetooth earphones the "sound adjustment" options are unavailable. So while this Wallman can produce a great sound, it's not easy to actually benefit from and enjoy it. The battery life is not brilliant, even when Bluetooth and Wi-Fi are switched off. Another design flaw is that the device switches itself on when you charge it. If you fail to switch it off when charging is finished, expect the battery to be at least half dead when you go to use it. All these points are why I have only given 3 stars. I was expecting so much from this device and I have been sadly disappointed. Oh and a final point, you have to use the Sony software to transfer music files onto the device in order for the Library to recognise them. Unfortunately the software is a nightmare to use and loves to place all the 1st tracks of CDs into an "Unknown Artist" folder and labelling them unknown tract, unknown album etc. Prepare to spend a long time editing tract information and merging them back into the correct CD folder.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

16

8

13 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

A105 Walkman - One month later

16 GB 40th anniversary model 05 April 2020 by pug205 (United Kingdom)

I bought my Walkman - A105 on month ago.. Purchased a 128GB Ultra Micro sd card, so do use the on board memory as the 16gb is not big enough for music, as this device is Android based operations uses this availible internal memory. Presently using google play music and alos backing up my cd collection using Sony's Music Centre on a windows based pc. A little inconventent as i'm using a mac and I thought Sony would make this available for mac users as well. The software is fast and easy to use and tranfers quickly to the walkman, you just need a windows base pc. My only bug bare is the battery life. I did read a previous comment about this and thought it would't be a issue. But it is a issue and best adivce is to switch off wifi and put the device in to battery saving mode. does help. I'd love to buy a walkman case, but this seems expensive and not available in the uk, looks as if the genuine part is availible from Japan only. Headphones, which ones to purchase !! with NC function. Yet again, seems as the only ear buds recommened are the IER-NW510n which seem to be available from Japan only. I did find a pair of NC31E (Ebay ~£20) and these work really well and including the Noise Cancelling (probably cuts 95% of background noise). I'm in no rush so i'll keep looking around for the best deals. What i've noticed is I'm not using my smart phone for music and now I have my music in one place. Enjoy, Music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Exellent Walkman

16 GB 01 April 2020 by Dom1da (United Kingdom)

Fantastic Portable Hi-Res Player. excellent sound when combined with WH-1000XM3 headphones. Good battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A Great Introductory Android Walkman

NW-A100 SERIES 06 March 2020 by JustAnotherBrick (Philippines)

I waited and bought the Anniversary Edition last February and so far I'd say it's worth every penny. Coming from an a35 and a55, the sound quality is distinctly better and of course, having the android operating system allows services to stream and download music like Spotify, Deezer and Tidal (Note: One can actually select where the download data is stored, like on the SD Card in the respective apps) - music plays well via Deezer in my experience, this also allows a few features inherent in modern smartphones and a few of their weaknesses. For one, since it's basically a smartphone OS sans the sim card/cell network connectivity and a higher resolution screen, it uses more power and doesn't last as long as previous non Android Walkmans, still, considering it's size, it provides a good amount of music playtime even compared to a few similar sized Android and non-Android music players. The stock Walkman player app is superb in my opinion in the way that it keeps the familiar controls and interface of the old Walkman UIs. Better than the previous players though is that all my album art finally loads on the A100! Previously, no matter how OC I was in tagging and updating album/cover/inlay art, there were a lot of times the pictures wouldn't load, or songs would have slightly different placements (Ex before, The One I Love appears in O, now it's in T), also, I just drag and drop my music into the Music folder without using any program, pretty easy to do. NFC and Bluetooth works and plays well with my previous Walkman compatible devices except for one, apparently the new slew of Walkmans cannot pair or be controlled by the RMT-NWS20 (the old Walkman Remote that connects via Bluetooth), which seems like a missed opportunity, hopefully they will do something about it in a software update. As previously noted in the specs and reviews, there is not much space available in the A100/105 (the OS occupies 7.8GB of space) so I would highly suggest use a micro SD Card for both music and streaming download data. Build wise, the body feels sturdy and the glass screen is a welcome feeling on my fingers. The screen is bright and colorful.The classic/familiar placement of controls (all on the right side) all work well and feel crisp. The micro SD card slot at the bottom is also where the 3.5mm jack and lanyard slot is located. As a nitpick, I kinda wish Sony would add a wrist strap like in the old days of Sony Ericsson phones, a little player like this would definitely benefit from it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Storage Woes Lead to Disappointment

NW-A100 SERIES 28 February 2020 by MSonyFL (USA)

Sony has blocked the ability to format SD Cards as Internal Storage on this Walkman, which means that if you plan on downloading hi-res music files from apps like Tidal this will be impossible because you will quickly run out of the internal storage and be unable to transfer the app and its files to the SD card. Very disappointing!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

Expensive and it doesnt have FM/AM Radio.

NW-A100 SERIES 05 February 2020  (Philippines)

disappointed with the price, and no radio options.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Great sound but big issues spoil the enjoyment.

16 GB 27 January 2020 by Catscorner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The NW-A105 was a Christmas gift to replace my aging Sony NWZ-E436F which has served me well and will continue to in the car. The sound the NW-A105 produces is excellent. The addition of the Android OS allows for use of online music subscription services such as Amazon Music, although an additional SD card is a requirement as this quickly eats up the 16gb internal storage. My big issue is that there is no way to control the volume other than via the buttons on the machine itself. I have had this confirmed by Sony Customer Service. For such an expensive piece of kit, it's my view that you should have the ability to be able to use inline volume control earphones. It is also disappointing that if you try and use Bluetooth earphones the "sound adjustment" options are unavailable. So while this Wallman can produce a great sound, it's not easy to actually benefit from and enjoy it. The battery life is not brilliant, even when Bluetooth and Wi-Fi are switched off. Another design flaw is that the device switches itself on when you charge it. If you fail to switch it off when charging is finished, expect the battery to be at least half dead when you go to use it. All these points are why I have only given 3 stars. I was expecting so much from this device and I have been sadly disappointed. Oh and a final point, you have to use the Sony software to transfer music files onto the device in order for the Library to recognise them. Unfortunately the software is a nightmare to use and loves to place all the 1st tracks of CDs into an "Unknown Artist" folder and labelling them unknown tract, unknown album etc. Prepare to spend a long time editing tract information and merging them back into the correct CD folder.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

16

8

0

Good features

16 GB 04 January 2020 by Markslzn50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using my sony walkman NW-A105 for a week now. The bluetooth is brilliant and connects everytime, not sure about the battery life as it seems to not last as long as I thought so a bit disappointed there, sound and features are great ,but could do with fewer apps being ore- installed, and left for the owner to choose

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

9

0

Very poor and disappointing

NW-A100 SERIES 20 December 2019 by Acis (USA)

There are several very significant flaws with this player unfortunately. Outside the default music player, while it is suggested you can stream tidal, for example, it is actually completely impractical to do so. As soon as the screen goes to sleep, the music starts to skip and stutter. It’s unlistenable. Doesn’t happen with stored music but there you are stuck using the “clear audio” enhancement if you hope to get any presence or volume from music. All other settings make the music sound very far away. The battery is racing to run out as quickly as possible. It’s unbelievable how poor it is. Surely a slightly bigger form factor and a player that lasted more than a few hours would have been a better proposition. I really genuinely wish I never bought this, it’s been a terrible disappointment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

17

15

0

Constant companion

16 GB 40th anniversary model 10 December 2019 by OMGM (United Kingdom)

Sony MP3 players are the best. This is my fifth. I was a radio professional and now am a mobile dj. Walkman makes preparing my crate for each set a positive pleasure. I wish accessing sd card content was easier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

3

0

Good Sound/Build. Low Volume/Battery Life

16 GB 07 December 2019 by Matt7678777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the sound on this and it's built well. However, the volume capping (yet again) let this down. It's important to have that extra headroom but it doesn't deliver. The battery life isn't great but kinda expected. Quite pricey for the things that let it down.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

14

0

Solid build and some great features

16 GB 18 November 2019 by Jafster119 (United Kingdom)

The NW-A100 series is a palm-sized rigid aluminium unit thats got a 3.6in touchscreen, and it uses many of the same high quality audio components as the ZX line. That includes the fine sound resistor chosen for its delicate handling of audio detail. It offers somewhere between nine and 26 hours of battery life, depending upon whether you also use noise cancelling or ambient sound modes. Ok the screen is nice and vibrant great for watching YouTube videos or anything else that you would like to put in using the web browser at hand. I use a few apps where I would usually drain the battery on my phone for but now I use this and I must say I’m really pleased with it. The Android 9.0 OS gives access to all of your favourite music streaming apps, but the Walkman app itself is great. Bottom line it’s a little expensive just as all tech is but when Sony builds something it usually of very high quality for that reason I am a big Sony fan. Oh well on waiting for ps5

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

14

4

0

Superb Music Player +

16 GB 17 November 2019 by MoggieP (United Kingdom)

When I received the NW-A105 I was immedietly impressed with its style and build quality. It feels solid in the hand and heavy enough to know it is still in your pocket. You could say it is a music player first and a mini-android tablet second as it has Android 9 (Pie) loaded as an operating system. However the display is small and using the NW-A105 as a small tablet (using the built in Wi-Fi) is tiring on the eyes. Given that the NW-A105 is sold as a Walkman its design and functions fit its purpose perfectly. The system is intuitive to use with infrequent reference to the online or printed manuals. WiFi and Bluetooth work very well with no problems connecting to WiFi or various Bluetooth devices (Sony and non-Sony Products). The output quality from the NW-A105 is excellent with lots options for adjustment of sound settings, volume levels are easily set and adjusted to suit my needs. Adding music files to the player is a drag and drop process using file explorer although Sony software is available to rip, access and load files on the player. Anyone with a large music collection may need to expand the memory which is easy with a micro-sd card. A minor issue for perfectionists is the need to name album artwork with the same name as the music folder name to enable the artwork to be shown on the player. Playing the music is a simple process using the Walkman software pre-loaded on the player, however as the NW-A105 can access the Google Play Store alternatives are available to download. Charging the player is simple with the provided cable either through a PC or a USB charger. Battery life seems reasonable although you are advised to disable WiFi and Bluetooth when not in use and also to power off the player when not in use. I can recommend this product to anyone who loves music and does not need the phone connectivity.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

17

1

0

Dead on Arrival

16 GB 17 November 2019 by Dragonthoughts (United Kingdom)

When I received this Walkman, I unwrapped it, looked at the getting started guide and connected it to my PC for 6 hours to charge before use. It never charged and was never able to be switched on. As instructed I held the power button for 10 seconds. In case the "hold" button had shifted, I moved it and repeated. In case it was a PC issue, I connected it to a basic charger, using its own power lead. Same results. To say I am disappointed is a complete understatement.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

21