5

3.8 based on 5 customer reviews

2
2
0
0
1
Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A Long-awaited Upgrade

NW-WM1AM2//CE 15 May 2022 by equinoxial (Singapore)

The WM1AM2 runs on Android 11, so you can enjoy streaming on Apple Music and Tidal in Hi-Res Lossless and Master Quality. The WM1AM2 has a V-shaped sound signature - a "silver sound". It has a strong bass and treble extension, best suited for fast-paced and aggressive music genres. The lower mids are not overly resolving and they have a "fuzzy" quality, characteristic to the Sony Walkman. A unique soundstage depth with holographic imaging will be unlocked when paired with the right IEM. The WM1AM2 can be rather picky with IEMs, but once you find the right pairing, you'll be in for a treat!

335

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony has a lot of work to do on this

NW-WM1AM2 10 June 2022 by KevP1 (United Kingdom)

Although there is an initial firmware update, which I have downloaded, oh my, has Sony got some work to do! It feels like bad beta software. Laggy. Crashes often. Processor can't seem to handle Android 11. I have tried downloading offline content on Tidal. Very slow or just crashes. No such issues with other DAPs, with the same version of Tidal. Everyone talks about the volume cap and I thought, oh, it can't be as bad as people are saying. Well it is! Full volume, using quite efficient headphones that are designed for mobile use, is really low. And I mean "really" low. I was stunned. Slightly better with earphones. All in all, a big disappointment. But Sony can improve performance with some very quick and significant firmware upgrades. They should have the resources to do this. But the volume cap (that, by the way, doesn't seem to affect Son'y's competitors)? I'm assuming that's not fixable.

4

2

5 Customer Reviews

0

Sony has a lot of work to do on this

NW-WM1AM2 10 June 2022 by KevP1 (United Kingdom)

Although there is an initial firmware update, which I have downloaded, oh my, has Sony got some work to do! It feels like bad beta software. Laggy. Crashes often. Processor can't seem to handle Android 11. I have tried downloading offline content on Tidal. Very slow or just crashes. No such issues with other DAPs, with the same version of Tidal. Everyone talks about the volume cap and I thought, oh, it can't be as bad as people are saying. Well it is! Full volume, using quite efficient headphones that are designed for mobile use, is really low. And I mean "really" low. I was stunned. Slightly better with earphones. All in all, a big disappointment. But Sony can improve performance with some very quick and significant firmware upgrades. They should have the resources to do this. But the volume cap (that, by the way, doesn't seem to affect Son'y's competitors)? I'm assuming that's not fixable.

4

2

Response From Sony Support Team
13 June 2022

Hi KevP1,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that the Walkman gets laggy and slow, and that the volume is low and capped.

If you've only updated the Walkman: https://bit.ly/3MGyTWd.
Also make sure to update ''Music Center for PC software'' in order to improve connection stability. If either is not updated to the latest version, there is a possibility that the Music Center for PC software and Walkman device will not connect properly.

We recommend checking these links about WIF and Bluetooth connections, to make sure that they're stable and not help with the lag and WIFI speed: https://bit.ly/3txWFNr & https://bit.ly/3MMe0sw.
You can also uninstall the applications and reinstall them. And if it's still the same, you can reset it and test it once more: https://bit.ly/3xK5yEX.
Furthermore, about the sound cap, we're following in compliance with European regulations, which is why the volume will be capped: https://bit.ly/3xLj6Bb.

If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

Great features

NW-WM1AM2 17 May 2022 by Ângelo2022 (United Kingdom)

So far I am very happy. The sound is absolutely amazing.

5

7

0

A Long-awaited Upgrade

NW-WM1AM2//CE 15 May 2022 by equinoxial (Singapore)

The WM1AM2 runs on Android 11, so you can enjoy streaming on Apple Music and Tidal in Hi-Res Lossless and Master Quality. The WM1AM2 has a V-shaped sound signature - a "silver sound". It has a strong bass and treble extension, best suited for fast-paced and aggressive music genres. The lower mids are not overly resolving and they have a "fuzzy" quality, characteristic to the Sony Walkman. A unique soundstage depth with holographic imaging will be unlocked when paired with the right IEM. The WM1AM2 can be rather picky with IEMs, but once you find the right pairing, you'll be in for a treat!

335

0

0

Fantastic & highest quality sound

NW-WM1AM2//CE 05 May 2022 by Nardysg (Singapore)

Blown away by the sound quality! For those that are looking for fantastic sound. This is it

0

0

0

Love the sound quality

NW-WM1AM2//CE 03 May 2022 by KJinMin (Singapore)

Upgraded from ZX2 that I’ve purchased when it was first launched. This is a big improvement Tested both 1ZM2 and 1AM2, and I find that 1AM2 signature sounds better Not sure why. But hey it’s cheaper too. That works for me

1

0