34

4.8 based on 34 customer reviews

31
1
1
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

35 Customer Reviews

0

Impressive

SRS-XG500/BCSP6 18 February 2024 by Loongbird (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this through my promoter friend for my TV sound system. It’s truly impressive and out of expectations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful sound

SRSXG500 28 January 2024 by Itunes163 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and now it doesn’t power on. It doesn’t do anything. Nothing happens when I plug it in, it’s just dead.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28 January 2024

Hi Itunes163,

Thanks for sharing your concerns with us. We regret that you are having some power/charging issues with your XG500 speaker. Make sure that the AC adaptor is connected securely to the speaker. Then, make sure that the AC adaptor and the AC power cord (mains lead) is connected securely to an AC outlet. If you haven't yet, we do have troubleshooting steps that may help resolve this issue.

https://helpguide.sony.net/speaker/srs-xg500/v1/en/contents/TP1000243110.html
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00138282

If the speaker doesn't turn on even while charging the speaker, or trying a different USB cable, resetting the unit may also resolve the issue. Press and hold the (power) button for about 8 seconds to restart the speaker. If the speaker fails to operate successfully after you restart it, initialize the speaker to resume its factory default settings.

To initialize the speaker, please access this help guide link: https://helpguide.sony.net/speaker/srs-xg500/v1/en/contents/TP1000243122.html

Please note we have a customer hotline that is happy to assist you and help troubleshoot any concerns you have, and your speaker has a 1-year warranty from the date of purchase. If you're unable to resolve your concern, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Best Buy Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Jess

0

Great sound

SRS-XG500 22 January 2024 by Potri (United Kingdom)

I am Happy becouse It has got a good subwoofer, you can put a micro

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Monster speaker

SRSXG500 15 January 2024 by matteo1112 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It will shake the house down in just a small package

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16 January 2024

Hi Matteo1112, That's really cool! We're extremely delighted you like the amazing features and that the speaker delivers loud, incredible audio quality throughout your listening environment. At Sony we strive to put forward the best possible products for our customers. It sounds like we hit the mark with the XG500. Thank you so much for your purchase and for choosing Sony! -Jess

0

Magnificent!!!

SRS-XG500 06 January 2024 by DreddOverlord (United Kingdom)

Great sound and features. Lovely design, bass in incredible. Love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good sound, nice look

SRS-XG500 06 January 2024 by Cb91 (United Kingdom)

Got it for my birthday, was in my wishlist for a while now. Chose this one cause of battery endurance, look, weight, capacity and price after comparing it with a lot of other similar boxes. It is worth it. Sounds good, Looks nice, app helps you make easy adjustments, also responds on connection via my smart watch which is nice during training sessions. And it has a nice price - not too expensive, and Sony for me has a good reputation for sound products. It is a big box, so do not under estimate its size, but if that is exactly what you are looking for, it is perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice quality

SRSXG500 28 December 2023 by Cranium (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would have hoped it would be louder. Works good not as much control as I would have liked. Have a jbl earlier model seems just as loud and sounds just as good.

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29 December 2023

Hi Cranium,

Thank you for the review and we do apologize for the inconvenience. The volume of the speaker will depend in the battery, source and environment that you're playing. Please check this link on how to isolate and resolve your issue.

https://helpguide.sony.net/speaker/srsxg500/v1/en/contents/TP1000243111.html

We also recommend using the Sony Music Center app for your speaker for sound quality setting and equalizer adjustment.

https://helpguide.sony.net/speaker/srsxg500/v1/en/contents/TP1000243094.html

If you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

-David

0

Love it!!

SRS-XG500 23 December 2023 by SomePeopleCallMeMaurice (United Kingdom)

Got it for a birthday present. The sound is really great! I use it all the time out on the patio, or in the house listening to all my old rock from the 80s.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mega sound!

SRS-XG500 22 August 2023 by Philb123 (United Kingdom)

The performance on this speaker incredibly loud! Think I should have bought the smaller one lol 😆.

Sound Quality

Good

8

1

0

Yooooo

SRS-XG500 19 August 2023 by RicFlairChestSlaps (United Kingdom)

This speaker is INCREDIBLE. You don’t even have to go full blast for you to feel the bass in every song. The battery life is fantastic as well. But… it is a big lad. I could definitely use it as a dumbbell for dumbbell rows and a few other exercises for a home workout so please bear that in mind (especially if you are carrying it to go somewhere as this is NOT fitting in a bag). I haven’t used the microphone feature YET but I do plan on doing so soon.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Great sound

SRS-XG500 08 August 2023 by vladx (United Kingdom)

I bought this speaker for listen when it's raining, amazing !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Very good sound and megabass

SRS-XG500 17 July 2023  (United Kingdom)

I bought this device about 3 weeks about and all friends are impressed from sound and battery durability. Best device even brought to the beach. Only don’t download Fiestable program. It crashed few times with my Android phone and I deleted it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Great Bluetooth speaker

SRSXG500 16 July 2023 by Al444 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was going to buy the JBL 3 none in stock. This one’s a 100 less and sounds comparable to the JBL.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18 July 2023

Hi Al444, Awesome! We are so glad to hear that you are happy with your purchase! The combination of the X-Balanced Speaker Unit, High-efficiency Tweeter, and passive radiators deliver a crisp and clear sound whether you’re listening in an indoor space or outside. Plus, with a durable exterior, an IP66 Water-resistant and Dustproof rating (Dustproof and Water-resistant are effective only when the cap is closed), up to 30-hour battery life, and an easy-to-hold handle, you can take it almost wherever you want to go. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Carl

0

Kickass

SRSXG500 11 July 2023 by SPM badlands boarder (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So stoked on this speaker. It bangs hard everywhere I go . It fits between my head rest and rear window of my trucks cab . Wedges right there. Ear level. Blasting down the freeway. Battery lasts 30 hrs. Loud enough to cover the bowl jam at the skatepark… ish . Guitar /hi/z input too! Now we’re cookin with fire!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12 July 2023

Hi SPM badlands boarder, Awesome! We're thrilled to hear that you are enjoying your new speaker. The SRS-XG500 is perfect for taking a powerful sound outside. The combination of the X-Balanced Speaker Unit, High-efficiency Tweeter, and passive radiators deliver a crisp and clear sound whether you’re listening in an indoor space or outside. Plus, with a durable exterior, an IP66 Water-resistant, and Dustproof rating, 30-hour battery life, and an easy-to-hold handle, you can take it almost wherever you want to go. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Loud, bold, very clear.

SRSXG500 07 July 2023 by C S jr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a new Bluetooth product to blast tunes from my phone through my garage while I’m working on whatever! This Sony does the trick. My 8,000 sqft garage Rocks with my favorite tunes and that bass is kickin it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12 July 2023

Hi C S jr, You've made an excellent choice! We're very happy to hear you like the powerful and clear audio this unit delivers. The SRS-XG500 is perfect for taking a powerful sound outside. The combination of the X-Balanced Speaker Unit, High-efficiency Tweeter, and passive radiators deliver a crisp and clear sound whether you’re listening in an indoor space or outside. Plus, with a durable exterior, an IP66 Water-resistant and Dustproof rating (Dustproof and Water-resistant are effective only when the cap is closed), up to 30-hour battery life, and an easy-to-hold handle, you can take it almost wherever you want to go. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

greattt!!

SRS-XG500/BCSP6 06 July 2023 by nazmy0 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

how can i get my e wallet redeem ahhhh so long to waitttt!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From CSD
14 July 2023

Hi nazmy0,

Greetings from Sony Malaysia.

We would suggest you to contact our customer interaction team that may able to assist you further on this issue.

Contact number: 1300 88 1233

(Technical Support/Repair/Warranty)

Operating Hours:
9:00AM to 6:00PM
(Monday - Friday, except Public Holidays)

Email:http:https://web.sony-asia.com/my/contact-us/

Thank you

0

Symphonic Music

SRS-XG500 16 May 2023  (United Kingdom)

The sound is magical , warm and expressive as If you were in the studio. I compare it with JBL, Harman Kardon, Tribit, Bose....for two months

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

very nice portable speaker

SRS-XG500/BCSP6 08 May 2023 by Tino93 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

very good very nice satisfied, sound quality is so good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice sound

SRS-XG500 02 May 2023 by Jacktech (United Kingdom)

This speaker is heavy, solid and has a nice tone sound to it. The usb playback works well. The rest you really need the Sony music app. This enables you to listen via app integration to radio, audible, YouTube etc. Bluetooth to phone is good, but to things like using it as a soundbar, haven't managed to Bluetooth it for more than a few seconds to TV. This lets the product down. If it could be rectified with a software update will would get 5 stars. It might also be manufacturing company TV issue my other speaker doesn't stay connected either. Echos manage it extremely well!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony Support Team
04 May 2023

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your speaker and happy with the sound quality we always aim to deliver! We're also glad to keep you as one of our loyal family members and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come!

We'd also like to highlight that the speaker supports the below Bluetooth profiles (version 5.0):

-A2DP (Advanced Audio Distribution Profile): Enables transmission and reception of high-quality music contents.
-AVRCP (Audio Video Remote Control Profile): Enables volume adjustment and operations to play/pause music and skip to the beginning of the next/current track.

So it should be connected to any device with the same Bluetooth profiles.

Moreover, don't hesitate to reach out to us over the phone, chat support and email using the details here: https://bit.ly/3xPUapp to provide us with any further feedback you may have, we’re always delighted to hear from our customers!

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Great for on the spot dancing event!

SRS-XG500/BCSP6 13 April 2023 by Beebeee (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Taking the XG500 than the XG300 is the best choice!! Long lasting battery, have used for couple of days ago on straight usage for 5 hours per day. Really up to the bass and sound quality!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

MR. Wale -Sony - XG500 X-Series Portable Wireless

SRS-XG500 07 April 2023 by Mr Wale (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago, which is precisely what I expected. I had bought one from LG but was unhappy about the output and had to ask for a refund

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

loud, good quality,

SRS-XG500/BCSP6 29 March 2023 by Kaseng (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The battery is very durable, waterproof, quality assurance

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Great Speaker that Replaced My JBL Boombox!

SRSXG500 14 February 2023 by Vadulam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a JBL Boombox. Within two years, it stopped working by shutting down every ten minutes. I like to fall asleep listening to music. Getting up every ten minutes to tun the JBL became a pain. I already had a Bluetooth Sony-- a small speaker attached to my computer. I needed a wider bandwidth to reproduce the full spectrum of classical music, including the bass. I picked Sony. I have been using this speaker for six months now. It works beautifully, the Bluetooth pairs with my computer automatically, and even more important, the music is fantastic! The fidelity is excellent! The price is right.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18 February 2023

Hi Vadulam, We are glad you now have a great portable speaker. With the XG500, you’ll take a Powerful Party Sound with you and with built-in lighting you can take a little atmosphere too. The XG500 is built to last. It’s got a durable exterior, it's IP66 water resistant and dustproof and it’s got plenty of battery life. The XG500 brings together the X-Balanced Speaker Unit, high-efficiency tweeter and passive radiators, to give you a powerful sound that’s perfect for outdoor parties. Thank you for your purchase. Enjoy! Vincent

0

I bought this a month ago and I'm so happy I did.

SRSXG500 25 December 2022 by Rellie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only thing that I would want with this is a shoulder strap.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29 December 2022

Hi Rellie, thanks for choosing and purchasing our product. We're glad you are happy with your new portable wireless speaker. We understand that you want to put a strap on this unit. Unfortunately, this unit has no strap holder. The SRS-XG500 is perfect for taking a powerful sound outside. The combination of the X-Balanced Speaker Unit, High-efficiency Tweeter and passive radiators deliver a crisp and clear sound whether you’re listening in an indoor space or outside. Plus, with a durable exterior, an IP66 Water-resistant and Dustproof rating, 30-hour battery life, and an easy-to-hold handle, you can take it almost wherever you want to go. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Great value for money

SRS-XG500 10 October 2022 by Bose Fan (United Kingdom)

I have had this speaker for a few weeks now and am very pleased with it. It is easily portable and has great sound for the price. The Mega Base is superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10 October 2022

Hi Bose Fan,

Awesome! We're glad you like the sound quality and price point of the speaker. The SRS-XG500 is perfect for taking a powerful sound outside. The combination of the X-Balanced Speaker Unit, High-efficiency Tweeter, and passive radiators deliver a crisp and clear sound whether you’re listening in an indoor space or outside. Plus, with a durable exterior, an IP66 Water-resistant, and Dustproof rating, 30-hour battery life, and an easy-to-hold handle, you can take it almost wherever you want to go. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Mega bass Sony xg500

SRS-XG500 08 October 2022 by Eskisehirli (United Kingdom)

This produckt iş wonderfull. I bought today and I am very happy ....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

7

0

Oh ! What a speaker

SRS-XG500 20 June 2022 by Nilima (United Kingdom)

Bought for my husband! He just loved it ! Best things ever I bought ! It’s looks so smart!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Loud

SRS-XG500 31 May 2022 by Rob1126 (United Kingdom)

Had for a week now, very loud, very clear and lots of bass. Battery life is amazing. Just buy one...you won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

5

0

Fantastic Sound and Design

SRS-XG500 17 May 2022 by JzaGza (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this speaker for a few days and it’s honestly the best looking,Sounding and large portable speaker i’ve ever seen! Amazing product and i hope Sony come up with more revolutionary sounding speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Item works great!

SRSXG500 06 April 2022 by Dan1958 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the fact that portable! I can use it for a long time!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07 April 2022

Hi Dan1958,

Amazing! We're glad that you are enjoying the portability and battery life of the speaker. The SRS-XG500 is perfect for taking a powerful sound outside. The combination of the X-Balanced Speaker Unit, High-efficiency Tweeter, and passive radiators deliver a crisp and clear sound whether you’re listening in an indoor space or outside. Plus, with a durable exterior, an IP66 Water-resistant, and Dustproof rating, 30-hour battery life, and an easy-to-hold handle, you can take it almost wherever you want to go. Thank you for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Great low bass, good design, good features,

SRS-XG500/BCSP6 12 January 2022 by Boy alif (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything is good about this speaker. What make i pick this speaker over jbl boombox is mic input. Oh my is become my good karaoke portable speaker. Oh did i mention the battery life is great? I hope sony put more treble effect on later model to make sound mo brighter and open.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic

SRS-XG500 22 December 2021 by sigmarm (United Kingdom)

Just bought this baby and I am loving it. The sound quality is another level.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

3

0

Good purchase

SRSXG500 12 August 2021 by Pompier26 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really love it, I recommand this speaker. The quality of the sound is great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12 August 2021

Hi Pompier26, fabulous! We are so happy to hear you love everything about our XG500.

The SRS-XG500 is perfect for taking a powerful sound outside. The combination of the X-Balanced Speaker Unit, High-efficiency Tweeter, and passive radiators deliver a crisp and clear sound whether you’re listening in an indoor space or outside. Plus, with a durable exterior, an IP66 Water-resistant and Dustproof rating (Dustproof and Water-resistant are effective only when the cap is closed), up to 30-hour battery life, and an easy-to-hold handle, you can take it almost wherever you want to go.

Thank you so much for recommending our SRS-XG500 and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Glad I Followed My Gut

SRSXG500 16 July 2021 by SteveInDallas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Many "professional reviewers" have given so-so reviews of the XG500, so I almost didn't buy it, but my favorite Bluetooth speaker is the SRS-XB43 - and I just couldn't imagine that the XG500 would really disappoint. So after checking if the XG500 supported the stereo-pair function (it does!) I splurged and bought 2 of them! These speakers are made for bass lovers, the sound is so big and rich with Mega-amounts of bass, voices and other instruments are represented very well, even while the bass thumps. A very pleasant surprise is how easy these speakers are to listen too even at VERY high volumes. Sony tuned the highs to be smooth instead of brassy, that tuning can make the highs sound a little soft at low volumes, but app based adjustments for Bass, Mids, and Treble can be used to fine tune the sound, these adjustments makes noticeable changes to the sound but don't change the overall character of the sound. I am a certified speaker lover and I have several sets of Sony Bluetooth speakers, the XG500 takes all of the goodness of the SRS-XB43 and takes it to party level. It's a fun loud speaker that will put a smile on your face no matter what kind of music you prefer. The XG500 has played every genre of music that I have tried very well, including of course Dance and EDM, but also Rock, Smooth Jazz, Broadway/Show tunes, Country, Pop, R&B and even Bass heavy Rap and Hip Hop. Like the SRS-XB43, the XG500 is REALLY good at older R&B, Pop, and Rock from the early 80's and 90's. It makes you want to hear all your old favorites again! To say I'm happy with my purchase is an understatement, I love these speakers and I'm glad i followed my gut.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22 July 2021

Hi SteveInDallas, we're glad to hear that you love our product, The SRS-XG500 is perfect for taking a powerful sound outside. The combination of the X-Balanced Speaker Unit, High-efficiency Tweeter, and passive radiators deliver a crisp and clear sound whether you’re listening in an indoor space or outside. Plus, with a durable exterior, an IP66 Water resistant2 and Dustproof rating, 30-hour battery life, and an easy-to-hold handle, you can take it almost wherever you want to go. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Amazing sound

SRS-XG500 27 June 2021 by JamesTils93 (United Kingdom)

Very impressed by this portable speaker, connected to my phone straight away, the sound is extremely powerful but quiet if it needs to be, like the customisable light feature as well. Definitely would recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

50

17